Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Treen Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Treen Farm Campsite Reviews

Treen Farm Campsite
St Buryan
Porthcurno
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR19 6LF
Tel: 01736 810273
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: GabrielOak 1 review from this member

 Superb! Stunning location, fantastic walks direct from the site & a wonderful, friendly & helpful team looking after you. Was made very welcome throughout the 3 days.

The warmth extended on arrival continued when campervan keys lost on day 1 on the SW coastal path while heading towards Lands End. Unprompted, on hearing of this predicament, the site put up a tent, provided bedding & food (including for the dog) & couldn't have been kinder. They wouldn’t accept any recompense for this exceptional hospitality. Luckily the keys turned up the following day thanks to a lovely couple who handed them in to the Porthgwarra café.

It was such an enjoyable stay & it won’t be the last. Treen Farm Campsite is a really special place run by the Hall family & their great team. The Logan Rock pub (with WiFi) is down the lane & the cafés at Porthcurno & Porthgwarra are within easy walking distance. Plenty of interesting places nearby.

Marking for facilities provided, including optional hook-up, merely reflects that the site is no frills, though the small licensed shop is well stocked & the toilet block was immaculate. Please note it operates a no booking policy.

Tip - Know where your spare key is as a contingency - mine arrived on day 2 via guaranteed 1st class post 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 50 reviews from this member

 Follow up to my 2015 review but with my wife in our campervan this time. Still like it but with a few reservations.

Why don't they have a booking service? Just don't understand it. I've camped all over the UK and it's the only site I've come across which doesn't. It's a very popular site which is busy, so I imagine the view of the owners would be that they don't need to mess around with bookings. I understand this but this is working to maximise their own convenience rather than that of their customers.

We prefer hook up but not available when we arrived. However, the grass pitch with picnic table was nice but in a field surrounded by a hedge with little in the way of views.

Tight entrance to the site. You will struggle with a larger motorhome unless you are accepting of a few scratches!

Token needed for the showers (50p each I think) which give plenty of time but as I don't mess about the hot water is still running when I'm dressed and on my way out. My wife didn't like the fact that the showers were in the laundry, a separate building from the loos.

Shop still well stocked with some home baking. Also, bacon butty trailer open in the morning.

Service was friendly enough from the two women I dealt with. The bloke I dealt a few times failed to crack a smile and was a little short; probably just having a bad day unless living in a teepee on a campsite in an idyllic corner of Cornwall simply wears you down. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrisnJules 1 review from this member

 No pre booking made us a little nervous about a 7 hour drive but we had read good reviews on here about Treen Farm. Arriving at 7:30, we were too early for check in, so waited half an hour in the car park in Treen, just before the track to the campsite. The track is a very narrow gravel road that leads enticingly to the site itself, parking next to the small on site shop and reception we had a warm greeting from staff and registered our interest.

We were told to wait a couple of hours and were assured a spot with hook up, in the mean time we went for a wander along the coastal paths nearby and before we knew it we were pitching on a manicured lawn with picnic benches either side for spacing. The site is very quiet and beautifully kept, the facilities are spotless and we noticed no queues during our stay, for loos or showers.

The beach at pedn vounder is simply stunning BUT, the scramble down is alarmingly steep in places and once down there is also a nudist beach, dogs are allowed here but remember the climb down if your pooch is old or large and may need to be carried.

The other beach here is a longer trek and is not dog friendly, much busier and is much better for kids as it has lifeguards on duty. If you have Minack theatre tickets, which is excellent by the way, be aware that the climb up on the coastal path is also steep in places but there is steps all the way, we wouldn't recommend coming back this way in the dark, I climbed up in the dark with a head torch to fetch the wife after a late show and scared myself half to death ! Haha, we came back via the road until the car park by the beach, then picked up the coast path again, a little longer but much safer.

I'd imagine the wait for a pitch during school holidays to be a bit longer than we had but they do have a lot of pitches and there seemed to be a good turn over of campers, I can't think of much that would improve this site other than open fires. Perfection ? The site deserves its cool camping membership if only for its beautiful setting but the no noise after 10pm rule did take the life out of the place a little.

Treen itself has a fine pub a short walk from the campsite, surfing beach at Sennen would be a sure fire hit with older kids as there are bookable surf lessons available, only 15 minutes by car.

Overall we loved the place and found it most relaxing. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 50 reviews from this member

 Really like this site. Excellent spot one or two fields from the sea but sea views from most parts of the site. Facilities decent and you get a shower token with your booking which was sufficient. Nice welcome and friendly. Had a choice of a few pitches in the no vehicle areas of the site. All very nice. Each pitch on the site has it's own picnic table which is a bonus when you're travelling light.

Shop on site very good, well stocked and reasonably priced. Sells single eggs and individual portions of butter which is a nice touch. Alcohol sold at reasonable prices.

