Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llanthony Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Llanthony Campsite Reviews

Llanthony Campsite
Court Farm
Llanthony
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 7NN
Tel: 01873 890359
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: No formal number
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Huntsm 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful campsite in a beautiful location. Basic for some but more than suitable for exploring the Black Mountains.

Simply turn up and set up your tent.

The owner came round in the morning to chat and I was able to pay direct. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Monty4 2 reviews from this member

 Magical campsite, the most fabulous location toilets a short stroll away wonderfully clean,

The kids had the best holiday, abby, river mountains what more could anybody want 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tegydm 1 review from this member

 Great site for nature and planes loved it! We enjoyed a burner and logs.

The facilities were very clean and the site had the right number of pitches for its size.

Great birding opportunities on the heath behind and the kids loved watching the planes coming in.

Great locale for exploring Bristol and surrounds. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Biggang 1 review from this member

 Loved the campsite. It was basic, as described, which suited us fine. The toilets were about a five minute walk away, and toilet roll was replaced very regularly. No showers (and no mirror, so couldn't see how bad the camping hair had got).

There were hotel rooms in the priory as well, if people didn't fancy camping. It was very child friendly, with rope swings, horses, chickens, and plenty of room to play. Pony trekking was also available and looked really good.

The setting was stunning - right in the heart of the countryside, and fabulous mountain walks all around. We chose this site because there was no need to book in advance, as there were a number of families going, and we weren't sure of precise numbers.

We ate at the half moon hotel both nights we were there, as we didn't fancy cooking, given lack of electricity etc, though actually we could have barbecued easily, and will do that next time. The half moon was fab - lovely food, great kids menu, reasonably priced, and coped with dietary requirements very well. The priory bar/ restaurant looked lovely, but was fairly small and didn't do a kids menu at weekends.

It didn't take dogs either, whereas the half moon did, and was only five minutes walk away.

We loved the site, and will definitely go back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcfaria 1 review from this member

 Lovely spot, nestled in the Vale of Elwyas and next to the remains of Llanthony Priory.

The field itself is lovely and big, with plenty of room for everyone, and it was quiet on the Summer Saturday we were there. The grass is left long, which doesn't suit everyone and the only facilities are a tap.

The owners are very friendly and an overnight stay is super-cheap. No one bothers you and its very laid back.

Toilets are available in the Priory car park, and when it's open the Priory pub/cafe. The toilets in the car park are pretty shocking, quite frankly. They are obviously maintained by someone (local authority?) because someone empties the bin and replaces the soap and loo roll. But they are of a very poor standard and very dirty throughout. I can't imagine anyone ever cleans them.

The loos at the Priory pub are fractionally better but only open when the pub is open. If you're not bothered by this sort of thing then it's a fantastic camp site. If, like many of us, a basic degree of hygiene is preferred, then be prepared.

Other than that, we had a great weekend of walking and a lovely evening at the site.

Be warned - it gets muddy in parts. We had to have our car towed out by a friendly fellow camper! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BongoBongo 4 reviews from this member

 Delightful site. Facilities are primitive (a tap! - access to public loos in abbey carpark only) but the location is magnificent with its historic buildings and exquisite valley.

We loved the relaxed atmosphere and the way campers are just left to get on with being on holiday. We have stayed here often over the years and have never been overcrowded or had any problems from other campers.

Easy access to magnificent walks in all directions and at all levels of difficulty. Varied birdlife / wildlife surrounds the site too.

A real feel of being in the countryside rather than the suburban feel of so many over regulated sites. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lpjones 2 reviews from this member

 Unspoilt, so basic as described in previous reviews, so don't go there if you want any sort of modern convenience, mostly tents (DoE), ok for campervans.

The Priory bar is very close but lacks atmosphere, go to the Half Moon (5 min walk), I love it there, no pretensions, possibly the best real ale (Bullmastive) and very good cider (Alderstones). George, the owner is very friendly and will chat with you if trade is slow.

It was wet and chilly when I was there, but had great time! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simpsonlover 1 review from this member

 Stayed on the site on the wettest week of August, friendly helpful site owners. The site is basic, but great, how camping should be ie basic amenities, and fending for yourselves having fun with little contact with the outside world. Would recommend this site to anyone as me and my children thoroughly enjoyed ourselves during the week we stayed. Be back next year. The only recommendation I would say is try to update the amenities from a tap in the field in an old rail carriage, but still enjoyed it. I used to live in Abergavenny and visited the Abbey when I was younger, and didn't realise the farm even existed. Activities are within a reasonable distance from the camp.

Finally I couldn't believe how cheap it was to stay on the site compared to other sites in the area 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Duke 3 reviews from this member

 Second year for our visit, excellent site for walking activities. Yes toilets a little walk but this year brought our own sealable bucket, a lot easier. However, the pubs the same distance. Recommend the Half Moon for atmosphere and food and the Priory bar for food.

Watch the top of the field in very heavy rain spring might pop up in the area rest of the field ok. Recommend the site if you want a basic field. Does get busy on weekends. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malebu 2 reviews from this member

 A really lovely spot. Entirely basic, a field with a tap as described in the other reviews, but run by lovely owners and in a beautiful setting. It's also very cheap (3/night when I was there).

The pub next door in the hotel/ruined monastery is one of the most charming pubs I've ever been to. There is also a hotel and a pony-trekking centre on site which looked good.

The only downside is perhaps the toilet block, which is a little grim; but it is only about 3 minutes up the hill from the field (contrary to previous review).

There is no mobile phone reception. I came back entirely refreshed by the tranquillity and beauty of the place. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llanthony Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llanthony Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Llanthony Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abergavenny      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement