Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Awelfryn Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Newborough > Awelfryn Caravan Park Reviews

Awelfryn Caravan Park
Awelfryn
Newborough
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL61 6SG
Tel: 01248 440230
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 12 caravans + tent pitches
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: The eagle 1 review from this member

Lovely family friendly site, small site so always worth ringing and booking, half hour walk through forest to beach,

Clean and tidy toilet block, large shower cubicles,

No idiots playing music till dawn, peaceful and quiet by 11pm, loved it!

We will return
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: D0ND0NS 2 reviews from this member

Great site and what a location! Our pitch sadly didn't offer views (we did book late and nabbed the last spot though so not a complaint!) but most pitches have a lovely snowdonia outlook. Owners couldn't be nicer and more accommodating, lovely

We were on grass with electric hookup and travelled with our small dog, and there were a lot of dogs on site so it's clearly very pet friendly. They even offer an adjacent field for exercising your pooches.

Don't let previous comments about showers/toilets put you off. Yes there are presently only 2 of each but with good timing that shouldn't pose any issue and they are both as warm and clean as I've come across on a campsite.

Only 1. 4 miles walk (down quite a narrow busy road as is the main access road) to Newborough Forest and the beach both of which are stunning and the main reason for booking here originally, but we definitely will return. Thanks :)

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bernei 2 reviews from this member

Basic toilets, only two for the ladies, no privacy as built in an old pig sty and open to the rafters, only 2 showers with water that trickled out but you may be wondering why we didnít move, well, we had paid for the full week and no refund available, we are pensioners!

The area is beautiful outside the camp and was very peaceful until the Friday when large groups descended. Ok for young ones but no games allowed on the field, the nearest playing field is along a busy lane, no footpaths.

We tried the restaurant in their other camp at White Lodge. Unless you want to cook when you get home, donít bother, have the three courses if you can but be prepared to pay top notch for the pleasure.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jungly 2 reviews from this member

We managed to get into the site last minute and the process was swift, very and easy.

The site field is flat-ish and has a distant view of Snowdonia.

There is great close by access to Newborough Forest through a nearby field. Brilliant for dog walking and getting to the beach.

The facilities, however are basic to say the least, the showers are not maintained daily as previously reviewed and were in a very run down state with hairs and grass on the tatty floor tiles, there is mould on the walls and the general decor is well below standard - we have stayed in infinitely better sites in Anglesey - the owners are missing a massive trick where they could do so well with a little investment to have a stunning site.

I probably wouldn't stay here again for that reason.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smithie 5 reviews from this member

Stunning site. Wonderful views. Great owners. Thanks Chris for everything. Since we last visited 2 years ago there's been a lot of improvements on site. The toilets now have hot water, the showers are being developed, 2 more due next year.

Very quiet site and if the sky is clear at night the stars are all out, millions of them and during the day you get the Hawks going into RAF Valley. The beach and forest are brilliant working places. Will be back soon

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Lovely site on level field with EHU, basic facilities but clean and great views over to Snowdonia. If owner not available a note is left on the door regarding pitches.

There was some work taking place when we stayed to upgrade facilities.

Great beach and forest walks nearby. Llanddwyn Island close by but no dogs allowed on island owing to nesting birds.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Joker3327 2 reviews from this member

Well this was the first outing for us with Rodney our Red Ford Transit Custom Campervan. So we booked a couple of days. Great pitch. Great facilities. Hot water was hot and the location was awesome. Forest or beach your choice and we actually saw a red squirrel !.

Overall great site. Great owners and will definitely be back. Only given a 5 for child friendly as I don't know if it is as we had nor saw any kids.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markboz1975 1 review from this member

We have been 4 times and we really like the simple set up.

The shower and toilet block is very well kept and clean.

Every morning without fail they are maintained.

Take 20p coins for the showers.

The views are amazing, and New Borough Forrest is a short walk away as is the beach approx 20 mins walk each way. No commercial rubbish just a coffee and ice cream van on the beach ( home made ice cream and a really nice guy working the van ) The Cod Mother chippy is just round the corner and the food is amazing.

Hootons farm shop is very close worth a look for the BBQ food.

There is also a CO-OP a short drive away.

Very tidy, well kept, friendly and will be going again would strongly recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mike142sl 9 reviews from this member

A basic site but signs of small upgrades being made. Unfortunately it looks like the owners have missed an opportunity to increase the size of the facilities - there are only 2 toilets in both male and female toilets and with 39 pitches this could result in long queues during busy weekends or holiday weeks.

Facilities are still on the basic side and the tariff seems a bit on the high side because of this, particularly as we've paid similar rates at sites with far more facilities and features. There's also a slightly naughty charge for dogs but no facilities for them!

On the plus side the view is spectacular across to the Snowdonia mountain range and the beach is a good day out (£4 charge for cars). We stayed out of school holidays so it was nice and quiet as it's off the main tourist route.

Other campers seemed to be making good use of cycles and the area is well served for them with cycle tracks through the forest and plenty of small lanes which suit cycles better than the main roads.

In short, if you're looking for a quiet site with great views this is the place. If you don't want to queue for the toilet or shower during peak times you might want to consider other sites.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RosieGlows 1 review from this member

My favourite campsite. Quiet, clean and basic. The views to the Snowdonian mountains is breathtaking and Newbrough beach is a 5 minute car, 20 minute bike or 40 minute walk away through pine forest. The owners are warm and friendly. Highly recommended.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4853 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019