Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Les Falaises

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Gonneville Sur Mer > Camping Les Falaises Reviews

Camping Les Falaises
1382 Route De La Corniche
Gonneville Sur Mer
Normandy   (Browse area)
14510
Tel: +33 02 31 24 81 09
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25 acres
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 4 Reviews
                5/10 from 4 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leceistershirebloke 2 reviews from this member

 First of all, an update to the practical information. The access to the beach referred to in previous reviews has been swept away by landslips (translated as 'earthquakes' on the warning signs on the fence). The only way to get the beach is now by road (either walking or driving).

The giant chessboard is still there, but there is no sign of the pieces.

It's a large site, with plenty of pitches and they are quite generous in size.

There are three shower/wash blocks, one of which is boarded up and abandoned, the other had no water for a day of our week there.

Facilities are basic but generally OK.

There is a bouncy castle and a pool - they looked fine but we didn't visit with kids. There is a sign on the pool saying only 1970's 'budgie smuggler' trunks are allowed - I've seen this before in Europe - no idea why.

Special comment has to be reserved for the hilariously variable staff. The woman was very helpful and welcoming (we speak reasonable French) but the grumpy guy we encountered in the shop and on attempting to hand over a large sum of cash on leaving was the most hilariously incompetent person I have ever met in a customer facing role. It took several minutes of arguing to get him to permit us to pay him the balance of our fees on leaving. In the end we gave up, worked it out, tendered the exact sum in cash and left.

In case this makes me sound like an ignorant aggressive Brit, I feel bound to say I love France and the French, holidayed there most years of the last 20 (and before) and have stayed in lots of different places, my partner and I speak French (hers is fluent), so we aren't from the 'shout it louder' tendency. This guy asked me to repeat my name more than 10 times - we spelt it out in (correct phonetic) French letter by letter, too. This same guy had a random approach to pricing Croissants in the shop until referred to the helpful list on the counter. This was funny more than annoying but he's certainly in the wrong job.

There are a few reviews on French websites which are scathing. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hailtryfan 6 reviews from this member

 This is a fairly large site situated on the side of a hill overlooking cliffs, with partially wooded areas as well as open grass. When we arrived the site was fairly quiet despite being in high season and we were asked to drive around and pick a site we liked.

There were plenty of toilets and showers but they were pretty basic and not particularly clean. The shop was well stocked with food and drink as well as other essentials, and there was also a swimming pool and bar. The site runs a canteen which was a bit forbidding looking and always empty (we weren’t brave enough to venture inside). The walk down to the beach is a bit hairy as subsidence has destroyed some of the steps.

What made this site a bit weird were the clientele and staff. One staff member seemed to live in a caravan in the middle of a huge bush – really creepy. The owner / manager seemed to sit in his office all day chain smoking and occasionally bellowing an order to his underlings, while the barmaid spent her day running backwards and forwards between the shop and bar as required. Part of this site is given over to static caravans and by the look of them some are permanently occupied. The tenants are ….An interesting lot….

There are a couple of nice coastal towns to visit nearby with a good selection of restaurants and other attractions such as live music on the beach! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amcyoung 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here 3 years ago and to be honest I think that may have been the last time that they cleaned the toilets, cut the grass or tidied the site up.
 
The shop is good but the other facilities are looking a little worse for wear.  Whilst we could not book in advance for less than a week, when we got there it was half empty.  We were told to find a site, but the owner manager did not even bother showing us around (which he did 3 years ago).
 
The cliff top position is great and nearby Houlgate is beautiful, but I do could not recommend Camping Les Falaises to anyone who likes a mud free shower, a toilet with doors and space to fling a cat. 


Reviewer: Amcyoung 5 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Lovely setting - on the top of the cliff with an almost private beach accessed by around 200 rickety steps. There is not a great deal of area to play in, but the facilities are good (restaurant, shop, swimming pool - no shorts?? - giant chess, boules, etc).

The wash facilities would be good, but the staff failed in the perpetual job of keeping them clean when we were there - not through a lack of trying, but because of the lack of cleanliness of a lot of the campers, worsened by all the rain we had and the lack of door mats.

Local town is 1.5 miles away and lovely, although there are no large supermarkets there. It was lovely to be so close to England without many Brits around (we only saw 3 other families from the UK in 10 days).

Despite the toilet blocks and the prices not being that cheap (unfortunately typical for the continent), we would go back again. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Les Falaises child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Les Falaises have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Les Falaises?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Les Falaises dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gonneville Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3253 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement