Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Coombe View Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Seaton > Coombe View Farm Reviews

Coombe View Farm
Branscombe
Seaton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX12 3BT
Tel: 01297 680218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 36 Reviews
                6/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Henlease Camping 3 reviews from this member

Very Poor value for money compared with most other sites (UK and Abroad) that we have used at lower nightly rates. I doubt our group will return.

There were only 3 basic Showers (in outside sheds) for the whole camping site (male & female) and at least one lost water pressure when others were used. No shower mats or mops which meant standing on wet, cold, dirty concrete floors.

Toilet facilities were basic with no working heater and no soap/hand dryers available for basic cleanliness.

Only 2 Washing up basins; both outside unprotected from the rain and with no lighting. We paid for electricity but were only given a lead extension from their office ring main to be shared by 3 outfits ==> no heaters could be used for the tents! PS: We were told this was their 'best' supply so who knows what other customers were given!

The owner was pleasant and polite but did not understand our desire to receive a minimum standard of basic facilities commonly available at other sites.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joy Templeton 4 reviews from this member

This was a mid week camping visit. We have visited before and found the camping facilities to be perfect for us. Nice flat space to camp on, close to the toilet/shower blocks which are always clean and well supplied. Plenty of bins for your refuse, also dog waste bags provided (bonus) and dog bins as well. Very quiet campsite which is a plus for us. It has basic facilities, but they are clean, and tidy and the camping site is always kept immaculate. Another plus is the fact that you never feel crowded in with loads of people, as there is plenty of room on all the fields to ensure you don't feel hemmed in. There is drinking water supplied, along with hot water which is available for washing dishes. There is also a small freezer which is available for anyone to use - useful for storing your meat for next day barbecue. There is a supermarket very close by for necessities and the beach is also a short drive away so perfect for exploring and not having to drive too far away. Very safe campsite too, as the owner is always on site to keep his eye on things.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mizaza 1 review from this member

ME and my family of 6 stayed at the site for a long weekend and have a lovely time. Site owner was very accommodating in finding the ideal pitch for our large trailer tent and there was plenty of space for the children to play and run around though a childs play area would of been a bonus. Site was ideally located close to the beach ( it took longer to get the 4 kids in the car than it took to drive down to the beach front)and there is a local petrol station and shop which stocked almost everything

The only negative comment that I could really pass is that the toilet blocks could do with a bit of an update and the unpleasant sight and smell of the waste collection area(directly outside the shower/toilet block)as we arrived on the Friday as all the large wheelie bins where already packed full and not emptied till Monday

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mid Life Crisis 19 reviews from this member

We visited this site during the peak of the season and, sadly, we weren't impressed.

The site was very crowded with way too many tents/caravans for the amount of facilities.

The toilets and showers are in dire need of updating, the toilets are especially grim. The chemical toilet disposal is the worst we've seen.

The chaotic way units are packed in make it quite dangerous for children when vehicles are moving around.

The local area is lovely and the views from the site are very nice. Branscombe Beach is well worth the walk as is the rest of the coastal path.

Normally we like these unregimented sites but this is not one we'll be returning to.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angelamoulder1 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic stay over bank holiday weekend. Lots of space on site so did't feel crowded. Site nice and quiet and in a lovely setting. Nice to be able to enjoy a proper campfire with our new fire pit too.

Didn't spend much time on the site as we were out walking with our children along the coastal path and to local beaches. Did not need the car at all.

Ate in The Masons Arms in Branscombe (a 20 - 30 min walk from the site) and at the Anchor Inn at Beer, (a 45 min to 1 hr walk from site) both lovely and able to eat outside.

Very friendly and helpful owner, plenty toilets, 3 or 4 showers, 2 pot washes. Only slight negative would be the water pressure wasn't great in shower but nothing that spoilt our stay. At least there were showers and is reflected in the price. Will definitely be back. Thank You.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Sallypa 1 review from this member

I hired Sea View caravan at this site during September. The site was very quiet during this time and located in a beautiful area of Devon. I enjoyed listening to the owls and seeing the animals at the farm, trees in the valley and view of the sea. The bed and sofa area in the caravan was very comfortable and the heaters quickly warmed the caravan. There was a table, chairs and bird feeder in a fenced area outside the caravan where it was very relaxing to sit and enjoy the surroundings. There are many lovely places nearby to visit such as Beer, donkey sanctuary, Branscombe and nature reserve near Axmouth. I thought the cost of the caravan hire during this time of the year was excellent value for money and I would like to hire Sea View caravan again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: August 2015 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a great weekend here. The site was clean but basic, but this is what camping is all about. There was plenty of hot water for showers, admittedly the water pressure was low at busy times, but not a real issue. Fantastic views across the countryside, lovely walks near by. A walk down to the Mason Arms pub with great food, dog friendly. BUT rather hilly, great going down not so good walking back. The site it self is also dog friendly even supplies poop bags. We went with our Godson and wife and had a great time. Trevor was a great character even pulling us out by tow rope when we got stuck in the mud due to the wet weather.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neilhannaford11 1 review from this member

A lovely little site. Reasonable price.

Field relatively flat at top with lovely view of sea. Camp near road but leads to small village so not busy. Field in good condition, Allows for open fires in a few spots with some picnic tables if you are lucky to get a good spot. Some of field on slope and lower part near small copse.

Field for tents at far end of camp and toilets are about 150m away which feels a little far. Toilets in reasonable condition, clean but a little basic.

Stayed with my wife but good spot for kids to run around. Because fields are not big it could mean you are a little on top of one another if busy.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan3251 1 review from this member

The camp site is in a lovely location, with a friendly, character of an owner but little else to shout about.

The field we stayed in was badly covered in sheep and other animal droppings which meant that it was far from child friendly, although the ground was cleaner further towards the entrance and toilet/shower block.

Also, if you're staying in the end field it's quite a walk to get just water as there's no tap at that end.

The toilets and showers were outdated and generally dirty. OK if you don't mind sharing with spider webs and other wildlife. There was very little water pressure so washing hands/dishes was a painfully slow process.

As others have said, the owner drives around the site several times a day and will drive directly up to the tents. He doesn't drive carelessly but with many small children running around, it did feel a bit unnecessary.

A tolerable camp site, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cjones1985 1 review from this member

This was a lovely campsite with a friendly owner who went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed.

Toilets are clean and regularly attended to - always stocked with soap and toilet roll.

Showers are not shared with creepy crawlies as implied in some other reviews - in fact the cubicles are painted blue with movement activated lights inside and doors on cable ties that swing shut - resulting in a distinct lack of bugs, compared to other campsites I have visited. Only slight issue is lack of shower curtain risking your things get wet but cubicles are large enough for this not to be a problem. Showers were hot - no problems there, sometimes water pressure issues when many used at once but not really (again compared to other places I've been). No queues, even over bank holiday weekend.

Washing up area not covered but we had good weather. Might be a bit of a pain in the rain.

Fires allowed which is always nice.

Large field means a fair trek to toilet block if in the far field but not a problem at night as there are a few portaloos on route.

Two friendly horses in adjoining field :-)

Mile and a half walk to Branscombe with nice pub with good food. Short walk then to beach. Really beautiful location, and the first field (primarily caravans) has sea view.

Would definitely recommend.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5624 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019