Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bardsea Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Bardsea Leisure Park Reviews

Bardsea Leisure Park
Priory Road
(lake District)
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 9QE
Tel: 01229 584712
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 83
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Morey2 1 review from this member

 We booked here for August bank holiday but because of family illness the week before we were unable to have our holiday which was disappointing.

The staff were so kind and obliging we hope to make it there next spring. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bodandmeg 7 reviews from this member

 This site is predominantly a large caravan / motorhome dealership, with a caravan park situated at the rear, inside an old abandoned quarry. Because of this, any views are limited to observing your neighbours, on this somewhat crowded site, however the plus side is that the site is very shielded from any winds.

Having said all that, the site is immaculately maintained, reception staff were very efficient & friendly, and the facilities block is one of the best that I have ever encountered, both here or in Europe.

The facilities consist of individual self contained Ďen suitesí, with wet room style shower, toilet, sink, mirror, towel rails etc.

This site is also well suited to tourers who do not wish to enter the mad scramble of the actual Lake District caravan parks - with easy access just off the A590 and within easy walking distance of the many facilities of Ulverston.

Overall, definitely recommended if you donít mind, or prefer, a more remote site, within easy driving distance of the Lake District. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gini123 1 review from this member

 Bought a caravan so got to stay 2 nights free and if any issues would sought. Great idea as we are new to caravanning and needed support

Handover on arrival could have gone more smoothly. Think my expectations were higher but it is something the company needs to address.

Gillian on reception made up for any issues with her lovely smile and always sorted any support needed. Mick sorted no plate and was helpful in the shop which did not run smoothly when he wasnít there (who gave him a day off 😂)

Lovely site. Peaceful clean and everybody welcoming and helpful. NO caravans hanging off top of cliffs as I have read on another review (idiots). Walking distance to pub, coop and chippy Some lovely attractions nearby - beautiful beech and temple. Ullverston just along the road with some lovely pubs and restaurants - big shops not far to travel too - Barrow just 15 mins drive away

Would stay again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 278 reviews from this member

 Disappointed; we stayed here years ago and it was good back then. I had to phone to book as their internet was down, was told that so long as we arrived before 1. 30 pm on Christmas Eve that the warden would be there. He/she wasn't, and we did not see anyone in the whole 8 days we were there.

The 80+ touring pitches in reality is something like 20, in the middle of the site. It is mostly taken up by statics and a large number of tourers which seem to be permanenently sited, as well as caravans and motorhomes for sale, nearer to the entrance.

The EHU kept tripping on a regular basis for up to 10 minutes at a time. Guess what? when I went to complain, there was nobody around to complain to. The ehu boxes were all wide open to the elements. There was a dangerous loose floor tile in the nearest shower room.

All these annoyances apart, it's a convenient site, near to Ulverston with a CO-OP just along the road. There are plenty of walks along the coast. The best place is just past Dalton, on the road to Barrow, past all the roundabouts, signed Roanhead on the right. This will bring you to a National Trust car park and a lovely area of sand dunes and beach to the left, a good beach walk to Askham Pier to the right, and views of the Lake District fells on a clear day.

We won't be going back, seen it all. Good value, if everything worked properly, just over £20 per night. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vangelina 19 reviews from this member

 This site needs to decide if it a commercial sales business or a touring site. No amount of the investment in the facilities can make up for the truly appalling small pitches which are shared with statics and caravans for sale. There is absolutely no view at all and it feels very goldfishlike. We stayed one night as it is the nearest site to Ulverston.

The site is crammed with motorcaravans, caravans and statics either for sale or on the tiny pitches. The t. V. Didnít work and just to finish it all off the wifi was broken. In all our years of caravanning this is one of the worst sites we have ever stayed on - not relaxing at all and simply smacks of the owners greed to extract as much money out of customers. Oh and those caravans hanging over the top of the quarry - terrifying.

Couldnít wait to leave. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wooliew 10 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site, the location is good for the South Lakes and Cumbrian coast. The pitches are fully serviced and level. The facilities are superb, all the shower/wc blocks are heated and clean. The potwash is indoors.

There is a superb accessories shop where the staff are friendly and very helpful.

Bay Radio has a midweek offer for this site, £20 for five nights, excellent value. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Millipitch 1 review from this member

 Visited Bardsea Leisure Park for the Ulverston Dickensian Festival weekend. Not our usual type of site (too many caravans & no views) but was value for money for this weekend.

Ulverston well within walking distance where numerous pubs & shops, Co op quite close for provisions

This was only our 2nd trip out with the campervan, the site had all we needed, the small shower room building was lovely & warm, spacious & had somewhere to sit whilst waiting.

We didn't use the main shower block but was stated to contain luxury showers. The dog walking area was small & very muddy, it was an enclosed area but not ideal.

There is an accessories shop which was handy as we needed a small hose pipe to access the water tap. No rush to leave on Sunday, as they weren't busy staff said we could stay as long as we liked. Enjoyed looking around the motorhomes for sale. Gas supplies also on site.

Would stay again if visiting Ulverston 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trubytribute 17 reviews from this member

 Visited here as daughter in law's family come from Barrow In Furness. We have 3 dogs and checked they could go but were very disappointed as no facilities to speak of for the dogs so difficult to find a suitable place for them to go to the loo. There was nowhere within a 10 minute walk to take them for a short run. This site is not good for dogs at all unless they and their owners are very fit and can walk what we were told was about a 1 1/2 miles to the beach. The dog walk area is tiny about the size of an small back garden.

However for humans the site is okay. You are surrounded by statics that are both for hire and lived in. It is in a large disused quarry. Water and waste are on each pitch. For the fit it is an easy enough walk into Ulverston and driving there are some lovely places to visit in easy reach without being in the total rush of the Lake District itself.

We didn't find the staff friendly at all, in fact the opposite quite rude and short attitude. We also didn't get any instructions about how to park the van and had to guess which we got wrong in the first instance and boy did we get told off. Proper instructions would be useful or a more polite explanation that we had got it wrong.

The shining light on the experience was our 5 year old granddaughter and being with our son and lovely daughter in law and meeting up again with her parents. By the way child play area isn't within site bounds but near a busy road and suitable only if children are supervised with an adult or over 10 thereabouts.

Would I go again - not out of choice due to the poor attitude of staff, but would to have the lovely time with our lovely family. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mixedgrill 29 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a two night stay here and you wont find a nicer campsite!

We had the chance to talk to Jason and Richard who were two of the nicest people that you could meet.

All the reception staff were very helpful also. There is a camping and caravan shop that is very well stocked with everything that could need. We bought a low wattage kettle and toaster which were cheaper that Amazon! Yes you do need a satellite box to get any TV channels but you can rent one for £50 which is then refunded on a card if you want at the end of your holiday. The site is also a Caravan dealership if you are looking to upgrade. Last but not least the washrooms are the best that we have ever seen. Nice easy walk into Ulverston. I am a registered blind camper and was treated with dignity at all times by everyone. Try this camp for yourselves you wont be disappointed! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 31 reviews from this member

 We picked this site due to the location, easy walk into the lovely Ulverston. Was warmly greeted and was told about the Freesat box we would probably need due to the poor TV reception, £50 refundable deposit. Lots of caravans for sale on the site, an accessory shop which had everything. The Touring site is situated beyond this in a secluded quarry. Statics on the edges, touring pitches in the middle.

The toilet/shower blocks have spaciuos separate cubicles with under floor heating, clean and really good.

Good children's playground.

Local pub and Co-op 5 minute walk away

Site was peaceful and relaxing.

Our four nights went to quickly.

Will definitely return. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bardsea Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bardsea Leisure Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bardsea Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3808 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement