Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenwoods Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Greenwoods Campsite
Old Fakenham Road
Tattersett
Nr Fakenham
Kings Lynn
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE31 8RS
Tel: 01485 528808  or  07917 842371
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: April - September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bob and Marge 1 review from this member

Having been a seasonal pitch holder for many years we were very sad to leave. The newly refurbished shower block and kitchen facilities are lovely. The site is in a great location with lovely country views and nice walks ideal for dog owners.

The site is conveniently situated for visiting many coastal resorts and Fakenham is a 5 minute drive away for shopping, eating out, banking and even a cinema.

Highly recommended, we will be back Mike !

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Strazzavi 1 review from this member

Being a small busy site, we waited for availability at this campsite rather than try elsewhere, and we were glad we did. The site is picturesque with lovely walks just off site and in close proximity to many nature reserves, beauty spots and unspoilt beaches. The site is owned/managed(?) by Mike who was very welcoming and helpful without being obtrusive. The other camper/ caravaners on site were regulars and also very welcoming. The facilities were a godsend. We had an electric hook up and the water point was right behind our tent, there were several electric/water points dotted around, all well spaced and within easy reach. The pitches were large and offered parking. The toilet and shower blocks were very clean with hot water; and a communal fridge freezer was also provided along with waste disposal and a washing up room. It was all we needed for a comfortable stay, in fact we ended up staying longer than we had originally booked for! The site is not for those looking for on site facilities such as a shop or club, swimming pool or play area's for children. It is ideal if you are looking for peace & quiet and somewhere you can unwind and explore in lovely surroundings. This is exactly what we wanted and exactly what we got. We have already planned to go back and cannot see ourselves going anywhere else.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grizzlydoris 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights as we had a commitment in Fakenham over the weekend. (Two adults, two children) Both on the phone and in person we were treated warmly and given as much help as we could ask for. The site manager even threw our towels into our porch when we were out for the day as it threatened rain!

This is a very relaxed site. The pitches are large and well kept. We were on a slight slope which was fine once we sorted ourselves out! The ground is very well draining but the downside to that is that we hit stones/concrete very quickly. We bent about a dozen pegs. Stronger plastic pegs would probably manage but we were using cheap metal ones with our small tent.

The shower block is accessed with a key code and was clean and well stocked. There are only two showers (4 toilets) but this was more than adequate as much of the site is seasonal vans with their own facilities. The showers might be improved by adding wooden duckboard mats so you have a dry area to stand on whilst getting dressed, but that's only a minor thing. The large fridge/freezer was a Godsend as we picked the hottest weekend of the year!

The site has lots of rules but they couldn't be clearer and made the whole place run smoothly. Our children had plenty of space to run around in but no ball games were permitted - not such a problem for us as we were off site much of the time.

Wells is a great place to visit, especially the beach. Don't go for chips by the harbour at tea time though as the queues were over an hour long! We enjoyed ours from Drifters in Fakenham.

All in all this is a great little site that we would happily return to if only staying for the weekend. 😀

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Singingbee 3 reviews from this member

One of those campsites you almost want to keep a secret so you can get a pitch next time! However I can't keep quiet about how lovely the site is.

Very warm welcome on arrival, shown to pitch (very generously sized), given a key for the main gate- it's locked when the owner is off-site for security, and shown the facilities.

The site is beautifully kept. The facilities are fairly basic (no hairdryers etc) but toilets and showers were clean, showers are free and temperature adjustable - sounds like a daft thing but after a hot day's walk I like a cool shower and there's nothing worse than being scalded under a very hot shower!

Washing up room has a tall fridge/freezer for campers' use - very handy for those of us without EHU.

The site is slightly sloped, which aides drainage on wet days. There is a road nearby but I quickly filtered it out and it wasn't especially noisy.

Easy access to Fakenham and beyond. The welcome tour included a leaflet with details of local highlights and an annotated map of Fakenham with various amenities highlighted.

I haven't rated child friendliness as I didn't have any children with me. This is a small site and ball games etc aren't permitted, which makes for a peaceful spot that everyone can enjoy.

Looking forward to a return visit when I go back to Norfolk.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Best in-tents 1 review from this member

Just back from an excellent albeit short stay at this fantastic little site. We received a friendly welcome from the owner, who went out of his way to find the most sheltered spot for our small tent on what was quite a windy couple of days, so much so that we hardly noticed the wind at all. The site is well sheltered to the north by a small woodland area

The site is very well maintained with lovely lush grass and excellent facilities. The owner offers support at the end of the telephone at any time should it be needed. Toilets and showers were always clean, and there was plenty of hot water. There is a convenient washing up room, which also contains a large fridge / freezer which guests are invited to use.

There is a central fire point and numerous water points around the site. The site is secure and the owner will give you a key for the main gate so that you can get in when he is not on site.

The owner is very knowledgeable about the local area and suggested a great walk which takes about 45-50 minutes straight out of the site which is well worth taking. There are some very reasonable site rules, which ensure everyone's enjoyment. However, those with younger children should note that there are no ball games permitted on site.

Fakenham is conveniently located just 4. 5 miles away where you will find a garage (stocks gas), various supermarkets and number of excellent takeaways of all descriptions. The site is also really conveniently located for exploring the whole of north Norfolk being centrally located as it is. There is a little background noise from the nearby road, but it certainly was not intrusive and only really obvious in a tent early in the mornings. I would imagine it would not be audible in a caravan.

