Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Leek Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Site Reviews

Leek Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Blackshaw Grange
Blackshaw Moor
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 8TL
Tel: 01538 300285
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vangelina 16 reviews from this member

Regrettably this site was really not our cup of tea. It is the least attractive club site we have ever stayed on. There are 8 massive yellow recycling bins and caravans in storage which are right by the entrance. My first thought was “ugh” but we had already paid for 5 nights. The warden personally directed us to a horrible pitch facing the wash rooms and far too close to the neighbours on either side so it felt like we were in a goldfish bowl. We did not feel we could challenge him! With hindsight and after contacting the C & CC we should have challenged him. We arrived at 13. 20 and there were other grass pitches with electric available but he only gave us the one HE wanted us to pitch on. In the wash room there were no hand basins for use after a visit to the loo. The only hand basins are inside the private wash rooms which were occupied. After that we used our own caravan facilities. Despite much been made of the dog walk on the video it really was pathetic - no room at all. The only plants in bloom were around the warden’s van. It was the height of the heat wave but I still think the site could be made more attractive by planting more. We were extremely disappointed with this site and would not return or recommend. We would have preferred to stay at the CAMC down the road but it was full.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Niknrich 17 reviews from this member

Our second stay at this nice site, along with friends in their caravan. We joined the C&CC on arrival so were able to take advantage of the cheaper member rate.

Site is generally well-kept and clean, the problem being some other guests who don't care about keeping it that way. I had to report a faeces-covered toilet seat, pick up someone else's dog poo from our pitch and clean out bits of food from the washing-up sink. I must stress that none of these were the fault of the site (in fact the dirty toilet was cleaned immediately), rather the fault of filthy people who don't care about keeping their surroundings clean and hygienic for others. The staff were often seen cleaning and tidying the facilities, but it must have been like painting the Forth Bridge at times.

We were on a hardstanding pitch so needed rock pegs for our awning, but the grass was well-drained, even after a heavy thunderstorm.

The staff are lovely and helpful, and allowed us to stay later on our departure day for a donation to their flower fund!

For food we recommend the Lazy Trout, and the Chinese takeaway Mr Vong's (who deliver to site).

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynda Marsden 1 review from this member

Lovely field, good facilities, friendly & helpful staff - will definitely stay again - thanks to the lovely lady in reception for our freeze blocks

It was quite quiet when we were there but I imagine there would be a queue for toilets & showers in the busy months

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 67 reviews from this member

We visited this site for an awfully wet weekend in July.

The site itself is to the usual C&CC standard. We were greeted by very friendly wardens, we were warned on arrival that the grass pitch which we'd booked would be soft through all the rain we'd had, and they weren't wrong. The caravan sunk in straight away, thank goodness for 4x4's.

The washblocks for this site were always clean, though they could do with more toilet cubicles.

Locations was good, not far from the Roaches, Leek and Buxton.

We would certainly return to this site, but we'd definitely book a hardstanding pitch.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplenel 14 reviews from this member

We stayed 2 nights over the weekend. We were allowed to use our footprint! I was worried by the previous review! The ground did get quite soggy as it rained for about 24hours!

The facilities were clean. Dishwashing inside and very hot water. The shower/toilet block by the tents was a bit dated but clean.

We walked to the Lazy Trout at Meerbrook and it was very dog friendly, if a bit of a walk.

We had EHU.

Wardens seemed ok.

There was some road noise but it doesn't bother me.

We liked it.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sportbarny 3 reviews from this member

Small site with limited pitch size, facilities were excellent and very clean, however there are some unwritten rules that are enforced, for example for tent users footprints are banned, with no exception. I see others have also commented regarding over zealous enforcement / reminders regarding what we would consider minor and unimportant matters.

A great area to explore and a great carvery to be had at The Tree Horseshoes just up the road.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mark271157 2 reviews from this member

We've just returned from an enjoyable weekend at the Camping & Caravanning club site in Leek and wanted to express our thanks to the site staff who made our weekend very special.

From the moment we arrived we received a very friendly welcome and were shown several pitches which we were able to select from with recommendations for best reception for our satellite system to operate effectively.

The assistant manager Ste noticed that the pitch we had chosen probably wasn't the best for us and suggested moving next to him where Pitch 1 was available. We took his advice and were soon in an excellent spot with perfect TV reception.

The site facilities are excellent with spotlessly clean toilets and showers. The site Wifi was also very good and we had no issues connecting to the network.

Ste and his wife were very helpful and friendly and we found them to be a credit to the Club. Ste gave us excellent directions to walk to Tittesworth Reservoir from the footpath right by the entrance to the campsite. There are lots of possibilities for walks from the footpath with beautiful view of this lovely region.

We will certainly be returning to what we feel is a very well managed and friendly (actually the friendliest) C&C Club site we have stayed on.

Many thanks to all the staff (and particularly Ste) for making our weekend an excellent stay.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Coliver57 8 reviews from this member

Just had 3 excellent nights here. Very friendly and helpful wardens (thanks for the onion!), exceptionally clean facilities which were beautifully warm, despite the snow and freezing conditions. We were recommended the walk around the reservoir and it was stunning, helped by the snow and very blue skies. Decided to save the Roaches for our next visit as we are bound to return. Well recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 32 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site and we will return again. Although sited just off a busy road, there is very little, if any noise and the whole site is very peaceful.

This time we were pitched on the more open area and we preferred this as you could take advantage of the sun. There also seems to be more space than those pitches on the more shaded side underneath the trees.

Facilities were spotless and adequate. The washrooms near the reception area are heated, those in the middle of the site are not.

This is a great site for walking The Roaches, visiting Lud's Church, birdwatching at Coombes Valley or Rudyard Lake or Tittesworth Reservoir. There are also some pretty challenging cycle rides on roads that see little traffic. It is on the doorstep of some of the most stunning countryside in England.

Leek is a couple of miles down the road and has everything you need shopping wise, which is a good thing as the site shop is very limited in its offerings!

The welcome and all contact with staff was perfunctory and nothing more.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyasmum 33 reviews from this member

Nice site in lovely surroundings, close to excellent walking and cycle routes. Good walk from the site to the local reservoir; about 1. 5 miles each way. Plus walks around the reservoir itself. Lovely toilets and showers. Pleasantly laid out site. Staff friendly and showed us to our site, giving us a choice of location. However, I thought it was a bit over zealous to remind us to put our small dog on a lead just as we were moving her from inside our campervan to outside in order to feed her. She was well under control, never leaves our side and we were just about to tether her outside so she could have her dinner.

Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Staffordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


761 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019