Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of North Lees Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hathersage > North Lees Campsite Reviews

North Lees Campsite
Birley Lane
Hathersage
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S32 1DY
Tel: 01433 650838
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gemlei 1 review from this member

 Amazing place

Beautiful scenery

Good facilities

Big space plenty of room for tents and to play rounders in the middle.

Pubs near but didn’t actually leave the site as having too much fun.

Will definitely come back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hippycamper 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely location for visiting Stanage Edge. There is a path up through the woods at the top of the site which leads up there. Plenty of other pleasant walks nearby.

Although uneven, there are flat spots for small tents and it is well sheltered. The first field looked flattest but was occupied by groups while we were there, we were in the second field further up.

A VERY QUIET site. On our first evening, even though there were several other small groups in the second field with us, it was absolutely silent as soon as it got dark. We even felt we had to whisper to each other as though we were in a library!

A large group of teenaged adventurers and their supervisors arrived while we were there. The two-field system meant they were no disturbance to us, but we no longer felt the need to whisper at night!

The road by the site is pretty quiet but there is a loose rod on the cattle grid at the top of the hill which goes 'bonk' every time a car drives over it.

Facilities were well kept while I was there, can't comment on the showers as I didn't use one myself.

Overall, a decent spot for overnight stops or weekend breaks for climbers, cyclists, walkers etc. Probably not so suitable for noisy families with big tents on long holidays.

I would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RHSGCX 1 review from this member

 We nearly chose not to go to this campsite becase some of the reviews were rather negative. Lots of 'midges', no soap (!), someone drove in late one night and made noise putting up their tent, etc. We decided that there was a whiny, silly quality to some of those reviews and decided to risk a two night visit. I'm glad we did: North Lees is a very good, more than basic campsite. We had no unusual problems with mosquitoes. There is water nearby, so perhaps other reviewers were just unlucky. Not much really flat land for tents, but this is Derbyshire. And most campers are used to choosing which end of the tent will be slightly higher than the other. The ground was well drained, without poo and was well manicured. The shower and toilet blocks were clean, well-appointed and, weirdly, actually DO have toilet paper and liquid soap. Which was nice, but unusual for the campsites I generally stay at. A VERY quiet campsite, by the way. The only rule I saw posted was: 'This is a quiet site'. The staff were helpful. I liked this site and would certainly use it to pitch a tent again. I would say that you will find this site lacking if you are a camper who prefers Caravan Club style sites, with pristine showers, totally flat, rock-hard grass, lots of power outlets, etc. This is a campsite for outdoors familes, for climbers, for walkers, for cyclists. For people who love the outdoors but want a comfortable place to pitch their tents. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BandT 1 review from this member

 North Lees is in a beautiful spot within easy reach of Stannage Edge. The surrounding trees shelter the site so wind was not a problem. However they were home to millions of midgies! My ThermoCell insect repeller helped keep them at bay but I still got bitten in the time it got to turn it on.

The site is undulating to hilly in parts but not unmanageable as long as you pitch your tent sensibly.

The facilities were fine although there is only one shower per sex so there can be a queue. Also whilst we stayed the hot water ran out and both my partner and I had cold showers which was a little disappointing after a long day walking. There was no hand soap in the toilets which is just not hygienic.

The site warden was not particularly helpful and we felt unnecessarily petty. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VPClarke 7 reviews from this member

 Have mixed feelings about this site, having stayed twice with a family group.

Firstly, the plus points- it's set in a beautiful location and is ideal for walkers/hikers looking to explore the stunning countryside. It’s also an ideal base for visiting the lovely village of Hathersage and the surrounding area (the outdoor lido is worth a visit). It's a safe family-friendly site, and I like the way there are no set pitches.

Now the negatives- for some reason, this site does seem to be severely affected by swarms of midges that come out in their thousands during the evening. I’ve been twice in July, this year and last, and experienced the same problem both times. There is obviously nothing that can be done, and is just nature at work, but many of our party ended up with hundreds of bites despite drenching ourselves in insect repellent. This is unfortunately something that will probably stop us from coming back again. The second negative, and again, is the result of having a site in such a beautiful setting, is the fact it’s set on the side of the hill. The first time we stayed, the gradient wasn’t too bad. But the second time, the site was more busy and the only pitches were on quite a slope. We spent the whole night trying not to slip down the tent when in our sleeping bags!

The toilet/shower block is adequate (although could do with more showers). For some reason they fail to provide soap in the toilets, causing a basic lack of hygiene. When we pointed this out to the warden, we were informed ‘we expect campers to bring their own’- unacceptable in this day and age. Also, the toilet lights are not on a timer or have no switch, so you’re going to be stumbling around in the dark if you need to use the toilet in the middle of the night and you haven’t brought a torch.

One final gripe- while I get the ‘quiet policy’, and understand the need to implement it, I don’t know why bbq’s are banned! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tdan0504 3 reviews from this member

 North Lees is a wonderful little campsite just 10 minutes walk away from the climbing and walking mecca of Stanage Edge.

The facilities are good, clean showers and toilets, there’s also a pot washing area too. The site is mainly level but there are some sloping bits, so careful pitch selection is recommended.

There are a few rules which must be adhered too, but this is not at all detrimental if you’ve ever been subjected to raucous drunks shouting and belting out music until the small hours on some sites.

On warm, windless evenings you will get bitten to death by midges, so be warned. Otherwise, this is a great little campsite only a few minutes drive from Hathersage and an ideal base for a weekend climbing expedition to Stanage. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JonHardman 1 review from this member

 A great campsite if you are visiting Hathersage, ideally located if you want to explore the area by bike or on foot.

The site is excellently managed, with clean facilities, and plenty of space to pitch a tent. We camped during a bank holiday and it was nice to see the site had not been over booked.

The lady running the campsite also was very helpful, after a rainy day and no local taxis available to drive us to Hathersage she offered to take us.

A recommended campsite :-) 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HannahC 7 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site with my teenage son and puppy for one night in good weather. It is a lovely site in beautiful countryside, and we enjoyed a couple of nice walks through the countryside opposite the site and then up to Stannage edge. You can get to the Edge by following the path through the woods at the back of the site, which isn't signposted (we found it on the way back). There is a covered washing up area with hot water. The toilets / shower block were dated but clean. I didn't use the shower as we were only there one night. The wardens were helpful and friendly and the site seems to attract nice people, we felt very safe. The lights go out at 10 pm so make sure you've found your torch. I think everyone is tired from active pursuits in the area as it was very quiet at night apart from the local owl. The campsite is over two camping fields which slope in places, and we were glad to be able to choose our own spot at the top of the site as it was quiet. The field looked a bit muddy nearer the amenity block. I would absolutely recommend this site if you value picturesque countryside over playgrounds and ready made entertainment. Will return for a longer trip. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campinglord 2 reviews from this member

 Came here over early august for a week - have been twice a year for about 15 years and love the place, however, this time we left after 2 days due to the midges.

In the top and middle field we were swarmed by clouds of them - never seen it this bad in all the time ive been coming here.

After the first night and even after using Deet 80% spray and covering up my partner had over 100 large bites on her face and body that looked like severe chickenpox that was infected.

For a lady this is obviously very distressing on the face and neck.

From approx. 5am-10am there are thousands and then again from approx. 5pm onward, the place is swarming and anyone who stands still gets covered. After 2 days the initial 6 tents had all gone in our field due to the midge swarms.

Impossible to sit outside the tent and enjoy the early evening or have breakfast. - sadly we will be giving North Lees a wide berth for this and next year which we are gutted about but with such horrendous bites its not worth it. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fay555 1 review from this member

 Stayed here with friends in 2 other tents, wardens are lovely and let us pitch where we liked, facilities are very clean, only 1 shower (very powerful and hot) but even on the bank holiday we didn't have to wait long. Would stay again and probably will next summer. Fantastically located for nice long walks, picnics and a visit to stanage edge but you do need to drive if you want to go into the town as it was a long walk into Hathersage for the children. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is North Lees Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to North Lees Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is North Lees Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hathersage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4499 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement