Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Chalons En Champagne > Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne Reviews

Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne
Rue De Plaisance
Chalons En Champagne
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
51000
Tel: 0033 326 683800


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 131
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 44 reviews from this member

Back to this site after a three year absence and nothing has changed. If anything it looked more run down than ever, the company that owns this site (Aquadis Loisirs) obviously do not intend spending much money on the touring area. How this site warrants 4 stars amazes us we have stayed on better sites with only 2.

This aside despite the state of the facilities (especially the washing up area)! we will continue to use this site as we use our own facilities in our motorhome. The site is not far off the motorways, is a right distance from Calais for a first days travel, has hardstanding pitches and a long opening period.

The people on reception are always pleasant and you can order bread etc. For the following day. The ACSI price is reasonable but like the reviewer below I would happily pay more if they refurbished and tidied up the site.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magsie 38 reviews from this member

A very spacious site (formerly a Municipal), with nicely hedged level pitches, 2 km south of the city centre, next to a park. There is a bakery and pharmacy nearby, while the large shopping centre with Carrefour hypermarket is a 15-minute walk away.

Camp Reception has free city maps, as well as a cycle map of the area, and sells tokens for the washer and drier in the laundry.

Free WiFi works on a couple of pitches near Reception. The ‘television room’ has a few books and films to borrow and a microwave to use – but no television!

The grimy facilities are old and worn, with no paper or soap, and overdue for renovation. A small unisex block does have hot showers, though it is an exaggeration to call the room ‘heated’.

The price is reasonable with ACSI card but we would willingly pay more for better and clean ablutions!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jacfrosty 10 reviews from this member

Pitch nice and big, shady

Facilities not nice at all, although the 'winter washrooms' were better. No loo seats but had paper.

There was a big fete going on near the campsite and I think a lot of the performers were using the campsite.

No burning wish to visit again but I would at a push.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for one night en-route to the Alsace. It is in a convenient location on the outskirts of Châlons-en-Champagne very close to shopping and fuel facilities. It was quite busy when we arrived at the end of August due to grape pickers but we were allowed to choose a hardstanding pitch normally reserved for disabled users. The pitch was level and generous in size.

The sanitary facilities looked as though they had been updated fairly recently but due to the amount of people staying on the site were in constant use. However, I never had to queue and they were reasonably clean considering there were a lot of people using them.

The lady in reception was very pleasant and I would be happy to stay at this site again.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barsar 44 reviews from this member

We used this site as an overnight halt en route back to Calais. I am glad we did not stay for longer.

There is a choice of grass or hardstanding pitches and all are of a decent size.

There are two toilet blacks but travelling so late in the season the larger one was closed so we used the one in the main building. I first stayed here about 30 years ago and my goodness how things have changed. The site is much larger than I remember but the sanitary facilities have deteriorated. It looked like an attempt had been made to upgrade the shower areas by cladding the walls with laminated board but the old walls could be seen behind. I dread to think how many insects must live there. The floors of the toilet and washing areas were dreadful. They didn’t need a mop they needed a scraper.

The whole site just felt uncared for. Which is a great pity because with some effort and a little bit of money it could be so much better. Also, a number of seasonal workers appeared to be living in the bungalows. They did not disturb us in anyway but it did change the ambience of the site.

We will avoid in the future but if you can’t (as we couldn’t) then be prepared to use your on-board facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Montesa 34 reviews from this member

Pleasant enough stay at this popular stopover site to decide after first night to stop for longer and to do the Champagne route to the West which was very nice. Perfectly acceptable for us in most regards but some would complain.

Supermarket & diesel about half a mile.

Good pleasant dog walk around the park area & large pond (forget fishing it unless very very bored).

Do check the directions carefully - we think the 2017 ACSI book had incorrect Sat Nav coordinates to liven up our arrival !

Not many sites in this area around Reims and a quick call at the Epernay Campsite (a long way off route for a stopover site) confirmed our choice.

Will use again if on this route but as said its a slight detour through town but not too bad.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

Used as NH on journey south but wouldn't use for a longer stay. Located in quiet residential area. Would use again but the approach from the southerly motorway junction would be far easier, avoiding more of the town. Facilities rather shabby but plenty of hot water for showers. Good value with ACSI discount at €16.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MollyD 6 reviews from this member

We stopped here for one night on the way down through France. I agree with the previous comments about the toilet blocks being tired, however as our and most of the pitches were fully serviced we used our own facility’s as normal, making use of their chemical waste prior to leaving. The site is about 1 mile from a large superstore with cheap diesel. We found the reception staff friendly and spoke English if required. Wi-Fi is free in this area, there is a small restaurant but we did not use it. We did not explore so cannot comment on the area, except to say that the site is close the motorway network which for an overnight stay is a bonus. I would definitely use this site again as a one night stay over

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 38 reviews from this member

We stopped here for one night on our way north. A large, but not very inspiring site, fine for a night halt. It is in the middle of a built-up suburban area with a Carrefour not far away. The town centre seemed some distance, although our guide book said you could walk there along the river. However, this path was not evident from the site.

Washing facilities are tired and pretty limited. There were only 2 toilets in the main women's block. However, there was paper in them.

Reception area pleasant and free Wi Fi is available there and on the terrace. Bread can be ordered for the morning.

We didn't use the snack bar and the menu looked very limited - chicken nuggets or burgers seemed to be about it!

There is a pleasant area through a gate from the site which has a lake with wildfowl on it and where we were able to exercise dogs off the lead.

As we were out of season, we thought the site expensive for a municipal (26 euros), but this is probably due to being in a large town. There were certainly plenty of over-nighters, but the rest of the site was deserted. Not sure we would use it again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+julie 58 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights and used our camping cheques we had as part of our ferry deal although the actual price per night was only 13 euros.

We liked it here. Nice pitch, fully serviced, neat and tidy site mainly used for overnighters. Challon worth a visit but not much to do here. Visited Epernay and Haughtvillers which we loved.

Two blocks of sanitaires men and women but people using both, unisex. Cleaned regularly but more of a swill down as entrance floors very wet so mucky shoes making a mess everywhere. Would stay again.

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Champagne Ardenne

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5396 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019