Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lough Arrow Touring Caravan Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > County Sligo > Lough Arrow Touring Caravan Park Reviews

Lough Arrow Touring Caravan Park
Ballinary
Riverstown
County Sligo
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 86 2194005  or  00719666845
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: 11th March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 13 Reviews
                10/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ewen c 14 reviews from this member

Wow! We are impressed. Just packed up and reluctantly ready to go home.

There is a small tent area without EHU. Most of the site is given over for campervan and caravans. The tent pitch was well drained and easy to peg out. A camper's lounge with tables and fridge is available for tent campers. There is also a small shop at reception and a sitting room with log burner open in the evening. WiFi is free and the sitting room has charging for phones etc. They will also do you a cooked breakfast.

Toilets, laundry, washing up and toilet emptying is all in the central building. Toilets and showers are immaculate and, best of all, the showers are free, hot and not push button.

The owners, Cath and John gave us a warm welcome as did the many regulars here. Lots of friends were made. I honestly have not seen such hard working owners on any site. They have to be commended for the work they put in.

The site is on the shores of a large lough. Fishing is very popular and many visitors have boats. Sligo and Boyle are nearby and there are lots of places to visit, hillwalks and attractions. Reception has info on things to do. Too many for a long weekend. It just means we will have to come back.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Lovely, peaceful campsite with spacious hard-standing pitches. Just over the road from the lough, man y of the pitches had boats and it seems a popular site for those with boats or people fishing.

Welcome was very friendly, quickly offered a pitch and set up. Pitches have ehu, there is a moho fill and disposal point behind reception. Showers / loos are a bit old but very clean - showers best we have had so far in Ireland, piping hot water, good pressure and no push button.

Wifi across site included in price and worked fine. As previous reviews there is a club room that many campers used in the evening.

This is a very well kept site, hardly any passing traffic and no light pollution.

We paid €22 including electric, showers, wifi. Its perfect for peace and quiet but a bit out of the way for some of the main tourist spots.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Eshardy 12 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night, the owners were welcoming and friendly.

The site has hardstanding pitches with grass at the side. The amenities are the best on any site I have stayed on, the ladies had 2 spacious, free, hot showers, even a free hairdryer ! They were spotlessly clean. There is a club room that looked comfortable although we didn't use it.

It is a beautiful location overlooking the lough, would have liked to stay longer.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5448 32 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet little site. Amenities are centrally located so really easy to use. The bathrooms are immaculate and the showers lovely and hot. Cath and John warmly welcomed us and gave us maps and walks advice. As already mentioned the site is really peaceful but there is a clubroom and campers' dining room should you wish to be sociable. Fab little site. We'll see you again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy12 6 reviews from this member

We can only truly endorse the previous comments. Having just spent 2 nights here during our month long tour around Ireland we must say it's a real GEM of a site. Cath and John are so welcoming and helpful and if you want peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings this is the place for you. When we come back to Ireland we'll definitely make our stay at Lough Arrow much longer. Don't miss this site. The Hayes's.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TravellinPam 7 reviews from this member

Just back from two nights at Lough Arrow and already I want to go back. It is a small campsite of around 30 pitches, catering for caravans, tents and motorhomes. Also two rooms for B&B and a small caravan for hire. It is Adult Only.

It's quite an out-of-the-way site, but road access is not too bad, with narrow but non busy roads for about the last 5 miles. It was fine for our 7. 5mtr MH. I would maybe have been slightly nervous towing a large caravan. Access to the site itself is good and wide.

It is very peaceful and quiet and the new owners John and Kath are lovely. I've never had such a kind welcome in 20 years of camping/caravanning. They make you feel at home right away. They live on site and are always around if you need them, but are not intrusive.

The site has some seasonal pitches due to Lough Arrow being stuffed full of wild brown trout and there are regulars who are there every weekend for the fishing. Instead of feeling clique-y however, everyone is very welcoming and friendly. Kath and John light a barbecue on Saturday nights - weather permitting - and everyone was invited to come along with their meat and they provided salads etc. Foc (although if you want to keep yourself to yourself there is no pressure to join in).

There is a small shop for basics which they plan to expand. They also offer breakfasts in the B&B lounge which doubles up as a clubhouse, with wood burner, easy chairs, books, games, TV, small library and sometimes doubles up as an impromptu music venue if musicians happen to be staying! We had 2 full cooked breakfasts, each with 2 sausages, 2 slices of bacon, black pudding, white pudding, tomato, beans, egg and lots of fresh toast, butter jam etc. A huge cafetiere of fresh coffee and all for €14. You can opt for smaller choices!

Pitches are open, gravel hardstanding with grass surrounding for awnings, they are of decent size. All have EHU but not water. It is nearby on the wall of the main building. Some pitches have a lake view. A few are semi-private against the hedge. There are three new very large pitches at the rear of the site with hardcore standing and grass to each side with a lawned area behind, bordered with flowering shrubs and with lovely views over the countryside. Nice to put your chairs on here and just listen to the birds. The tent area is off to the side, on a raised lawn with flowering shrubs around and its own Campers Clubhouse with tables, chairs, and a fridge free to use. Very handy for the wet weather. A couple of the tent pitches would be under a tree.

In each Ladies and Gents area there are two large (free) showers with dressing area, hook and handy stool, three toilets, and three wash basin areas with screens for privacy, a two-sink dish washing up area and a disabled bathroom. All are kept immaculate. A hairdryer is provided in the ladies.

There are the usual waste disposal areas and a motorhome drive up emptying point for grey water. The site is dog friendly and we had ours with us. John has cut paths through an area of land at the rear of the site and you are welcome to use this to let your dog have a run. Ours loved it. Be aware though that it is a natural bog so heavy duty shoes or even wellingtons are a must. In wet weather I imagine it might get very soggy (boggy?!) and that's a lot of the time in Ireland!

Lough Arrow is in front of the site, just across the quiet road, and it is possible for dogs to have a paddle or swim there. Fishing is free. There has in the past been a fishing jetty but it is under reconstruction at the moment. There is a small boat for hire from the site I believe.

The nearest town is about 9km away and Carrick-on-Shannon is about 30 mins away by car for a day out. If you're looking for a site with lots of entertainment and nearby shops and restaurants then it's not for you. There's not much here except peace, quiet and birdsong. And friendly people. For me that's just about perfect.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodenfeet 20 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! A last minute detour, to avoid the worst effects of Hurricane Katya by leaving the coast, we happened on this site without research.

The owners were extremely friendly and helpful without being 'in your face'.

The facilities were all immaculate yet we were never prevented from accessing them for cleaning.

We are not clubhouse people and usually avoid sites offering this facility. However this is not a bar with music and 'entertainment' but a pleasant sitting room with books, board games and a real fire.

The full Irish breakfast was a lovely treat on a bleak morning, and even the horizontal rain didn't detract from attractiveness of the site and its surroundings.

All this and 'Adults Only' too - marvellous!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gretchibald 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site with our caravan when it was newly opened approx 5 or 6 years ago and even then it was a cut above the rest.

Mary and Terry have done everything to make sure that your stay is perfect.

The facilities are second to none, the ladies room has free showers and hairdryer, there are privacy screens at the sinks and even magazines!

The view of Lough Arrow is just beautiful to wake up to - a close second comes the cooked breakfast in the new clubhouse.

We are looking forward to visiting again for a weekend before the end of the season.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aceman 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site set in the peaceful countryside next to Lough Arrow about 5 miles from the N4 (Dublin to Sligo road).This site is indeed a credit to there owners who work tirelessly to maintaining the facilities and grounds to an excellent standard.

All pitches are hardstanding with EHU only, water is available at the amenity block with waste disposal as well as a motorhome waste disposal point. There is a lovely clubhouse with a log burning stove, tv, sofas, tables and a library along with plenty of games to play, with trivial pursuit being a favourite for the regulars on a saturday night.

There is also now a small shop with most of the basic provisions available including chilled and frozen goods and reasonably priced

The amenity block has all the facilities including free showers which is rare in Ireland and includes a washing up area and a laundry room. The block also houses the owners quarters and a B&B with 2 ensuite rooms.

There is a small kitchen area in the clubhouse for the use of the patrons to avail of tea or coffee,with the owners providing full irish breakfast at €6 to which we treated ourselves to on our last day after packing up.

There is also a small boat for hire with or without an outboard and no permit is needed for fishing.

For the campers there is a small area behind the clubhouse with there own separate facilities and there own campers kitchen area for bad weather.

The Sligo area has plenty of areas of interest, from history, megalithic tombs, forest parks, blue flag beaches and of course being the homeland of the famous poet W.B.Yeats.

This site was awarded a third star last year but to my mind it rates a five,it is certainly one of the best kept and best run sites in Ireland and I can't wait to get back again this year.

This is definitely one of the Emerald Isles. Little gems.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zippie 10 reviews from this member

This is an adult only campsite. This campsite is the best I've ever stayed in. It's obvious the owners really care about their guests and want them to have a pleasant and enjoyable stay. They really understand the needs of campers so this is a fantastic site.

The site itself was very well kept and there were lots of lovely flower beds, tubs of flowers, hanging baskets etc. There was a vegetable plot and some items could be purchased from the owner.

The tent area was at the rear of the site, there was a beautiful flower border along the edge on the boundary of the site and there was a great view of hills and trees in the distance. The campers' kitchen was a good sized shed on the tent area and contained a fridge with small freezer section, tables, chairs and worktops.

The facilities were very well kept and spotless. I've never seen such clean facilities. Showers were free.

All the facilities were located in one block and contained a disabled toilet/shower, mens toilets/showers, ladies toilets/showers, laundry room; wash up room, reception and club house.

In the ladies, the wash hand basins were in separate cubicles with curtains so you could wash in privacy. The toilets and showers were spotless at all times and there was soap and toilet roll at all times in the toilets. There was a chair in each shower cubicle and plenty of hooks to hang up towels, toilet bags, shower cream etc. There was a free hairdryer attached to the wall and there was a stack of magazines in the ladies, which was a nice touch.

There was a large rotary clothes line and there were plenty of pegs in the laundry room. It rained when we were out for the day and the owner brought our washing in and left it in the laundry room. (Thanks!)

We made use of the club house in the evenings and played some of the many games available and met up with other campers. There was also a lending library, tv and fire. This club house is a great addition to the campsite.

This is a small site and it was a good base for us. As we were travelling further south, we only stayed two nights here. We found the site to be really quiet at night and all we could hear was the distant 'moooing' of cows and birds in the morning.

I would recommend this site if you are looking for a relaxing peaceful break in a campsite with excellent facilities which are well looked after.

I would return to this site and stay longer. There was no shop at this site.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5106 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019