Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Awelfryn Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Newborough > Awelfryn Caravan Park Reviews

Awelfryn Caravan Park
Awelfryn
Newborough
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL61 6SG
Tel: 01248 440230
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12 caravans + tent pitches
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Matt watts 1 review from this member

 First time in my camper so decided on Awelfryn campsite Anglesey,

As it looked ideal, and it did not disappoint.

Location is spot on for Newborough forest and the beach.

The site itself was very tidy and well kept and everyone who we met were friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bobnjean 10 reviews from this member

 Easy access from Newborough and site entrance is wide.

Site is level with lovely views over to Llyn peninsula. The site was probably 40% full while we were there, which was pleasant but the main field has a length of rope strung around the centre, to mark extra designated pitches.

With this full up, the site would likely be cramped and facilities at a stretch. Just be aware of this rope at night. Heard of a few folks tripping over it at night.

Really good access to the nearby woods and sand dunes, that lead down to Llanddwyn beach which is stunningly beautiful. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: The eagle 1 review from this member

 Lovely family friendly site, small site so always worth ringing and booking, half hour walk through forest to beach,

Clean and tidy toilet block, large shower cubicles,

No idiots playing music till dawn, peaceful and quiet by 11pm, loved it!

We will return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: D0ND0NS 2 reviews from this member

 Great site and what a location! Our pitch sadly didn't offer views (we did book late and nabbed the last spot though so not a complaint!) but most pitches have a lovely snowdonia outlook. Owners couldn't be nicer and more accommodating, lovely

We were on grass with electric hookup and travelled with our small dog, and there were a lot of dogs on site so it's clearly very pet friendly. They even offer an adjacent field for exercising your pooches.

Don't let previous comments about showers/toilets put you off. Yes there are presently only 2 of each but with good timing that shouldn't pose any issue and they are both as warm and clean as I've come across on a campsite.

Only 1. 4 miles walk (down quite a narrow busy road as is the main access road) to Newborough Forest and the beach both of which are stunning and the main reason for booking here originally, but we definitely will return. Thanks :) 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Miss Molly 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location but dreadful pitch layout and disinterested staff. Arrived and next-door pitch had encroached ours by about 2M, when we put our windbreaks up about a metre over the pitch on the other side we were asked to remove even though our pitch was already small.

On our return from a walk a very large tent had been erected adjacent to us and also one of those massive Coleman shelters, the people then put their table and chairs outside of the shelter right in front of our awning ! They had 3 dogs, off lead at times and left unattended also.

When we complained to management, via Facebook as not visible on site or answering the phone, they did ask for the shelter to be taken down but did not bother to come and see us to ensure we were happy with the situation. Due to their close proximity we felt very uncomfortable sitting out in the evening.

The management is virtually invisible and do not ensure rules are adhered to. On our departure one of the owners was around but didn't even bother saying goodbye, or ' hope everything was ok', terrible customer service.

One of the worst sites I have ever been to, which is a shame as location is lovely. We will not be back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bernei 2 reviews from this member

 Basic toilets, only two for the ladies, no privacy as built in an old pig sty and open to the rafters, only 2 showers with water that trickled out but you may be wondering why we didnít move, well, we had paid for the full week and no refund available, we are pensioners!

The area is beautiful outside the camp and was very peaceful until the Friday when large groups descended. Ok for young ones but no games allowed on the field, the nearest playing field is along a busy lane, no footpaths.

We tried the restaurant in their other camp at White Lodge. Unless you want to cook when you get home, donít bother, have the three courses if you can but be prepared to pay top notch for the pleasure. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daisy Lee 2 reviews from this member

 This is the first bad review I've ever given which is a shame because this place could be so much better.

Firstly, this camp needs more toilets and showers for the amount of people they let. I've done festivals so I wasn't going to let the bad reviews on toilets put me off but I've had more privacy and been in cleaner portaloos than these toilets and showers.

The showers block don't have any mirrors in them so you have to walk out and go into the toilets to brush your hair and you also pay 20p for what seems like 2 minute's washing. I mean come on, £50 quid for a weekend you'd think you'd be allowed to shower for free for that! I've paid far less at better camps and their showers are spotless and free. I've just never experienced a camp like this.

The only plus side was, I got chance to wash my hair because the weather turned and people left. Another thing is like to point out is you had to pay £5 to drive on to the beach! We just couldn't believe it. Cost me nearly £150 including petrol and food for what should have been a relaxing weekend but I only stayed one night because of screaming kids in a field that seemed more like a rich man's back garden then a camping field.

If you are going then PLEASE watch out for the rope partition that is nearly invisible in the day and 100% invisible at NIGHT. God knows why it doesn't have lights on it or reflective tape to show people where it is! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jungly 2 reviews from this member

 We managed to get into the site last minute and the process was swift, very and easy.

The site field is flat-ish and has a distant view of Snowdonia.

There is great close by access to Newborough Forest through a nearby field. Brilliant for dog walking and getting to the beach.

The facilities, however are basic to say the least, the showers are not maintained daily as previously reviewed and were in a very run down state with hairs and grass on the tatty floor tiles, there is mould on the walls and the general decor is well below standard - we have stayed in infinitely better sites in Anglesey - the owners are missing a massive trick where they could do so well with a little investment to have a stunning site.

I probably wouldn't stay here again for that reason. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smithie 5 reviews from this member

 Stunning site. Wonderful views. Great owners. Thanks Chris for everything. Since we last visited 2 years ago there's been a lot of improvements on site. The toilets now have hot water, the showers are being developed, 2 more due next year.

Very quiet site and if the sky is clear at night the stars are all out, millions of them and during the day you get the Hawks going into RAF Valley. The beach and forest are brilliant working places. Will be back soon 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

 Lovely site on level field with EHU, basic facilities but clean and great views over to Snowdonia. If owner not available a note is left on the door regarding pitches.

There was some work taking place when we stayed to upgrade facilities.

Great beach and forest walks nearby. Llanddwyn Island close by but no dogs allowed on island owing to nesting birds. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Awelfryn Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Awelfryn Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Awelfryn Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1870 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement