Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Les Berges Du Canal

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Site Reviews

Les Berges Du Canal
Promenade Des Vernets
Villeneuve Les Beziers
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
34420
Tel: 0033 4673 93609
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 85
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  10 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 77 reviews from this member

Used as a NH between Provence and Gascony. Made an interesting stopover but we would not choose it as a main holiday base. Booking enquiry and query about reception opening time was dealt with quickly. Not too far from the motorway and we found it using directions from the Caravan Club handbook quite easily.

Access to the allocated pitch was rather tight for our 7. 49m caravan, there were some more suited nearer the exit roadways, but my OH used the mover to put it on the pitch and we used a different route out which was far better. Pitch was quite small so I doubt we would have been able to put up the awning and park the car.

Toilet block was fairly new, clean and tidy. The ladies loos had paper and moist wipes for the seat. Shower cubicles were of a good size and design with plenty of hot water.

Ordered bread for the next day, but had no need to use the shop or cafe. After pitching, we strolled into the little town but being a Sunday the shops were shut. We booked a table at the Italian restaurant - La Cremade - a few minutes walk from the site since it looked busy over lunchtime and the menu appealed to us. Had a lovely evening, tasty pizzas and a delicious bottle of red, beside the interesting Canal du Midi.

This is an ACSI site so for our stay was 17 plus tourist tax.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Franbee 158 reviews from this member

Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes

We chose this site from the ACSI book as we fancied visiting Beziers and read that we could cycle in from this site. The site is on the side of the Canal du Midi, across from the town. The towpath is on the town side, and the track to the site and beyond where boats are moored is rather scruffy beyond the site entrance.

We arrived at lunchtime when the reception was closed, and there is a barrier, but a pleasant man appeared, directed us to an area, and told us to choose a pitch and come back later. He opened the barrier for us, this seems to be done by the staff.

This a large site, mainly flat, with areas of statics, a campervan area, and a touring area with grassy pitches. We chose a shady pitch which backed on to a wooden chalet. There had been work going on to replace some of the trees and bushes, so the back of the pitch was rather untidy.

The sanitary block was a short walk away, a shared area of showers and basins, and a toilet area which has signs male and female, but were mostly ignored. Paper was supplied once a day, after that you needed to take your own. Washing up and laundry is in the outer area under cover. The water was hot, and everywhere was quite clean.

There is a pool and play area, but we didn't use them. There's a cafe bar at the entrance which is open to the public, seems quite popular.

We cycled into the old town, there are a few shops and some interesting old buildings, worth a visit. The supermarket is not far away from the campsite.

You can walk or cycle along the canal into Beziers (and beyond), the path is well maintained, it takes about 30 mins to cycle. Beziers is quite a large town with lots of shops and a historic area.

The other way, you can cycle to the beach, that takes longer and the path appears not to have much shade, and as it was very hot when we stayed, we didn't attempt the ride.

We would use this site again if we were passing, it was not expensive with ACSI discount.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JMLivesey 3 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed staying here for 6 days June/July but would recommend pre booking if you have a caravan as was always busy. We didn't and arrived early pm, 4 pitches left only 1 of which was big enough for our 5. 8m caravan and even that was with much manoeuvring! The site has mobile homes, seasonal pitches in and amongst the camping/touring pitches and dependant on your neighbours could be noisy as all fairly close together. We noted that the mobile homes were rented for the weekends and also booked by tradesmen with works vans parked at the main entrance. The owners have also developed an Aire For motor homes with wash up facilities and CCTV and there is a small area for small tents.

The pool area was lovely, split into 1 large pool and a smaller one with a shallow & deeper area with water jets/seat similar to a spa pool.

The water facilities on site do need an upgrade with only 1 tap available near the main entrance for the touring pitches. We understood the owners have been present for a couple of years and have made some changes already so hopefully this will continue. The toilets were cleaned daily and my husband said the showers were ok. Laundry facilities are available to boaters as well as site users as the facilities open onto the canal bank road. The site appeared to be gearing up for 'the season' with a stage being erected in the bar and a list of daily 'animations' but all after we left.

We recommend the restaurant on the banks of the canal on the approach road to the site, lovely food, make sure your hungry as portions were good. It's a popular stop with the hire boats. We used the excellent canal path to cycle to Beziers and visit the cathedral and wander the narrow streets of the old town and then upto the 9 lock drop which was interesting to see how quickly the boats were moved through the locks. The towpath to the south is as previously noted, not the best! Sete is an interesting town to visit, very busy along the canal side streets, with many seafood restaurants. The local town has all you might need within walking distance and there is a large supermarket on a retail park on the outskirts of the town.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

Previous reviews tend to give the flavour of the site. It is small and extremely compact. You approach along a quite rutted road to a gate set at right angles. This has a barrier controlled by 'madam'. It is the only way in or out, so traffic jams regularly occur, until she decides to raise the barrier.

Within the campsite the roads are very narrow and set at acute angles so as to give great spectator sport from those trying to manoeuvre large units

The sanitaires are basic verging upon the health hazard, but it is claimed they will be renewed this winter. The electric hook ups are good, but water points are few. Any motor home filling up with water immediately blocks the traffic by the barrier!

For all its faults it is a great, happy site and we enjoyed it.

The cycling along this stretch of the Midi Canal is not brilliant. Towards Beziers it is a bit lumpy and after Portirangne the path becomes a rutted death trap all the way to Agde. (I buckled my front wheel going into pothole. )

There are several other rides down to the coast which are well waymarked on the road itself.

It was great fun for a day or two but I would not recommend it for any longer

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pjh57 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 5 nights in late August 2012 and really enjoyed the experience. This is a smallish site in an area dominated by large sites, and has the added bonus of being alongside the Canal du Midi, and a couple of minutes walk to lovely little town of Villeneuve Les Beziers. The site was mainly devoid of grass at the time we visited, but rock pegs weren't necessary and pitches were a good size. The initial reception experience is a somewhat quirky one, reception is closed for lunch and at this time it's not always possible to get the barrier opened to get on and off site - but not a problem really as you can usually park outside and wait or go for a walk along the canalside. In fact getting on and off site is a bit hit and miss as the owner controls the barrier herself using a key fob - if she's busy you may have to wait a while or get out of your vehicle and give her a nudge.

The site has a bar, restaurant and shop that are both accessible to non campers, friendly and reasonably priced. The bar and restuarant has a terrace over the road overlooking the canal.

WiFi tokens are available from reception, and unlike many other sites there is WiFi reception over much of the campsite - so you don't need to huddle in one area to download your email.

The wash block and toilets were clean and tidy, although there were queues for the showers at times even though the site was far from full. There were also some Turkish style toilets, and the Chemical toilet waste disposal point was in the Gents area of the loos. There also seemed to be a lack of fresh water taps around the site, most people seemed to fetch their water from the washing up sinks.

For Motorhome owners the Service Point is on the road outside the Campsite gates and costs 2 euros. The site has a swimming pool, which looked fine although we prefer the sea so didn't use it.

While we were there many people were using this site as a one night stopover, which is a shame really as the local area has a lot to offer and is worthy of longer exploration. The 40 minute cycle ride along the Canal du Midi to the beach was very pleasant, with a bar / restaurant about halfway. The beach at Portiragnes Ouest is great, with plenty of room, and a couple of decent beach bars / restaurants, and a sailing school.

Villeneuve Les Beziers is well worth a visit for an evening stroll and a drink in the town square. During August the town hosts themed live music weekends - it was C&W while we there, with hundreds of local line dancers - yee hah! And a Harley Davidson rally planned for the following weekend - very eclectic!

Further afield Beziers is well worth a visit, being five minutes drive from the site, and there is a Carrefour Hypermarket between the site and the A9 Autoroute.

All in all - this site can't be described as luxurious, but it definitely has a charm unlike most others and is worth a look for a few nights. I expect we would stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Feeblecat 40 reviews from this member

Really loved this site. Used it as a stopover heading from Pyrenees to Ardeche but stayed 2 nights instead of one. Would consider returning for longer.

Medium sized family site. Small swimming pool, small bar. Despite being peak season and fully booked it wasn't particularly noisy, in fact I found it had a pleasant ambience. Very friendly, helpful lady in reception. Toilet and shower facilities basic but clean. Pitches reasonable size with varying degrees of shade.

Lovely walk along the canal. Small town a few minutes walk away with a couple of decent restaurants and a bar where we felt right at home. Small Spar shop. Jazz festival was on when we were there - lovely. Nearby a couple of beaches within a short drive and best of all for us, there was a designated part of beach at Portiragnes that permitted dogs. Didn't get into Beziers or Adge or Marseillan Plage but will visit upon our definite return.

Previous     10 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -    All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth 149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0918