Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ballacottier Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Isle of Man > Site Reviews

Ballacottier Campsite
Ballacottier Road
Onchan
Isle of Man   (Browse area)
IM4 5BQ
Tel: 01624 675687
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Candysue1 1 review from this member

Absolutely love this place owners very friendly and helpful, everything basic you need is available & clean, lovely hot shower. We came to visit the Island to explore with a view to return for the classic TT and we have had the most amazing and peaceful time on this site. The site owner Bob being a former TT racer has some wonderful stories to tell and along with his wife Hilary they are a lovely couple. The cockerels are fab characters.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lyndsay1987 1 review from this member

I visited this campsite for this years TT. After a long journey over, to arrive at a wonderful campsite was the best. The facilities are beyond what I expected and it makes the stay even better. The burger van was brilliant when you didn't feel like cooking breakfast in the morning. The walk to the grandstand at Hillberry corner is beautiful. Looking forward to staying here again next year.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matt7th 1 review from this member

After reading all the other reviews we visited Ballacottier Campsite in late july 15 for 2 night. There were 4 of us on 3 bikes. We made the right choice. All the reviews that said the site is basic but clean and you couldn't really want for anything were correct. Left by previous campers were tables, chairs, airbeds, quilts, tea, coffee, sugar, kettles, toasters, soup, cups, bowls, cuttlery, plates etc - as you can imagine the list goes on. If we had turned up with nothing but a tent we could have suvived. Both Bob and Hilary were loverly. Bob kindly told us about his TT racing past which to us (as bikers) was very interesting. We will definitely be visiting again and highly recommending to anyone who visits the IOM. The location is also fantastic. Walking distance to the TT Course and only about 2 miles from Douglas.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brownek34 1 review from this member

Fabulous location for the TT. Outside the course so when practice/ racing is on and the roads are closed you are not stuck! Hillberry is a stones throw away and is a superb spot to watch the riders.

The campsite is just lovely. And so are the owners. Nothing was too much trouble, Hillary and Bob remembered everyone's name and really go that extra mile to make you feel welcome. We feel that we have made two new friends after our two week stay. And we can't wait to go back to see them, never mind the beautiful Isle of Mann.

The showers were hot, loo paper in plentiful supply and my partner is missing Terry the cockerel who adopted us!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: R3OC 2 reviews from this member

Stayed 10 nights at Ballacottier for this years TT races. Hilary and Bob are real characters and proved very helpful during our stay. The site is situated on an old farm in a secluded area of Onchan but close enough to supermarkets, pubs and other amenities for it not to be a major problem. The toilets, showers etc are a bit 'rustic' but work fine and the family worked hard to ensure things were kept clean and tidy. Some people complained about the Roosters crowing at 4am but they never bothered me personally and the Manx Midges (not as hard as their Scottish cousins) were easily sent packing with the aid of some cheap repellant. The site was jam packed during our stay but everyone mucked in and things went fine. For a measley 5 a night you can't go wrong and we will definitely be stopping here again on our next visit to the Isle of Man. Good site, reasonable facilities, fantastic family owners. It's not the Ritz but it aint the pits either. Ballacottier Farm easily ticked all the boxes for me. No frills camping at it's best.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Scouse49 1 review from this member

Arrived at site and yes it was as described very basic but very clean and the site owner was very helpful and polite. We hired a tent from the owners son because we were on a motorbike and this is a service the site offer. We booked a bigger tent to store the equipment and clothing in. The tent hire was booked and paid for in march, when we opened the tent it was filthy inside flies everywhere no ground sheet in the centre part of the tent, we opened the bedroom section it had a very damp smell the airbeds were not fully pumped up and dirty the sleeping bags were filthy and stunk. You could tell that the tent had not been aired or cleaned at the end of the previous season nor the airbeds or sleeping bags, we asked for a refund and were given one without any questions and luckily found a b&b in douglas.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Welshyboy 1 review from this member

For less than a fiver you ask for. This campsite is not the Hilton but its got most things you need for a comfortable stay. The owners Bob and Hilary and the rest of the family cant do enough to help, when you arrive they will show you around and even introduce you to fellow campers so you will definitely leave making friends with people you've met whilst staying there.

The facilities consist of microwave,kettle,toaster,fridge and some spare sockets ( ideal for phone charging etc)

Shower and toilet blocks male and female and a burger van / small small shop for basics which is open during racing (TT and Manx GP )

If your on foot the nearest pub/main shop and Chinese is about a 20 minute walk and bus stop is probably about 3/4 of a mile away but taxi numbers etc are posted on site and if your phone don't work then the owners will ring one for you.

Douglas is only a 10 min drive away.

If you have trouble sleeping you have 2 options. No.1 get very drunk or 2 take ear plugs as the free range chickens are cute but can be bit loud early in the morning. The only other thing I would suggest is insect repellent it comes in handy some evenings.

This is a real friendly helpful site and if you show them respect then they will treat you as one of their own. Will deffinatley go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spudsmadhouse 2 reviews from this member

We booked this campsite after reading the previous reviews and everything they say is true! Hilary and Bob are so friendly and helpful but also leave you to your own devices and let you set up camp were you want, within reason.

Lovely peaceful walks/runs only a few mins from campsite and Douglas just 10 min drive away, were there is a laundrette which is handy. Showers and toilets are basic but very clean all the facilities you need when camping!

If you have kids it is perfect as they have space to run, but no playparks. We were booked to go to another campsite but cancelled as we all wanted to stay here! that says it all. Thanks for a great holiday, see you next year.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whatever_37 1 review from this member

First time visit to TT Races. Spent 5 days on this site and couldn't have picked a better one to stay at. Easy walking distance of Hillberry Hill and has access to Douglas when racing closes main roads.

Bob and Hilary are fantastic hosts and couldn't do enough for us. The facilities are basic but adequate, this is camping after all and the pricing is very cheap! If you are a light sleeper beware the cockerels and take ear plugs as they cock-a-doodle quite early.

We didn't have much trouble with mosquito's etc, campfires probably helped. Bob and Hilary's daughter provides bacon / sausage / egg baps, tea / coffee to buy. I did notice a trampoline but not really sure what else there is for the kids.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thundertel 3 reviews from this member

Our first trip to Isle of Man. We hired a 6 man tent and one airbed as we were on motorbikes so space a premium. Both were available & pitched ready for us when we arrived. Pile of old chairs in corner, so apart from TT week you'd probably get a chair or two. We managed to find an old table.
Field flat and kept well cut. Hilary & Bob very welcoming and sent clear directions. Camp site is basic and I was surprised to see a fridge / kettle toaster available for use. Obviously this then lets you charge up phones/cameras etc. Site is dated but toilets were clean. Showers old but piping hot.
With only 2 other holiday makers on site (There were a bunch of workers staying long term)in middle of August, you can understand why the owners may be reluctant to upgrade the facilities.
Hilberry corner only a short walk & the Cat with no Tail pub did a reasonable pub meal for 8. Only 20 minutes walk, so take a torch. Wild hens & cockerels start early and hang around for scraps.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Man

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2743 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019