Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Leek Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Leek Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Leek Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Blackshaw Grange
Blackshaw Moor
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 8TL
Tel: 01538 300285
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hodgem 1 review from this member

 First stay, very efficient welcome and explanation,

Very impressed and found several walks,

Pitches well spaced and set out, no litter,

A very well kept site in a good spot 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Acspencer 9 reviews from this member

 Smooth check in even with the covid restrictions.

The site Managers made us feel very welcome were very helpful and friendly.

The site was clean and tidy, and the shower blocks were kept very clean.

Ground was a little bit soft in places after the previous weeks rain, but no too bad.

Overall a quiet site, but there is some road noise in the dawn hours with the tractors and trailers

Zooming about

A great site with easy access to five counties and all their attractions.

Great food at the nearby Pubs.

Overall, a very enjoyable week's holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JoeandJune 3 reviews from this member

 We received a very friendly welcome which continued throughout our stay.

We where very disappointed to learn that burning wood on the site was prohibited and apparently the camping and caravanning club policy.

Having searched the club's website and many Google searches I could find anything to suggest this was the case so am totally confused. This is the first campsite we've visited that has such a rule. If it is the club's rules then I doubt we'll renew our subscription.

Save that; every thing else was 100%.

Walks from the site around the lake, to The Rouches and the Ramshaw Rocks.

Apart from the disappointment about not being able to burn wood this is a great campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 21 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nora 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here while waiting to move into new house.

The site is a little dated two toilet blocks always clean. Hard standings need renewing or new gravel especially under the trees where we were. There are quite a lot of trees for shade also an open area. It was always clean and tidy. You can order papers from reception. There were some amazing birds to been seen and heard I did put up a bird feeder. Excellent location. Some nice walks from the site and near by.

Beautiful country side on the edge or Derbyshire. Not far from Buxton.

Leek town is a nice little country town with markets every week. I used the local swimming pool and museum. Very friendly people. Nice chippy in market square. Good supermarkets. Enjoyed the local garden centre that also did lunches.

Lots NT properties to visit.

We loved it and would return.

There is a large open grass area for tents or children to play. We did see a children’s play area near reception. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Botty 14 reviews from this member

 Good site plenty places to go in the area. Dog walk is rubbish. The hard standing pitches need re doing they are terrible.

Site managers very pleasant, assistance wardens not very pleasant at all. We had a good few days 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vangelina 21 reviews from this member

 Regrettably this site was really not our cup of tea. It is the least attractive club site we have ever stayed on. There are 8 massive yellow recycling bins and caravans in storage which are right by the entrance. My first thought was “ugh” but we had already paid for 5 nights.

The warden personally directed us to a horrible pitch facing the wash rooms and far too close to the neighbours on either side so it felt like we were in a goldfish bowl. We did not feel we could challenge him! With hindsight and after contacting the C & CC we should have challenged him.

We arrived at 13.20 and there were other grass pitches with electric available but he only gave us the one HE wanted us to pitch on.

In the wash room there were no hand basins for use after a visit to the loo. The only hand basins are inside the private wash rooms which were occupied. After that we used our own caravan facilities.

Despite much been made of the dog walk on the video it really was pathetic - no room at all.

The only plants in bloom were around the warden’s van. It was the height of the heat wave but I still think the site could be made more attractive by planting more. We were extremely disappointed with this site and would not return or recommend. We would have preferred to stay at the CAMC down the road but it was full. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Niknrich 17 reviews from this member

 Our second stay at this nice site, along with friends in their caravan. We joined the C&CC on arrival so were able to take advantage of the cheaper member rate.

Site is generally well-kept and clean, the problem being some other guests who don't care about keeping it that way. I had to report a faeces-covered toilet seat, pick up someone else's dog poo from our pitch and clean out bits of food from the washing-up sink. I must stress that none of these were the fault of the site (in fact the dirty toilet was cleaned immediately), rather the fault of filthy people who don't care about keeping their surroundings clean and hygienic for others. The staff were often seen cleaning and tidying the facilities, but it must have been like painting the Forth Bridge at times.

We were on a hardstanding pitch so needed rock pegs for our awning, but the grass was well-drained, even after a heavy thunderstorm.

The staff are lovely and helpful, and allowed us to stay later on our departure day for a donation to their flower fund!

For food we recommend the Lazy Trout, and the Chinese takeaway Mr Vong's (who deliver to site). 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynda Marsden 1 review from this member

 Lovely field, good facilities, friendly & helpful staff - will definitely stay again - thanks to the lovely lady in reception for our freeze blocks

It was quite quiet when we were there but I imagine there would be a queue for toilets & showers in the busy months 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 70 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for an awfully wet weekend in July.

The site itself is to the usual C&CC standard. We were greeted by very friendly wardens, we were warned on arrival that the grass pitch which we'd booked would be soft through all the rain we'd had, and they weren't wrong. The caravan sunk in straight away, thank goodness for 4x4's.

The washblocks for this site were always clean, though they could do with more toilet cubicles.

Locations was good, not far from the Roaches, Leek and Buxton.

We would certainly return to this site, but we'd definitely book a hardstanding pitch. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purplenel 18 reviews from this member

 We stayed 2 nights over the weekend. We were allowed to use our footprint! I was worried by the previous review! The ground did get quite soggy as it rained for about 24hours!

The facilities were clean. Dishwashing inside and very hot water. The shower/toilet block by the tents was a bit dated but clean.

We walked to the Lazy Trout at Meerbrook and it was very dog friendly, if a bit of a walk.

We had EHU.

Wardens seemed ok.

There was some road noise but it doesn't bother me.

We liked it. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Leek Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Leek Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leek      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1879 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement