Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wolds Way Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Malton > Wolds Way Caravan And Camping Reviews

Wolds Way Caravan And Camping
West Farm
West Knapton
Malton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO17 8JE
Tel: 01944 728463
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gail S 3 reviews from this member

My favourite Campsite by a mile. This is now our 12th consecutive year visiting the campsite. The staff are so friendly, welcoming and always try to accommodate your needs. The tents and caravans are mainly situated round the edges leaving a nice space for the kids to play in the middle. The wooden playground is visible from most pitches and the toilet block is close by too. There are several family bathrooms with bath and shower. These are not perhaps the most modern but are always fantastically clean. There is a kitchen area with storage for ice packs etc, a coffee machine and seats to chill out. There are benches over looking the fantastic views especially during sunset! The campsite leads off onto several nature walks where you can also take bikes. The shop is always well stocked with a friendly face. Me and my family feel so comfortable here we return every year!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ddlkc 22 reviews from this member

This is a return visit for us from about 10 years and sadly it seems to cater more for caravans than tents now. The toilet blocks and showers are very well kept and heated, there is a separate indoor room with a fridge freezer and 2 washing up sinks and all local leaflets. Would be nice to have a few local walks printed out for visitors to use as the site is in a beautiful area. Malton town is 25 minutes away where there is a lidl and Morrisons for provisions along with lots of independent shops, we visited Scarborough which is around 30 mins away.

There was a children's climbing frame on field which looked fine.

The only problem that we found is the fact that the whole sites water seems to be turned off at night and not put on until morning ( first morning was after 9 and 2nd morning about the same) might not of been such an inconvenience had we been informed of this prior.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toots76 1 review from this member

As our first time camping. Can't express how we felt. The views were spectacular and the site is stunning. We will definitely be booking again soon. I can't wait and the people are so friendly. The amenities are so clean and plenty of hot water anytime. If your thinking of going camping this place should be at the top of your list. Thank you to all who made us welcome. See you soon. Xxxx

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

Stayed Fri 14th June to Sun 16th June = 2 nights.

2 adults + Tent + car + EHU for £20 per night.

Access was via a very long lane from the A64. (Long enough to ensure there was no road traffic noise on site. )

A little busier than we are used to, and a little more “family friendly” too, but that didn’t detract from having a great weekend on an good campsite.

Booked by ‘phone 3 days before arrival, all pleasant enough, and no deposit required.

Was met at reception on arrival, where we settled up and was shown around.

Was offered a nice big pitch, flat and well grassed, with no specific defining border. EHU & drinking water tap post adjacent, and car parked next to tent. Grass was well mown over the whole site, but sturdy (Hard Ground) pegs needed below the top two inches. The ground held very well. No outward views from the pitches due to the site perimeter hedge, but from the entrance and beyond, the views to the North were stunning. There were benches and plants in that area to help you take it all in. Nice touch.

Although the site was busy, with all forms of tourer’s and seasonal, it never felt cramped. A little noisy at times due to kids running around and having a whale of a time, as there were a few family groups on. Play area and a big open space in the middle of the camping field to encourage them along.

Must stress though, there were no late night disturbances, although the site began to come alive around 07:30. Not a problem for us, although I would respectfully remind fellow campers of the term “camping voices”!

A walk around site showed numerous well kept seasonal vans, most with their own little “gardens”. All very much appealing to the eye, with maybe a few rough spots around the edges (Old barn etc, but out of view for the tourers).

Facilities were plentiful for all, with ladies, gents, plus 3 all inclusive family rooms to boot.

The gents were split in two. WC’s, Urinals and hand basins in one room. This included hand soap, drier and paper towels. The second room had showers and hand basins. Again with hand soap but no drier or towels. Makes sense, as you’d expect to take your own towel for this room.

Shower cubicles appeared to be newly added Moulded white plastic type pod with glass door. Slightly more spacious than many shower cubicles, and came with temp and flow control, with no push buttons, and on a hose, so easy to rinse out. The only negative was slow drainage. Whether the drains were too shallow, or simply needed unblocking, I’m not sure, but seemed to be standing in a good inch of water throughout. Other than that, I’d describe the showers as excellent.

I’d describe them as being “surface clean”. Look long and hard, and it could be argued a good thorough deep clean was about due, even allowing for the fact that we are at a campsite, not a hotel.

All the above was within the usual shower bay, so room to dress and hooks on back of the door, plus a duck board for when exiting the shower itself.

Always hot water throughout, and always a good flow.

From memory, I think it totalled 4 urinals, 5 WC’s, and 4 hand basins in room one. A similar number of hand basins plus 5 showers in room 2. Despite what appeared to be a 90% capacity on site, never got close to any queues for any facilities.

There was also a campers room, which included 2 washing up sinks/drainers, a small table and chairs, fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster, hot drinks machine (£1 per drink) and the usual tourist info, books & games library etc. Again, and excellent facility all round.

The main man was always busy and pottering around, and always seemed available if any help was needed. Reception/shop wasn’t always open, but a mobile number on the door suggested that help was never far away. We never needed help, so didn’t try it out in practice!

We took a trip to Filey on the Saturday (35mins by car) and Wolds Way Lavender on the Sunday (2 mins by car, as it’s literally next door!).

All in all, a pleasant site, with lots of positives, and taking into consideration a conversation we had with our immediate neighbours, who suggested the site “was busier than the same week for the previous 4 years”, I reckon it was just a case of imperfect timing on our part, with regards to the number of large family groups, and kids running around. They were never a bother, just a lot of them! We’d have probably enjoyed the previous weekend, or the next one, a little more! With that in mind, we’d definitely be happy to stay here again, but almost certainly either in the week, or more likely a weekend outside of July and August, just in case!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jjools 6 reviews from this member

Having stayed on this site at Easter in a tent, we have since 'upgraded' to a touring caravan. We came back for our first 'go' in the van.

Yet again Derek and his staff were friendly and helpful, a friend towed the caravan to the site for us, we arrived early but that was fine, we left late afternoon and that was fine too. We were helped to site the caravan for our single night stay and as newbies to caravanning given pointers which was much appreciated.

The site was busy but despite this all areas were well maintained and spotlessly clean.

Cant wait to go back!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

Superb! The site is well signed off the main road and the approach is along a 1 mile, well surfaced private road. The location is on top of the Wolds giving fantastic views over the Vale of Pickering. There is a smart reception area and if this is not open there is a contact number to ring on the door. The owner, Derek, lives just next door and could not have been more helpful. The site itself is spacious and well maintained. The amenities block is 1st rate including a nice little kitchen; ideal for those backpacking or in bad weather. I would certainly fully recommend this site and would use it with my motorhome if I am in the area in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jjools 6 reviews from this member

What a Gem of a site in a beautiful location.

Excellent facilities, absolutely spotlessly clean toilets and showers, and even baths if you want! The facilities were well heated which was great at the time of year we visited!

Derek and his staff were friendly, welcoming and clearly take a great deal of pride in ensuring that the facilities are top notch and everyone enjoys their stay.

We arrived just after the Easter bank holiday and were given a choice of where we would like to set up, there was plenty of space given to each tourer. Plenty of electric hook up points and water points around the field area.

The children loved riding their bikes and going to look at the cows. There was plenty of space for them to play ball games. The main play area is more for younger children but there is an area with tyre swings for older ones. The dogs loved the fields and there are plenty of areas to walk them nearby.

The washing up facilities are indoors which again was great for the time of year we visited. A lovely family area to sit and use if the weather was miserable and you fancied a change.

Its a great location only 20-30 minutes from the beaches of the East Coast, close to York and lots of walking areas nearby such as the Dalby Forest.

Can recommend the Ham and Cheese and the Fleece pubs nearby for good meals and dog and gluten free friendly!

Its not often we go back more than once to the same site but we will definitely go back to Wolds Way again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slimnslinky69 1 review from this member

I visited this site with my 3 kids and dog at the beginning of August this year and I have to say what a delightful place it was. It is the first time I have been camping where I had an actual tour of the facilities etc.

It is a beautiful camp/caravan site with stunning views and scenery. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the bathroom facilities are excellent (I've never been to a campsite where there is a corner bath!) The family rooms are brilliant having a bath, shower, loo and sink all in the same room.

The site itself is well spread out, so you don't feel on top of each other and there is a fantastic area in the middle of the camping field for children (and adults) to play football, cricket etc.

There are plenty of EHU and you are offered an extension (FOC), if your own hookup isn't long enough.

Being on the Wolds way, there are plenty of walks right from the site without having to drive anywhere, but it also perfectly placed to visit a lot of the east coast beaches, and tourist attractions in the vicinity.

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and have a well stocked shop with essentials, as well as a few extras.

The washing up room is a large indoor (warm) area which also has a big fridge freezer, toaster and microwave, which are free to use. There is also a tea/coffee/hot chocolate machine which is £1. 00 per drink (very useful!)

My children, dog and I had a lovely time here and I can't honestly say there were any negative points that I could think of.

WE'LL BE BACK

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Foxy2014 1 review from this member

An absolutely fantastic site. The owners Derek & Carol are so friendly

And helpful. They also offer power extensions as a matter of course. A great child & dog friendly site and if you want to leave your dog for the day they offer secure kennels (although this wasn't something we used).

Full bathroom facilities including full baths! Fraithsthorpe beach is about 20 minutes away which is fantastic for dogs, also not far from Filey and Scarborough.

Really enjoyed our few days here catching up on some well needed R&R.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oldzskool 1 review from this member

Highly recommend this site. Facilities were top notch and the owners were very pleasant and accommodating. Price for a night was more than reasonable and included electric hook up. We ended up staying an extra two nights as the kids were having such a good time. Camp sites don't get better than this.

Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1458 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019