Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Botvyle Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Church Stretton > Botvyle Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Botvyle Farm Certificated Site
All Stretton
Church Stretton
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY6 7JN
Tel: 01694 722869
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magmar 28 reviews from this member

A couple of miles outside the delightful town of Church Stretton and just about far enough away from the traffic noise on the A49.

Fairly rustic site with very friendly & helpful owners. Several grassed over hard standings with EHU plus a couple of grass pitches with EHU.

Then perhaps 5/6 grass tent pitches. WC & Shower (Both male & Female)are housed close to the camping area and are rustic but very functional. (Gents could do with a hand dryer or towel and some hooks to hang clothes and towels on in both the room and the shower itself.

The ladies is adjoining a general utility room with Fridge and Freezer as well as Kettle & Toaster, W/M & T/D.

This is also where the Dish Washing sink is but only a cold tap so one has to boil up hot water in the kettle. Set amongst the glorious Shropshire hill with several short circular walks from the farm available.

Trailer tent with 2 Adults Dog & EHU for £15 per night is great value

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

We stayed at Botvyle Farm for 4 nights in September 2018.

We have very little to add to the reviews already posted.

The site is quiet [we were the only ones there!] and we had superb views of the Long Mynd in front of us & Caer Caradoc behind us [plus a multitude of sheep for the dogs to get excited about in the foreground!].

Access to the hills behind the site was easy [although the climb was a bit lung busting & blustery in the Storm Ali gales!]

The Long Mynd isnít really walkable from the site Ė it would be advisable to move closer into Church Stretton.

As others have said, the access lane to the site is quite narrow but sightlines are generally good and we didnít encounter any traffic heading our way.

At the time of our visit The Yew Tree Inn was closed but was undergoing a refurbishment so, by the time this review is published, it might have reopened.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jane Paul 7 reviews from this member

A beautiful spot - in the middle of good hill walking country - great views from the site. Basic but clean and perfectly adequate facilities.

Lovely quiet site with only half a dozen pitches. Very good value for money. No easily walkable shops but everything you need in Church Stretton about a 5 minute drive away.

Yew Tree Inn about half an hour walk in All Stretton. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikede 20 reviews from this member

Great little site situated on the opposite side of the A49 to Church Stretton at the base of Caer Caradoc. Easy access to the hill just up the lane from the site entrance.

Facilities are basic but clean although the resident house martins in the 'kitchen' had made a bit of a mess- obviously they wont be there later in the year.

The five hard standing pitches, with EHUs, are a little on the small side and have quite a slope so don't forget the levelling blocks. There is space for tents on the grass on the other side of the access track.

There's quite a bit of traffic noise from the A49 but not too bad; otherwise its nice and quite with virtually no traffic on the lane past the site.

Site fees are very reasonable.

The access lane is very narrow for about 150yds immediately after the turn off the main (A49) road. ~ this could cause problems if you meet another vehicle as there are no passing places.

Recommended !

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 50 reviews from this member

Small site in the middle of beautiful scenery. Basic, dated facilities but cheap and cheerful so that's ok.

Great for short break. Worth the steep climb to the top of the hill for views.

No shop within walking distance so we stocked up before arrival as we don't tend to use the van while pitched.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattcharles 2 reviews from this member

This is a small camp site on a farm which I can recommend.

Location is excellent for walking into the hills, and Church Stretton is about an hour's walk away. I used the site as a base for a days hiking.

There are stunning views from the site, it is mostly surrounded by fields. Pleasant sound of farm life at night.

The facilities are basic but clean. There is a laundry room which also contains a kettle and 2 fridges - very useful.

The site owners are polite friendly and leave you to it once you've pitched up. Prices are also good - I will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alis0n 12 reviews from this member

Came here for 1 night in June, because I forgot to book the campsite! This was the only place in the area with availability.

I was not disappointed, it was a nice quiet campsite next to some holiday cottages. There are only 5 pitches, and when we stayed we were the only campers. Nice views of the Shropshire Hills.

Facilities could get busy if all 5 pitches were occupied but there was no problem when we were there, and they were very clean (1 male shower, 1 male toilet, 1 female shower and toilet in the same room, washing up facilities)

Nothing in the immediate area, a few miles to shops in Church Stretton but this was fine with us as we just needed a base for cycling

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hedgehugger 8 reviews from this member

I was invited to choose my pitch and found one with a very slight but not inconvenient slope, no problem. Other people have mentioned the wonderfully scenic setting (gorgeous!), background noise (which died down at night) and the all-in bathroom set-up so I won't repeat that. I had a basic camping loo with me, but the site was quiet so it wasn't a problem. At busy times, I might need it I think. The kitchen area is a bit tired but functional. Prices are reasonable, I paid £8 per night, so that's fair enough. I was very glad of the sensible 'put £1 in the meter and use the kettle' arrangement, as my briefcase stove threw a wobbler and refused to lock, so I relied on that kettle for drinks and hot water bottles.

There is a good-sized Co-op tucked away in Church Stretton - from the station, go up the hill to the lights and turn left.

The only thing I found inconvenient about the site were the large clumps of mown grass lying around, which matted together and stuck to everything once they became wet. I daresay that could be remedied, or perhaps I was just unlucky with my timing. All in all, a very pleasant spot, and I'd visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Becall 11 reviews from this member

Lovely area to visit, at the foot of Caer Caradoc which is a steep hill walk with great views.

Church Stretton 2 miles up the road a nice town with good pub/shops etc. Very hilly try the road up the Longmynd.

Friendly site owners.

Great views from pitch and right next to a field of sheep who were surprisingly quiet.

My only gripe was only one toilet which was in with the shower so could not get in in the morning if busy (in the ladies), the gents had a separate toilet/shower. Also no toilet rolls or cleaning on our stay.

But still a nice site at a reasonable price.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FriendOfOwls 6 reviews from this member

Just had a lovely two-night stay at Botvyle Farm. Absolutely wonderful location, right at the foot of Caer Caradoc, so it was very easy to walk from the site right to the top of the mountain. Sitting at the tent, we had stunning views of the Long Mynd and the Shropshire Plain as far as Shrewsbury.

Soft sounds of owls and sheep at night. Could hear the sounds of the A49 in the distance, but it wasn't obtrusive. We had the site to ourselves the first night, and only one other camper on the second. Facilities are basic - just two WC/showers, one for men and one for women.

The fridge provided was fairly elderly. We didn't need it, but it probably fulfils its purpose. Washing-up facilities in barn, plus use of washing machine and kettle for a small donation. Full recycling service.

The site owners are very nice people, and have a good sense of humour, which is important when running a camp site! The location is ideal for exploring Shropshire, especially walking on Caer Caradoc and the Long Mynd, or exploring Church Stretton.

We had two nights with electric hookup for £24, which I consider good value. The tent pitches which don't have hookup are more bumpy, but a few lumps and bumps wouldn't put me off this idyllic site! Take rock pegs!

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Church Stretton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2597 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020