Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Peel Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Isle of Man > Site Reviews

Peel Camping Park
Derby Road
Peel
Isle of Man   (Browse area)
IM5 1RG
Tel: 01624 842341
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woolie 1 review from this member

Did the manx GP 2017, staying at peel campsite for 7 nights.

Good clean toilets and showers, great campsite with plenty of space for all camping. The supermarket was well stocked for bikers looking

For B/Q stuff and beer, if you couldn't make it that that far from campsite [5 mins] the swimming pool next door did breakfast and food daily at reasonable prices.

Peel itself has plenty for all, pubs restaurants manx kippers and heritage sites and the museum.

The TT course is only 10 mins away, and you can get back when roads are closed from as far as ramsey which sometimes is needed.

Will I stay again, its yes for me, already booked ferry for 2018 peel campsite next.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Reese 18 reviews from this member

Disappointing is the best description here. The Isle Of Man is well worth visiting, I would highly recommend a visit. We stayed for 5 days, all at Peel Camping Park. Peel itself, in my estimation, is the most interesting of the Islands towns/ports, shame about the campsite. The promise is there, a very level grass site with a tarmac hard standing area. A very expensive site, more expensive than Caravan Club sites which offer top of the range facilities, we paid 25. 00 per night which included electric hook up. There are no children's facilities. The toilet block is what lets it down. Very grubby ! Grime around the taps and splash back tiles, rubbish left in the showers, empty shampoo bottles etc. Considering the site was quite, about ten other units of differing descriptions, very little time was dedicated to cleaning. Being as this is a Peel Town Council site I think it lets the town down.

Apart from that, the rest is positive. A supermarket is just down the road, 5 minute walk. 10-15 minutes walk into town with it's interesting harbour and fantastic castle (only 5 entry). Try the smoked kippers, they were fantastic. We purchased travel gocards and used the very clean and reliable public transport, buses, trams and steam railway. Despite the campsite I would return as the Island has a lot to offer !

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frank forrest 2 reviews from this member

Not visited IOM since 1981, went for MGP. Choose to go camping, so glad I picked peel camp site, very well run site wardens where so helpful,

Showers were clean and plenty hot water. Very handy canteen in swimming pool,

Hope to see you again . Done a lot of touring on the bike, the scenery and the island is a place I would recommend to anybody to try. I also managed to visit relatives I had not seen for many years,

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Refugee2 1 review from this member

Visited for the MGP during what must have been one of the wettest on record! High winds also left some tents abandoned, but the wardens were 'stars' and made sure the facilities were kept clean and free from the mud of the site. Not an easy task when everywhere seemed to be running in water. Handy pub to drown our sorrows and the supermarket is always clean and well stocked. Our third trip and I know we will be back for more.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hymerexsisman 1 review from this member

This is in my view the best site on the island

The peel site is very close to a supermarket and close to the town, has very good fish and chip shop and free parking around the harbour,

The toilets on the site must have been re painted this year has there is no spiders in site for my daughters sake that is,

It is rather expensive, but so are the others and this one is better,

The site warden is very nice and the toilets are cleaned every morning at 07:30,

We love it here on IOM, where else can you go in the kids summer holidays and have no crowds, just have to keep fingers crossed for weather

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Celcat 1 review from this member

We stayed here for the Southern 100 and for a further week.

The site is excellent and having looked at many on the island on previous visits it is amongst the best, probably the best. It is kept immaculate by Phil who ensures the showers, toilets and laundry room are all clean. (There are even washing lines!)

The site itself is a 5 minute walk from local shop, 10mins from pub and about 10 minutes from Peel itself. There is also a bus stop within about 7 minutes walking distance, a swimming pool right next to the site with a cafe and free wi-fi.

The site is nice and flat and I noticed plenty of EHU available.

We found it to be quite 'central' but then the island isn't that big. Peel is a lovely town if you don't want to venture far on some days. We watched the trawlers come in for ages which were closely followed by seals!

There were lots of people fishing on the wall in the harbour and getting good catches. The beach is beautiful and also kept clean and there are some fantastic local walks.

Will be reserving our spot for the TT next year.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Copog 1 review from this member

We (2 adults) spent four nights Mon- Fri and cannot fault this site, every pitch serviced with EHU water and evening light, the toilets and showers always clean and toilet paper always available.

The warden is a star and if you arrive when he is not there you just set up somewhere and catch up with him the next morning.

There is a lovely swimming pool next door with a cafe, and a pub up the road that does meals.

The nearest supermarket is 5 min walk away and it is about 10 min to peel sea front with more pubs, shops, harbour, castle etc.

Driving is easy and destinations are well signposted, but if you don't want to drive there are buses to various destinations and good deals on multiple day tickets that include buses, trains and trams.

We would happily recommend this site as first class!.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 19 reviews from this member

This is a great site, the flattest field I have ever seen at a campsite and in a good location. On the edge of town.

It is next to a leisure centre with cafe and very near a good sized supermarket.

The site facilities are fantastic - immaculately clean and lots of free, hot showers.

It is on one of the main roads into Peel so there is a little bit of road noise.

Peel has lots to see and do - well worth a two or three day stay. The food (and real ale) at the Creek is fantastic - we ate there both nights as it was so good.

We would definitely go back to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ThefamilyD 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for a week at Peel Campsite whilst in the IOM for TT practice week.

A fantastic site with loads of electric hook ups, great shower block/toilets and laundry room. The whole site is kept very clean and the grass is immaculate!

The warden works his socks off and is very friendly and helpful. Easy access to Peel town and next to a supermarket and swimming pool.

My wife and two kids really enjoyed their first caravanning trip to this wonderful island and thanks to Peel Campsite we will all be back for TT 2012.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Greeves 1 review from this member

We stayed here during the Manx Grand Prix period. Knowing it would be busy, we booked in advance with the Peel Town Commissioners office; they were very helpful, friendly and efficient.

The site is level and the facilities are basic but good, with plenty of washbasins, toilets and hot showers, easy rubbish disposal and a nice touch are the washing lines handy for the tents. Despite being very busy, the site was quiet at night. The warden is a star - a really helpful guy who works his socks off keeping the site in good order.

Local facilities are excellent, with adjacent swimming pool (and cafe), supermarket just down the road and a convenient pub that does meals.

All in all, a very pleasant stay on a well run site; we would be happy to come again.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Man

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1069 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019