I would definitely recommend this site for its location and the great welcome form the owner. I hope to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ScarletStar 6 reviews from this member

Came here as a family to this lovely small site. It's in a great location for exploring Norfolk without the worry that you'll get blown away if the weather isn't too great. Close to Fakenham for supplies, but also a whole selection of things which are about 30 minutes away eg, coastal towns, Holkham, Wells, Pensthorpe Natural Park, Felbrigg, Cromer amongst others.

Warm welcome from the owner on the arrival. He's around a lot and eager to assist anyway he can. Pitches are season on the outside and touring in the middle. We didn't have anyone opposite us during the 6 nights, but exchanged pleasantries with the other tourers as the week went on.

Pitch nice and flat with no worries about stones. Plenty of space for our Outwell Bear Lake, people carrier and trailer.

Toilet and washing up facilities were great. Lovely hot showers, without extra cost or any of that push button nonsense. Nice little room for washing up indoors and a massive fridge freezer - which was handy to store our packed lunches in for the following day.

Only slight downsides were that it is close to a busy road and an airfield. The road is not a keeping you awake level, but if you want total peace it's not quite there. The airfield was active in the evenings whilst we were there. Did get very noisy at times, but was good to see them practising their manoeuvres. Owner told us they only fly until 11/midnight and Monday to Thursday, so no worries for weekenders.

For those with children there isn't a lot of space to play and ball games are not allowed, due to damage previously, which is fair enough.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Trishswaby 12 reviews from this member

Have just returned yesterday from a lovely peaceful holiday at this site. We have a hard topped folding camper & for 15 a night for me, hubby & our dog with ehu it's a bargain plus a water tap next to us! Mike is one of the nicest & most helpful people you could meet, his son sells the freshest eggs when you want them, made some friends for life with the residence that are there regularly & had a really good laugh all round. The site it's self is kept lovely with well cut grass, while the toilets are kept clean, maybe need a bit of updating but still, useable with plenty of hot water. I loved the big American fridge/freezer that you can use to keep food in. The bins are all signed with glass, plastic, paper & rubbish & are emptied regularly. My hubby had a fall while there (his own fault I hasten to add!) & Mike was there like a shot with medication & plasters bless him. He was also trying to find ways of stopping it happening again but with two left feet of my hubbies, don't think even he could have stopped it!. The wild life we saw kept us entertained, kestrels, Hawks, frogs/toads & lots of little birds. We will be back soon it is a peach of a site, quiet, but near enough to Fakenham, Wells, Cromer, Hunstanton, some lovely small quaint villages, if you want a day out. Beautiful would recommend highly to ant one.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rjb1960 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights over bank holiday period plenty of room nice sized pitches and not to busy. Toilet block in the mens warm with two free showers never had to queue, washing up room with fridge freezer. Elsan point is also inside.

Mike the site manager is a great guy with good knowledge of pubs beaches days out etc. One day we went out and left our towels to dry on the awning guy rope and it rained when we got back Mike had put them in our awning for us. No rush on departure as no one else was on our pitch at no extra price unlike a lot of others who want to charge you half a day.

A few American fighter plane types flying low some days doing manoeuvres which was something different. Saw a Barn Owl on site

This site is no good if you have kids who like football/ball games as its not allowed on site.

Good dog walk straight from site

No road noise

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimbo808 7 reviews from this member

Great visit, third time we've stayed at this site.

Mike is very friendly and always offers to help pitch our tent.

The site is very secure, and quiet; it is just off the A148 but you wouldn't know it.

The facilities are good, the showers are nice and hot and there is a washing-up sink as well as a fridge-freezer available too.

Fakenham is about ten minutes drive, the town has very good facilities incl two supermarkets, also petrol stations as well.

The pitch is on a slight slope, it rained quite heavily during our stay but the pitch didn't water-log at all.

I cannot recommend this site enough, it is very good.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Greenwoods Camp Site is a small site located midway between King's Lynn and Fakenham, with plots for about twelve touring caravans and a equivalent number of permanent pitches. The guy who owns it is very friendly and helpful (he helped us rig our awning; and lent us an extra guy rope when the wind picked up; and fetched our washing in one day when it rained), and offers a full lowdown upon arrival of what's where on the site and around about. He is available 24 hours by phone in the event of an emergency.

Behind reception is the block containing male and female toilets and showers, an elsan point, and a washing-up area with a large fridge-freezer for guest use. The showers are free to use. There are taps dotted about the field, which is accessed through a locked gate that you will be loaned a key for.

Apart from the distant hum of the main A148 road - as well as the occasional low flying RAF jets and helicopters - Greenwood is a peaceful site (although for most of the week we stayed we had the site to ourselves). It's worth noting that if your children are into swings and ball games then this is probably not the site for them. However, if they are into walks and nature then that's a different story, with plenty of footpaths, bridleways and quiet country lanes to stroll or ride a bike along. There is even an old Norman church across the fields that is open to look around. Owls, pheasants and deer are amongst some of the fauna to be seen.

Out and about, the nearest shopping destinations with supermarkets are Fakenham, King's Lynn and Hunstanton. Otherwise, there is a convenience store on the main road about five minutes from the site. About half hour's drive away is Holkham - both the country house and estate; and the huge expanse of pine-backed unspoilt beach - as well as other picturesque villages, harbours and beaches along the North Norfolk coast.

Daily tariffs when we stayed were 14. 50 per unit with ehu, with 6 for additional adults.

Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2400 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019