Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cronk Aashen Farm International Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Isle of Man > Kirk Michael > Cronk Aashen Farm International Campsite Reviews

Cronk Aashen Farm International Campsite
Barregarroo
Kirk Michael
Isle of Man   (Browse area)
IM6 1HQ
Tel: 01624 878305
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 17 Reviews
                10/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 16 reviews from this member

A warm and friendly greeting was waiting for us (me and the dog) on our arrival. A sheltered spot with fabulous views over Kirk Michael and out to sea was suggested and a tour of the facilities given. We were thoroughly spoil during our stay as, with the exception of one night, we had the entire campsite to ourselves.

The kitchen is well equipped with fridge and freezer plus kettle, a stove and long table for you to sit and eat your meals at. Also in the kitchen, you will find a selection of information leaflets and a small library of books available to borrow.

When the weather is good you can see Scotland, sitting in the evening sun listening to the bees buzzing in the flowers around the edge of the field, the birds chirruping in the trees and looking out over the sea is a delightful way to unwind. The on-site glen is a lovely place to gently wander through, there had been a lot of rain prior to our arrival so it was quite soggy and needed wellies to explore the lower level footpath.

The site is just a stone’s throw from the A3 and the TT course, however I don’t recall hearing any traffic go past during the night. It is a short hop down to Peel where there is a decent sized ShopRite (on the A20 / Derby Road) and about 30 minutes from the ferry terminal in Douglas.

If the night is forecast to be clear I suggest setting a (quiet) alarm for about 2am, I woke up at about that time one night and on leaving the tent discovered a magnificent field of stars overhead, the dark skies and lack of street lights makes for spectacular views to impress even the most amateur star gazer.

The owners are friendly and full of useful information. We were told of a good dog friendly beach and provided with a new split-ring when the one attaching the ID tag to the dog’s collar broke.

Downsides to the site? Not really downsides, just minor inconveniences. The hot water in the sinks, showers and kitchen does take a long time to come through (2 or 3 minutes), but once it does there is plenty of it and it’s lovely and hot. The only other thing is that the showerheads in the Ladies showers could probably do with dismantling and cleaning.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Norsela 1 review from this member

This must be one of the best sites I have used. The manner in which the various areas have been terraced on the hillside give all fantastic views. On a clear day and we were lucky to have two clear days, you can see the Mountains of Mourne, the South of Scotland and across the England.

The facilities are very good with plenty of hot water in the showers and, for those that need it, a fully kitted kichen with all the utensils, plates etc.

The owners are very friendly and helpful but leave you alone if you don't need them.

I would use this site again and would rate it 10 out of 10 all round.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eckythump 9 reviews from this member

A fabulous site with views over to Ireland and Scotland ( on a clear day) and a backdrop of hills. We spent 4 days exploring the island and found this site to be an ideal base.

The facilities are fantastic. Clean and well stocked toilet block, a kitchen area with a 4 ring hob, pots, crocks and pans (for all to use and clean up after), sink 2 x fridges and a freezer. There is also a sitting area with a long table to eat at and eventually play games at.

Everyone was so friendly and the wardens couldn't do enough for us - without being intrusive.

We will definitely go back, not only to the island but also to the campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Corinne tite route 5 reviews from this member

A lovely place to stay : view over the hills (purple of heather in august) and to the sea. You can see Scotland and Ireland when the weather is good.

Covered parking for the motorbikes (but try not to disturb the swallows and come in engine off ;))

Showers are new and comfortable.

The kitchen is absoloutly great, with all you need to cook (simple) : really usefull when you're just with a tent.

Great place to see the TT ou Manx GP (Bottom of Barregarrow) is just a walk far.

And it's quiet !

I spent 15 days there and, as the owners Glynne and Eddie want the campsite, I feel at home.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NoahandSpike 1 review from this member

This was one of the best, if not the best, site we've stayed at. Excellent, spotlessly clean facilities, a beautiful setting with fabulous views of the sun setting over the sea and friendly helpful owners. The kitchen was very useful and much appreciated. We and our dogs were made very welcome. Cronk Aashen was a great base for our holiday, being situated centrally it was easy to get to anywhere on the island. There is good shelter from the south and west but a bit more exposed from the north. We were troubled by midges but were offered some excellent repellent by the owner, which was very kind and much appreciated. And it worked! We would happily recommend this site to anyone who wants a peaceful relaxed camping holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tomas Jakus 1 review from this member

I visited this campsite with my friends during TT week 2014 and we spent 6 days there.

Place is very quiet, comfortable, and very close to see TT.

There are new shower and big kitchen.

I can highly recommend this place.

Glynne was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her and if we need som information or help, everytime she gave us advice.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janlidd 1 review from this member

A lovely peaceful site! Very helpful owners can't do enough for you.

Sites very spacious, electric and water available, also extra extension cables and hoses if required.

Separate shower and toilet block.

If you don't have cooking facilities that is covered in their kitchen block.

Washing machine and tumble dryer on site.

Fantastic can't wait to go back.

Brilliant for a peaceful holiday if that is what you are looking for, all quiet by 11pm, just what we required

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Out+about-1 4 reviews from this member

One of the best things about this camp site is it, s location.

From the top fields you get a great view down to the Irish sea in the distance, with some fab sunsets to round of your day ! The local village of kirk micheal is a few minutes away in the car if you need to visit the convenience store or local pub.

Peel is about 6 mile away and was our favourite town on the isle of man ( nice harbour, beach, castle, quaint streets ).

Our pitch was flat and drained well after the occasional wet spell. It did get a bit windy for few days but our awning held steady ! The toilets and showers were slightly dated but were adequate and clean and tidy.

The bottom field seemed more geared up for tents and more sheltered and well lawned with facilities in the toilet block for cooking and washing. The only negative for us was no chemical toilet disposal, so we had to use the ordinary loo and the entrance to the site is a little tight if you had a large unit to tow.

We visited all parts of the island and enjoyed the nice change of free parking and lots of public conveniences. It, s a great place if like us you like the outdoors and walking and were surprised it was, not busier, maybe that's down to the ferry prices

All in all a great little site, and v nice island.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 116 reviews from this member

Fabulous, just my kind of site; informal, rural location, wonderful views. Happy to agree with all the previous reviewers’ complimentary comments and reconfirm that the site is still owned by the ever helpful Glynn and Eddie. In conversations with other campers, it seems that I was the new boy! People come back here year after year.

Site consists of two main pitching areas. The ‘bottom field’ measures very approximately 50m x 60m: is fairly level; sheltered in the direction of the prevailing weather; has perfect pegging conditions, and ehu.

The ‘top field’ is usually reserved for caravans / campers. This has the best views. It measures very approximately 20m x 40m; has little shelter (pitch as close up to the bank as you can), and ehu. Unfortunately the ground drainage is very bad indeed. We arrived during a period of heavy showers and put our awning on the clearest spot, but in subsequent rain, we had muddy water coming up through the ground sheet, and there it stayed. (Breathable ground sheets eh?)

Just a guess, but medium / large outfits pulled by a ‘4x2’ might experience a problem getting up the slope to the ‘top field’ in bad weather. If this applies to you, please check.

There are also nice looking holiday cottages for those who do not want to camp.

The facilities (showers free) are conveniently located in a in a nearby farm outhouse. Whilst not palatial, they are well maintained and perfectly satisfactory in every way. Extremely usefully, there is also a fully equipped campers communal kitchen (with washer / dryer on honesty box basis) and dining ‘nook’.

The site is a stones throw from the TT / Manx GP marshalling / viewing point at Barregaroo Crossroads and still has access when the roads are closed for racing.

No local shops. Convenience Store for your basics in Kirk Michael, and everything else in Douglas or Ramsey.

Contrary to the popular myth, CARAVANS ARE ALLOWED on the IOM, but you need to obtain ‘import consent’. This is a very easy process, and as long as you stay on a recognized site, consent is not usually refused.

All you do is write / e-mail to: Department of Local Government and the Environment, Murray House, Mount Havelock, Douglas. (Tel 01624 685911. E-mail: Planning.DLGE at dlge.Gov.Im). At least two weeks notice is needed, and you just provide your name; address; dates of intended arrival / departure and name of the site you’ve booked.

With regard to ferries, firstly, if your trailer is less than 4m you can go from Liverpool on the Seacat, if it is over 4m you have to go from Heysham on the ship. Secondly, fares can get expensive, rising to peak of peaks at TT and Manx GP fortnights. However, discounts can be obtained by booking with Isle of Man Travel Services. (01624 820022)

The Isle of Man is a very nice place to tour. Parking is free everywhere, but in main town centres, you need a parking disc. Again this is free and obtained from shops everywhere.. The IOM railways are very quaint and useful if you don’t want to drive.

A few personal recommendations: Rasoi, Bay View Road, Port St Mary, (One of the best Indian meals I’ve ever had); Davisons Ice Cream Parlors throughout the island; Creek Inn, Peel (Good eats & drinks pub + free Wi-Fi); High Tea in The Conservatory at Grove House, Ramsey. (Not on the menu, but ask for it anyway!)

To sum up, IOM is beautiful and Cronk Aashen is a great site, only marred by - in saying this, I’m referring exclusively to the ‘top field’ - very poor ground drainage. It is still one of my all time top 20 sites!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Baybabe75 3 reviews from this member

We went for TT 2009 and booked Cronk Aashen going on the recommendations here.

We couldn't have picked a better site. After a 12 hour drive and a 4 hour ferry crossing we were absolutely exhausted when we arrived. The owners, Eddie and Glynne were fabulous and nothing was too much trouble for them, they even sorted out our electric hookup as we didn't have the right cable and my fiancé wanted to watch the highlights on ITV4!

The facilities were extremely clean and very welcome - I've never been to a campsite with a visitors kitchen before and it was great to be able to wash up indoors and the washer/dryer was a blessing as it was pretty wet at times and a VW camper isn't the greatest place to dry laundry! I'm disabled and found the slope up to the top field from the showers a bit difficult first thing in the morning when the joints were stiff but the fantastic view more than made up for the slope. The self-catering cottages looked lovely, comfortable and homely and the barns for bike parking and dry storage of rucksacks etc were a fabulous bonus in such wet conditions.

We were in the 'top field', when we were there, there were three motorhomes and our vintage VW bus. We were fairly close, but not so close as to be cramped and the neighbours were lovely. The drainage problem seems to have been sorted, there is a wire mesh under the grass which helps with grip in wet conditions, our only problem was the brakes on the van started binding and we had to borrow tools to fix it but again, Eddie knew exactly where to go and who to talk to.

The site is a stones throw away from the TT course - it's at the bottom of the field - which was perfect for us as we were marshalling there so didn't need to travel. Also, Glynne does sandwiches and teas to take out which were great while we were standing around between races. The site is central to everything and getting around the island is easy and really enjoyable as it's so beautiful but you need transport.

The only drawback of the site is there's no shops or pubs nearby, you have to go into Kirk Michael but if you run out of milk or something Glynne usually has spare as long as you replace it when you next go shopping. Glynne and Eddie are a mine of information on where to go and what to do. It was our first TT and we were like kids at Christmas - we can't wait to come back again in 2010!

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Man

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3959 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019