Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Howarth Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Howarth Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Howarth Farm Caravan Park
Skyreholme
Appletreewick
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 6DE
Tel: 01756 720226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Julesmorris 6 reviews from this member

Stayed August bank holiday weekend on a climbing/walking trip. Parked on (long, wet) grass in the upper field close to the farm. Adequate clean toilet/hot shower facilities in what appeared to be a repurposed cricket pavilion overlooking the pitch down beside the river and now occupied by static caravans.

A lovely basic site with no level access to the toilet block, no hook-ups, narrow and steep road access.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janewaypurple 12 reviews from this member

A small site on a working farm. It got quite busy and noisy at weekends and the owner didn't seem to enforce any rules. The main drawback is that the toilet block is down very steep stairs. So not good for anyone with mobility issues.

Despite the lack of facilities (EHU or playground) there were a lot of families.

2 local pubs within walking distance with great food.

Great location with lovely views. Lots of ducks came to visit us from the river at the bottom of the site. Reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gary Andrew 1 review from this member

A Campsite not to be missed.

We have been coming to this Campsite for a number of years now, it is very peaceful with breath taking surroundings, it is a basic Campsite, but with everything you need and is very clean with plenty of room to pitch your tent, what more can you ask for?.

Within walking distance is two pubs which both do fantastic food.

A small car journey is Pately Bridge, Grassington and burnsall.

I would definitely recommend this Campsite to both Families and couples, the owners are absolutely fantastic and are willing to help with anything you need!. Like a Battery for are key fob!. Again 10 out of 10 a fantastic site and we will be treturning back as soon as we can.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Crystal Moon 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights and was sad to have to leave. It's a lovely pitch in a big field on a farm. There's no hook up but I don't mind missing Emmadale when I'm living on it lol. You really need a 4×4 if you've a tourer as farmer Mike got his out to pull us out of the steep gravel stackyard. Thanks Sue and Mike for a wonderful memorable week, we'll be back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kady71 3 reviews from this member

As there are no reviewers with a touring caravan to leave feedback yet, I thought it would be useful for those considering this site.

The main drawing in point for this site is the stunning location - worth the max 10 stars. Also very handy for lots of attractions locally - Bolton Abbey and Brimham Rocks were our, and our energetic 4-y-o's, favourites (along with the Ice-Cream Farm). But also great walks straight from the campsite. A delightful short walk along the river to Mason campsite where there was a coffee van serving delicious hot chocolate / cappuccino on a weekend was another must-do destination for us. The fascinating Craven Arms in Appletreewick provided a sumptuous Sunday afternoon meal.

Yes, the facilities are basic as mentioned on all the other reviews but everything you require is there. And for the price (less than 1/2 cost of the other nearest site) who needs luxury!

No EHU which we hadn't actually been prepared for but still managed a long weekend. (Also, take a head-torch if you do the washing up after dark otherwise you can't see if the pots are clean!) Be prepared for a walk down some steps to the Elsan point.

The only sticking point was the suitability for a large-ish caravan. The road in was single-track with passing points for about 2 1/2 mile; luckily the bus driver coming the other way we met knew his vehicle well! Also we don't have the luxury of a 4WD. There is a fairly steep gravelly incline down to the site and the grass (wet at the time of writing) on the site was not bowling-green length; all of which meant we were basically never meant to leave, which would have suited me. But the EXTREMELY helpful farmer and his wife kindly pulled us out back to the road where we simply had to hook-up and carry on with our journey home. You may want to consider this and discuss it with the owners, when booking.

In summary - a lovely friendly basic site in a great location. Just be fully aware of your capabilities.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonhayes 12 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site for basic camping. The facilities consist of water tap, waste disposal and toilet/shower/wash-up and chemical disposal area. The location is excellent with very attractive views. Great location for walking and cycling, and the local pubs serve some good beers. The owner was really helpful. It is important to remember that this is a working farm - which means cows and sheep with accompanying noise and smells. But Susan offered an accompanied visit to the new-born calves for our visiting grand-daughter. Excellent value.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dlittle 7 reviews from this member

At £7 pppn this site is good value for money. Facilities basic but very clean and did the job. Very nice location with good views and easy access to good walking routes (Dales Way, Simon's Seat etc). Local pubs in Apletreewick a 20m minute walk away, very pleasant.

I will definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Footstep 16 reviews from this member

A basic site but good enough unless you want what seem to be called 4-star facilities.

Friendly no fuss booking and check-in. Large field that is slightly slopping but plenty of flat spots. Grass was a bit too long but nothing to get hung up about.

Loo and showers were basic but did the job.

Imagine it can be a bit exposed if windy but a few walls to provide shelter.

£6. 50 pppn - good value for such a great spot. Right on the footpaths to get onto the Dales Way and up Simon's Seat.

2 fab pubs in Appletreewick which is a 15-20 minute stroll away - well worth the effort.

The local Masons Campsite quoted me £22. 00 per night so Howarth Farm is saved me a massive £30 over 2 nights, which I'd rather spend in the local pubs. A few Masons campers were in the pub and said it was noisy despite all the rules.

The lady at Howarth also was happy for me to leave my car on the site on the day I was leaving whilst on a walk. Parking can be expensive on the Bolton Abbey car parks so again quite a saving.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jamsut 1 review from this member

Just got back from 2 nights at this site and we had a great time. As the other reviews suggest and the owners themselves point out the site is a down to earth camp ground with basic facilities but it provides great value for money in a nice location. The owner was very welcoming and helpful and even came and jump started the car when the kids managed to leave the interior lights on and drain the battery.

The grass on the camping field is pretty long but there is another field lower down suitable for football and games. The small stream running through the grounds was a big hit with the children.

Appletreewick village is an easy walk along the river and features a couple of pubs.

Would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DandCRhodes 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a spur of the moment one night stay at Howarth Farm. We booked on Thursday evening & arrived about 6. 30 on Friday evening. We received a friendly welcome from the Farmer's wife who pointed out the water tap & toilets/shower block etc. There were perhaps 10 other tents & campervans on the field but still plenty of room for us to choose a pitch overlooking some beautiful scenery. We had a ten minute walk into Appletreewick to a nice pub with a beer garden at the front with lovely views. My husband was happy with the Black Sheep Ale. The site was very quiet at night & the next morning I thought we must be the first ones up, we weren't it was just that everyone was quiet. We went to The Strid (part of the Bolton Abbey Estate) and had breakfast at the café, bacon, egg & sausage sandwich & a big pot of tea before walking down through the woods to The Strid. The car park charge was £7 but is transferable to all Bolton Abbey Estate car parks so seems good value. We would certainly return to this site again.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4482 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019