Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trellyn Woodland Camping And Yurts

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Trellyn Woodland Camping And Yurts
Abercastle
Abercastle
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 5HJ
Tel: 01348 837762
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 12
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Everis 1 review from this member

This site is like being in your own little piece of Eco-friendly paradise.

Although they have only 5 camping pitches - one of which has EHU (and assorted yurts for the more glamporous - the hobbit yurt really has to be seen!), it is an extremely spacious site.

Each pitch is beautifully secluded, with plenty of space, and it's own covered campfire area complete with log seating. There are no extra charges for awnings, gazebos, extra cars, etc, as you basically can have whatever you can fit on the pitch (and they are extremely generous pitches). The pitches have access to a compost loo (don't let that put you off as they are fantastic, and treated properly, smell quite pleasant - much better than a normal toilet), either to itself, or shared with the neighbouring pitch. There are also normal toilets and 2 family sized showers in the main building along with washing up area and sockets for charging.

After a short tutorial on chopping wood (which is very worthwhile), you are free to chop as much wood as you want to fuel your campfire - this is included in the price. There are fridges and a freezer for your use, and you can even borrow pots to cook on your campfire.

Pizza night is not to be missed, where everyone gathers around the outdoor, wood fired, pizza oven, to make their own pizzas (dough is provided for a small charge, you just need to provide the toppings).

There is plenty of stuff you can borrow such as beach toys, wetsuits, body boards and even some kayaks. They even have a wood fired sauna you can use!

The owners who are extremely friendly and helpful, make you feel very much at home and go out of their way to help in any way they can.

The site is located in Pembrokeshire, a very beautiful part of Wales. If you can tear yourself away from your campfire paradise, there are some lovely beaches nearby. The closest is only a 5 minute walk to a sheltered little cove. Whitesands, near St David's is about 10 minutes by car, and is a popular beach for both swimming and surfing. St David's is well worth a visit for a nice lunch and ice cream, before picking up a boat trip to see if you can spot some seals, dolphins or puffins. Our kids really enjoyed a day out to Folly Farm, where they got to see plenty of animals, go on some vintage fairground rides and play in the various areas.

You need to be a member of the Greener Camping Club to book this site (which costs £10 and can be paid when booking the site). There are a number of sites affiliated with the club, whose aim is to promote more Eco-friendly camping.

It's a site, where once you go, it would be extremely hard not to go back to.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gaka 1 review from this member

The first we heard of Trellyn was from a cold calling double glazing salesman, we did not need any double glazing but did share a love of the outdoors and camping so he came in for a cup of tea.

He waxed lyrical about the site and advised us to get online and book a pitch for the following year as demand always outstripped supply. This proved to be case with very few dates available, we settled for a week in late May.

When the date came around the weather was fine and we set off excited to find out if the reality matched the expectation. Traffic was kind and we arrived well before booking in time. We decided to see if there was any chance of an early arrival ( a very risky business on some sites ! ).

To our surprise the pitch was empty and we were shown straight to it. We were amazed at the size of the pitch, no need for the twenty foot rule here. Our motorhome is a 6 metre a class which easily fitted onto the freshly laid hard standing ( with a level grassed area for the awning stretching out in front).

Stepping out of the van the tranquillity of the site was immediately apparent, the noisiest thing was the river running along the pitch boundary. The site owners stopped and chatted for a while explaining the ethos of the greener camping club, inviting us to a meeting with other campers later in the afternoon.

After getting everything set up we set out to explore the site ( no other pitches being visible from ours).

The site is large but only has around a dozen pitches, varying from enormous tent pitches to newly constructed hobbit house ( which we will be returning to next year with our grand children) each having a unique feel and setting. All the pitches feature a covered outdoor cooking area ( allowing for inclement weather), a gravelled area with firepit and a composting toilet.

All the facilities that you would expect on a modern campsite were housed in a converted outbuilding, toilets, showers, washing up and laundry facilities. Suffice to say that they were very clean and well presented.

The afternoon get together doubled as simple health and safety briefing with a explanation of some of the sites more quirky features. The firewood for the fire pits was available in an unlimited supply, but after an initial chopped quantity had to be chopped by hand, my wife proving extremely able with the axe. For the week that we were there all cooking, hot water and heat were done on open fire (using the Jenna method)

And to be honest we loved it. All the cooking pots and pans for use on the open fires were provided.

Another site facility that required wood chopping was the wood fired sauna that once again my wife proved a dab hand at.

The site sits in a valley that leads to the beach at Abercastle and all manner of equipment from canoes to surfboards and buckets and spades is provided free of charge.

From the beach the coast path is easily accessible and the views within a short distance proved stunning. Further afield St David's was a lovely little town with a beautiful cathedral.

The site owners went out of there way to be helpful and friendly always on hand when needed.

On the second night everyone was invited to a meet the neighbours pizza night with a twist.

Everybody made pizza dough and left it to prove all afternoon getting together around the pizza oven ( once again wood fired ) in the early evening where we all added our own choice of toppings. A very pleasant and sociable evening was enjoyed by all.

Sticking to the greener camping ethos all the electricity was provided by rechargeable devices which made a pleasant change from having everything that is available at home available on the campsite.

All in all this was a very different experience from most campsites, returning to simpler times.

We would recommend a visit to Trellyn and will be returning ourselves.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoandJohn 1 review from this member

Stayed here with my husband and 6 year old daughter for a week in a tent (on the only electric hook up pitch). We had initially found the site on Cool Camping and it appealed to us as it wasn't commercial and offered a chance for a more outdoor camping experience.

What can we say about the site, well nothing bad that's for sure. The owners were wonderful hosts, so friendly and welcoming, it felt like that our happiness actually mattered which on some larger sites it sometimes doesn't. The web sites claim that everything is included is 100% right. We borrowed a wet suit and body board for our daughter, pans to cook with, and a tent ground sheet all graciously supplied.

Facilities on the site are great, small but always clean, even supplying washing up liquid, dishcloth and tea towel!

We joined in with pizza night which is a fantastic communal night which we all really enjoyed.

The site has no park or playground but that didn't matter, all the children played together wonderfully, and our daughter loved (that's an understatement) the rope swing and the organised kick the can games (thankyou !)in an evening.

We would totally recommend this site. In the ratings section there should be an 11 out of 10 option for people reviewing this site!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Nheathco 1 review from this member

What a fantastic place to stay. The accommodation (Tipi) was simply fantastic and the additional facilities made the whole experience simply the best camping holiday I have had. Great people, great location, great facilities, great holiday. If you get the opportunity stay here! I can not recommend this camp site highly enough. Oh and the pizza night is a fantastic way to meet others and make new friends.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purl76 10 reviews from this member

My fellow campers will hate me for leaving this review - this is the kind of campsite that is so special you don't want anyone else to know about it. But, the owners went out of their way to make our stay amazing (my husband commented that he felt like a house guest) and they left a polite message on their notice board to leave a review so I feel it is only fair I do so.

The Trellyn website has all the information you need to know really - all the photos and blurb is true. Amazing pitches (only 5), your own covered campfire (free firewood) and picnic table, a clean and user friendly compost loo for each pitch (or shared between the valley pitches) and use of the two family sized shower rooms in the campers facilities block (which also houses the washing up area). This area is lovely and clean, the showers are spacious and warm. There are hooks, plus soap, loo roll and hand towels.

There is a water tap just outside the facilities block and this can mean a long walk with water back to your pitch (remember to take a large water bottle). Another tap down near the valley and meadow pitches would be useful. If that ever does happen then some solar showers next to the compost loos would also be great. I am being very picky here - as if you didn't fancy carrying the water you could always pop it in one of the wheel barrows they provide for transporting firewood.

This campsite is magical for families. We have two young children (4 and 1 years). They both loved it. Our youngest obviously needed a lot of supervision being in woods with fires but our eldest was just about old enough to go off playing with the other children on the site. This was the first site we had been on that we felt comfortable enough to allow her to do this. The owner's son was great for teaching the children games such as 'Kick the Can'. The owners also helped the children build a den in the woods near the meadow pitches - great fun! It got quite muddy though so take full waterproofs (and plenty of changes of clothes for the little ones as no washing machine on site but there is one in St Davids, which is open everyday apart from Wednesdays).

Whilst we were there, we were invited to a pizza night in the owner's garden with all the other families on the site - take a bottle and your pizza ingredients. A lovely way to socialise with the other families. There was also a sports day for everyone one afternoon, organised by a fellow camper, involving wheel barrow races, relays, welly throwing etc.

I was lucky enough to have my birthday whilst we were there and we enjoyed a very reasonable and tasty meal at The Sloop in Porthgain (10 ins away in the car). The Shed bistro is also highly recommended - both have websites you can browse. Alternatively, order fresh lobster and cook it on the fire back at camp!

You can walk to Abercastle beach from the campsite - a grey sand harbour with plenty of rock pooling. Whitesands in St Davids is a short drive away and great for families - rock pooling, safe paddling and lots of lovely sand. Plus there is a cafe and toilets. Newgale is a little further in the car but with two miles of sand and surf there is more room and it looked good for surfing (no waves when we visited). You can borrow wetsuits, body boards, canoes and surf boards from the owners at Trellyn.

We visited St Davids, the Blue Lagoon (flooded slate quarry now popular for coasteering and stone skimming) at Aberreidy, and Llys Y Fan reservoir.

As you can imagine, it is very difficult to book a week here during the school holidays - put a note in your diary to visit the website on 1st September when bookings open. We waited quite a few years to get a lucky cancellation and have already booked another stay next year! If you are unsure or not keen on booking a whole week then they offer 3 night stays outside of school holidays and I would highly recommend these as a 'taster'. I'm pretty confident you'll be hooked!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ibkttd 1 review from this member

Our stay here was absolutely brilliant despite the storms! The carefully positioned covered outside areas provided welcome shelter from the rain (which luckily only made an appearance at night). The fire pits are half inside the shelters which meant that using the FREE wood we could keep warm and cook over the fire while the rain lashed down around us. We arrived in the dark after driving from Swansea after work, so waking up was a great surprise to see the meadow pitch that we had been given in the valley. You are far enough from other campers so you really feel like you are in the wilderness, but with facilities always subtly positioned close by. The campsite owners have really thought of everything and nothing was too much trouble for them, even giving a fellow camper wood chopping lessons!

After a pleasant days kayaking down the picturesque River Teifi nothing was more welcome than the wood fired sauna.

We also managed to kayak around the stunning coastline around Abercastle - fantastic wildlife, caves, fishing and jumping off the rocks.

We will be back to this campsite and I canít recommend it more. Thank you very very much for having us!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: LedburySmiths 1 review from this member

We have just had a wonderful week visiting Pembrokeshire and staying at Trellyn. The whole experience was excellent, the owners couldn't do enough to make our stay more pleasant.

We stayed in the Starlight Yurt with our 2 kids (9 and 13), the pitch was very spacious with our own little front lawn, pond and hidden campfire area. Inside, the yurt had a huge double bed, futons for the kids, a woodburner, kitchen facilities and a wonderful natural wood table. All this and we never felt cramped.

All the other facilities were spotless and well thought out.

Kevin and Clare were happy for us to borrow wetsuits and bodyboards which the kids loved on all the local beaches. Happy kids make for happy holidays.

Particular highlights included cooking lobster on our own fire, the pizza night put on by our hosts and going to sleep listening to the crackle and pop from the woodburner.

Local activities I would recommend include the boat trip to Ramsey Island to see the seals and porpoises (take the fast boat, its much more fun) and breakfast at the Mill Cafe in Trefin (try the pancakes and bacon).

Our best ever family holiday, we booked again for next year before we left.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IanRT 1 review from this member

We have just spent a week at Trellyn in our new Holtkamper Kyte trailer tent, and it was absolutely fantastic, from the time of our arrival, being shown round by the friendly and helpful hosts, to our reluctant departure for home.

The site covers a large area, but has only five camping pitches, plus two yurts, two geodesic domes and a teepee, therefore everyone is well separated and the pitches are huge. It also means that the facilities are never overrun - the longest queue I encountered was one person.

The site sits in a wooded valley, so there is plenty of cool shade, even in the hottest weather, and it is also well sheltered from the coastal winds, which can be pretty fierce in this part of the world.

We had read lots of reviews of the site, and wondered if it could really be this good, but everything written about it turned out to be true, which is often not the case. We can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Crepizoid 5 reviews from this member

Had a lovely week in Trellyn. The family are all lovely and the site is perfect. No hassle! no other campers peering at you from their caravans as the pitches are so spread out. My 2 children aged 2 and 4 loved the space and exploring.

You can have camp fires, wood supplied in the original camping cost, you have your own picnic table and camp fire per pitch and we experienced fresh Lobster for the first time cooked on the camp fire, thanks :-)

Would return and recommend!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kumiko 2 reviews from this member

Just came back from our 2nd visit to Trellyn.

The facilities were very high standard and toilets and showers were always clean, with a new compost toilet added to the other end of the site.

We forgot to pack tent poles but, with Clare's advice, we managed to buy a bargain tent at Tesco Extra half an hour away.

Kevin gave us a free wood craft knife safety course and also showed us how to make whistle out of a willow branch with the craft knife. Other people were making wooden spoons. This was fantastic.

We bought 3 fresh lobsters from them. Kevin prepared them ready to be placed on grill on open fire. Delicious!

Our children were running around all day with their friends in the woods and the little hill in the site. There were football matches in the evening as well.

We visited nearby Whitesands twice where our children did bodyboarding. The beach had a surfing area and bodyboard area divided by flags and had a lifeguard. There was a cafe/shop selling hot snacks, boards and wetsuits. St David is also nearby where there are shops, places to eat and offices to book boat trips.

It was a magical week. We enjoyed ourselves so much and are looking forward to going back again.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3578 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019