Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sunelia L Escale St Gilles

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Benodet > Sunelia L Escale St Gilles Reviews

Sunelia L Escale St Gilles
Corniche De La Mer
Benodet
Brittany   (Browse area)
29950
Tel: 33298570537
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 450
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 21 Reviews
                6/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Islander67 1 review from this member

We booked a two week stay in July 2016 opting for a camping pitch, we had requested a large pitch in a quiet area and having booked in January we expected this request to be fulfilled. We have a large tent (9m x 4m) and in order to fit it on the pitch we had to position it diagonally ! What was worse though was the position right by the side of the road that is the main thoroughfare through the site at pub throwing out time. We arrived late due to a ferry delay and had to pitch after the office had shut so no option to try and move pitches. However after a walk the next morning we noticed that all the pitches were a similar small size and all were also close to the road. Not a problem if your in a double glazed caravan/camper van, but a bit of an issue if you have small kids that can't get to sleep due to the racket caused by folk continually walking right past your tent in the early hours. The only positive thing about the camping pitches was that they were close to the showers/toilets/washing facilities.

TBH this site is not really set up for camping and makes its money from the vast amount of mobile homes on site. As a result I would look elsewhere if you have a tent and if we ever return to the area we will book into Camping Du Letty which had much bigger pitches.

Other niggles in no particular order.

Toilet provision woeful for the amount of people that were on site, usually only one half of the facilities was open (Blue side) so only 4 cubicles available, yes you can imagine the queues. They were kept spotlessly clean though which I guess was a major challenge.

There is no quiet time rule enforced so gets noisy till up to 2am and lots of over tired kids walking down the road from the pub in the small hours screaming their heads off as they should of been in bed hours ago.

Not enough sun loungers for the size of the site and number of folk staying on site

Its 5. 80 euro for a pint !

Wifi not great and over priced at 20 euro for a week, connection continually dropped, had to keep on relogging in with IOS 9. 3. 3, only one device per wifi code

Entertainment poor

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

We stayed for a week with Eurocamp in a tent.

A lovely site great for the beach and young children.

We were very lucky with our pitch - we were end of a row on a large corner pitch. We had plenty of space and right next to the water tap. Other pitches didn't look so good - others along our row were very tight for space once a car was on there too.

On site facilities were ok. The kids play area was good for probably 3-4yrs+ not much for smaller toddlers. The surface is also gravel! An odd choice as a safety surface and really annoying to walk on in sandles - my little one was constantly moaning of stones.

The toilet block was ok - good washing up and laundry facilities. The loo/ showers were a bit odd though. One half was always locked! There were only about 4 loo cubicles plus urinals for all campers, the pool and the bar. So although never had to queue they were very well used and got pretty grubby very quickly!

The pool complex was quite impressive, but the water very cold and sun loungers hard to come by - it's the typical thing of lots of towels on them, very few people actually in them. But I don't think they could actually fit any more in as was crowded around the pool. More chairs less loungers would be handy for people like us who don't actually need a lounger, just somewhere to put our stuff! The lazy river and indoor slide where the most popular bits for our little one.

The Eurocamp kids clubs were fantastic! Even though our little one was only in the mini kids club where you have to stay it was nice to get out and play with new toys, do painting etc! The Tumble Tots great fun and swimming lessons brilliant (apart from cold water!). Great to have included.

The closest beach is just across the road, sandy and wasn't too busy (early July). A great plus point! If you follow the track round to the left you come to an even better looking small beach by Le Letty - much shallower and less seaweed, but didn't discover this till our last evening! Benodet is about 15mins coastal walk away around the coast. The town is small, but has a few ice cream shops and restaurants. The big beach is really it's main selling point. It also has a beach kids 'club' with trampolines etc, but we didn't try it out. Walking round to the harbour is well worth it. We didn't get the boat over the estuary, but on our to do list next time! The restaurant on the corner was lovely. Very friendly and great sea food.

There's a decent supermarket just on the edge of town in Benodet. But we went to the 20mins into Quimper to the massive hypermarket to stock up at the beginning of the week and got milk and bread from the on site shop as we needed it (limited range, but reasonable prices).

We didn't really explore the area as had fantastic weather. The beaches, pool and kids clubs were enough to keep us busy for the week!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Wilsosd 12 reviews from this member

Pointe st Gilles is a typical French Holiday resort campsite geared to catering for the large holiday companies eg Eurocamp, Keycamp and Canvas, so don't expect huge pitches if going with a tourer or tent and be aware the pitches whilst split with established hedges are very close together.

Overall the facilities are first rate, always well maintained and clean especially for the full height of the school holiday season. The campsite shop was also well stocked and as usual you paid a little more but that's surely the norm these days for the convenience etc

The pool complex is great for the kids, still don't understand why they opened it at 11:00am and

Closed it at 19:00pm. Its also not supervised full time but staff were patrolling through the day and stopping unruly behaviour most of the time. Also if you want to swim its not a swimming pool more a leisure water park feel. Near the pool there is a refreshment bar which serves hot/ cold drinks and ice creams etc.

The evening entertainment left something to be desired so we didn't go every night and it was very much done on a budget and geared to the younger end (5 to 16 years, our daughter enjoyed it)) even up to closing at 23:00.

The only true negatives were the take away and the restaurant, poor quality food and over priced for what they serve, trust me there is so much better to be had in Benodet and much better value.

There was some noise but it was well controlled by the night staff, just wish families with younger kids gave the same consideration to other campers in the mornings, but that's just a personal grizzle as I like a lie in when on holiday.

Overall if you want a good base for a family holiday you could do so much worse and we would go back again as the area outside the site is great for lying on one of the many beaches nearby or exploring the area can recommend the trip to ile de glennan but unlike us take your swim things and a picnic for a great day with a little difference

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Clareanddave 18 reviews from this member

We were a group of 6 adults: grandparents, parents and our son and his wife, staying in a Canvas mobile home. Normally, we use a touring caravan, so we kept our eyes on the facilities important for touring.

We chose this site because of its proximity to the sea, and it lived up to this. The beach is literally just outside the main gate. It is a beautiful, sandy beach with views across the bay to Benodet itself. A great walk after our evening meal.

The touring pitches seemed of average size, and surrounded by hedges, on grass.

The toilet/shower facilities were used by the males in the family as 6 using the mobile home shower in the morning involved too much queueing! The feedback was that the main shower block especially was very good and very clean. There was a smaller block near where our mobile home was situated, and although it looked a bit dated, this too was considered very good.

There was a takeaway pizza place, which did a small selection of pizzas, which were delicious. However, on the first night, some people turned up to collect their pizzas after ordering them only to be told there were none left!

The bar was large and spacious, with room for sitting outside near the pool. However the weather was not warm enough for us to use this or the pool. There is entertainment in the bar: discos and quizzes and bingo, all done in both English and French, and good fun. The bar staff were very friendly.

There is a restaurant on site, for which we had made a reservation. We turned up at 8 pm, but our orders were not taken until 9 pm, as the kitchen was struggling to cope with the orders. The staff were very apologetic, and the food when it came was delicious, but it is a very long wait. We were just glad we didn't have small children.

Benodet itself is beautiful, with lots of beaches. We took a cruise on the River l'Odet, which cost 28 euros per person (not cheap) but was a lovely way of seeing the surrounding countryside. The live commentary is in English and French. Also make sure you visit Concarneau, a small walled town, and Quimper, the old capital of the area.

We would consider going to Pointe St Gilles in our caravan. It is great if you like picnics on the beach, beautiful sunsets and a site with a good standard of amenities.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rroodd 2 reviews from this member

Having just returned from two weeks at this site, really enjoyed, lots to do even when the weather is not so good.

Some of the pitches are small however we were on pitch V8 which I would recommend, plenty of room for caravan, awning and pup tent and the car.

Toilet facilities are kept very clean.

As previous report states there was a single sex group, I think the police and ambulance caused more of a disturbance than the group of lads themselves - with their engine running and lights flashing constantly.

As with most sites there is not enough beds around the pool, but they do run the rule that if it is not occupied after 30 minutes it is deemed free.

I can recommend the Turkish bath, steam and sauna facilities it cost 18 euros but was well worth it.

There is a variety of entertainment each evening by a team who are very friendly and work extremely hard. Entertainment such as cabaret, quiz, karaoke, children's disco.

The site is opposite the beach and is approx 15 minute stroll into Benodet itself which hosts a market on Mondays.

Kayaks, BBQ and Bikes can be hired from the site.

I would recommend this site mainly for its location and cleanliness.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shots 4 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a 14 day stay. Having stayed at 13 sites in France over the last 11 years this is probably the most disappointing site we have visited.

The good bits -

The pool complex is great. Our thirteen, eleven, and eight year old were happy to spend all day in the water.

The staff were helpful and friendly.

The toilets / showers were always very clean.

The shop is well stocked.

The location is fantastic. A short stroll into Benodet and some good beaches within walking distance. Near to Concarneau and Quimper which make great days out.

Our youngest two thoroughly enjoyed the Eurocamp kids clubs.

The bits which left us disappointed -

The pool has no lifeguards. Many teenagers and youngsters abuse the pool facilities (standing up on slides / 'bombing' young children in parts of the pool.

Our pitch was the smallest we have ever stayed on. Once pitched, we just about squeezed on the car, and had room for a small table. When we opened the tent door in the morning we had a great view of our car and the mobile home in front of us. A quck glance behind the tent provided further views of mobile homes!

The wristbands (which you cannot remove until you leave) resulted in us playing 'spot the Sunelia camper' whilst out visiting nearby towns / resorts.

Only half of the main shower / toilet block opens during the morning 'rush hour'. The other half is being cleaned during this time which can result in queue's. Very confusing.

The site caters for single sex groups. We were unfortunate to be woken one evening by an ambulance parked outside our tent (blue lights flashing) as it dealt with a young lad (part of a young single sex group) staying in a mobile home opposite us who had been involved in a fight. I have never known or witnessed this before on a campsite. Great having to explain the flashing lights to the kids!

The site is primarily made up of mobile homes. If you are looking for a real camping experience (space / vista's / greenery) then you may be disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chummy 7 reviews from this member

Spent 11 nights here, and overall the holiday was a success. The surrounding area of Benodet is beautiful, not too touristy with a few shops and some lovely places to eat and a fab market, selling crepes, roast poulet, and all manner of gifts/crafts. Also the beach in benodet is picture perfect. We went for a day trip to Concarneau, the walled city, and this too was a great day out lots of shops to explore in beautiful historic surroundings. The beach nearest the campsite was a little small, a few minutes walk to the left there was a much larger beach which when he tide went out became a river, great for the kids to paddle in - we saw plenty of large fish and it was great for catching crabs too!

The campsite was a little disappointing. The staff were generally unhelpful. We had a problem with our pitch, in that we were situated next to the entrance/exit barriers and a security light shone into our bedroom pod all night, every night and they wouldn't move us or offer any resolution. The restaurant food was slow and below standard for the price, the shop was also very expensive but ok for bread and milk in the morning. There were queues for showers probably because the main block adjoins the pool, but they were always warm and there was a great childs wash room area, with mini baths, showers and loos. Plenty of washing up sinks with warm water too.

On the plus side the pool facility was great, and the kids could use all the slides as there didn't seem to be any restrictions. It did get busy, and people were reserving sun beds but we just took our camping chairs down!

The take away was reasonably priced, although again the staff seemed unhappy. The entertainment was ok, didn't go on too late, however a couple of nights we were woken in the early hours by groups of teens shouting, which went on for a while, which was frustrating.

Overall: Expensive, but pool facility and location is a winner, shame about the staff, but a fun family holiday none the less

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barney737 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at La Pointe St Gilles with Eurocamp independent.

This was an excellent family holiday site.We have a boy of 5 and a girl of 18 months.The pool complex was excellent,with lots to go at for our kids,even when we had two wet afternoons,they can close off a proportion of the complex were most of the slides etc are,very welcome if the weather turns.

We had a great pitch,with a seaview,partitioned by nice hedges so you didn't feel overlooked or on top of each other.Power available from the box was both French and uk.2 pin or blue plug.

The walk along to Benodet (approx 15 mins )is lovely in the sun,very clean apart from some dog owners not cleaning up after their pets.The promenade is spotless with a looked after feel,with some shops/ice cream parlours /bars etc.

There's quite a large beach forming a bay along the prom,with some kids clubs on the beach.An hour here was 7 euro,which didn't seem bad value

Another vote for Sans Souci on the front,excellent meals and atmosphere.Usual french rules apply if you don't want your steak mooing and swishing its tail,ask for well done.

Theres a nice 'petit train' which runs from the harbour up to the campsite and round,with a drop off at the main beach which was a highlight for our 18 month girl,it runs throughout the day,a change being on monday morning where it runs to the market in Benodet.A return is 4 euros per adult under 16`s are free.

Eurocamp run 3 kids clubs for different ages,the engish staff were very good,and was a highlight for our 5 year old.They have permanent tents set up about 100 yds away from the site on a sports field.The camp run their own club as well,and we heard good reports from others who had gone there.

Bike hire is available,but expensive.If you can, take your own.There are not too many actual cycle routes,but it seemed save enough on the roads and the few cycle lanes.

There were two main shower/toilet blocks we used.The one at the pool complex very clean with a separate toilet for young chidren includes an area for bathing babies as well,very clean and as new.

The other not far from our pitch was clean,just not as new,but perfectly usable.The elsan disposal was here,with a separate motorhome drive-over disposal.

Thers a shop on site for the essentials,fresh bread,wine,beer and milk.They also had the previous days english newspapers.There is a Carrefour 5 minutes by car(15 by bike) that has just about everything.You can even pick your lobster from the tank,my son thought it was a pet shop.But there is a lot of fresh produce there.

Outside the main gate is a small beach,which is nice but there's a better beach 500 yds further to the left which we preferred.

This was a great family site,and we would honestly have no problem going back.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mimi44 2 reviews from this member

Spent 10 days here and very disappointed considering the price.

Positives:

Well maintained pitches with mature hedges but no sea views.
Good location for visiting other beaches and Quimper where there was a fantastic Breton festival with lots of music and dancing in the streets.
Benodet not very interesting and built up but great rock pooling.

Negatives:

Too big and impersonal and a rip off.
COST: Everything was overpriced. It cost 24 euros to do two washes and tumble dries! The shop had the basics but only worth it in emergency.
POOL: It is too small for the size of the place. There was nowhere to swim in the pool only to bob around. The aqua aerobics was appalling with a total lack of knowledge and enthusiasm from the instructor and no where to do it, you just had people playing around you. The indoor pool is not really an indoor one as the sliding doors were always open and the air was cold.
ENTERTAINMENT: Poor standard. Took the children to one show - appalling, they were polite but bored. The bar played loud music all day so couldn't go near it. No one could connect to wi-fi.
SHOWER BLOCK: The main block is modern but so busy. The one near our pitch was half closed, needed updating and often dirty.
ELECTRICS: Went off twice and blew our cool box transformer.

Looked at the mobile homes let out by Canvas and others - they were so crammed in. The ready erected tents were in dustbowls, very poor.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Natsandjasper 3 reviews from this member

In the interests of 'security' the managers of this site now insist on tagging you with a blue plastic wristband on your arrival - personally I wasn't happy about this. I understand wristbands on all-inclusive holidays, where all your food/drink is free and you are unlikely to leave the resort, but as there is only the pool and a small bar on site I don't see why this is necessary. We felt very daft when we were sightseeing with silly blue bands round our wrists. They are difficult/impossible to remove without breaking, and cost 1E to replace if they are broken.

The site itself is quite large, with a swimming pool, bar, takeaway, shop, brand new unisex shower/toilet block, laundry facilities, a play area and other sports areas. All of the facilities were spotless.

As a 'grown up family' - my mum and dad, me (27) and my brother (24) - we'd chosen this site for the wide range of facilities, but when we arrived it became clear that really its set up for families with young children. The pool - which looked great fun - is mainly just shallow with lots of slides and the bar wasn't really a comfortable, welcoming sort of place.

The beach, which is just across the road from the site entrance, is great. Or you can take the pleasant 15 min walk into Benodet, which is quiet, but there are plenty of restaurants and there is a large main beach.

The walk into the town is along a pleasant pathway - which was marred a little by irresponsible dog owners who didn't 'bag it and bin it'! On the whole, the area is very dog-friendly and there were lots of people in the towns with their pets. However, I didn't see any dogs on the campsite so I don't think they are allowed.

I'd like to strongly recommend the wonderful restaurant that is right on the edge of the beach in Benodet - its called Sans Souci. Very relaxed atmosphere, pleasant staff and wonderful food - we ate there once for lunch and once for dinner and both meals were the best of the holiday. They also make extremely good Irish Coffee!

When the sun is shining the beach and pool are plenty to keep a young family occupied, however we got several days of rain and a few parents told me that they were struggling to find things to do with the kids. The laundry (6E to wash and 4E to dry - washing powder already in machines) got very busy, particularly on the wet days.

The nearby town of Concarneau, with its walled 'Ville Close' is well worth a visit and we all really enjoyed the boat trip up the River Odet to Quimper - the boat trip cost 25E each and an extra 2E gets you a return transfer from the river dock to the city centre.

We were in a large 3 bed static caravan and unfortunately we didn't get a good pitch - it was shady all the time and the window in the main bedroom (i.E. The main fire escape) was blocked by the bushes outside. The caravan was also very tired looking and could do with being refurbished/replaced. Looking round the site, the few 3-bed caravans we could find all seemed to suffer from being badly positioned, however the smaller ones appeared much nicer and had plenty of sun.

Camping La Pointe St Gilles is clean, well organised and seems to cater pretty well for families with young children.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Benodet      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8154 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019