Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eagle Point Camping

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > West Cork > Eagle Point Camping Reviews

Eagle Point Camping
Ballylickey
Bantry
West Cork
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00 353 27 50630
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 22 April-30 Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 11 Reviews
                10/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Georget64 33 reviews from this member

 This site is in an amazing location. We visited Bantry and took a boat to Whiddy Island.

Only things we did not like were the fact that the electricity supply is only 6 amps, and the number of showers is low, considering the size of the site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ewen c 14 reviews from this member

 We opted for a pitch with EHU and were given a choice of pitches, all flat, well drained and well marked. Facilities are spotless and the views are amazing. Next time we will go without EHU to take advantage of the pitches right at the waters edge.

Top marks to the owners who give excellent advice about the surrounding area and are always ready to give you their time. Our sat nav took us over the hills which is the quickest route to Ballylickey but not very good if you have a car sick daughter. When leaving we opted to go via Bantry which is longer but has less windy roads.  


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigelsp 5 reviews from this member

 This was our second time staying here for the mayday weekend and the second time we have come away very impressed.

The washrooms and all the facilities are always kept immaculate, the people are very friendly and the setting is fantastic - you could ask for very little more. We have 3 small children and they love this site. We stay at the non ehu pitches to be closer to the sea, and literally pitch 5 yards from the beach!

I would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cass22 4 reviews from this member

 This campsite was the best líve ever seen. The owners were really lovely and helpful and nothing was any trouble. We got our own plot to set up our tent and there was excellent drainage grooves. The facilities were excellent. Free hot showers and an excellent camperís kitchen, 5 cent for hot water though. The toilets and showers were immaculate! Not a spider web in sight! Plenty of soap, toilet rolls and bins. Separate area for cleaning your teeth and washing your face. What struck me about this campsite is that everything was working and everything was well stocked up! Plus, there were a lot of French, Dutch, German, English, Italian, and Irish of course. Everyone who stayed here was friendly and everyone spoke to each other. The location was excellent. We were right on the coast and could walk from our tent to the water. Really nice.

I would definitely stay here again. Super site. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nicola123 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a week touring around Co. Kerry and this campsite was one of our stops. I can say without doubt that this site was by far the best we stayed in. The site is mostly used by locals with seasonal pitches so they are quite particular about keeping it nice. It is very clean and quiet and the location is spectacular.
We were situated under a tree more-or-less right at the waters edge. My daughters loved it here and spent hours rummaging around the rock pools over the other side. The toilets were lovely and clean although the showers were scorching hot even to the point of us not being able to get under. I was told by someone else that they go there every year and they had never been that hot before, so maybe it was a one off.
There is no shop but we never found this a problem as we were well stocked up arriving there. We only booked for one night but enjoyed it so much that we booked an extra night.
I met a chap who told me to go on a boat trip to Garnish Island from Glengariff and you get to watch the seals on the way. There are tourist companies running these trips from the side of the road but if you go a bit further on to Ellens rock you will find a really lovely guy running trips from his little open boat. We could drag our hands in the water on the way and had the boat to ourselves - it was really nice and would definitely recommend this guy instead of the larger tourist companies where you are on a covered boat with 20 other people. Would I stay here again??? Absolutely! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 Having just completed a 17 day tour of Ireland, our itinerary included a stop at Eagles Point and we were not disappointed. The site is right on its own peninsular and has many private beaches. The site has a large amount of seasonal pitches, dogs are not admitted and bike riding around the site is not allowed.
I did think the Ä30 per night pitch fee was a little on the high side but for that we got a pitch 20 feet away from the waters edge which was awesome. Combine this with the scorching weather we had, our overall stay was memorable. The hotel in the village is now derelict but there is another pub 20 minute walk away but only reached by the busy main road.
The filling station opposite the site caters for all your essentials but they donít sell liquor! Bantry is a nice typical Irish waterfront town which has a market on a Friday. Our next stop after Eagles Point was on the Ring of Kerry and we drove there over the mountains via Glengarriff and Kenmare. This is a fantastic scenic drive even though the roads are a bit narrow. Go and enjoy. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cauliman 11 reviews from this member

 The campsite is quite formal with marked pitches and separate areas for tents, motorhomes and caravans. It is immaculately kept and the toilet blocks are well maintained.

The best point about this site is the fantastic view out over the water (I think it is the mouth of a river as it opens onto the sea). There are yachts moored next to the site and there is a slipway for launching boats.

The site doesn't have its own shop but there is quite a large supermarket attached to the petrol station immediately opposite the entrance.

The nearest town is Bantry which is quite picturesque and has a good selection of shops, pubs and restaurants. But it is too far to walk.

We went down to the hotel/pub which was the only place to eat in the village. It was serving large meals which were good value and fine for carnivores, but the vegetarian wasn't very nice. The building was due to be demolished to make way for a new hotel so things might be going up market quite soon.

We were only able to camp at the site for one night but would like to have stayed longer. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eurofrog 2 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at many lovely camping sites throughout the UK and in Ireland, but I have no hesitation in saying that Eagle Point is easily the nicest one I know.

The setting on a small peninsula in Bantry bay is most spectacular. The site occupies the whole of the peninsula so you are never far away from the sea - in fact, right next to it in most cases. Consequently campers have direct access to a relatively sheltered part of Bantry bay with plenty of opportunity for kayaking, swimming, fishing, and so on. We easily and happily spent hour just marvelling at the beauty of the surroundings.

In addition to its fantastic setting, the site is well run, clean and quiet and has good pitches as well as friendly owners/staff. A well stocked shop at a small service station nearby provides most essentials (including fresh bread every morning). The town of Bantry caters for most of the remaining needs of campers, including bigger supermarkets, shops, pubs (with live music) and restaurants, and is only a couple of miles away.

The toilet blocks are entirely adequate, well kept and cleaned regularly. Showers are hot and free and campers have access to electricity in the toilet blocks to recharge those essential battery run electric gadgets that tend to give up after a week of tenting without recharging. A freezer is also available.

Eagle Point is also a good basis for touring the West of Ireland - the Ring of Kerry, the equally impressive Ring of Beera, Killarney, the beautiful Sheep's Head peninsula and other areas of great natural beauty are within relatively easy reach.

I would definitely recommend this camping site to anyone who seeks a well-run, clean and quiet camping site in a spectacular coastal setting. 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SOFI4 1 review from this member

 This was one of the best campsites we have been to. The children were able to explore all the little coves, the facilities were kept very clean, the sunsets were spectacular and the people were very friendly. It is quite exposed but worth it to have your own little beach. Sealwatching nearby, pub down the road, spectacular scenery - what more could you want. 


Reviewer: J_hurrell 2 reviews from this member

 June 2004
This is probably the best run campsite I've ever been to (includes UK and France) and the most spectacular. We went at the end of June 2004 and the site was pretty empty - we booked in advance just in case, but this wasn't necessary.

Pitches are immaculate and mostly flat (they mowed them twice while we were there) and we were free to pitch where we wanted in the tent areas. We chose a fantastic pitch right by the shore line (there are loads of little mini beaches around the site). Great to wake up to the sound of the sea. When we were there it was VERY windy, and becasue the site is on its own little peninsula, it was quite exposed - but then again we probably chose the most exposed pitch on the whole site purely for the views.

Facilities were brilliant - the block we used in the center of the site looked to have been complety refurbished very recently (or newly built even)and was always absolutely immaculate. Showers were free and plenty of hot water. Lots of showers and toilets too. Washing up facilities good also - 5cts for hot water that filled up a third of the bowl. Freezer was also available for freezer packs. No onsite shop, but opposite the entrance is a petrol station and well stocked mini supermarket.

Staff were also extremely helpful.

Would highly recommend it, probably would need to book in high season though. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eagle Point Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eagle Point Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eagle Point Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near West Cork      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4137 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement