Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Farm Burscough

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Ormskirk > The Farm Burscough Reviews

The Farm Burscough
71 Martin Lane
Burscough
Ormskirk
Lancashire   (Browse area)
L40 0RT
Tel: 01704 892247  or  01704 894889
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11 units with hook up and 1 Pod with electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hannah33345phu 2 reviews from this member

 Great friendly campsite would definitely return.

Only downside was that the car and caravan had to get towed off the grass as it was that wet but Iím sure it was a one off as we have had so much rain recently.

Lovely little play area and some animals to feed.

Would return 😀 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woodies3 4 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were met with a lukewarm welcome and were told to park where we wanted. Because of the very wet weather, we had pre-booked a hard standing. The hard standing area which was more of a car park and next to the toilet block was full so we had to go into a rather wet boggy field. After unloading, we left the car in the main car park.

The toilet and shower block was old and grubby and in need of improvement. The showers weren't very pleasant to use and you had to keep your hand on a button to keep the water flowing, otherwise it turned off after approx. 30 seconds. We saw no evidence of the toilets/showers being cleaned during our 6 night stay. A group of campers left a mess in the toilets, paper towels etc. All over the floor. Not the site's fault but three days later, the mess hadn't been cleaned and the toilet paper had run out.

Rubbish bins needed emptying and the previously mentioned campers left a bin bag of waste next to the bin (close to our caravan) which we took up to the main waste area. On the morning we left, we went to pay and the woman didn't know who we were, had to ask how long we had stayed, how much we had been quoted, didn't enter into conversation.

On a positive note, our spacious pitch overlooked the farm animals, which was nice, and the site was quiet during the time we were there. It is located in a farming area close to Martin Mere. Not somewhere we will return and not worth £18 a night. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lowe Family 2 reviews from this member

 We chose this site for our first outing in our new to us caravan. The access into the site was easy enough for a novice to towing, like myself. We were given free rain to choose a pitch to suit us and the owners were not at all demanding in terms on keeping within set parameters.

There are two small fields. The first one you will see is surrounded by tall hedge, which might suit tents. The other is exposed on 3 sides but has views of the animals. When we visit again we'll go for the views but on this occasion we used the first field (simply because we didn't realise the other existed). We saw the farmers cutting grass on a regular basis during our stay but it isn't collected so I could imagine it being a pain if the weather is wet and your bringing the clipping into your tent / caravan.

The toilet block is basic with two toilets and one shower for the whole site. There is also one sink for washing up. This proved a bit of a pain at times because when you needed the facilities they were sometimes being used, or people were trying the door when you were using them. Rubbish bins were a plenty and recycling was encouraged. Drinking water tap was separate to the tap for cleaning toilet cassettes.

The site has a lovely well stocked shop and cafe. It also has a few animals which our son liked to go and visit, at least once per day. They have a small play area with a couple of swings and playhouse etc, suitable for kids up to 8. They also have an old tractor which the kids can climb on.

We really enjoyed our time on this site. We had lovely weather and a few other fellow campers had children of a similar age, which helped keep our lad occupied. We stayed for 4 nights and it was £15 per night. We weren't asked for a deposit and if I hadn't have volunteered the money at the end of the stay we wouldn't have been asked for it.

The location is lovely. Good pubs nearby, nice walks and places to visit within a short drive, or even train ride as the station isn't far away. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RichardJCB 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for just one night while cycle touring. The camping field was basic, with fairly long grass. The facilities were rustic but ok. There is a shop/cafe on site. Basically we thought it was a decent enough site, without being in any way flash. I don't recall any play facilities, but then I wasn't looking for them.

Overall, a good, basic site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 32 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a lovely weekend on this site and we will be returning.

We chose the site for its proximity to Martin Mere and other RSPB sites in the area and for that it was perfect. Next time we go we will also take the cycles as this is perfect cycling country with an NCN and numerous local cycling routes just on the doorstep plus the canal.

The site is part of a working farm which also includes a very handy and well stocked farm shop and a lovely tea room. There are two pubs nearby, one within staggering distance (which we didn't use) and another foodie type place a 5 minute drive away (The Farmer's Arms) which we recommend for good food and good range of real ales and cider.

There is hard standing and grass available and EHU is available all around the field. The field itself is on a gentle slope and levellers are recommended. The toilet and shower block is functional and clean, being shared facilities with one shower and two toilets. Hot water is available for washing up but the heater is small so a boiled kettle is useful!

All the staff we had contact with in the shop were helpful and friendly.

I have to admit that when we returned from our day out on Saturday to discover a group of eight teenagers having set up tents we were concerned but our fears were unfounded. They were a great group of young people and a credit to their parents, being polite, respectful and quiet. They even lined up their bottles in the recycling box all neat and sweet.

A relaxing, peaceful site with facilities ideal for a quick weekend getaway. We're looking forward to returning 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil684 35 reviews from this member

 We have used this site several times to visit Martin Mere WWT Reserve. The reserve is a couple of miles by road, nearer if you walk across the fields from the site.

This time we used the site as a base to view the Antony Gormley figures on Formby Beach. You can also walk the Leeds-liverpool Canal which passes within hallf a mile of the site.

The site is great. Although the facilities are fairly basic, they are clean and serviceable. The site is quiet but has a good farm shop with attached coffee shop. The pub down the road does meals.

This is a site we will continue using. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poppyandskipper 11 reviews from this member

 This site is so peaceful, fairly basic but has everything you need and some! For most of the time we visited we and our friends in another caravan had the site to ourselves! As it is also a B and B there is also a gorgeous tea room. We can recommend the full English breakfast. Really sets you up for the day! Lovely well stocked farm shop too. This is a working farm so there are lots of chickens, alpacas and a pig to visit. We enjoyed feeding the hens. Watching them run (holding up their skirts it looked like) to sample our scraps! We had a lovely holiday here and would loved to have stayed for longer than our 10 days. Just wish it was closer to home! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ANDY CLARKE 2 reviews from this member

 Superb site, ideal for kids, plenty to do and see on site including country walks, bird watching and a farm with pigs, alpaccas, geese, ducks and chickens.

Facilities basic two toilets and one shower but kept very clean.

Nice shop on site selling home grown and organic produce and most excellent tea rooms with superb meals on offer.

We did 6 nights here and are booked in again for early September.

The proprietors also offer B&B facilities.

Handy base for Southport and surrounding and also Liverpool.

Pub just down the road has reopened and several others in locality.

Plenty of supermarket facilities in Burscough and Ormskirk and Ormskirk market is a must on Thursdays.

Only gripe was with 'Swampy' who turned up with his camper van and pitched right next to me, already too close for the 6 metre rule, the bright lad then decides to pitch a tent between us and him whilst we were off site. We could touch his tent through our window ! Luckily things remained civil and we endured him for the 2 days he was there. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NannaB 40 reviews from this member

 Didn't know what to expect after reading other reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Warm welcome by the farmer who showed us where we could site the caravan and where the toilets, rubbish, water etc were. We had had a long trip from Scotland so went and had tea and hot chocolate in the tea room which was really nice. Lovely farm shop too.

The toilets were unisex which baffled my husband a little bit seeing young girls in there. One shower which he used once but didn't use again. Toilets were clean for a couple of days as there were only 3 caravans and two campers but then the campers left and 3 tents appeared with 7 boys and 3 girls. After that the toilets were never flushed and paper left on the floor. Not the farmers fault, the fault of the parents and the kids. It got very noisy and they played football and the ball came very close to the van as several times. A couple of the kids came and talked to my husband who said they were polite bu it seemed that their parents disowned them when they got on the site.

On the Friday another couple of tents arrived with 2 more kids.

We went out on the Saturday and when we came back the first 3 tents had gone but we were confronted to what we thought was a village fete with 3 gazebos and tables full of drink and food and about 25 people and two dogs. Cars were parked round our caravan so I was a bit difficult to get in and then even more people turned up and two more dogs and all off the lead and running around barking and chasing each other. After about an hour my husband went to complain as they were now playing cricket and hit the car once and the van twice and this was not on.

The farmers wife came over to apologise and said she had over booked and it was a party for someone in their eighties and had been booked for some time. She did say we could move to the B&B but all our things were in the van and we were comfortable. So after a bit she suggested we moved to another field which had EHU so that's what we did. It was quieter and we didn't have to worry about damage to the caravan. She also offered us a free breakfast in the Sunday which we did take up.

We did have a nice surprise later in the evening when someone across the fields had fireworks which were enjoyable.

We are moving on on the Monday down to Shrewsbury where they have an adults section which will be pleased to have.

We would only stay here again if assured there ae no parties booked.

On another note, the if you go down the road past the Martins Inn and turn left, go to the end of the road and turn right, when you go over the canal bridge there is a pub called The Farn

Mers Armand he food is really delicious. The location of the site is good too. Didn't like Blackpool and we could not park as lots of road works and really run down but I think Lytham st Anne's and also Southport beat Blackpool into a cocked hat. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ctwmillie 3 reviews from this member

 This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and its a very nice, cheap place. The toilets/shower/wash up area are not anything to shout about, but they work and are clean.

There was a problem with shower which was fixed straight away. There is a new playground for the kids, but its near the B&B and not in sight of the camp site. I wouldn't let me 3 year old go to it herself, so glad my step daughter came with us and she took her.

We will be returning again. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Farm Burscough child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Farm Burscough?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Farm Burscough dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ormskirk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2943 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020