Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springbok Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Surrey > Alfold > Springbok Farm Reviews

Springbok Farm
Merchant Seamans War Memorial Society
Alfold
Surrey   (Browse area)
GU6 8EX
Tel: 01403 752555
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Homebrewstermatthew 13 reviews from this member

 Simple site. Spacious, relaxed. It wasnít too busy and generally peaceful. As other reviewers have noted, there is some flight noise but not too bad. Site is well connected for lots of walking. Toilets are clean and in good condition.

Washing up area is dilapidated so donít rely on using it. The site is a 20 minute walk to the Alford Barn which serves a cut above normal pub food ( all freshly sourced; I had Skate wing and my wife had lobster; generous portions and well priced. The gooseberry fool was to die for).

The only down side about this site is that itís right next to a glamping site which accepts groups. Fortunately we had ear plugs so sleep not too disturbed but could easily have been. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Magmar 29 reviews from this member

 This site is on an estate owned and run by Care Ashore. A charity that provides retirement accommodation in both self contained flats and a number of bungalows, as well as some guest and convalescent accommodation. All for retired seafarers.

Based around the Manor House the camping and caravan site comprises of 3 fields. Field 1 has EHU and water points and is for caravans & motorhomes etc. Field 2 is privately run and provides Glamping in Bell Tents. They have their own separate facilities.

Field 3, where we stayed is the largest and is directly behind the Manor House and has great views over other parts of the estate. There is some shade but the majority is in the sun.

The WC & Shower facilities are decent but basic with 1 Shower & 2 WC's in both ladies & gents. There is grey and Chemical Toilet waste disposal points as well. Fees are very reasonable we paid £17 for 2 people and a dog per night. The House has a Bar and TV room where once you have paid a £1 temporary membership fee for your stay you can use the bar.

It is worth noting that the site is under the flight path for Gatwick and can be noisy at times. Plenty of local walks and a small fishing lake near the entrance to the site. Within a mile is the Three Compasses pub which does serve food.

And the village of Cranleigh is reasonably close with both a decent size CO-OP and Sainburys as well as an M&S Foodhall and an excellent butchers and fishmongers. There is a Medical centre and some nice shops to browse.

On site there are no W/U facilities and there are several auto workshops just outside the camping fields in the old farm buildings. Do take a walk around the walled garden for a pleasant surprise. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smithagain 3 reviews from this member

 A nice, small, low key site with plenty of space per tent/caravan, pleasant surroundings and plenty of footpaths to go for a stroll.

A large clay pigeon shooting event on Sunday morning was a bit of a surprise and there is also quite a bit of aircraft noise. A Google search revealed that the shooting is a fortnightly event and it would have been helpful if this had been highlighted on the website, which advertises the site as being nice and quiet! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snasha 13 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this site for the bank holiday weekend! great little site and would highly recommend! there was a rally, a guide group, and the 'camping bit' was filled with 10 units but the site never felt busy! great location - great value. One small criticism is that the washing up area was completely unusable, so we ended up washing up on a table by our pitch but apart from that we loved it here! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Goodiford 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for just one night but found it a great little site

Very reasonable which is reflected in the toilet/shower block

Very clean but just one shower in each and when we stayed the ladies shower was not working so I had to use the gents,

The most annoying thing is the slot machine is outside the shower, still it is set in beautiful Surroundings and if you pay a pound you can enjoy a drink at the bar and chat to the interesting gents with all their history, also if you book 24hours in advance you can book in for breakfast etc.

We had a very pleasant stay and would return again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malletsmallet 3 reviews from this member

 This is a super site. You pay extra for shower tokens, but in our case this is fine as I am the only one who showers every day in my family! Therefore the nightly rate is very reasonable.

The shower block facilities are fine.

A small walk to the village shop in Alfold will get you your milk and bread.

The view of the surrey hills is beautiful and the remoteness means big starry skies. Lots of room for kids to play - ours loved this place. Overall, friendly and very reasonable.

Would like to come back to see more of the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hall68 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights during July 2010. I was trying to find somewhere nice but cheap enough for us with our teenage son and his friend on another pitch and our teenage daughter and her friend in a pup tent on our pitch. Prices around the Thorpe Park area where they wanted to go for the day were really expensive hence why I found Springbok. It is a lovely site in really peaceful surroundings. We stayed in a small field with EHU. The views were lovely. There is a ladies/gents each with a shower which were kept clean and tidy. There is no washing up facilities. We really enjoyed our stay on this cheaply priced site and would use again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Louise Dolan 2 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful stay at Springbok Estate, this is a small site taking only a few motorhomes, caravans or tents. The bathroom facilities were very clean, well maintained and had a lovely shower in each. The showers were operated by a coin which was purchased from the house or bar.

We paid £1 each to become a club member during our stay and this entitled us to use the Merchant Seaman's War Memorial Society bar. This was great fun and the gentleman residents made us feel very welcome, telling us the history of the estate and sharing wonderful stories.

This was a very quiet site, in a beautiful part of the world, I would recommend this very highly. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikki D 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights in a tent with 2 children (aged 4 & 20 months). As per previous review nothing to do for children, however there was plenty of room to play, so they didn't get bored.

Shower and toilet block new and very clean.

Downside is there is nowhere to do washing up, so had to be done in our tent.

Staff very friendly and allowed us to use the kitchens for our freezer blocks, there is also a bar on site (that we didn't get to use!) for a £1 per adult membership. There is loads to see and do in the local area (fishers farm park is less than a 5 minute drive away, and guildford town centre about 20 mins away.

Would go again, but only for a night or two. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Piglet58 3 reviews from this member

 If you want peace and quiet with wonderful views of the north downs, fabulous walks and a complete rest this is the place to go, although there was some clay pigeon shooting nearby on the Sunday morning but that was only for a couple of hours.

With just 5 pitches, all with electric hook up, a very small but friendly site. Possibly not ideal for children as there is nothing provided in the way of swings etc but plenty of room to play.

We spent a weekend with friends and their 2 dogs and found some really lovely walks following parts of the old Wey & Arun Canal - we even saw a deer!

The staff in the main office were very welcoming. The toilet and shower block were fairly new but unfortunately that weekend they had suffered an electrical fault which resulted in no lights and the shower in the ladies was out of action. Showers need tokens which you can buy in the office or over the bar in the main building.

It has most certainly not put us off, however, and we have booked for 2 more visits over the next couple of months.

Guildford is close by for shopping etc, also Cranleigh and Dunsfold. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springbok Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Springbok Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alfold      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Surrey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4425 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement