Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Six Mile Water Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Site Reviews

Six Mile Water Caravan Park
Lough Road
County Antrim
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT41 4DG
Tel: 028 9446 4963
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 2nd February - 26th November.

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Baz Bag 2 reviews from this member

A nice site by the water. Stayed two separate nights. Easy to get to from the ferry in Belfast. 30 mins away. Toilet block could do with a bit of updating, but the pitches are good and the location is great for the town and water facilities. Antrim is lovely. Next to a car park for the use of the waterway. 25 per pitch (on line) and you get an entry code. Hardstanding and elec. Wifi.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy12 6 reviews from this member

A secure and convenient site for visiting Antrim or enjoying the local water sports.

The facilities however are out dated (especially the WCs)and far too few for the size of site which appears to have been expanded.

The pitches are of a good size and angled to the roadway so offering a good amount of space around units. But a bit pricey taking into account the number of facilities to available pitches. An additional facility block the other end of the site would be appropriate.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ballabob 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights wished we had booked for a longer period, very helpful staff, clean and tidy the only slight problem is the size of the showers being 6'2' I found them to be a bit small.

We will visit this site again for a longer period.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J+ES 4 reviews from this member

Our second stay. A great park with friendly, helpful staff.

Toilet/shower block very clean. Great location beside the Castle Gardens with the town and Lough Neagh just a stroll away.

Access is now by a PIN emailed to you and the barriers open and close automatically.

Wifi pretty good.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KarD 1 review from this member

Just spent our third visit at this lovely site. The site is very well maintained, clean and well laid out. It is an excellent site for motorhomes with a much appreciated service area. Great for access to Antrim town, the Forum and lovely walks through the gardens. Also has many safe cycling paths. The wardens are extremely helpful. A pleasure to visit and look forward to staying again in the near future. Slight downside were the flies, but not too troublesome this visit.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campernic 5 reviews from this member

A site that definitely caters for caravans rather than tents. I managed to book an electric pitch in what they deem the caravan area although the staff thought I'd lost my marbles. Who needs electric for a tent! A little less discrimination would be nice.

The staffs attitude aside the camp site is nicely laid out with great recycling facilities and a secure gate arrangement for getting in and out. The site has direct access to a network of cycle track/paths that take you to Antrim Castle and grounds in one direction and I believe takes you all the way out to Greenmount in the other direction.

The site is actually adjacent the river but very close to the rivers junction with Lough Neagh. The views from the campsite are therefore of the river which has moorings for boats along the far side from the campsite - a pleasant outlook.

The toilets are securely accessed and clean. There is a TV room, but I did not use it.

This is my second visit to the site and I feel I've done the things I would want to do in the locality and don't particularly want go back - mainly because of the prevailing snobbishness from the staff regarding campers. This is not unique to this particular campsite, it's an attitude quite common in Northern Ireland. I paid exactly the same rate for my electric pitch as if I had a caravan so I feel I should be treated the same.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gunman 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights in our family tent. The site itself is very well kept. The toilet block is clean, as are the dish washing facilities.

You pay 10 deposit for the key card for access to the gates and toilet block. The gates are manually operated which could be better.

The main observation I would have is that the site would appear to cater more for caravans than tents. The camping area is as far away from the facilities block as is possible. This was quite a walk with a 2 yr old. Also, where the tents are located tends to be in the shade in the evenings.

I'd give another 2 stars if you were staying with a caravan.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soupster 1 review from this member

Great little park.

Stayed here just for a weekend and wished we stayed longer (althought the sunny weather probably helped!).

The park is very clean and well kept. Plenty of space for kids to play (playpark off site). There is a one-way traffic system which helps control speed and safety. Entrance & exit gates are controlled with a keycard (10 deposit) but you have to open and close the gates manually which is a bit of a pain. Each site has plenty of space (tents and caravans) and the tent area has grass mesh reinforcement to help with drainage and reduce rutting/mud.

One gripe on layout is that the caravans are all closer to the toilet block than the tents. Night toilet visits are a bit of a treck. A small toilet block at the tent area would make this park perfect. The park lighting is supplied from the caravan hookups which give a lovely 'glow' at night but means that the tent area is pitch black at night. Some tent users may consider this a benefit but everyone has to carry a torch to see where they were going.

Cafe (which is very good) is directly opposite the entrance (across carpark) as well as boat/kayak hire but both close about 18:00. Tow-path walk is great and Antrim town centre only 15 min walk away. Leisure centre (with pool) and playpark about 10 min walk away. Beautiful gardens only 8 min walk along tow-path. Path also runs around the lough itself and must go on for miles. Ducks and swans at the lough/river mouth. Park would be excellent for those with kayaks/boats/toppers/etc. As access is very good with 2 slipways and park has ample parking space. The carpark at the entrance is closed at night to help keep noise down but campers can still use their keycard to get in or out if required. Normal amout of mozzies for a river/lough park. No staff or security at night.

Would recommend highly.

If using a tent, bring a camping toilet for night.

Almost forgot - Antrim has numerous shops, a large supermarket, and lots of eat in / carry out places.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ozziemm 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site, showers and toilet block spotless, nice lever stands and plenty of room for awnings, staff very helpful, lovely cafe nearby, we had a few lovely meals in and staff very pleasant. Nice walks by the river and in estate grounds. Only problem we had was we could not book dates we wanted on line, after we arrived we informed staff who told us if we had any problems in the future to contact site direct an the would sort it out. Would stay again.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheCoffeys 2 reviews from this member

We have been to this site on 2 occasions and already booked again for a weekend in April.

The site is very clean as are the shower/toilet facilities.

Staff are extremely helpful and ensure you get settled.

Loads of space between each pitch and no extra charges for awnings etc.

The surrounding area has some lovely walk ways and the site is only a 10 minute walk from the leisure centre which has a gym, spa, swimming pool etc. There is also an outdoor park beside the leisure centre.

Within a 5 min drive you can be at Junction One outlet area or the town centre. There is also a lovely Indian restaurant in the area - Zara's.

Looking forward to my next visit!

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in N Ireland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1217 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938