Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Chalons En Champagne > Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne > Reviews

Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne
Rue De Plaisance
Chalons En Champagne
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
51000
Tel: 0033 326 683800


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 131
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 63 Reviews
                6/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diamond blade 10 reviews from this member

 This site is linked with the Caravan Club, so it's busy with Brits. It's a good 20 minute walk to the centre of the town, where there are plenty cafes and bars, and boat trips. There is a bus service, but due to roadworks near the site, it was not operating.

The site facilities left a bit to desired, a bit dated and not exactly pristine. Worse than that, there was no hot water for showers. We complained re this and were told that they were waiting for a part for the boiler.

This info was not given to us, or anyone else when they booked in. You can get beers and champagne from the on site restaurant, and the food was okay, the takeaway service quite busy. However, reception staff were quite helpful re wifi probs we had, and the site fees were quite reasonable. 


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights having picked this for a convenient stop off. A former municipal campsite now acquired by Aquadis Loisirs. The facilities are dated and in need of an upgrade.

The site is in the middle of a housing estate in a built up area. However, you could walk into town which is nothing special. The showers were hot and there was good separation between wet and dry area in the cubicle.

Only two designated female toilets but there were more toilets available in the family/ baby unit which was heated. Although the site is basic the pitches are sizeable.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, our first night was marred by a group of noisy French families who were on site for one night and had music blaring from 11. 30pm which stopped in the small hours. Staff did not monitor this. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 We would disagree with the comment below made by reviewer Himwotdus. We have been coming to this site for many years and when it was a Municipal it was very well kept and not run down. It is only since Aquadis Loisirs took it over in 2010 that it has become the run down and scruffy place it is today.

Our first visit since lockdowns and we were in for a surprise! As it was early September the usual crowd working in the "Foire" were there no problem. But there were about 60-80 tents in which over 100 casual workers were staying, 2-4 tents per pitch. All the grass pitches were occupied it was chaos. We were warned by Reception on arrival not to use the facilities before 08:00 and after 18:00 because this was when they were used by the workers and they were left in a pretty bad state afterwards. We mostly use the facilities in our motorhome so this did not bother us. I did feel sorry for the cleaners though. We had pre-booked but there were a lot of customers being turned away who had just turned up.

Compared to when we were here last about 3 years ago the site is in an even poorer state. Drains blocked, taps not working, electric plugs not working and open to the elements you get the picture. The whole place needs extensive refurbishment and improvement programme. Cannot see it happening though after 12 years of ownership, the owners seem content to let it go.

The reception staff, who are very pleasent and the cleaners do a very good job here in the circumstances. You can order bread etc. For the following morning if required.

We will continue to use this site as we use our own facilities in our motorhome. The site is not far off the motorways, is the right distance from Calais for the first day of travel, has hardstanding pitches and a long opening period. However, we may look for somewhere else if we come here again in September. 


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Himwotdus 21 reviews from this member

 This was previously a pretty scruffy and rundown Municipal Site however it seems to have been taken over by Aquadis Loisirs and it still is a scruffy and run down place.

There was plaster and paint peeling off the walls. The area around the bin store had various items of discarded items lying around together with some paper litter.

The "one" heated toilet block is still heated? by a very small electric radiator and is totally insufficient for the purpose. All of the facilities need a complete makeover and a deep clean wouldn't go amiss either.

The campground also had a scruffy feel to it - water tap drains blocked and the drain covers lying alongside rather than on the drain hole.

Will not be returning until badly needed improvements are made. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Caro234 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site on our way to and from Germany. It was a perfect half way location for us taking us about 5 hours from Calais.

The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

The shower/toilet facilities on this site are in desperate need of refurbishment.

There was hot water but no toilet paper or soap. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 Back to this site after a three year absence and nothing has changed. If anything it looked more run down than ever, the company that owns this site (Aquadis Loisirs) obviously do not intend spending much money on the touring area. How this site warrants 4 stars amazes us we have stayed on better sites with only 2.

This aside despite the state of the facilities (especially the washing up area)! we will continue to use this site as we use our own facilities in our motorhome. The site is not far off the motorways, is a right distance from Calais for a first days travel, has hardstanding pitches and a long opening period.

The people on reception are always pleasant and you can order bread etc. For the following day. The ACSI price is reasonable but like the reviewer below I would happily pay more if they refurbished and tidied up the site. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Magsie 63 reviews from this member

 A very spacious site (formerly a Municipal), with nicely hedged level pitches, 2 km south of the city centre, next to a park. There is a bakery and pharmacy nearby, while the large shopping centre with Carrefour hypermarket is a 15-minute walk away.

Camp Reception has free city maps, as well as a cycle map of the area, and sells tokens for the washer and drier in the laundry.

Free WiFi works on a couple of pitches near Reception. The ‘television room’ has a few books and films to borrow and a microwave to use – but no television!

The grimy facilities are old and worn, with no paper or soap, and overdue for renovation. A small unisex block does have hot showers, though it is an exaggeration to call the room ‘heated’.

The price is reasonable with ACSI card but we would willingly pay more for better and clean ablutions! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacfrosty 12 reviews from this member

 Pitch nice and big, shady

Facilities not nice at all, although the 'winter washrooms' were better. No loo seats but had paper.

There was a big fete going on near the campsite and I think a lot of the performers were using the campsite.

No burning wish to visit again but I would at a push. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for one night en-route to the Alsace. It is in a convenient location on the outskirts of Châlons-en-Champagne very close to shopping and fuel facilities. It was quite busy when we arrived at the end of August due to grape pickers but we were allowed to choose a hardstanding pitch normally reserved for disabled users. The pitch was level and generous in size.

The sanitary facilities looked as though they had been updated fairly recently but due to the amount of people staying on the site were in constant use. However, I never had to queue and they were reasonably clean considering there were a lot of people using them.

The lady in reception was very pleasant and I would be happy to stay at this site again. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barsar 56 reviews from this member

 We used this site as an overnight halt en route back to Calais. I am glad we did not stay for longer.

There is a choice of grass or hardstanding pitches and all are of a decent size.

There are two toilet blacks but travelling so late in the season the larger one was closed so we used the one in the main building. I first stayed here about 30 years ago and my goodness how things have changed. The site is much larger than I remember but the sanitary facilities have deteriorated. It looked like an attempt had been made to upgrade the shower areas by cladding the walls with laminated board but the old walls could be seen behind. I dread to think how many insects must live there. The floors of the toilet and washing areas were dreadful. They didn’t need a mop they needed a scraper.

The whole site just felt uncared for. Which is a great pity because with some effort and a little bit of money it could be so much better. Also, a number of seasonal workers appeared to be living in the bungalows. They did not disturb us in anyway but it did change the ambience of the site.

We will avoid in the future but if you can’t (as we couldn’t) then be prepared to use your on-board facilities. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chalons En Champagne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Champagne Ardenne

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57346 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement