Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Tynllwyn Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn > Tynllwyn Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Tynllwyn Caravan And Camping Park
Bryncrug
Tywyn
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL36 9RD
Tel: 01654 710370
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18 tourers34tents56 static
Open: 1st March To 31 Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Torquemaster 10 reviews from this member

It is said that first impressions last. This is certainly the case when we arrived at Tynllwyn. The approach, and indeed the whole site was very well kept with short grass and an air of tranquillity about the place. The site has a babbling brook running through it which provides endless fun for youngsters, along with a games room and play park.

These facilities are near the top end of the camping and touring pitches i. E. Near the entrance. So if you do not wish to hear children at play, you may choose to request a pitch away from these “attractions”.

This is very well established site which has been with the current owners about 30 years. As mentioned in other reviews the toilet block is dated but it works perfectly well and is kept immaculately clean by the attending staff.

The tent pitches are about as level as they get. You may find some heavy duty tent pegs and mallet are in order, or you will need to compromise where you can get your wire peg in.

The Talyllyn Railway runs adjacent to the site which adds interest and a unique feature. The site is a couple of minutes walk from Rhydyronen Station. This is handy for catching the steam train. Several campers leave their vehicle at the site and catch the train to Tywyn to do their shopping. We took a round trip from the station, which was a most enjoyable experience as always.

We also visited the Ffestiniog Railway, catching the train at the mid point on the line at Tanybwlch Station. This has the advantage of easy parking, an excellent café and the facility to buy a “half way” ticket in either direction. This gives a single journey time of about 45 mins. This suited us well as we went to Porthmadog had lunch and returned to Tanybwlch. The drive from the campsite to Tanybwlch is about an hour through some stunning scenery.

We have been to this area many times before, but until this visit, was the first time with our dog. I had not appreciated what an excellent beach Tywyn has. You can take dogs onto the South side of the esplanade and walk for miles to Aberdovey along lovely sand. Parking at Tywyn seafront is also free which is a plus point.

The nearby Corris Craft Centre seems to go from strength to strength over the years. We were particularly taken by the new addition of the Gin Distillery. Their product is excellent compared to regular brands, and is recommended. This retail unit was previously occupied by Simply Leather who make some excellent goods. They are now in located in Rhoslefain a couple of miles north of Tywyn and also worth a visit.

We shopped in Tywyn and found the meat from Rawlings the butchers on the high street to be excellent. We also had good reports about Skippies Fish & Chips also on the High Street near Rawlings.

The Co-op is “so-so”. How a shop like this can be out of single large tins of Heinz baked beans all week escapes me! I guess between them and the Spar they have a captive audience in the town.

So all in all, from the first impression until the last - an excellent trip to Tynllwyn and one we wish to replicate in the future as this site is now firmly on our “Favourites” list.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: EmmaP1504 15 reviews from this member

We visited Tynllwyn as part of our touring holiday in July/August.

The site is in an absolutely beautiful location and is extremely clean and well maintained.

The shower block and toilets are very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The games room for the children was excellent for our 9 year old and he made lots of friends.

I especially liked the steam train that goes alongside the site.

I would definitely recommend this site and we would visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dragaan 2 reviews from this member

We visited here because as working members of the Llangollen Railway we get free travel on the Talyllyn Railway which runs adjacent to the site. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find the site to be of such quality at a very reasonable price. We only stayed for two nights but will be definitely staying again. The pitch sizes are very generous, the amenities are great and very clean and the family that run this are extremely friendly and helpful. We can't recommend them enough. Although we no longer have young children, the site caters for them very well with an excellent play park which for people who wish peace and quiet is near the main house and away from the main camping area. I would call the site idyllic in all honesty. Sadly we didn't see the resident bandit badger (which you're clearly warned about) but at least because of the warnings we weren't raided by it lol. We're looking forward very much to returning there in the near future. The only down side for people addicted to Facebook and texting is that for EE there is no signal, but for O2 we had some internet. There IS wifi but it costs £5 for 2 hours so we didn't bother. TBH it was really nice to get away from the world for a bit. If you want great fish and chips then a quick 5 min run into Twywn to Skippy's is worth while on the main road to the beach. Avoid the Golden Sands on the beach front as although they cook to order, I have never before had Albino fish and chips!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JAOD 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a week after having spotted it from the steam train last year and it did not disappoint. It is a lovely camp site with very clean showers, toilets and washing up facilities, a very small shop in reception, a laundry and a games room, play area and guinea pigs and a rabbit which my daughter loved. It's right next to the train stop for the Talyllyn railway and my son loved watching the trains from our caravan and travelling on them twice too.

The site is well kept with excellent views and it was very quiet and peaceful on the touring field. That said and this is the only downside - there were some unruly children roaming around and being quite noisy / swearing and there was an incident where a child got hurt but I guess this is probably the norm during the school summer holidays on any site.

All in all a lovely relaxing week and its very central for Aberdovey, Dolgellau, Dolgoch Falls and trips to Snowdonia. Coop and Spa shops and a lovely restaurant in Tywyn. We would come again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobyjobey 1 review from this member

Site is very well maintained. Very narrow entrance road-if hedges trimmed back would help. Toilets ok but loads of kids on site so not always ok. On that subject why is the playarea so near to the caravans. Bottom of the tent field would surely be better. We were disturbed most days by noise and loud music. For this reason would not return

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moorepw 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a gloriously sunny week camping on this site with our 2 teens and friends with their teen. It was our first visit although our friends have been before; we will all be back!

The scenery is breath taking, the site clean and tidy and ample shower/wash facilities; we rarely had to queue for showers despite being there over the bank holiday weekend and school holiday week.

We didn't use the games room but it would have been useful if it had rained all week, we also didn't need to use the laundry facilities or the shop. The owner was friendly and welcoming. The only downside was the fact our pitch was near the toilet block/washing up facilities and entrance to the site so we were aware of all the comings and goings which there is not really much anyone can do about!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aja16 1 review from this member

Just come back from bank holiday weekend at this lovely campsite. Superb setting, with a well kept play area, babbling brook, indoor games area ( table tennis, xbox) and constantly hot showers. The proprietors are very friendly. Walking distance to a pub, there is a small shop on site for basics. There is free use of a freezer for ice packs, although this gets very full, so sometimes not very efficient. 5 mins drive to Tywyn, with its supermarket, pub, indian /chinese/ chip shop takeaways, and large sandy beach. Would definitely go back again. Being set away from any main roads, the only noise to disturb you is the very occasional whistle of the beautiful steam train, that passes the touring field, which is a bonus!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rnr1975 1 review from this member

Beautiful site heaven for small kids, two fields for tents and tourers, toilets are regularly cleaned if the gents shower cubicles are a bit small to shower in with your kids. We stayed on pitch 9 with no EHU and had what has to be the best view on the site if we had a long walk to the facilities.

The owners are welcoming and as helpful as could be wished for.

Our daughter was overjoyed with the tallyn railway running by and the site pretty much having its own station.

We had a great stay even if the weather wasn't amazing

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda Atkinson 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely week at Tynllyn. I was so looking forward to coming here as used to visit as a little girl when it was only a basic campsite. I remembered the little train that ran past the site so was pleased that although the site has changed a lot, it has been upgraded for the better and now has static caravans and a large field for tourers.

We were very lucky with the weather although a few very windy nights which meant we didn't get much sleep! The site was very quiet, facilities very good. Washing up facilities - very good bathrooms, toilets and showers. Plenty of hot water - kept very clean, as was the site in general and very well maintained with some lovely plants and flowers. Can imagine in peak season this site gets very busy as it is so lovely.

Some lovely walks from the site - amazing views, and with the Talyllyn train steaming backwards and forwards every now and then it was perfect!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John 8801 1 review from this member

I thought that this must be the nicest site in Snowdonia. The owners are lovely people, very friendly. Lovely views from the site. Free choice of pitch. Toilet facilities very good and nice and clean. TV room for wet weather! The site virtually has it's own railway station as the Tallyllyn Railway passes by the site, very convenient, and a unique attraction for visitors. Very well situated for touring and close to mountain walks (from the site on foot). I will certainly be going back when I visit Snowdonia next year.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Tywyn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3428 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019