Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Bude Holiday Resort

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Bude Holiday Resort Reviews

Bude Holiday Resort
Maer Lane
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 9EE
Tel: 03333 700 555  or  01288 355955
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 40 Reviews
                6/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (22)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Looneyellis 6 reviews from this member

 Don't go there!

Awful customer service!

Advertising as heated pool. It was freezing. Picked this site to give our grandchildren a little break. But it was too cold for them to use it. We complained and was offered vouchers to use in the cafe after the reception staff argued the pool was heated! Went to use the vouchers, cafe wasn't open, and had no plans to open!

Complained again to be told they didn't know it was closed. We had been told that they did know! So far lied to twice!

Asked to speak to manager to be told he was on leave and couldn't be contacted. This was a step too far!

Bar staff we couldn't fault as they were trying to help people in between having to clean uncleaned vans and fix plumbing problems!

Toilets/showers hadn't been cleaned for 2 weeks ! Flooding with water as no shower curtains or screens.

Never again ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roposopie 1 review from this member

 Our only holiday this year was to camp for 6 nights, we made it to 5 and that was only because we spent as little time as possible on the campsite.

Problems bullet pointed for easy reading.

• sloppy, boggy and overgrown grass field

• no water point(use toilet block or empty caravan pitch)

• unfinished site

• cold swimming pool (meant to be heated)

• no manager on site (given the run around by staff, told by staff that we are all adults here so we can deal with things but they didn't. )

• shower block was smelly and dirty, poorly designed and shot water across the room from the sink taps and the showers leaving puddles of water. No hairdryers or any vanity points for a bit of privacy.

• field was so muddy that cars were getting stuck, one camper was told that they would need to call a local garage to recover their vehicle.

• nowhere clean and safe for the children to play ball games (whole place a building site)

• and to finish off the long list of problems, myself and my husband plus a few other campers left the site very unwell. Dodgy stomachs and throwing up. Our tent had a rancid smell/liquid seeping into sleeping area making us very ill. It smelt like sewage, potentially ruining our tent and making us sick for a few days.

Finally we went as a collective of campers to the reception (6 other customers) to complain to be told that there was no manager on site and to ring the manager ourselves. The salesman for the static caravans was rude and extremely hostile. He couldn't have cared less about us all being ill. We ended up having to talk the very young receptionist through calling her boss to get the situation resolved. He didn't have the decency to speak to us himself but told her to give us a refund for half our stay and any days lost without even hearing the problem. I'm guessing he already knew that there was massive issues with the site.

North Cornwall is a beautiful location, but all in all, I would not recommend even considering this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 29scrabbly 9 reviews from this member

 Site is undergoing huge improvements. The new toilet blocks are fabulous, there is a new swimming pool and play area.

A new entrance is well underway (much needed ) and a new reception.

There is a cafe on site and a bar and amusement arcade and small shop which doesn't open much

We were given bar vouchers to compensate for building works which was very nice but they were working away from us so no problem anyway.

We were a bit pre -season but the way they were working it may well be ready for this season !

It will be great ! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S Edwards 1 review from this member

 We'd stayed here in a static caravan a few years ago, but this was our first visit with a tent. The site has had some investment and we were pleased with the new, improved playground as we have young children. Plenty of space in the camping field even during half term, ground soft (pegs straight in) and almost flat! We were impressed that we were allowed to stay for just 2 nights.

Toilets/showers/sinks all good, no problems. We used the heated outdoor pool which is basic but on a warm day a nice facility. Open 9. 30-1 and 2-5.

There is a basic shop, restaurant, bar/clubhouse and arcade. Our children enjoyed the kids entertainment in the early evening. Best to have some cash on you as sometimes cards aren't accepted.

A great plus of this site is you can walk into Bude along Maer lane, about 20 mins to Sainsbury's and edge of town, 15 mins to Crooklets beach. We walked our children to the beach and back with no issues.

Our only complaint is that the site is so laid back, there's no expectation that noise will be kept to a minimum until 11pm. Some children were still playing noisily around the playground until 10pm and the music in the clubhouse was noticeable after 11. If you are trying to get your children to sleep it can be a challenge! Admittedly this was the end of May and it was light until nearly 10pm. Overall a great stay with lovely weather and we would go back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Juliesomerset 36 reviews from this member

 After getting stuck in mud last year -vowed never to return ! but lots of emails telling of large investments made tempted me back ! could not see any obviously large changes or improvements-we were given the same pitch that we got stuck in but they have put a lot more loose chippings in the pitch -not brilliant but better than grass. Showers / toilets still not user friendly, nowhere to hang clothes etc - water pressure dreadful -got drowned every morning washing up ! still feel like the poor relation in the camping field, beyond the static presence and ironically the most expensive site of a three week tour of cornwall - there is one thing that keeps me going back to this poor campsite and that is its location- direct access to coastal path -and a 10min walk into town -have to give credit where it is due we used the diner on-site for breakfast twice and a fish and chip supper and the food and service was excellent - cannot say the same for the campsite though. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Farverpearce 1 review from this member

 We had a fairly old two bedroom caravan but it had been well maintained. The shower was brilliant and the general seating area was as you would expect. The tv worked, which made a change from some parks we visited. The little kitchen was fine. You have to realise that everything is scaled down in a caravan. The fridge soon got filled but was fine. We didn't use the microwave. Cooker and storage were all ok. The beds were not top notch. The single beds were lumpy. All the sheets and duvets were lovely and fresh however so that helped balance out the mattress. Overall we were quite happy with the accommodation.

As for the camp there were one or two things we didn't like too much. It is set out in a rather militaristic way. Rows of caravans all the same colour and not much atmosphere.

The pool was nicely heated which helped as the last few days of our holiday were wet and windy. My boys easily made friends with other children at the pool.

There was a bar and an entertainment room and the boys were happy to go to the arcade to meet their friends.

The little shop sold most things you would need at a price but you would need a supermarket for anything other than basics.

Without a car you had a choice of a long boring walk into Bude via Maers Lane or you could, like us, walk along the cliff top which took us straight into Bude. We enjoyed the cliff walk but for those who don't enjoy walking it would be a long drag.

The camp was extremely quiet and peaceful but at night it was poorly lit. A torch would be useful but we forgot ours. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vee4 Gaz 5 reviews from this member

 We have just spent the bank holiday at this site and must say it was lovely. We returned following our stay here last year on the recommendation of friends.

The site is well laid out, with plenty room, although it is a free for all with no rules about spacing between tents. There is a lovely coastal walk to the beach and when they tide is out you can walk into Bude, or you can walk into Bude along the cliff top, beautiful either way.

The site facilities are ok, the café is very reasonably priced and the food is delicious, there is also an on site bar, with entertainment for the Children and then the adults later in the evening, with bingo every night :). However the toilet and shower blocks need updating, always clean but looking a bit tired and the pull cord in the shower was a little annoying, having to pull it every few moments to keep the shower going and there was only 1 sink in the toilet blocks to 8 toilet cubicles. But if you aren't too fussy, then this is place to go. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Magictricky 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a couple of days at this site. Managed to call in on our way through from Newquay and they had availability. I could see why!

Wasn't the warmest welcome so we only booked the two days and pleased we did.

Had all we needed, clean toilets, showers (not once did I come across them being filthy)and electric hook up but its a tired site.

Needs some serious maintenance work. They really should pull out all the stops and repair the play area that is pictured on their site!

The slide is cracked a the bottom and the last tube is not even fixed on properly leaving a huge hole and bolt hanging out!

One baby swing is missing and the other is damaged!

I will be getting onto the local authorities to ensure this is taken care of this week as its not acceptable.

Second toilet block and wash up area will be 'working next week'. No idea how as no one was ever working on it. The hot water in the washing up area took forever to come through (loose taps as well) so it was easier to boil a kettle.

Someone had left a tent by the bins that was just ignored every time they were emptied.

It has a lovely coastal walk only 100 yards from where you camp that takes you either into Bude 25mins or to the beach (told 10 mins but never tried it)

Outdoor pool ( a little bit cool)that appeared clean but only around 10 loungers.

Site clean.

Shop has limited opening hours as did the pool.

Club house and cafe but never used them. Prob limited opening hours as well.

Overall, the location is ok but don't expect too much. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lguiness 3 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location near the coastal path and fantastic views from the cliff-top. It has a great cafe with friendly, helpful staff and lovely, reasonably priced food. The reception staff are also friendly and helpful. They had no problem with us changing pitch when the one they'd reserved for us was waterlogged. That's about it for the good stuff.

The site is poorly maintained, particularly the plumbing. Nearly every tap was leaking, and one water tap in the field had been fitted upside down and trickled. It wasn't usable so we had to find one further from our pitch. The press-down taps in the dish-washing area all leaked when in use and were such high pressure I regularly got a soaking.

The showers, although free, hot and had good pressure, were ill-equipped with one peg for all your clothes and no shower curtain so everything was thrown over the door, knickers and all, to stop them getting wet. I actually took in my own stool so I didn't have to put things on the floor.

The children's play area could use some attention. The swings have deep trenches worn beneath them, even I would struggle getting on them. My daughter had quite a fall from one and even though the ground is covered with bark, she was still hurt.

The narrow country lane leading to the campsite was full of large, and some deep, potholes. Combine this with pedestrians from the site walking to town and it was an accident waiting to happen. We didn't walk it because of our two small children.

I'm not likely to visit the site again until there is some improvement. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squiggle1 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a family holiday to this park. Overall this campsite is good value for money. On first impressions the site was clean, had a nice pool, kids park & a nice walk up to the cliff tops. The downsides (which has already been noted in previous reviews) is the showers! Things to note:

1) Take your own bathroom cleaner to wash the shower trays out as they always looked unrinsed and dirty.

2)There is no-where to put your clothes when trying to get undressed/dressed apart from one hook on back of door.

3) The showers lose power when 2 or more are being used.

The ladies toilet block seemed clean, however it only had 1 sink to 10 toilet cubicles. If this park improved their shower/toilet facilities (which you think they would do if they'd seen all the reviews!) I would return as it is in a good location to the beach & the town centre. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bude Holiday Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Bude Holiday Resort have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Is Bude Holiday Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3276 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder