Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Raguenes Plage

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Nevez > Camping Le Raguenes Plage Reviews

Camping Le Raguenes Plage
19 Rue Des Illes
Nevez
Brittany   (Browse area)
29920
Tel: +33 298 068069
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 250
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pitchupcyril 7 reviews from this member

Stayed the whole month of August as managed to get agreement to work remotely for a week or so but only after being assured in writing that the WIFI was good. It isn't. In fact not only is the WIFI unreliable, internet access itself is intermittent and speeds are very slow - basically because the place is at the end of the line. I was told to complain to the village but the problem was I was paying the site not the local Marie. Not cheap either at 1 Euro an hour (if buying 10 hour vouchers) but its also restricted in download volume so if you stream video you won't get 10 hours for 10 Euros!

Reception staff not hostile or unwelcoming but not always the friendliest. Smiling not order of the day for sure.

Site is much as described with some very tight corners and our pitch was a bijou to say the least. Parts of the site would benefit from a one-way system but.

Beach is fantastic but dogs are prohibited in July/August - ignored by some of course but we figured OK toward the western (rocky) end and either early in morning and late on in day. We always pick up after our dogs though - pity the locals don't.

Some beautiful spots around but don't bank on cycling or walking into Nevez as we imagined. Only the last section of road nearest Nevez is decent and has an established cycle/walkway the bit near Raguenes is narrow, rough and downright dangerous for cyclists/walking.

Toilets regularly ran out of paper and the main block was out of service one night requiring the use of a gulley sucker to clear the system. Noted soap was always available for hand washing at both toilet blocks.

Unlikely to return not because of the site but the weather is too much like UK.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr Jabini 6 reviews from this member

Family of 4, (2 adults, 2 children 17 & 13 yrs) large Outwell Vermont tent with side extension and small pup tent.

Just returned from a ten night stay here. All in all a good site, as described in brochures etc and worthy of it's 4 stars.

The pool area, play areas and table tennis were great. The site itself was well maintained and the toilets and showers clean and well attended to in the mornings. By evening, as expected during high season some were lacking toilet paper and were in need of a clean.

The proximity to the beach is great, as is the path and the beach itself and being located at the end of the peninsular, there is no road noise.

The downsides for us, were as follows:

The pitch we had was not large enough for our tent and a car. The same was for our neighbours either side who both had caravans. There were larger pitches, but my frustration is that I booked early and specifically requested a large pitch, stating my tent type and size. Those with large caravans had difficulty manoeuvring to and from their pitches - worth considering if you have a large caravan or motorhome.

Although it is a very 'continental' site with a balanced mix of the usual British, Dutch, French and Germans (plus a few others), we found it lacking atmosphere. There is no real focal point in the evenings for relaxing. The bar is tiny and the entertainment was limited. We were not looking for Butlins, but it is nice to relax in the bar in the evenings and to socialise, but there was nowhere to do this. For us this was a tiny negative, but obviously it will suit others.

All in all, a good site for young families, with a great pool and lovely beach on its doorstep. But older children may find it a bit quiet and those requiring space should consider that on this site in relation to pitches, large to me is medium.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wyno70 9 reviews from this member

We spent 2 weeks at La Raguenes Plage in August. We had a large family tent and went as a family of 4 with a 4 year old and a 2 year old.

The campsite is a game of two halves - the top half where we were, well set out and spacious, the lower half nearer the sea looked a bit more cramped.

There is plenty to do for both young and old kids with a good pool area with baby pool, normal pool, indoor heated pool and some large slides to keep older children (and dad's) occupied!

They had a good play area, plenty of table tennis tables and some trampolines.

The site is located out of town on a quiet road to the sea (a dead end) so was very quiet (no traffic noise).

There is a gated path to the beach which was less than 5 minutes walk and very safe.

There is a good shop and an on site 'takeaway' that does excellent home made pizzas, frites, moules, lasagne etc.

The beach is long and wide, good for swimming, building sand castles and loads of rock pools.

We had a fabulous time and had very little need to leave the site during our stay.

Plenty of showers and hot water (I didn't have to wait once) and good toilets. The only small niggle was that there was rarely any soap in the soap dispensers so hand washing after using the toilet was inconvenient. For that reason I've knocked the review down 1 star otherwise I would have given them 10/10.

We had heavy rain and strong wind during our stay. The site was well sheltered and well drained and we didn't have (or see) any problems re flooding of pitches at all.

All in all a wonderful holiday and I would highly recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jc1966 1 review from this member

This site was our first abroad in our motorhome and I say it was magic! we have 5 & 8 yr old boys and they loved the pools and the beach equally. The toilets and showers were great.

On site facilities inc restaurant and TV bar area and massage/pampering facility. Weather was great and a definite plus as we has no transport after dropping anchor on the RV.

If you like wine the on site shop (well stocked for all things) sold excellent varieties mostly at 3 euros. Each morning hot French sticks and croissants.

The beach was lovely with rockpools for crabbing which my boys kept collecting in their buckets big things as well. The walk to the little island offshore was good fun. Now I must go to the gym.

Back next year for sure.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shelley10 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic family holiday at Raguenes Plage campsite with our 4 and 8 year old boys. I would thoroughly recommend the site, particular for those with quite young children, NOT looking for a lively nightlife on site.

Beautiful, amazingly clean and well-maintained, the campsite is the perfect size for our two boys to go to the park and trampoline on their own without worrying about them.

The pool complex is superb and, again, kept extremely clean. Our boys wanted to spend all day, every day in the pools!

The countryside and coast on the doorstep of the site is stunning, we loved the beaches between Raguenes and Trevignon. Concarneau walled town is well worth a visit as is the pretty resort of Benodet. The pretty town of Nevez is handy for a supermarket and we would recommend 'The Dauphin' restaurant.

We loved the site and the area so much that we have already booked to returned next summer!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sooslewoosle 1 review from this member

Have just returned from a fantastic week in Brittany. First time we'd taken our four children (aged 10, 8, 8 & 5) abroad and it was a real success!

We stayed on this campsite for 5 nights and found it to be very good. We normally camp independently but this time we opted for Eurocamp (classic tent) and it was a lot less hassle for us! Particularly great to have a fridge (with freezer) and proper beds! The campsite has plenty of space for independent campers and the facilities were excellent. Fantastic free showers, great loos and washing cubicles, washers/driers & loads of washing up sinks. It's a very well cared for site (v clean) with beautiful flower borders and a nice atmosphere. Lots of hedges and trees providing shade & privacy.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Good on site shop and you can pre-order baguettes and croissants/pain au chocolat to collect each morning. Also has a small takeaway (frites & pizza), a bar and restaurant. The pool complex was superb with an indoor pool and 2 outdoor pools, one with waterslides. The unspoilt beach is 5 mins walk away down a private path. The site was fairly quiet when we visited - I imagine it's a lot busier in the summer.

The area itself is gorgeous. Highlights of our trip included visits to Concarneau, Pont Aven, Quimperle and the standing stones at Carnac. On the way home we stopped off at Huelgoat - lots of grottos etc. - would really recommend it and it's free! Lots of free parking in local towns which was very refreshing. Nevez is the little town closest to the campsite and it has a good range of shops as well as a petrol station and Intermarche (supermarket). The Tourist Information centre here was very helpful.

One last word - if you're getting to France via Roscoff then I'd really recommend spending a couple of hours looking round the town centre/harbour. It's a very pretty town and not your typical 'ferry terminal' destination!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrstedtexan 1 review from this member

We thought we would try this site as our first family camping holiday with our 14 and 12 year old. The site was just what we wanted, quiet, clean and friendly with good facilities.

Although the pitches did vary in size with some being deeper than others, the staff were very happy to assist with enquiries. There was plenty of shade and privacy, and electric hook up and water between pitches with 2 well equipped toilet blocks that were kept spotless at all times of the day and night.

A bonus was the 5 minute private access walk to a lovely clean and almost unoccupied beach as well as a good pool with slides (not too big) with loungers, 2 kids play areas, table tennis and a kids club.

The site is clearly a family run concern and as a result not over commercialised, the convenience shop was pretty good value for money with fresh bread and croissants in the morning, the takeaway also served excellent moules frites and lovely pizzas if you couldn't face going out or cooking. There is also a very well stocked supermarket at Nevez, a 5 minutes drive away.

All in all we thought it was a great site and one that we would want to return to, I still can't quite believe that I could sleep until 10am in a tent as there was no noise!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Captain Caveman 18 reviews from this member

Some of the pitches at this site are a tight squeeze, and I managed to get the caravan stuck at a road junction within the site, despite it only being a moderately sized four berth. Due to the pitches being so cramped, children tend to play in the road between pitches. My car was hit at least three times by a football as a result.
A 3 Euro deposit is required for each wristband for pool access. Also budget for an additional 50 cents per adult per night in local taxes that the campsite forgets to mention until you leave!
There are pitches with 2, 6, 10 and 16 amp electricity points. The 10 amp electricity boxes required French plug adaptors, although the 6 amp boxes used standard plugs and sockets. I found polarity to be correct on the sockets I used. The water points tended to be of the ‘push to go’ type, they did not fit my aquaroll hose and were very slow filling. A neighbour disconnected a nearby hosepipe for a better supply, whilst I used the water tap at the main shower block instead. There is no separate grey water disposal point, and not all of the water points had grids.
Be clear when making your booking, I had stated the date of my last night, whereas the staff understood it to be my day of departure leading me to have to move to another pitch for a single night at the end of my stay. Staff informed me this was a common misunderstanding with English customers!
Market stall vendors visit the site on many evenings selling jewellery and crafts. Tuesday night is disco and karaoke night, with loud music until midnight. The main gates to the site are closed from 2200 hrs to 0800 hrs, although there is a car park just outside.
The main attraction of this site is being able to walk to the beach and across to the nearby island at low tide. The staff will provide you with a low tide timetable. The ground was good for standard pegs.
There is a good Intermarche closeby in Nevez with 24-hour credit card automated petrol pumps. Unfortunately the supermarket was very busy on a Monday morning with queues 5 deep at all the tills; not the best time to go!
Washing machines are 4 Euros per cycle (power not included but is sold in shop), and the dryers are 50 cents for 6 minutes. The dryer on the left is far hotter than the one on the right. Use of the iron and ironing board are free. Hairdryers are free to use and are situated in the shower blocks. Some toilets and showers are nicer than others, its worth hunting out the best at the beginning of your stay. There is handwash in the mens urinals next to the washing lines.
The staff broadcast announcements across the site via the Tannoy system in English and French, for example to give notice of the shop shutting. Very Hi-de-Hi! There is also free campervan parking in Nevez on the road to Port Manech.

I don’t want to sound too negative about this site, especially as it is the second time we have been. The staff are very friendly, the shop is well stocked and the small water park is great. We loved the beach access and there are some good local markets.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wheezsmith 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for a week here during the kids summer holidays after having a wonderful 5 days at Disney. The site is well equipped with toilet blocks, swimming pool, shop & pizzeria. There was a play area for kids but was very busy and very noisy late into the evening 10pm sometimes later. They also had a washing machine & tumble dryers - which were very welcome.

Pizza's were really tasty and chips were made freshly.

Toilet blocks were kept clean and water always warm. We just had to remember to do the washing up while it was still light (or wait till the morning) as no lights by the washing up area.

We found the pitches quite small compared to the huge ones we had just stayed at near Paris. We were not so bad as we didn't have anybody on the next pitch to us for a few days. Other people seemed to be packed in like sardines. The main road down from the swimming pool was wall to wall tents with no separation between pitches. The other area with statics was quieter and less densely packed.

The main downside for us was the noise in the evening - we were a fair distance from the play area but still hear it late into the night. It was supposed to be quite time from 10:30pm but it was closer to midnight when people went to bad. I don't want to be a party-pooper but that is way to late for me especially when you have a 2 year old who wakes up as soon as it gets light. The campsite even broke their own rules when they had karaoke and a band playing - they both went on until midnight.

Kids loved the swimming pool and was the best part of the site. Didn't really use the beach as wasn't really warm enough for us. Weather is pretty much like we have in Portsmouth and so was very changeable and not very warm. For this reason would not stay here again - too noisy at night and tents to close together.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 14 reviews from this member

1st time abroad camping and we enjoyed this site so much we have booked again for 2009

Staff are extremely helpful and speak very good English. We made the mistake of not taking an adapter for the EHU but they kindly lent us one FOC.

Swimming Pool is great for kids of all ages, my 2 aged 9 and 14 spent every day even when it rained!

Toilets and showers were cleaned at least 3-4 times a day and never had a cold shower in the 2 weeks and never had to wait either.

This site has everything you could want for a great family holiday (we don't like big brash entertainment sites) prefer to make our own entertainment, they had a disco and a karaoke night but nothing much else.

2 kiddies parks and an outside Gym which was a great laugh! 2 toilet / shower blocks, trampoline and loads of table tennis. The beach is only a few minutes walk down the private path and although the sea seemed cold at first you soon get used to it.

Eurocamp use this site but only have a few tents and mobile homes so it still retains its small and friendly atmosphere.

Plenty of bike rides and walks. Tourist info in nearby Nevez will give you a list of local coastal walks etc.,

Concarnea Market is worth a visit, but wouldn't bother with Nevez's market, expensive produce, a large punnet of strawberries 5 euros!

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Nevez      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4353 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019