Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Achnahaird Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > By Ullapool > Achnahaird Caravan And Campsite > Reviews

CLOSED: Achnahaird Caravan And Campsite
Achnahaird
Achiltibuie
By Ullapool
Highlands   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 7 Reviews
                10/10 from 7 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leom76 5 reviews from this member

 Mr and Mrs Mackenzie, hope they have a good retirement. What a wonderful campsite so laid back and beautiful place I really hope it opens again in the future.

Been there a few times and had amazing walks on the beach with the dog and stargazed on an evening. Here is a tribute to in my mind one of the best campsites in Scotland for value for money and basic approach to life. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: RPMS41 1 review from this member

 Heaven on earth. Blissful childhood family holidays in the 70s and early 80s. Arrival at Achnahaird felt like coming home. It still does, even though we can only visit the beach for a day, instead of living alongside it for 2 weeks. The 'we' now consists of me, my wife and my own 2 children. My love for it may be out of scale, but when a place combines an awe-inspiringly beautiful landscape, a huge sandy and gently-shelving beach, dunes, cliff walks and just sheer peace, together with very happy memories, it takes some beating.

Here's wishing Mr and Mrs Mackenzie a happy retirement. Their presence year-after-year contributed to the unchanging timeless feel of Achnahaird that's so difficult to find in modern life. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spicera 1 review from this member

 Just to confirm that this most perfect of campsites closed last year (2008). We stayed in the August, determined to experience it one last time and had about one of the most fantastic camping holidays we have ever had (despite youngest son developing tonsillitis). The couple who ran the site had decided to retire I believe, and not renew the lease. If this changes, if someone else takes up the lease, we would be delighted to know and will be back forthwith.

RIP Achanahaird camp site, you will be missed! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nieci 4 reviews from this member

 This is our second year at this campsite. The views are breath taking. There are toilet blocks and running water. It can be extremely windy so it is wise to obtain shelter from the toilet block or sand dunes. It has a wonderful freedom to it as there are no restrictions to pitches and the whole area is clean.
The walks along beaches or hills are terrific. Absolutely recommended. There was some strong hints that this site would be closing in October 2008. This would be sad if true so best to check before you go next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 203 reviews from this member

 Wild camping but with basic loos. Plenty of room, no designated pitches. No obvious place to go and check in - the owners drove round collecting the pitch fees in the morning. Lack of showers not an problem - we had a flannel body-wash.

No electric hook-ups but at the height of summer it doesn't get dark at night. Fabulous views, stunning beach (happy spaniel). There is a cpd disposal but we didn't find it. Easy access to a long stand-pipe at the site entrance for the motorhome tank. Thank goodness for static-free sites like this: there may have been a few seasonals, but there wasn't the usual problem of their having bagged the best views, as everyone has those.

One word of warning - don't drive to Lochinver on the single-track coast road unless you can reverse your small motorhome to the passing place that's back round a blind corner with a cliff on one side and the drystone sea wall on the other. If you can, then do it this once as it's stunning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peaceseeker 1 review from this member

 Achnahaird is a very magical place with the classic view of the Coigach and Assynt hills.
 
We have camped there at least once every year for the past 35 years and the simple facilities are in fact one of the reasons we go so regularly. The toilets are always clean and tidy, during the busy summer months they are cleaned twice a day. There are bottle and paper recycling units on the road to Achiltibuie and there are excellent showers at the local Coigach Community centre a few miles along the road also towards Achiltibuie.
 
The site is great for children who usually spend many hours playing in the dunes, diverting burns in the sand and flying kites etc.
 
I can't understand the reviewer who said that the owners weren't chatty - the reverse is true! We have often seen the evening collection trip extend to well over the hour as they would chat and advise new comers and old friends alike.
 
This site is the nearest you can get to wild camping on the Scottish mainland beside your car - it would be a tragedy if this was made into a more commercial site.
 
If you like peace, open spaces, great views, unbelievable food near by (Michelin standard!), fabulous hill walks and sometimes clear blue skies all week long - go and experience Achnahaird but a word of warning . You may get addicted! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purpleturtle 7 reviews from this member

 Achnahaird is in a spectacular location, in a very large field on a large beach with perfect panoramic views of the Assynt range.

However, although we are self- sufficient campers not looking for any luxury, caravanners and families may find the site quite lacking.

There are no showers yet. I think I saw a sign saying there were some for use at the information office, a mile or so away. The facilities are 2 x toilet portacabins,2 x water taps, 1 rubbish (not recycling) area. Raised BBQs allowed, no open fires. Basic but quiet for its size.

The owners drive around in the evening and collect fees (£7 for 2 of us in a 4 man tent). They werent very chatty but I got the feeling that they may still be developing the site. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4072 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement