Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westmorland Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Westmorland Caravan Park Reviews

Westmorland Caravan Park
Tebay Services M6
Orton
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 3SB
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We are delighted to advise that this site has now reopened, after a few years of being closed. It once again provides pitches for caravans and motorhomes. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed permanently from 3rd September 2017, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AngelaPerry 4 reviews from this member

 Great site for stop over - friendly, helpful people and plenty of toilets, showers and washing facilities on site. We arrived at midnight and true to their word, they had left our paperwork within easy access and we settled down for the night within minutes without any fuss. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs E 37 reviews from this member

 We were travelling south after a 2 week holiday in Scotland and needed an overnight stop to break up our journey home. I phoned and booked the site just a few weeks beforehand and received a confirmation e-mail.

It's easy enough to access when travelling southbound as you access directly from the services via what I'm assuming is a private road. Check in was quick and efficient and our pitch was very near to the facilities block (Pitch 1). This was perfect for us, being in a campervan. We were issued with a card giving us 10% off in the hotel, farm shop and services restaurant which we made good use of. We had a meal in the evening and also brunch the following morning before vacating our pitch just before midday. The services and restaurant are one of the best we've come across and we'd certainly stop there again for food.

It's a short walk up to the services with it's restaurant and cafe, in addition to the hotel which we didn't venture into. In fact, you wouldn't know a campsite was there! The showers were free but if I had to criticise, why put the switch for the shower on the outside of the cubicle?! I had to wrap a towel around me and do a quick check before opening the door to switch it on and then off again.

Unfortunately, the campsite is closing in early September this year. Apparently the management want to relocate their offices and use the land for this. This is a real shame, especially for those who use the site regularly to break a journey when travelling north or south. As we plan to go to Scotland again next year we'll have to find somewhere else conveniently placed for an overnight stop.

We paid £23. 50 which also included EHU. It would have been £22 without EHU. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nikko136 51 reviews from this member

 Although only just off the M6 the site is in a level Ďglení set lower than the road and is surrounded by tall trees so the background noise from motorway traffic isnít that bad. The pitches are well-spaced but not exactly picturesque, although a stroll up to the grass play area reveals a good views across to the Lake District hills. Staff were friendly and helpful.

There is a range of shopping and good dining facilities up at the service station with lots of local food products, but regrettably none of them permit dogs to enter so we had to drive over to Appleby-in-Westmorland, the closest pub for a meal out with our dog.

Although we used the site as a one-night stopover on the way to Scotland there were a number of seasonal caravans parked there, as it is fairly convenient for the Lakes.

The toilets and shower facilities were modern and clean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dobby2148 4 reviews from this member

 Good site for one night stopover. We had not booked but there was not problem at this time of year and the warden was very friendly and helpful. The showers and toilets were clean but as mentioned in other reviews the switch for the shower is outside the door which means that the floor gets wet when you switch the water off! Breakfast in the services area was fine and there is a short walk for dog owners next to the site. Would recommend for an overnight stay as it is very convenient for the M6 going either north or south. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jones1947 1 review from this member

 I have used this site many times and can't get enough of it. Staff very helpful & other site is easy to get to and very close to the lakes. You think you would hear traffic from m6 but you don't hear any at all. Toilets very clean. Food fantastic at services a few hundred yards from site & well stocked farm shop. Good stop over if going to Scotland 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thegrinch 16 reviews from this member

 Stopped on route to Scotland and what a find. Alot of hard standing but the pitch was massive and there are no problems whatever the weather. The showers are lovely and warm, clean and some of the best we have used. Best of all you are next door to the services which are award winning and brilliant. Had a great breakfast on the way up and some lunch on the way back. You even get a discount card to use in the cafe and shop. Do not hesitate if you need a campsite off the M6, which you soon forget is 50m away. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Andykelly 5 reviews from this member

 This is a really useful site for travelling to and from Scotland so we have used this site every year over the last 4-5 years. Wardens are really helpful on the phone and easy to book and pay before travelling in order to arrive late at night and leave early. Easy to pull in off the m6 and find pitch without any hassle. Due to close proximity to motorway there is quite a lot of road noise but this has never bothered us as we cant really hear it inside the van. Plenty of toilets and 3 showers each for men and women - the only draw back is the switch for the shower is outside the cubicle. Always clean and tidy. Also has laundry facilities and washing up area although we have never used either. Short walk up to services where you can use the shop and cafe and also a hotel if you would like a better meal. Will definitely be staying here again as so convenient, although wouldn't stay here for a longer break. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fionavan 40 reviews from this member

 We always stay here en route to Scotland, and we are never disappointed - it's the start of the holiday. We arrived when the warden was on lunch but a note in the window told us where to pitch - not a problem. The facilities are always spotless & the showers lovely and hot - run the water for a little before stepping in. We usually arrive late at night but this time managed to arrive in the afternoon which gave us time to go for a walk - don't be fooled into thinking 'why would I go for a walk by the M6?' - you will miss a treat. Head towards the hotel & then head left towards the hills across the railway bridge - stunning scenery, a round walk is possible with the right map. A peaceful nights sleep & up in the morning - lovely food to be had in the Services restaurant, and stock up the fridge in the farm shop - one of the best farm shops in the UK, I promise! Don't panic if you've eaten everything while on holiday, you can re-stock as you head southbound - there is a farm shop there too! Although I can't comment on child friendliness, as we don't travel with one, everyone that arrived seemed to be so excited that there was no need for a playground. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westmorland Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westmorland Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westmorland Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6535 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement