Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glenlough Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Isle of Man > Douglas > Glenlough Campsite Reviews

Glenlough Campsite
Site Office
Ballahutchin Hill
Union Mills
Douglas
Isle of Man   (Browse area)
IM4 4AT
Tel: 01624852057  or  01624822372
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 250
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 16 reviews from this member

There was nobody in reception when I arrived but there was an envelope with my name on it containing an information booklet and details about where I could pitch up (and a hand written note warning me about the grass being slippery due to the recent rain). Looking at a handy map outside reception and I soon orientated myself and found all the places I needed. The owner had to come on site later on so came over to say hello and was able to provide a good recommendation for a dog friendly pub to eat in that evening (the Crosby a few miles down the road).

The Pit Stop looks a lovely spot to sit and chat to fellow campers and to eat under cover should the weather be inclement. We only stuck our head in to use the Wifi (free but donations to charity welcome) to check the weather forecast and route to the ferry terminal for the morning.

This was a brief one-night stop for me and the dog on our way home. It is a large spacious site and we found a lovely walk off the large field into the woods and down onto the Heritage Way. The site is just off the main A1 Douglas - Peel road and while it was quieter through the night there were still too many cars passing for my liking. But a handy central location just 10 minutes from the Ferry Terminal (well it was when we departed site at 7am)

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChaosAD 1 review from this member

Fantastic site! Only a short distance from Douglas and the official TT start. Massive green to pitch, we chose in the trees for the dogs, next to a small glen to walk them too. Large day room with FREE Wi-Fi if its raining or to be sociable just pop in there. Lovely hot clean showers, clean toilets, large pot washing room with many sinks and wash liquid ready. Water freely available and over all, very well managed. We just booked, rolled up 2 days later, pitched as no one was at the office and within 20 mins the owner had introduced himself and told us tips on local knowledge so we could get around the road closures (National Road Race) Will be back 10/10. Isle of Man has so much to offer that this location is ideal to relax or to go do things.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rachel8077 12 reviews from this member

Peaceful site, with plenty of space (possibly less so during TT) with clean facilities. Lots of toilets and showers, and endless hot water (although it took a while to run warm, but once it did, it was grand). A warm drying room was very useful given the damp weather we had.

Owners were very helpful and pleasant, and there is plenty of information available in the site office.

The site is just outside of Douglas, easily accessible. Will use again if we get the chance.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Astral weeks 7 reviews from this member

Big field, pitch where you like, only 2 other tents when we arrived. A lot different during motor bike weeks. Lots of loos and showers for men, not so many for the ladies. Hurricane Bertha arrived the same time as us so it was helpful that we could use the 'pit stop' to boil a kettle and eat our dinner. Spar shop and Railway pub at bottom of hill (turn right out of site). Easy to cycle to but not so easy on way back! Douglas-Peel cycle track at the back of site.

Isle of Man is an interesting place with plenty to see, most of which we didn't so will come back one day and would not need to seek out any other site.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Mororless 2 reviews from this member

Stayed 3 nights during TT period 2014 - first impressions were very good with friendly and helpful staff, pleasant camping fields, food and entertainment in the evenings. During our first night we realised that there were a bunch of morons who kept revving their engines (this was apparently addressed promptly) and used parts of the site as a race track.

The following morning we experienced great difficulty in gaining access to the 'facilities' due to the high number of site users. There must have been thousands of campers all using 4 (men's) showers and there were usually long queues outside. The portaloo toilets seemed ok at first but were usually in a disgusting state when we arrived.

Access to nearby towns was very good with a minibus service to Douglas for 2 or bus stops within a short walking distance.

I expect the facilities would be acceptable during quieter periods but the TT is over subscribed and the site owners should make arrangements for the extra numbers or restrict access to the site - this will never happen because it with mean reducing their profits! I don't thing we'll be using the site again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Willowsa72 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Glenlough campsite. I rang ahead beforehand to enquire about he facilities as I am disabled with limited mobility using crutches. The lady I spoke was extremely helpful and advised us of the best place to pitch our tent. We pitched in the small paddock and therefore only a short walk away from the toilet and shower facilities. The toilet and shower blocks were very clen and tidy, as was the wash room facilities. There was five of us in our group, three adults and two children, there was plenty of space for the children to play cricket, and they enjoyed the tree swing and the rabbits. The fees were very reasonable and the lady who we spoke to on site was very helpful. We all had a wonderful stay and would recommend this as the best campsite on the Isle of Man.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CraigL90 1 review from this member

This was the first time Id stayed here and will definitely be doing so again in the future. As a cycling backpacker the TV room with free Wi-Fi and charging points (a cost option at all the more expensive Caravan & Camping Club sites Ive stayed at) which was open 24hours a day was a god send when the weather was wet. All the showers and other facilities were clean and in good working order producing hot water straight away. All the staff at the site were friendly and helpful. There is a bus stop at the entrance to the site with regular buses around the island.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Canim 5 reviews from this member

This is the second time I have stayed at this site for the TT races, Excellent facilities and warm friendly atmosphere, the owners are so accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. I hope to be staying there again this year and would recommend it to anyone, please bear in mind it is at the top of a medium sized hill, however there are 2 good pubs and shops within walking distance, a short bus/taxi ride into Douglas. The site offers a free TV room with plenty of mobile phone/ipod/laptop charging facilities and constant free hot water shower blocks regularly cleaned. I would recommend this site for families/ couples/ singles/ motorcycle and mountain bike tourists as it offers both a good central location but also located in a peaceful tranquil area.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mancboy 1 review from this member

We stayed in a tent during second week of TT, just me and my girlfriend. We pitched our tent in the large field near the road.

The owners were friendly and we were told we could pitch anywhere. First night was noisy to say the least. Why people have to spend all night reving bike engines I don't know.

The facilities were basic and the four showers for men and woman were inadequate.

Plus side. Cafe was good and the marque with bands on was a good idea. Also bus stop outside and fabulous taxi service made getting around easy.

In summary if we're honest we wouldn't stay here again.

Management response: This review is incorrect - it states that we have only 4 showers - we have 4 ladies Showers and 9 gents showers! If he had spoken to us, we could have shown him the facilities and dealt with the noise problem- as we have a warden on duty 24/7 for the TT period.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Celsey 1 review from this member

I visited this site with my three year old son in August 2011. As we don't have a car we found it very useful having the bus stop right outside the campsite. We arrived quite late to find a welcome pack waiting in reception for us with local information and a bus timetable which was very helpful. The toilets and showers were always very clean and the site was well maintained. The owners of the site really went above and beyond, lending us spare sleeping bags and airbeds to keep warm and comfortable and when the weather was really bad they even left us a note by the tent telling us one of their 'pod huts' was free that night and to ring if we needed it, we did and had a fantastic and exciting night in there. I would definitely recommend this site to anyone, we are intending to return and can't wait!

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Man

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4754 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019