Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ballacottier Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Isle of Man > Onchan > Ballacottier Campsite Reviews

Ballacottier Campsite
Ballacottier Road
Onchan
Isle of Man   (Browse area)
IM4 5BQ
Tel: 01624 615479  or  07624 487161
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bishkk 1 review from this member

 Superb site great facilities, cheap as chips & when the TT was on 7 a night can't be beaten, They also hire tents cheap too, So you don't have to over load your bike or car,

Bob & Hillary are a lovely elderly couple

All in all great camp site cheap & great location for watching TT or a base to explore the island, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 I have stayed here previously, the owners and family are always welcoming and happy to assist where they can,

Toilets and showers are clean,

Lots of space for kids to run around,

Electric hook ups available,

Just a short walk to the racing,

Great place to stay,

Will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wandbf 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet place to stay overnight with toilets and showers

Run by Lovely elderly couple and cheap,

Close to douglas,

We camped there out of the tt weeks so was very quiet 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Robjo2112 1 review from this member

 What can I say about this place? Quite simply, it is one of the best campsites I have ever stayed on. Yes, it is basic in places, but the warmth of the welcome from the owners, who keep the place going in their own inimitable style, is magical. You feel like family in minutes.

I went there this year [2019] for a TT taster, two days before the TT practice sessions were ready to begin [and a planned three after] and got there using SATNAV from the docks; an adventure in and of itself. It took me the awkward way, through the twisty lanes. On a bike, no problems. In a camper, boy would that be tricky. I had never been to the island, so did not know one road from the next. For those like me, it is better to go up the main road after the Marina Hotel [I think] and then up to Hillberry and then turn right there. 400 yards later, you are there.

Once there, I was allowed to pitch anywhere and myself and another biker, Tony, were greeted by Tom, the owner, who was on his ride on mower, intent on doing the grass for us all and as we pitched, he went trundling by, spraying me from head to toe with cut grass and a smile on his face. We all laughed. Another camper waltzed over and simply added, "Welcome to the Isle Of Man. "

This was going to be the beginning of a mad few days!

I enjoyed my stay. The pitch was perfect. The cabins at the top were basic but functional. A 1 coin into the shower and a hot shower on tap. There is even a cabin at the top to charge your phones up, a Godsend when I was there, apart from the fact that my phone seemed to go quickly when there and Sure charged me 36 quid for roaming charges. There are even a couple of pods, which I asked to rent, but alas, they are privately owned. I asked as I was freezing each night, even with several layers on [nesh, I know].

The only issue I had was when it rained and it all became a little too much. With something horrible happening at home, I had to return early, but am looking to go back with my son and two nephews next year for the TT or for the Classic.

Try this site out. It is 400 yards from Hillberry, another mile or so from the famous Creg-Ny-Baa cafe on that famous corner [where I met a certain fella called Hickman] and perfectly suited for a quiet time as well as a noisy one. Someone like me, who was on his own and suffers with PTSD, reacts at adverse noise, but next time, when there are four of us, I should be more able to take the noisy camper vans that turned up and spoilt my time there and made me think of leaving.

I love this site. It is just what a good campsite should be; not trying to be something it ain't and good enough for many different types of visitor.

Bring on 2020! 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Candysue1 1 review from this member

 Absolutely love this place owners very friendly and helpful, everything basic you need is available & clean, lovely hot shower. We came to visit the Island to explore with a view to return for the classic TT and we have had the most amazing and peaceful time on this site. The site owner Bob being a former TT racer has some wonderful stories to tell and along with his wife Hilary they are a lovely couple. The cockerels are fab characters. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyndsay1987 1 review from this member

 I visited this campsite for this years TT. After a long journey over, to arrive at a wonderful campsite was the best. The facilities are beyond what I expected and it makes the stay even better. The burger van was brilliant when you didn't feel like cooking breakfast in the morning. The walk to the grandstand at Hillberry corner is beautiful. Looking forward to staying here again next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matt7th 1 review from this member

 After reading all the other reviews we visited Ballacottier Campsite in late july 15 for 2 night. There were 4 of us on 3 bikes. We made the right choice. All the reviews that said the site is basic but clean and you couldn't really want for anything were correct. Left by previous campers were tables, chairs, airbeds, quilts, tea, coffee, sugar, kettles, toasters, soup, cups, bowls, cuttlery, plates etc - as you can imagine the list goes on. If we had turned up with nothing but a tent we could have suvived. Both Bob and Hilary were loverly. Bob kindly told us about his TT racing past which to us (as bikers) was very interesting. We will definitely be visiting again and highly recommending to anyone who visits the IOM. The location is also fantastic. Walking distance to the TT Course and only about 2 miles from Douglas. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brownek34 1 review from this member

 Fabulous location for the TT. Outside the course so when practice/ racing is on and the roads are closed you are not stuck! Hillberry is a stones throw away and is a superb spot to watch the riders.

The campsite is just lovely. And so are the owners. Nothing was too much trouble, Hillary and Bob remembered everyone's name and really go that extra mile to make you feel welcome. We feel that we have made two new friends after our two week stay. And we can't wait to go back to see them, never mind the beautiful Isle of Mann.

The showers were hot, loo paper in plentiful supply and my partner is missing Terry the cockerel who adopted us! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: R3OC 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed 10 nights at Ballacottier for this years TT races. Hilary and Bob are real characters and proved very helpful during our stay. The site is situated on an old farm in a secluded area of Onchan but close enough to supermarkets, pubs and other amenities for it not to be a major problem. The toilets, showers etc are a bit 'rustic' but work fine and the family worked hard to ensure things were kept clean and tidy. Some people complained about the Roosters crowing at 4am but they never bothered me personally and the Manx Midges (not as hard as their Scottish cousins) were easily sent packing with the aid of some cheap repellant. The site was jam packed during our stay but everyone mucked in and things went fine. For a measley 5 a night you can't go wrong and we will definitely be stopping here again on our next visit to the Isle of Man. Good site, reasonable facilities, fantastic family owners. It's not the Ritz but it aint the pits either. Ballacottier Farm easily ticked all the boxes for me. No frills camping at it's best. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Scouse49 1 review from this member

 Arrived at site and yes it was as described very basic but very clean and the site owner was very helpful and polite. We hired a tent from the owners son because we were on a motorbike and this is a service the site offer. We booked a bigger tent to store the equipment and clothing in. The tent hire was booked and paid for in march, when we opened the tent it was filthy inside flies everywhere no ground sheet in the centre part of the tent, we opened the bedroom section it had a very damp smell the airbeds were not fully pumped up and dirty the sleeping bags were filthy and stunk. You could tell that the tent had not been aired or cleaned at the end of the previous season nor the airbeds or sleeping bags, we asked for a refund and were given one without any questions and luckily found a b&b in douglas. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ballacottier Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ballacottier Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ballacottier Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Onchan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Man

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2275 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement