Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Peterhead Lido Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Peterhead Lido Caravan Park
South Road
Peterhead
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB42 2XX
Tel: 01779 480205  or  07594 146461
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 16/03 To 20/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FindlayMac 6 reviews from this member

We decided to head north for a few days with our New Caravan & selected The Lido at Peterhead.

Initially we were staying 2 nights but ended up staying for 5 nights & did not want to leave.

Veronica (Site Warden) is a lovely, helpful & jovial lady that makes you so welcome & runs & cares for the site so effectively & efficiently that you are sorry to leave.

Toilets & Showers were immaculate to which she cleans herself & any problem then you have only to let her know & she will attend to it.

At only £22 per night for our caravan & awning we thought it was well worth every penny & the spectacular views of the North Sea, Harbour, Prison & Asco Service base is unbelievable & very unique.

The Lido is an ideal base for touring the North East of Scotland as there are so many historical & beautiful places to visit from distillery's to Castles, Beaches, Fishing Towns & Villages that you will not be disappointed.

Thank you Veronica for making our stay such a pleasant one.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cambia 4 reviews from this member

Not brilliant. Warden off site when we arrived, didn't answer phone message we left. Two hours later when we contacted her, had no record of our booking. No clue as to whether wifi was available. Motorhome facilities nil.

Site itself is interesting opposite the bay watching the huge boats arrive and leave but to be honest apart from the EHU you might as well wild camp.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rowena8256 10 reviews from this member

Stayed one night on round Scotland tour. Didn't book and the warden was so apologetic that she wasn't there when we arrived, lovely helpful lady who came round the next morning to see how we'd been.

Site right next to the busy harbour and fascinating sitting watching the boats in and out even a night. Right on the beach which isn't big but there is good walk along the edge of the harbour for dogs as well.

Showers hot but the toilet block is definitely cold (Warden said shes been asking for heaters for ages). Was a wet night when we stayed there but we really enjoyed it.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DereknPaula 1 review from this member

This site is excellent hence why we returned. On arrival we had a very warm and friendly greeting, our pitch overlooked harbour and was relaxing watching the boats coming and going, at night the harbour lights were beautiful. We had a porch awning and the pitch was ok for that, even ground and pegs go in easy too. Toilet blocks were clean though could have bin a bit warmer, and a radio playing would also be a good idea, also had to keep pressing shower button for water when in shower, but was okay and couldn't really complain. Walked to town centre and had a relaxing few drammies, then went to try Weetherspoons for dinner and was fine, but we were recommended to go to Waverly in Peterhead but didn't get the chance, but will defo try next time we are back. Keep up the good work Jim, we had an excellent weekend. :)

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jacquart98 1 review from this member

We spent 6 nights on site very impressed warm welcome very clean. All sevices and grounds are well kept by wardens

Plenty of good walks and shops not far. Will return we did not have any concerns but wardens were around and visible.

We had a great spot overlooking port. Able to see harbour movements

Very quite over night and even though it was on a public walkway. All passers by very pleasant

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulwibble 6 reviews from this member

Great View. Lovely site. Good value. Close to town. Wetherspoons in town great value. Nice place.

Council pool and Sauna 1 mile away. This is a great stop off point if traveling around Scotland. The bay holds one of the busiest fishing ports in Europe.

However, there is very little noise caused by the many boats coming and going. Watch the tugs move the huge boats. See the seals. Brill.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Murphysmum 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a week staying here. The position of the site is fantastic right on the beach. The facilities are absolutely excellent, Laundry with 2 washing machines, 2 driers and iron and ironing board. The toilet block with showers was spotlessly clean and the warden was most helpful. Any problems were dealt with by the warden right away.
I really can't find any faults with the site it was a pleasure to stay there. There was also a fantastic play park for children near to the site and a 24 hour garage a short walk away. The shops in town were around a mile away the supermarkets were slightly further.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shanesnell 15 reviews from this member

A council run campsite on the edge of the bay.  It has 6 or 7 statics and the rest of the site is grassed for tourers (no hard standings).  The shower/toilet block was very clean and also had a laundry room attached.  The receptionist/warden was quite helpful and let us pick our pitch.  End of July, rate per night for motorhome/2 adults/2 children was £15.  Our pitch had a view over the harbour/bay, as do most.  Perfect for watching the trawlers and supply vessels coming in and out.??!  At the waters edge is a small beach and a smaller bay area used for watersports.  Next to the campsite is a public playground.  We found the site very busy as people tend to use it as a thoroughfare and there was quite a lot of cars coming and going.  Nearby (300 yards) is a 24hour garage, which you can get basic supplies, but beware as the prices go up after 11pm!  Half a mile away is a McDonalds and B&Q.  A miles walk takes you into Peterhead town centre, which has a selection of shops typical of a small town.

We used this site as a stop over and it was perfect for that purpose, although the lack of motorhome dump point would rule out a long stay.  There were man hole covers outside the amenities block, but the wardens husband said the council did not permit them to be used for dumping our waste water and the supplied waste water points had concrete rings 2 foot high around them, meaning we could not dump our waste.  We also had a problem with the taps, as did caravanners, as they are the bathroom smooth type with a push down knob instead of a tap.  The taps also had 2 foot concrete rings around them too, so filling tanks and aquarolls was near impossible and quite a bore.  The council need to listen to these few criticisms to make their site more motorhome (and caravan) friendly, although the wardens husband did say they have tried telling the council for years without anything being done.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019