Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Quarry Road Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Isle of Man > Site Reviews

Quarry Road Campsite
Quarry Road
Laxey
Isle of Man   (Browse area)
IM4 7DU
Tel: 01624 861866  or  07624 499281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1fell 1 review from this member

A few days spent camping at Laxey in late july. Lovely location and friendly warden. Unfortunately though the site was too full. The maximum number of units accepted here 'by order of Laxey village commissioners' is 20. Over thirty tents and a number of campervans meant the limited facilities simply could not cope and were busy and dirty. The site was signed as 'full with bookings only'. Why accept so many over the stated limit (near 40 units, not 20)? Spoilt out enjoyment of what could be an excellent site.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JennyJH 5 reviews from this member

What a find! We absolutely loved this campsite. The warden, John was great - extremely friendly and knowledgeable, there every morning, yet not in your face. We have never seen a campsite with a well-equipped kitchen attached. There was no need to bring our stove, crockery, cutlery or pans! There was a cooker, 2 microwaves, 2 fridges and a freezer. The fridges were very handy for keeping our milk in, during a hot spell. It was nice to wash up in a proper room for a change. There were tons of tourist information brochures to read and a small library of books to borrow. The shower block was great for me as I was the only female on the site, but it may have been a bit frustrating if a queue of men were waiting for the one male shower. However I believe that John proposes adding new shower facilities for next year. The site pitches were very well-maintained and you could pitch up where you liked. There were some nice benches/chairs near to the kitchen and the waste was well-organised and clearly sorted into recycling bins. John let us have electric hook-up with our extension cable, which he ran under a rubber cover, as it went across his hard standing and driveway. It was a short walk to the local pub and the harbour. A quiet site on a no-through road with the only sounds being from the birds and the traditional railway in the distance. We would definitely recommend this site highly and hopefully will return in the not-too-distant future. Thank you John for your great hospitality

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thie keoie 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from the island, having spent 11 nights camping at Laxey Campsite. Wish we could have stopped longer.

The site itself is in the centre of Old Laxey, situated off a dead-end road - so no passing traffic! There is a small co-op in the village, but its quite a way from the site if walking. There are pubs, a restaurant and a launderette close by, and an ice cream shop on the promenade, which is a short walk away.

There is a sports field and park/skate park in the valley below the site, accessed directly via a wooden boardwalk. Also, next door to the site is the village primary school. When the school is closed, children can play in the playground.

The site is mainly level, and drains well when wet (luckily we didn't see a lot of rain, though this meant getting tent pegs into the ground was a challenge). The kitchen has everything you could possibly need - and more besides - a cooker and hob, microwave, fridges, freezer, sink, cutlery, crockery, pots, pans and cups. Only the one sink for washing up but its a small, friendly site, so you can chat with your neighbours whilst waiting.

The toilet block is small, with only one shower per sex though, again, as the site is small, we rarely had to wait.

The warden does a fantastic job keeping all the facilities clean and in good order. He's extremely friendly and can often be found wandering around the site chatting to people.

If relying on public transport, the main Douglas to Ramsey road is a short uphil walk from the site, with regular buses to and from Douglas. The Manx Electric Railway station at Minorca is a bit nearer, with a regular tram service between Douglas, Laxey and Ramsey.

This was our second visit to the site, and we are looking forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Malane 4 reviews from this member

This is a small campsite in the picturesque village of Laxey. The campsite is in the center of the village and is a short walk away from a selection of pubs, an Italian restaurant, a co op and a launderette. There is also a playground by the site which can be reached by a wooden walkway.

The campsite is a small site and therefore only has one shower per sex. The biggest plus point of this site is the kitchen. The kitchen is stocked with plenty of pots, pans, crockery, cutlery etc for campers to use. There is also an oven for campers to use and several fridges. There is a large table to sit at and even a highchair for younger campers! The warden was ever so helpful and has even provided a bookcase with a wide selection of books and a large range of tourist leaflets. He really has thought of everything.

The only downside to this site is Laxey is built in a steep glen so people who aren't keen on walking up hills or have young children may want to bear this in mind.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bapwich 8 reviews from this member

A great campsite ideally located for exploring the Isle of Man. Facilities were very good, with a fantastic kitchen/dining area complete with utensils, tourist info etc, all free to use and perfect for hiding out in when it rained.

Pitches were good and the campsite was astoundingly well priced! The bathroom block was clean and tidy. Although there was only one shower in each sex block, the campsite really isn't that big so another one wasn't that necessary. I could imagine that's a different story in TT season!

John, the warden, was great and definitely deserved the customer service awards he has on display. Couldn't be faulted!

Pubs and a Coop were within walking distance, as was the beach and harbour. The electric railway and mountain railway were also within a five/ten minute walk. An adventure playground was just around the corner for children to enjoy.

Really enjoyed our stay and would happily return there if ever visiting the island in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ianne 3 reviews from this member

Visited for 12 nights in June and although we had some very wet days the campsite stayed pretty dry and drained quickly.

Great find, this site must have the best equipped kitchen ever - full size cooker, fridges, freezer, microwave, pots, pans, crockery, cutlery in fact everything as well as the kitchen sink!

John was in evidence daily checking that everyone was OK. Lovely area, very central for anywhere on the island, handy Spar in the village and not too far to Douglas for more serious shopping.

Showers and loos a bit outdated but ample for the size of the site and free to use. Would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Basherbish 5 reviews from this member

We too were on the Quarry Road Campsite in April 2012, spending 12 nights there, probably at the same time as the 'Manx Fairy' reviewer but we didn`t make contact. I can only endorse what he/she said about the site. Small, with a very slight slope, so well equipped in the kitchen, almost home from home and if you want to know anything, ask the Warden, a mine of information.

We will be returning in June next year.

Regarding the Island, we found the locals friendly, helpful, hardly any parking restrictions to complain about, no graffiti or rubbish ( can you believe it! ), it was a combination of Cornish beaches and Lakeland hills

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Manx fairy 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 days and would definitely recommend it. John the Warden, was very helpful and works hard to maintain the campsite. He is a mine of information and although not based on site, is around each morning and can be easily contacted via mobile if necessary.

There are 8 EHU points set on hard standing area and we were keen to secure same for the M/H.

The location is in a lovely area with plenty of walks down to the beach/ promenade, around the headland, to the main village, the Glen Gardens and up & around the Laxey Wheel.

We picked up a range of leaflets from the information room which doubled up as a very well equipped kitchen/ diner. Reminiscent of Youth Hostel facilities but, better! Loads of info' to access here too, and I would imagine that for tenter's/ campers that these facilities would be a godsend. There were plenty of outside tables/ chairs and bench seats, meaning that in the summer months and warmer weather, campers can eat/ relax in comfort.

For anyone with children, there is a play area nearby and within a few minutes down a wooden walkway, there was a tennis court, BMX area and general recreation facilities.

The Shore Hotel, at the bottom of Old Laxey village served Bosun's Bitter which is brewed at the rear of the pub by the Old Laxey Brewing Company. There is a grass seating area at the side of the car park next to the riverbank which would, on a warm day, provide a lovely setting for relaxing & enjoying a drink or two. It was raining on the day we popped in for some respite from the weather and we were warmly welcomed in the lounge by a real coal fire and generous hospitality.

We caught the electric tram to Ramsey on one day - £20 return for two of us (seemed steep, but was definitely worth it, as the views were amazing) - approx. 45 minutes journey. The tram stop (called Minorca) is a stones throw away from the site. On another day we caught the bus to Douglas - easy uphill walk to the bus stop a few minutes away from the site, this took approx. 30 mins.

Access to the site is down a narrow lane but do-able. Any outfit longer than 7m may find it a tad difficult. The site is only a 25 minute drive from the ferry terminal and in an ideal position to explore most of the island from.

Cost was £17 per night for 2 of us, EHU and M/H pitch.

We will definitely go back, the 3 days we spent there were not long enough.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 19 reviews from this member

This site is a gem for those after good old fashioned and friendly camping. It is tucked down a lane in the village, with a primary school on one side a few houses on the other.

Good points:-

Small site, with flat sheltered pitches.

Clean, free, hot electric showers and loos.

Fantastic kitchen/diner with table, chairs and cooker, fridges, freezer and lots of pots, pans, cutlery and crockery all of which you can use whilst on site.

Kitchen/diner is full of tourist info and has the friendly feel of a youth hostel

Within walking distance of Laxey, which is a very pretty village with lots to see and do. The Bay Hotel is great with homebrewed beer and good value, basic food and a friendly welcome. The Mines Tavern is also worth a visit.

Not so good points:-

Only one of these! The shower block is very small, with only one shower per sex and not much room to wait/use the sinks.

Of the three sites we stayed in, this was our favourite and we would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 116 reviews from this member

What a pleasant surprise! A totally authentic traditional campsite feel.

Located in a quiet position at the end of a cul-de-sac opposite houses and next to Laxey School. The pitching area measures very approximately 100m x 50m narrowing to 40m; is slightly sloping; well sheltered; has perfect pegging conditions and ehu. Unusually it is operated by Laxey Town Commissioners.

Conveniently located in one corner is the facilities block. This is a substantial but simple building containing the wc / showers (free). As K + g say below, only one of each, and exceptionally, a fully equipped communal campers kitchen plus dining area.

At £5 per person / night and £2 / night for ehu, you will be hard pushed to get better value anywhere!

Being located actually in the village, all the village amenities and the very attractive harbour and beach (pebbles) are within easy walking distance.

Laxey is an ancient settlement and a very attractive place. I can only describe it as resembling a Cornish fishing village, but much less crowded and not at all commercialized.

Contrary to the popular myth, CARAVANS ARE ALLOWED on the IOM, but you need to obtain Ďimport consentí. This is a very easy process, and as long as you stay on a recognized site, consent is not usually refused.

All you do is write / e-mail to: Department of Local Government and the Environment, Murray House, Mount Havelock, Douglas. (Tel 01624 685911. E-mail: Planning.DLGE at dlge.Gov.Im). At least two weeks notice is needed, and you just provide your name; address; dates of intended arrival / departure and name of the site youíve booked.

With regard to ferries, firstly, if your trailer is less than 4m you can go from Liverpool on the Seacat, if it is over 4m you have to go from Heysham on the ship. Secondly, fares can get expensive, rising to peak of peaks at TT and Manx GP fortnights. However, discounts can be obtained by booking with Isle of Man Travel Services. (01624 820022)

The Isle of Man is a very nice place to visit. Parking is free everywhere, but in main town centres, you need a parking disc. Again this is free and obtained from shops everywhere. The IOM railways are very quaint and useful if you donít want to drive.

A few personal recommendations: Rasoi, Bay View Road, Port St Mary, (One of the best Indian meals Iíve ever had); Davisons Ice Cream Parlors throughout the island; Creek Inn, Peel (Good eats & drinks pub + free Wi-Fi); High Tea in The Conservatory at Grove House, Ramsey. (Not on the menu, but ask for it anyway!)

To sum up; Laxey Campsite is sure to please.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Man

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2855 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019