Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thirkleby Hall Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Thirsk > Thirkleby Hall Caravan Park Reviews

Thirkleby Hall Caravan Park
Thirkleby Hall
Thirsk
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO7 3AR
Tel: 01845 501360  or  07799 641815
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Daisyd 1 review from this member

 Was lovely camp site

Good for adults but not good for children

Should have more toilet facilities for size of site

Good for dog walkers if you have a dog 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mickoxo 1 review from this member

 Got to the site and the staff were really helpful

It was very busy with it being a bank holiday weekend but saying that it was pretty quiet on a night time,

Lovely site to take our grandkids on their first caravan holiday 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrea 1 review from this member

 Excellent facilities always love staying here, enjoy the fishing

Close to thirsk and able to travel to York and Ripon with easy access,

Very friendly courteous staff nothing a problem 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Campingreg 1 review from this member

 Booked the site on the internet after reading the blurb about spacious pitches etc. When we arrived in our Motorhome the approach was very impressive with the long drive to the site past the Hall. We were shown to our pitch and were surprised to see how crammed the touring park was compared to the very spacious pitches for the static caravans. We were glad we were only staying for one night, but then a caravan was pitched behind us and two more next to us so there was very little room between us and the surrounding units, and the four adults in our party had to sit in single file to enable us to have a barbecue!

We normally use caravan club sites where there is a minimum 8 metres between units as a firebreak so I would really fear the worst in the event of fire on this site due to the cramming.

The shower blocks were clean but looked as though they were in need of upgrading and the toilets in the gents had loose toilet seats and one wc pan not fixed to the floor at all. Both gents and ladies shower blocks only had two showers each and given the fact that half of Middlesbrough appeared to be on site this was totally inadequate.

However on a positive note all the people we met were very friendly and we had no trouble or late night noise

In the seven years we have been motorhoming this is the first time I have posted a critical review but I think the site owners really need to put safety before all else in the touring part of the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ean632 1 review from this member

 My wife and I have just come back from a long weekend at Thirkleby Hall caravan park, what a cracking place.

The site is easy to get to (just off the A19) the fishing lake is easy to get to as it is also on site, its stuffed with fish and has solid wooden pegs, I caught roach, Tench, F1 Carp, Crucian Carp and Skimmer Bream all in a few hours.

The staff are friendly and very helpful taking us to our pitch and making sure we were happy with it.

The pitches are nice and level, the park is well maintained and does not suffer road noise as its well away from the A19.

The site has a great club house which had bingo and a singer on Saturday who was very good, the beer was a good pint and was not overpriced, the bar staff were very polite and friendly.

The park has plenty for kids with a huge football pitch, two play area's and a games room next to the club house. There is also ample area's to walk the dog with loads of dog waste bins.

The only thing which could be improved is the shower block would benefit from a few more showers although I did not have to wait for a shower, the showers were clean and tidy as was the full site.

I will be returning very soon and thank all the staff for a cracking weekend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mykheaton 1 review from this member

 Lovely site which is well looked after, clean and tidy, though we never tried the club house I heard it was fun from the family next door,

The caravan plots looked well serviced and well laid out, the toilets and showers were clean and so was the pot wash room.

Our kids loved the big play field for ball games though didn't like being accused of knocking on caravan doors at 2am by the otherwise really friendly staff.

We'll definitely be back!

I'd give it 10/10 if there was a shop on site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jjsr2004 5 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site for families, with oodles of outdoor space!

There are two play parks, a fishing lake, a football field, and lots of grassy areas for rounders etc. Our kids loved it! A (very busy) club house with bingo and a games room if wanted, and a lovely location means we'll be back soon.

And all for 24 a night inc of elec, awning, children, guests if wanted, and fishing. Sensible and fair- and a bargain!

Facilities clean with showers (though only 2), being spacious, hot and free!

Seasonal tourers and tourers are away from the statics, but everyone on site seemed really friendly- and no late night noise either! A relaxed atmosphere and relaxed people! See you in a couple of weeks. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sadiebaby 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely little site just off the A19 which is easy to find and conveniently located for some great days out in the surrounding area.

Thirsk is only a couple of miles away to pick up anything you need. We visited midweek and found there to be quite a lot of tourers there of which a lot were seasonal.

A small play area for the children, a games room and plenty of space to run about makes this a popular choice for families. The toilets and showers were clean but two showers seemed inadequate for the amount of pitches on the site.

The disabled facilities were good and accessed with a key. The club house was bright and airy with a wide range of drinks available and bingo on a weekend. The staff were helpful and the other guests friendly.

Despite the number of children the site was lovely and peaceful - families enjoying themselves with a ball or on the playpark but no late night or early morning noise. We visited Ripley Castle which was beautiful, and Lightwater Valley.

Monks Farm in only a couple of miles away and its only twenty miles into York. We would return to this site as its easy to get to and there is plenty on offer round about.

We also liked the fixed price system - there are no extras for awnings, dogs etc - 24 per night was great value for money when everything is included. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Millie-06 8 reviews from this member

 A lovely site and a fair price for the tent which included free fishing and ehu. Shower blocks were nice and clean but only 2 showers. Although we didn't try the pub as we were only there for one night we had a look in the next day and it looked nice and cosy , games area too. Although the outdoor play areas are a bit limited families were making the most of the playing field for rounders etc.

A few minutes drive from Thirsk with all its shops and a large Tesco, so handy for picking up essentials, do remember to take a torch though as there is very little lighting but this makes for lovely star-gazing! Everyone was friendly, we will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ksaint 6 reviews from this member

 Great site, lots of room, but was outside of school hols, can get busy on a weekend. Clubhouse is in need of updating, but served the purpose of a little bit of entertainment and a drink without having to drive. Kids liked the games area. Toilets and showers kept very clean. Small lake which can be fished but forgot to pack rods. Plenty of room to play for the kids. Very helpful warden. Super value for money as an all in fee for tent and occupants, no extra cost per person over the initial two. Would recommend. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thirkleby Hall Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thirkleby Hall Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Thirkleby Hall Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thirsk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2937 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement