Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sleepy Hollows Campsite

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > County Donegal > Sleepy Hollows Campsite Reviews

Sleepy Hollows Campsite
Meenaleck
Crolly
Gweedore, Post Code F92 Hk73
County Donegal
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 852 25 23126
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: Five hard stand inc elec, Plus five tent pitches
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: DeeNI 3 reviews from this member

Happened to call up to ( while at Leos for dinner, always great) the reopened Sleepy Hollows campsite, my partner an I were overjoyed, this site was and remains the Jewel in the crown of touring and campervan sites on the Island of Ireland, great location, great service and great hosts, its a 10 out of 10 from me and long may Pauline and Art continue to allow us all to share in a little piece of heaven in Donegal.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note this site has now reopened following a closure for the last year or so. If you've got an uptodate review please leave your comments!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pat534 7 reviews from this member

I stayed here for one night while touring Donegal. They only have space for 5 units plus tent campers. Luckily they managed to fit me in the carpark as I had not booked and they were full. Still had EHU though. Even though I was next to a road it was quiet at night.

Facilities were very clean and the owner was very friendly and helpful with what to do in the area. Showers were free which is very rare in Ireland.

They have a good dog walk into a small field near a river from the site where you can let them off.

Local pub is within easy walking.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smileys2 1 review from this member

Just got back from our camping trip at Sleepy Hollows in Crolly and it was fantastic!

Owners were two lovely people and the campsite was kept very well with beautiful surroundings.The facilities of the campsite were kept in very good condition with hot running water 24/7 with soothing music played throughout the day and night, really good and the robots are a must see ha ha Even despite the weather we stayed an extra two nights.

Leo's Tavern around the corner of the campsite is a must see lovely inside with friendly people and great traditional Irish music.The food in the restaurant is absolutely beautiful and even caters well for vegetarians!

An all round great trip would definitely do it again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frodobabs 1 review from this member

Area lovely. Owners of site very friendly and helpful, although site needs to be updated. The roof of the shower block is clear perspex and I would imagine that it would be very warm in the hot weather.

Midges are a problem so make sure you bring repellents with you. Good garage about 5 minute drive from the site which is well stocked and sells hot food also, but that is all that there is in the immediate area.

Not really oriented towards families with younger children as it is more an area for scenery.

The local pub is lovely but we were told that the main language in the pubs is Gaelic, although they are english speaking also.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pollypierce 1 review from this member

This campsite is just perfect. Admittedly it is small & uneven in places, but the facilities couldn't be better including camp kitchen, showers & loos. There is no laundry room, but there is a laundry service.

The owners are lovely & really looked after us when our tent was flooded following a flash flood! Pauline washed & dried several loads of clothin & bedding, foc.

The only drawback is the insect life, which is aggressive to say the least, they sell insect repellent on site which is just as wll given that the whole area is infested with midges. A word of caution: 2 members of our party picked up a tick or two in the long grass behind the campsite on the way to the river!

This is a gaelteacht area, so there are plenty of teens around all summer long, attending residential Irish Language colleges locally. It's an ideal opportunity to brush up on your language skills.

There is a sandy beach a few miles up the road too.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Knocky 7 reviews from this member

Very small, very friendly, very basic, very great!

Nice location, close to two pubs and in an outstanding area of wild countryside with mountains and beaches.

The facilities are basic but fine. The showers have lots of hooks - at last I think I have found a campsite owned by people who have themselves camped! Thoughtful touches abound, like washing up liquid, soap, fridge/freezer, maps on wall etc. There are not that many pitches for campervans and caravans, but the tent area looked sheltered and quite spacious.

The campsite is quite midgy, but the midges are kept slightly at bay by the anti midge machine, and should not put anyone off visiting this site.

Art, the owner was a wealth of knowledge and a very cheery, friendly man.

If we come back to Donegal we will definitely be camping here again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camper_cruz 23 reviews from this member

A small but peaceful site in picturesque Donegal and within a stones throw of two lovely pubs. The owners were really helpful and even got us into a nearby campsite when they were full on our arrival. The toilet and shower facilities were OK for the price (23 euros) but that's due to the current strength of the Euro, and not a reflection on the site, where Brits are getting a bit of a stinging at the moment. One more tip. Take your insect repellant.

Sat Nav 55.0300 -8.2700

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Carlin Family 3 reviews from this member

We found this camp site to be very relaxing due to its few but spacious enough pitches. The pitches and grounds are tidy with well maintained shower, kitchen, washroom and bin facilities.
The owner is friendly and helpful with knowledge of local activities and places of interest. Shops are within walking distance and a couple of pubs are close by which serve food and provide live music at weekends. Showers are at no extra cost and hook-up easy.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dieseltramp 3 reviews from this member

The dreadful weather in August did not dampen the beautiful and dramatic scenery that is within easy distance of this site. The local garage / shop was well stocked and did a great breakfast in the cafe.

The site is well placed, clean, and managed by truly friendly and helpful people - Pauline and Art went to great lengths to ensure that we were settled in and familiar with the facilities. The two tent-campers with us were a bit disappointed that their pitches were not level and we found the hardstanding pitches very close together.
The midges are bad, really bad, but Art was happy to assist in getting a good smoky fire going, which gave us all a break from being eaten alive. The showers and toilet block are clean, with good pressure. I was a bit surprised at the chicken wire ceilings and not having a disposal point for the chemical toilet made us nervous of using our own facilities!
Oh, and there isn't a laundry (which was one of our criteria when searching for a site) - but you can get washing done for a price.

I'm not going to write that we found the most gorgeous beach in Europe only a few miles away, or you'll all end up crowding it next year!

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019