Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Six Mile Water Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > County Antrim > Six Mile Water Caravan Park Reviews

Six Mile Water Caravan Park
Lough Road
County Antrim
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT41 4DG
Tel: 028 9446 4963
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 2nd February - 26th November.

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 264 reviews from this member

 A good site for a night or two, ok for more if you enjoy watersprts and get some decent weather (neither applied to us). Very friendly and helpful warden, as we arrived too early and our pitch was still occupied, found us another which was better. Ask to go up to the end of the site if you need Sky tv.

There is a good walk in the direction of the town just outside the site, don't bother going in the direction of Lough Neagh, you won't get very far. Go and look in the grounds of Antrim castle which is lovely.

Tesco is not far for food and fuel, left out of the site, right at the traffic lights, you will see it easily. If leaving for the Larne ferry, go straight on at these lights, next left signed Randelstown then after a couple of miles, right onto the M22.

The only problem we had was negotiating the many speed bumps on the approach to the site, and when leaving there are 2 security barriers, why? 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Baz Bag 2 reviews from this member

 A nice site by the water. Stayed two separate nights. Easy to get to from the ferry in Belfast. 30 mins away. Toilet block could do with a bit of updating, but the pitches are good and the location is great for the town and water facilities.

Antrim is lovely. Next to a car park for the use of the waterway. 25 per pitch (on line) and you get an entry code. Hardstanding and elec. Wifi. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wendy12 6 reviews from this member

 A secure and convenient site for visiting Antrim or enjoying the local water sports.

The facilities however are out dated (especially the WCs)and far too few for the size of site which appears to have been expanded.

The pitches are of a good size and angled to the roadway so offering a good amount of space around units. But a bit pricey taking into account the number of facilities to available pitches. An additional facility block the other end of the site would be appropriate. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ballabob 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights wished we had booked for a longer period, very helpful staff, clean and tidy the only slight problem is the size of the showers being 6'2' I found them to be a bit small.

We will visit this site again for a longer period. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J+ES 4 reviews from this member

 Our second stay. A great park with friendly, helpful staff.

Toilet/shower block very clean. Great location beside the Castle Gardens with the town and Lough Neagh just a stroll away.

Access is now by a PIN emailed to you and the barriers open and close automatically.

Wifi pretty good. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KarD 1 review from this member

 Just spent our third visit at this lovely site. The site is very well maintained, clean and well laid out. It is an excellent site for motorhomes with a much appreciated service area. Great for access to Antrim town, the Forum and lovely walks through the gardens.

Also has many safe cycling paths. The wardens are extremely helpful. A pleasure to visit and look forward to staying again in the near future. Slight downside were the flies, but not too troublesome this visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campernic 5 reviews from this member

 A site that definitely caters for caravans rather than tents. I managed to book an electric pitch in what they deem the caravan area although the staff thought I'd lost my marbles. Who needs electric for a tent! A little less discrimination would be nice.

The staffs attitude aside the camp site is nicely laid out with great recycling facilities and a secure gate arrangement for getting in and out. The site has direct access to a network of cycle track/paths that take you to Antrim Castle and grounds in one direction and I believe takes you all the way out to Greenmount in the other direction.

The site is actually adjacent the river but very close to the rivers junction with Lough Neagh. The views from the campsite are therefore of the river which has moorings for boats along the far side from the campsite - a pleasant outlook.

The toilets are securely accessed and clean. There is a TV room, but I did not use it.

This is my second visit to the site and I feel I've done the things I would want to do in the locality and don't particularly want go back - mainly because of the prevailing snobbishness from the staff regarding campers. This is not unique to this particular campsite, it's an attitude quite common in Northern Ireland. I paid exactly the same rate for my electric pitch as if I had a caravan so I feel I should be treated the same. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gunman 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights in our family tent. The site itself is very well kept. The toilet block is clean, as are the dish washing facilities.

You pay 10 deposit for the key card for access to the gates and toilet block. The gates are manually operated which could be better.

The main observation I would have is that the site would appear to cater more for caravans than tents. The camping area is as far away from the facilities block as is possible. This was quite a walk with a 2 yr old. Also, where the tents are located tends to be in the shade in the evenings.

I'd give another 2 stars if you were staying with a caravan. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soupster 1 review from this member

 Great little park.

Stayed here just for a weekend and wished we stayed longer (althought the sunny weather probably helped!).

The park is very clean and well kept. Plenty of space for kids to play (playpark off site). There is a one-way traffic system which helps control speed and safety. Entrance & exit gates are controlled with a keycard (10 deposit) but you have to open and close the gates manually which is a bit of a pain. Each site has plenty of space (tents and caravans) and the tent area has grass mesh reinforcement to help with drainage and reduce rutting/mud.

One gripe on layout is that the caravans are all closer to the toilet block than the tents. Night toilet visits are a bit of a treck. A small toilet block at the tent area would make this park perfect. The park lighting is supplied from the caravan hookups which give a lovely 'glow' at night but means that the tent area is pitch black at night. Some tent users may consider this a benefit but everyone has to carry a torch to see where they were going.

Cafe (which is very good) is directly opposite the entrance (across carpark) as well as boat/kayak hire but both close about 18:00. Tow-path walk is great and Antrim town centre only 15 min walk away. Leisure centre (with pool) and playpark about 10 min walk away. Beautiful gardens only 8 min walk along tow-path. Path also runs around the lough itself and must go on for miles. Ducks and swans at the lough/river mouth. Park would be excellent for those with kayaks/boats/toppers/etc. As access is very good with 2 slipways and park has ample parking space. The carpark at the entrance is closed at night to help keep noise down but campers can still use their keycard to get in or out if required. Normal amout of mozzies for a river/lough park. No staff or security at night.

Would recommend highly.

If using a tent, bring a camping toilet for night.

Almost forgot - Antrim has numerous shops, a large supermarket, and lots of eat in / carry out places. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ozziemm 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, showers and toilet block spotless, nice lever stands and plenty of room for awnings, staff very helpful, lovely cafe nearby, we had a few lovely meals in and staff very pleasant. Nice walks by the river and in estate grounds. Only problem we had was we could not book dates we wanted on line, after we arrived we informed staff who told us if we had any problems in the future to contact site direct an the would sort it out. Would stay again. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Six Mile Water Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Six Mile Water Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Six Mile Water Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near County Antrim      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3274 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020