Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Church Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Church Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Church Farm Caravan And Camping Park
The Bungalow, Church Farm
High Street
Sixpenny Handley
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP5 5ND
Tel: 01725 552563
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cmb1960 1 review from this member

Our first visit here, for a long weekend in July before the schools break up. A friendly, tidy site with clean facilities and a welcoming owner (Steve). Fair pricing. Nicely separated fields, loads of birds including swallows and a sparrowhawk. Dark skies so fantastic on a clear night. Very relaxing, especially with few occupants and Steve's sensitive placement of visitors to ensure good separation. Decent restaurant and bar on site, used by local residents too. Very happy throughout our stay and will certainly be coming back. Plenty of lovely walks nearby including Martin Down and Cranborne Chase AONB, RSPB Garston Wood and Salisbury, Blandford Forum, Shaftesbury and even the coast. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Margie3 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from a bank holiday weekend at this site and thought it worthy of a review.

The site is quite big but broken up into several areas so does not feel vast. We chose the family area as had our 5 year old grandson with us and this was perfect as had some decent play equipment in the centre which was within view of our unit. There were also a quiet areas and an adults only area, all of which were spacious and grassy. Pitches were fairly level and it was extremely quiet at night.

There were two toilet and shower blocks, one being newer and bigger which we used and at all times they were extremely clean and warm. Plenty of showers in the ladies but my husband said there were only three in the men's. There was a washing machine, fridge and freezer for use. It appeared free of charge.

As other reviewers have mentioned, only two washing up sinks which was fine when we were there but could be a problem at busy times. Hot water was plentiful in all areas.

We used the bar/restaurant the first evening and it took quite a while to get served but the food was good when it did arrive!

The village was pretty in places but a bit run down in other areas. Excellent food shop and butchers but we did not try the pub.

The owner was very friendly and helpful, even finding an electric pump to run off his car battery to pump up my grandson, s flat bike tyres!

We would definitely recommend this site and certainly will go back before too long.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jim rookes 5 reviews from this member

Have just spent three nights here, and must say we enjoyed it, shower and toilet block was very clean and well maintained. We also ate here and the food was really nice. The church next to the site was a pleasure to walk round.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 17 reviews from this member

This is a pleasant family campsite in a beautiful area of the country. Sadly you don't really get country views from the pitches themselves because of the surrounding hedges, but the site is overlooked by the village church which gives a very 'old English' feel. The main field on the site is very family friendly, with a play area in the middle of one side and plenty of space in the centre of the other side to run around or play games. We were able to pitch in one of four bays at the top of the field (surrounded by hedge on three sides) which were great for a bit of privacy but a bit of a trek to the loo!

There are a couple of smaller fields which they advertise as adult only, but I thought these looked a bit more cramped and were quite shady by about five or six pm.

It's nice to have an on-site bar which did a lovely beer from the local brewery. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but noted that it did take away if you just wanted a plate of chips.

The facilities were fine - clean and warm with plenty of toilets and showers. Some pitches round the edge of the field have electric hook ups, but a lot don't which was a bit of a shame.

It doesn't really have a 'wow' factor, but its a good site for a long weekend as a base for the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul + stella 21 reviews from this member

Great site. Good showers, plenty of space, fantastic walks. Only stayed 1 night as a stopover but being a sunday we were lucky enough to enjoy a beautiful roast lunch at their on site restaurant. Bit of a tricky entrance drive depending on which direction you travel. Local pub doesn't open very often but you won't need it with the lovely restaurant on site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TomMac 27 reviews from this member

We read reviews on a camping website who mentioned that this campsite had adults only areas. Great. We rang and booked and asked if we could go in the adults only section. When we got there we noticed a huge camping field with mostly tents and play things for kids, and kids running around. We were in an area called 'Donkey Field' and discovered there was a donkey in the field next to the field behind us.

Reading the leaflet the friendly man owner gave us, we were amused to see what was written about various camping fields apparently they want kids to be noisy as possible and the fields we were led to believe were for adults only, said things like; 'We do try to keep this Adults Only' and 'Really Adults Only if possible. ' How bizarre.

Three days into our week stay, a group of people, with kids pitched their tents behind us in the field to the back of us. Then a day later, a man and his two kids turned up, and pitched adjacent to us. Not only were these kids walking around, playing near our caravan, having ball games and doing cartwheels near our car, the kids from the huge field were coming over to see, and I assume, annoy, the Donkey, who was constantly braying.

I feel this campsite is popular with adults as they can let the kids run riot while they sit around and kind of keep and eye on them. Every time we went to leave in our car, kids were deliberately running and riding their bikes in front of us. My husband observed, more than once, boys riding their bikes in the toilets, squirting hand soap all over the sinks and mirrors and was unable to use the toilet due to there being faeces and urine all over the toilet seats. Parents should know where their kids are at all times and inspect bathrooms after they use them as this is what we encounter when we go to parks where there are children.

There are two toilet and shower blocks; the newer one attached to the end of Hanlegas, with several toilets and showers in each, and the older near the dishwash area, with a disabled shower room, three womens toilets and 1 shower, while the mens had two toilets and one shower. The waste water and chemical toilet disposal are next to this building along with the constant overflowing bins. The chemical toilet is set low in the ground and is non flushing, so some lazy people empty and walk away without watering their waste in. Lovely surprise for the next person. The laundry is down a path and is very grotty. Everything needs a good clean and tidy. The static caravans for hire also look very tired and in need of a new paintjob. There are great walks from here and a great little shop which has everything you could want a short walk away.

The only redeeming thing from this site was the Restaurant 'Hanlegas' which was also open to the villagers. Not the best furniture and layout, but it had great food. The pub down the road is useless, we only saw them open on a Saturday night. This is the only time we met the wife owner in the restaurant, very abrupt. Looking at previous reviews, she has been the same for the last eight years; lacking in customer service skills and personality.

Would I come here again? No. Not even if they actually made the fields adults only and make the older toilet block adults only also, which is what they should do. Such a shame because it is great for sightseeing; Dorset Heavy Horse Centre, New Forest, Martin Down for walks, Beaulieu Estate, Avebury stone circle, Stonehenge, Shaftesbury, and Salisbury.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gasmeter 2 reviews from this member

Agree with most of comments by other reviewers I would say if you camp between the white markers you are not 20 paces from neighbour and a bit of a fire risk. Toilet/showers are clean and warm but please can we have soap dishes on the wall in showers and hangers around the washbasins to hang your gear/towel on!

We did use the restaurant and the food was good but not cheap.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AdrianandHazel 6 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 days Thursday to Sunday. A well planned site, they have different areas for e. G. Families, adults, groups, rallies etc. Excellent and well-kept facilities, including a superb recently built washroom/toilet area. It's warm, very clean, high-standard tiling and ceramic washbasins, good, (not coin-op) showers. There's a bar/cafe, and lots of space. Great location, quiet but a very short walk into a very nice village with pub, shops including butchers and mini-market. Highly recommended for a late season stay. Nice towns to visit: Sherborne and Fordingbridge. There were no children at time of visit, so cannot comment on child-friendliness.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 18 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful location in the heart of a beautiful village. Our pitch was open and sunny. It was lovely to hear the clock chime in the hour and hear church bells on Sunday.

We stayed here to visit the Dorset steam fair which is approx 20 mins away in Tarrant Hinton. I can't comment on the site's cafe as we didn't visit it. It has the potential to be a fabulous site, but the cleanliness of the shower/loo block lets it down. There are lots of notices written in the form of poetry, asking users to leave it clean and not to 'break the cleaner's heart' one ironically sitting amongst dead moths and flies, though the big fat black spiders in the windows and ceiling were more off putting. It looks like it has been a long time since the cleaner cleaned all but the most essential bits of the block. The shower heads were also in a grungy state.

The 10 second push button on the shower was very irritating. Although the showers were hot I was cold after because the water didn't run long enough. I wasn't the only one who thought this. As I saw someone washing their hair in the sink! The block would have been a lot warmer with a lower ceiling and also blocking up the incomplete wall between the men's and women's, not at all pleasant and left women taking showers a bit vulnerable! So with a bit of time, effort and investment this could be a great site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Delabane 6 reviews from this member

Arrived here on Friday evening and stayed the weekend just gone. There were 4 of us, myself, my wife, 4 year old son and 15 week old son. Site is very well placed in a lovely part of South Wiltshire in a very “chocolate box English village”.

The site has excellent facilities and did not feel too crowded. We had our Higear Gobi Elite 4 and the pitch size was fine.

We did not spend too much time on the site as we only used it for a base to explore South Wiltshire. However we did stay long enough to use most of the facilities and for my son to play in the children’s area. We had a breakfast on Sunday morning, which was excellent.

There is a local pub, which we did not use and a local shop, which we did. You are supposed to depart at 11:00 but we managed to say till mid-afternoon which wasn’t a problem.

We don’t normally stay on the same campsite more than once as we like to see new things. However if I were in the area I would stay here again.

The only downside was the space we stayed on seemed to have stones everywhere 7 inches under the grass, so bend a few pegs. So not sure if there were foundations or just a bad place we pitched.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Salisbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1990 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020