Just one niggle. My pitch wasn't too far from the facilities and the door to the gents was wedged open late afternoon when I arrived. This meant the lovely peace and quiet was frequently interrupted by the turbo charged hand drier which sounded like a Harrier jump jet lifting off. When the wedge was removed and the door closed later, the soft-closing device was not working which meant the heavy door banged shut very loudly three times (one big bang followed by two quieter ones!) each entry/exit. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rebeccawildman 2 reviews from this member

 Most aspects of this site are lovely. There is normally a laid back atmosphere and a variety of conveniences available on site. We have just stayed three nights and was unaware that there was a VW festival on, but we did not mind the noise as we are pretty laid back people anyway. The couple that I think own the site are always pleasant and welcoming, however, I must mention that the dreadlocked Wardon does not offer the same welcoming approach, and has made me feel unwelcome because we don't have a VW camper. It would be nice to see him smile instead of being rather miserable. There are plenty of toilet facilities but unfortunately these are not kept extremely clean, I went in twice directly after the warden had been in cleaning and it was obvious he had not even emptied the bins or wiped the sinks. The beach below the campsite is beautiful but unfortunately the 'locals' with a cockney accents think they own it and threated to kick my small toy poodle puppy and throw it in the sea if I didn't stop it playing, which was rather an upsetting experience. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rabwearer 5 reviews from this member

 Ok there is no booking system and on turning up at 0700 I didn't get in first day but you go on a list to be continued over to next day and got in but there were people turned away again but owners very helpful in giving alternative sites. Had a pitch in small hedged area and must say what a pleasant place A really good feel about it, plenty of freezer space for ice blocks and power points for charging of phones. Onsite shop very reasonable, sells drinks food a few frozen bits and gas and camping accessories very well stocked. Bbq's allowed but no open fires but there is a communal firepit, showers and toilets very clean a free shower token on arrival then 25p token for 5 minutes. Only grumble I know freezers need defrosting but pitched close to the building that houses these bit loud banging away in the morning (but a one off no doubt). Right on coastal path superb walks will stay again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anon854hd 4 reviews from this member

 This a really lovely campsite, but unfortunately they don't accept bookings which is a real pain in the summer as its quite a drive and whilst there are other sites nearby its a bit of a time consumer heading here to wait around and find out whether or not there is space. Although its worth it if they do!

The owners seemed really lovely and helpful, and were very considerate of making sure no tents are too close to each other etc so the site feels spacious and relaxing. The only downside is that some of the people staffing the shop weren't particularly friendly, they weren't rude, just a little short. Also one had such a think accent it was near impossibly to understand (and I have lived most of my life in the south west!).

The facilities are fairly old and not particularly modern or clean, but easily bearable, and plentiful so never had to queue.

The location is wonderful, right on the coast path so lots of lovely walks. The beach right below the site is incredibly beautiful, a bit of a scramble to get down to it (possible in flip flops but much better in proper shoes), but utterly worth it when you get there. It is a nudist beach (although when we went at least half the people there were clothed), so be aware!

Would definitely go back. Just wish I could book! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WalkandCamp 9 reviews from this member

 A very good site. Good flat grass to pitch on and plenty of picnic benches to use.

Single tent with car no ehu got charged £8. 50 pn which for Cornwall is good. 25p token for shower and they refund un-used ones.

Facilities are good - a bit dated but clean and tidy and well serviced, including freezer for ice packs.

Location is excellent. Logan Rock Inn is 5 minutes walk into Treen village (nice pub good food dodgy wifi). Logans Rock itself is a 15 minute walk as is Pednevouder Beach (best beach in UK). It's also possible to walk to Porthcurno and the Minack Theatre (will need a torch at night but easy).

On Friday and Saturday they have a burger/wraps tent. Didn't try it but smelled good and reasonably priced.

I stayed on a glorious weekend but imagine the wind can blow but there are plenty of hedges to provide some shelter and would expect the grass to drain well in rain. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cerisjones 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 6 nights at this site and we both thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

The site is in an excellent location. It is within walking distance of two lovely beaches and The Minack Theatre as well as lovely coastal and farmland walks.

The on site facilities were always clean and there were never any queues. The shop is also a great asset and fresh croissants are available every morning which was a nice touch.

We'd love to return but due to the no booking policy and the popularity of the site we don't really want to 'gamble' in fear of being turned away. Due to the high demand of the site we ended up with a D of E expedition setting up camp to the rear and side of us and unfortunately they were noisy and disruptive. Luckily they only stayed for two nights! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on recommendation from a friend, what they failed to tell us was that the lane into the site is very tight in a couple of places (wing mirrors in!) Despite this we arrived safely and had a lovely pitch over looking the coast.

The site facilities are very clean with large shower cubicles (25p per token). There are a few EHU's and a laundry and each pitch seemed to have a picnic table.

The site shop sells the usual basics, plus fresh bread, croissants and pasties to order. A local guy sells delicious homemade burgers and wraps on Saturday & Sunday evenings and we were also offered freshly caught fish everyday.

The local pub (logan Rock) does good food but can get very busy, so wise to book a table if you want to eat.

Porthcurno and the Minnack theatre (allows dogs most daytimes - but check their schedule before going) are a short walk along the cliff, as is the telegraph museum and Logans Rock if you fancy a bit of scrambling.

There is a lovely dog friendly beach near the site, but beware, its a very steep climb down.

Would definitely stay here again. 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Treen Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Treen Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Treen Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penzance      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4714 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement