Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Inverbervie Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverbervie > Inverbervie Caravan Park Reviews

Inverbervie Caravan Park
Burgh Haughs
Inverbervie
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
DD10 0SP
Tel: 07791 678997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 36
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annapi 3 reviews from this member

A great wee site with just a few niggles. The pitches for tents (without hookup) are unmarked, so spacious in quiet times but can get cramped when busy. The grass is well-drained, and it's easy to find a flat pitch where you can get your car or bike next to your site. The site is exactly where the river Bervie meets the sea, via huge pebble sea defences, so the views are a little limited, although lovely, but there are always the sounds of water moving to lull you to sleep at night. Even from the furthest pitch, it's no more than a couple of hundred yards to the facilities, although it's up a small slope. The rules state that quiet hours should begin at 10. 30pm. This isn't strictly adhered to, but it's not a noisy site

The facilities themselves - I can speak for the ladies only, not the gents - are very good. The showers are some of the best I've experienced in a campsite, being hot, powerful, plentiful and very, very spacious. However, they are at a fixed temperature (on the warm side for me) and there is no ventilation beyond an asthmatic extractor fan so it can become overwhelmingly hot and steamy for dressing. The ladies' have 3 showers, 4 loos and 4 wash basins, and these were quite sufficient, even when the site was fairly full. Hand soap is provided, as are (fairly useless) hand-dryers. They were kept at a high level of cleanliness at all times, and the facilities block is heated, even in the height of the summer. There is also a laundry and washing-up room, also heated. Washing machines and a tumble drier are provided for a very reasonable price and there are two sinks for dish-washing. Here lies one of these niggles. The water pressure is astonishing - watch out! When the hot water is turned on, it dribbles for a moment then comes out full force, soaking the user. This is far from ideal when in a tent with nowhere to get dried or warm after a drenching. The hot water in both these sinks and the lavs is also way too hot; uncomfortable for an adult, getting towards risky for kids. Surely it would be cheaper to turn the thermostat down? In addition, a kettle and toaster are provided for the use of campers and there is a small collection of books, which are all very welcome if you're in a tent.

The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and very pleasant to chat to - couldn't be nicer! They are aware of how outdated the website is and say moves are afoot. In the meantime, it may be worth mentioning that reservations can be made by text message - very useful if you're in a poor reception area or if English isn't your first language. Look out for further info on the blackboard at reception.

One thing which makes this site less than ideal is the security lighting. It would be more at home on an airstrip. From dusk until 2 or 3 in the morning, a searchlight-intensity beam shines into your tent. Pretty awful - so much so that it would put me off returning, in spite of all the many, many good points about this site. I couldn't see any tent pitches where the light could be escaped. It's a great shame as, otherwise, I would have no problem recommending this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eebo 8 reviews from this member

Firstly, don't let their out of date website or the dated Google Street View put you off - this campsite is very much alive and well and is a bit of a hidden gem. Reserving a pitch for two nights was easy, involving nothing more than a text message to the site Warden (phone number on the website).

The Warden is only part time, so when I arrived on site, the office was closed, but a blackboard in the window welcomed booked guests by showing name and pitch number allocated to them.

The site itself is a very well maintained rectangular grassy field with a tarred road cutting down the middle of it. There is an area in one corner for tents and the rest is for tourers, with 16 pitches in all, all with electric hookup.

One side of the site borders the River Bervie just before it joins the sea and on another, a short scramble over the mound of coast-protecting pebbles brings you to the beach, literally a stone's throw away (and there are plenty of stones to choose from!). The beach itself is entirely pebbled, so don't waste space by bringing buckets and spades for sand castles. There were a lot of fishermen here, both in the sea and on the river. I'm not a fisherman myself but sea fishing I believe is free and a sign indicated river fishing permits could be obtained in the Post Office in the village, about half a mile away.

The ladies toilet block and showers are apparently brand new (although I was unable to visit due to my gender) and the gents were quite dated, but spotlessly clean and both the shower cubicles had excellent pressure and plenty hot water, with no dreaded coin operated meter in sight. The walk to the toilet block is via the quite steep road that leads to the touring area, so may not be ideal for the less mobile.

There are recycling bins on site, as well as a fresh water tap and there's a chemical waste point up at the toilet block. There's no wifi here but there is 3G.

If you enjoy walking or Geocaching, there's a coastal path which leads south from the site to Johnshaven, about 5 or 6 miles away with a series of more than 20 Geocaches along its route. There's an hourly(ish) bus service from the top of the road in the village (about half a mile away) which you can catch to Johnshaven and then walk back, finishing right at the campsite.

The village itself can be accessed via a flight of steep steps cut into the hillside above the site, or a slightly longer route follows the road you drove in on. I didn't really spend much time in the village, but there's a Post Office, Co-op Supermarket, bakers and of course the famous Bervie Chipper, which unfortunately seems to be living on past glory, as the sign in the window proudly proclaims 'No 1 UK Chippy in 1998'. It's expensive - cod and chips was £8. 20 when I visited and although it was nice, I wouldn't rush back.

In summary, a great little site, tucked away in the bay with swans and ducks on the river, with the only downside being the seagulls, who woke me few times during the night with their ear piercing screeching, so either ear plugs or a few extra G&Ts are required before lights out!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Arpcrew 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a great one night stay at this site. Very relaxing. Arrived to find our pitch number on blackboard at reception. Had booked in advance and was given code for toilets and told pitch number would be on the board. Nice grass pitches with electric and a stream running down the side of the field. We saw ducks, swans and herons while there. You cant see the sea from the site but it is just a short walk over the pebbles. Ladies toilet facilities and washing up area first class and very clean. Gents toilets a bit dated. Staff and other campers all very friendly. Shops and chippy near buy which was great. We will definitely return to this site as good walks from here to explore the coast. Warden was fantastic and let us leave later in the afternoon, as they were not going to be busy on the Sunday. With no extra charge for this, we have paid other sites to checkout later and it does put you off going back. Late checkouts are great for a one night stay as you can make the most of your weekend. We were visiting family in area and it meant we had most of the day with them on the Sunday, really appreciated this. Would have scored facilities higher just the gents that let it down.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tour gs 16 reviews from this member

Spent three nights here in late August. No warden about when we arrived but a welcome message written on a blackboard in the reception window with our name and pitch number. As stated in previous reviews the touring/camping area is on the lowest level nearest the pebble beach and river mouth. Neat and well kept site. Yes the male toilet block is a bit dated but clean and the showers in the gents were brilliant! Plenty hot water and not push button type! Good value at £20 a night as well. When we drove down to the pitch someone else was already on it however it wasn't a problem as the site wasn't busy at the time and we took another one closer to the beach. Quite a relaxed site with friendly staff and locals. Good co-op a short walk into the village and the famous Bervie Chipper chip shop. There's still a Chinese takeaway in the town but the Indian takeaway mentioned in previous reviews has closed.

Took a bus down to Johnshaven and walked back the old coastal road to Inverbervie about 5 miles on easy to follow flat paths.

Good area for short dog walks just over the river across a concrete bridge.

Speaking to, locals there's apparently trout in the river and mackerel in the bay off the pebble beach.

Would use the site again if in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clangodfrey 1 review from this member

Just back from a fantastic week at this site helped by excellent weather. Arrived to find no-one on duty but a sign indicated where the spaces were so we pitched our tent and this was fine. We were a little concerned in advance about being so close to the sea in a tent but found that we need not have worried because the site is really sheltered even though the sea is so near. We loved the setting of the site and our boys really enjoyed playing on the beach and trying to damn the river!

The ladies washrooms were excellent. Lovely and clean and nice and warm, especially the shower room. Really good showers and useful shelves to store clothes and keep them dry while you are showering. Can't comment on the mens as I didn't use them (!) but they appeared older that the ladies block although my husband and boys made no complaints. The washing up/laundry facilities were also superb with drying racks provided (so no need to balance all your washing up to get it to drain!) The playground was good but was no actually on site - just next door at the leisure centre. This was fine for us as our children were old enough to go there alone but could be difficult with younger children.

The local coop was close by and well stocked and we tried out the chippy which was OK but seemed a little pricey. We walked into Gourdon (1 mile) for fish and chips one evening only to find the shop closed that day - you may want to check the opening times in advance if you plan to get tea there.

We enjoyed day trips to Glen Esk where we walked along the river from the blue door at Edzell and also a day at Banchory/Aboyne.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pads 13 reviews from this member

What a great site. You will note that I have marked it down a little but that is all to do with the poor men's facilities. My wife said the ladies block which was new is fine. The location is excellent and plenty of room. Right by the sea and plenty of little walks. Well placed for Aberdeen. My comments should not put you off staying as we will when we head north again. Very nice site management and absolutely no rules. Go for it!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ASharpy 3 reviews from this member

A bit late in posting this but trying to keep this as a hidden gem.

The site is great even though its close to the sea its still quite sheltered, we pitched near the river close to the tree and the ground was nice and flat and wasn't as wet as we thought it would have been being so close to the river, the showers/toilets and laundry are clean, warm and well thought out, there's plenty of hot water and even shelves for your clothes so they don't wet, could do with somewhere to sit while your getting dried BUT that's no big deal compared to what you do get, the warden was very very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help

A 5min walk up the street from the site there's the village which has pubs, shops and a couple of eating places, didn't try the eating places but the pubs were friendly and I hadn't known about the connection to the cutty shark

Close by there's Dunnottar castle, well worth a visit BUT be warned there's lots of steps and take a drink with you, it is a fantastic castle and the views are wonderful, the day I went we did see seals swimming about

Stonehaven is a little further north, there's a great little museum in the harbour with friendly volunteers, there's a couple of short walks along the beach and round the town, there's also an open air heated swimming pool

The gem in our stay was a walk from the camp site to Gourdon along the sea front, there's a bar and a fantastic chippy/restaurant in the harbour both are worth a visit, the bar is friendly and fish is so fresh in the chippy it doesn't need salt, there's a couple of smokehouse's that you can buy from as well, there's also a small fishing museum but that wasn't open the time we went

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Warbuj 17 reviews from this member

Brilliant little site with excellent facilities. Free showers, with lots of hot water and plenty of clean and tidy toilets/showers for the size of the site. Short walk into town (1 street) which has all your amenities. The site is located as near to the beach as possible, the beach is pebbly with a stream running into it. Campsite warden very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money. You can pitch your tent anywhere and although busy you didn't feel hemmed in.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debzstuart 3 reviews from this member

Just returned after we (2 adults, 1 child)had an excellent 4 night stay at this lovely campsite, arrived to a lovely personal welcome message on the wardens window having already phoned in advance.

Pitched tent at side of the gentle flowing river which was a joy to see the swans, ducks and herons gracefully passing by. Shingle beach and sea were just at the bottom of the camping /touring area and there was many pleasant walks to be had. And great to watch the fish jumping at night in both the river and the sea.

Facilities on site are the best I've seen so far in my camping experience clean warm and well maintained females toilet / shower block and dish washing/ laundry block.

Warden came down later on to collect fees and gives us a friendly welcome and chat and was very happy to offer any help and give advice on things to do in the area.

The surrounding area has everything you need from coop to pubs post office etc and of course the famous chippie. There is a leisure centre and play park adjacent to the sites entrance.

The site is off the main busy road so it is very peaceful and I'm glad that I came across it as it was somewhere I would never have thought to have looked at for camping but very glad I found it and it seemed to be very popular with a steady flow of campers/ tourers.

I would definitely recommend this site to anyone wanting to have a peaceful break and enjoy the walks/fishing and just the sheer peacefulness of this excellent site.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lofty007 4 reviews from this member

We stayed for 1 night at this site, its a great little site,

Yes the toilets are very clean, and the showers are roomy and the waters hot,

3 great pubs in the centre of the village, we had a very good Indian take away, but don't buy a draught pint in the bar of the Indian they don't seem to clean the pipes, the beer tasted very stale, stick with bottles there, but its also a good pub.

Good paths to Gourdon a sea front walk which is around 1. 3 miles walk from the site each way

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2602 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019