Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wave Crest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Co Kerry > Wave Crest Caravan Park Reviews

Wave Crest Caravan Park
Caherdaniel
Co Kerry
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 066 9475188
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 12 Reviews
                7/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Padmcpad 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, lovely views over the sea and coastline, short walk to a nearby pub / bar which was a great 'local'. I saw someones previous comment about letting the hot taps run before getting a shower I wish I had seen this before going as it would of avoided a cold shower . One point if you are going in a tent this site can get VERY windy I saw two tents blown away so keep an eye on the weather. Overall a lovely site and I would recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ciarri 20 reviews from this member

 You couldn't find a more dramatic location for a campsite than this. Some of the pitches are perched up on rocks overlooking the expanse of Atlantic Ocean, others are more sheltered down in the main campsite.

Washing facilities are adequate and very clean. There's a good shop and a basic food restaurant. Many people staying at the site are canoe enthusiasts, there's lots of caves and little coves around the coast for exploring. You can also go out on a boat tour, which leaves from a jetty at the campsite.

The site is about 2 miles from the nearest village and beach. There's a great pub in the village which serves good pub food. It's a bit far to walk, especially at night time but I'm sure the owner can organise a taxi.

This site has a great location and a lovely atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Glossopwhite 33 reviews from this member

 Lovely location overlooking the sea, very relaxing sitting watching the waves crash over the rocks.

There is a sandy beach about a mile walk along the main ring of Kerry road (anticlockwise). We found this road to be quite busy having dogs with us but still possible to walk along. The roads as you drive to the site aren't the best, lots of hidden dips, potholes and coaches.

The pitches have a hardstanding area with grass next to it, ours had its own water supply.

The showers were 1 euro, tokens available from reception, plenty of them and advice given to run the hot water through the sink taps first to pull it through to avoid a cold shower.

There were some midges, not too bad and the view from our pitch made up for this.

Very friendly helpful staff upon arrival and we were able to choose our own pitch, hence the stunning view. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Humbird 4 reviews from this member

 Hi, I love this campsite off-season. However, it gets very crowded in July and August, so not so appealing to me personally then. The two ladies who attend at reception are very helpful and friendly, and have a good amount of local knowledge.

I would suggest not pitching anywhere around the toilet block as it gets noisy at night, despite the owner's attempts to get the older kids (teens?) to go back to their tents/caravans. Lots of electricity points available, also water taps, this is great.

Sufficient toilets (a bit dark and dreary though), and showers cost 1 euro - lots of attention given to maintenance and keeping things clean. The shop on site has all you could need, but its pricey.

The location of the campsite is great - right on the water with its own private (stoney) beach and loads of campers have their own canoes or kayaks. Its far from any kind of action, so if the weather is bad and you want to get away from the campsite you have to drive quite a distance for a choice of restaurants or pubs with music or shopping, etc.

I love this campsite off season and will definitely return again. Pre-booking is not allowed unfortunately, which is somewhat OK if you live somewhat locally. However if you live far away you do not want to travel for several hours to get to this campsite and be turned away because its full! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peelaaa 2 reviews from this member

 Stunning location and had a great plot 40 feet from edge overlooking Atlantic sea. Tent plots are mostly enclosed with natural cliff edges and fauna.

Quite noisy around toilet area partly due to the small play area nearby. Paid 27 euros for 4 people plus 1 euro per shower which should be included.

Facilities are sparse with no kitchen and small tv/games rooms. But electricity available on all plots.

Cafe and well stocked shop at entrance.

Watch out for the midges, they were everywhere.

Other than that a great stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chrissies 7 reviews from this member

 Good facilities. Very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. This is a great site with stunning views and many. We didn't have kids with us but I would not think it would be very safe for very young children since it was located on cliff edges in some parts and right by the sea at its lowest point. Quite private little sections which was nice. The main drawback for us was that although it accepted dogs there was nowhere on site or nearby to let him run. It was a good mile before we found somewhere we could let him off - small sandy beach. It was near the end of the season and the food shop was closed. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aniteout 2 reviews from this member

 My family and I have just returned from our 3 day stay at Wavecrest Campsite. The site is situated in Caherdaniel Co Kerry, surrounded by the most beautiful scenery, stunning beaches, with as boasted by O'Conners, Irelands only beach bar and Restaurant, great little spot.

Wavecrest campsite has a very well stocked shop which is used by the people on site and passing trade/locals, every pitch has a view, there is a games room, tv room and laundry.

We arrived on a cloudy day the lady at reception was very pleasant and informed us that we could pick any pitch we liked. Most, if not all, had electricity. We paid our 105 and went to find our spot.

Our first problem was the dreaded tent peg, the pitches were so rocky it took us nearly 1. 5 hours to erect the tent, as we had the wrong pegs and couldn't find any soft ground, by this time rain had set in, not a good start.

Once settled in and wet, we all went for a shower there is 6 in our family, the shower/ toilets were very clean and well stocked with the usual requirements, however having to pay 1. 00 for each shower token we felt was costly, it was decided then that we would have our evening meal in the on site restaurant as a treat.

A cute little restaurant over looking the site, there we were served by a very friendly waitress, we ordered our food 2 meals and 4 kids meals and 4 mineral drinks, the food was ok, but after working hard erecting the tent we were all hungry, the bill came, and was so expensive it was over 60

Our evening was to get worst, Wavecrest according to the rules and regs we received on check-in have a very strict policy on noise, complete quite after 12am, our children's ages range from 16 to 3 years so we were happy to comply, such a shame others didn't. At 1am we had enough and went out to the teenagers that were screaming and shouting to be quite, there was no-one from wavecrest onsite to deal with this. The following night it happened again, only this time they were playing on the 1 slide and 2 swing playground while others were playing hurling with a golf ball, this was at 12am, this time we rang the site from our tent, and to say the lady just said she would send her husband down, so we took from that that she was the owner. Still waiting for the husband to arrive which was now over 20 minutes I again had to go out as did others to have a word with the kids, Her husband then arrived, and rightly dealt with the situation, and all was quiet.

We ended our stay, returned our keyfob for the security barrier to reception and the lady behind the desk didn't even look up, didn't ask us if we had enjoyed our stay. She just handed us back our 20 deposit for the fob and that was that. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ex-pat 5 reviews from this member

 One of Europe's most beautiful places to camp, people who live on the Italian Riviera come here for the views, and the site itself has loads of 'personal' areas for small units and tents.

The bars in Kerry are in a class of their own, and it's an easy walk to the 'Beach Bar' ( perfect sandy bay for primary-age kids ) and two more in the village the other way. A little further, and fun for your designated driver, is one near the harbour past The Liberator's house and gardens, the whole promontory surrounded by sandy beaches. Back towards Sneem ( delicious home-made black pudding in the butchers' shops, ) is the Staigue Fort Hotel and An Siopa Dubh in Castlecove. Find out if there's a monthly Market Day in Kenmare. Walk in the hills if the weather's right. Plan to stay six months. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulbambi 37 reviews from this member

 What a gem! Lovely site, great views, good fishing, horse riding nearby(on the beach), toilet facilities were great, although showers are on a token system 1 euro for 5 minutes, great little shop/pub in the village that supplies most things, try the local steak and local potatoes! the walk is a bit hairy down the main road but doable. There is also a shop on site but it is only open during the main season June-September. The site owners are a family and were lovely and very helpful providing us with tourist information. There are about 3 restaurants within walking distance but not much else. The site has no sandy beach but it is only a short walk to a fantastic beach in the village of Caherdaniel. unrivalled views.
Beautiful will return asap.  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anne Frick 270 reviews from this member

 It was lovely especially as we were lucky enough to experience some of the best ever weather in Ireland. The beaches are fantastic. Only downside for us was the lack of cash points in the area, they could do with one in the shop. I can see the point about childreds' safety, there are some steep drops but we were ok even after the pub. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wave Crest Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wave Crest Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wave Crest Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5480 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement