Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Haut Dick

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Carentan > Camping Le Haut Dick > Reviews

Camping Le Haut Dick
30, Chemin Du Grand Bas Pays
Carentan
Normandy   (Browse area)
50500
Tel: 02 33 42 16 89
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 15 January To 31october

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 7 Reviews
                10/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: LawmanSmith 12 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this campsite July/Aug 2016.

We booked this campsite purely for its location, we didn't know really what to expect as we could not find any up-to date reviews.

We stayed for eleven days with friends.

Owners/Managers:Family run campsite by Husband and Wife. Regular site inspections to ensure all was in order (which was nice seeing).

Location: Perfect for the Normandy experience or heading from/to the Cherbourg or Caen ferries etc.

Facilities:Very good (French three star site which is like a British four star site), clean, looked after, everything you could want and more. Toilets/ Laundry/ Dish washing/ Catering/ Kids club in the morning/ Mini golf/ table tennis/ bouncy castle/ trampoline (all free). Nice little bar/Food area etc. A pool is on site which our kids loved.

Pitch Size:Very good, makes the UK sites seem very small indeed.

Electricity:Good supply (no tripping)

Hosts:Very approachable/ likeable nothing seemed to much trouble for them.

Supply's:Carentan is only a short walk away (less than 5mins to the harbor and 10mins to town center) and has everything that you could ask for. The site also has bread etc (pre-ordered) delivered in the morning.

Quietness:For a busy little site (100 pitched) Very good with no problems at all.

All in all, a campsite which could teach the UK campsite owners how to conduct their business a little better. £27 per night in high season (including electricity 10amp) with swimming pool/kids club/bar and restaurant all on hand.

Would we visit again? Absolutely with no hesitations. A very good value campsite.

A credit to the owners! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 63 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on the way back home via Cherbourg.

It was an excellent site, well run by very helpful wardens. We were shown to a nice pitch made private by high trees on each side, backing onto the adjacent race track. Between us and the track was a brook full of frogs so we had a frog chorus most of the time but that was no bother to us.

The toilet/ shower/ washing up block in the centre of the site was excellent and looked to be convenient to all pitches.

We ate in the snack bar - nothing exceptional but good food at a reasonable cost. There was also wifi in the bar/snack bar.

The site had much to offer - a swimming pool, crazy golf, chickens and was only a short walk to the marina where there were 2 bar/cafes or a slightly longer walk to the town itself, which is pleasant.

We used this stay as an opportunity to visit Utah beach, which is only a short drive away, as are some of the other Normandy landing beaches.

We are a couple but we thought this site would also be ideal for families, and have recommended it to several of our friends with children. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Camp fun 1 review from this member

 We glamped it in a 'safari' type tent which was brilliant, great set up with additional camping luxuries such as a fridge and lighting! Comfortable tent just bring your linen. Equipped with double bed, bunk bed and a single bed, kettle, coffee filter machine (I always need a good morn cuppa! ) Microwave, 2 gas burner, hammock, table chairs etc.

Campsite was brilliant for our 7 and 3 year old with a pool, trampoline, huge bouncy giraffe and a games room with football table and pinball. Not to mention a very challenging yet unique mini golf course - only problem was take a few extra balls as they got a bit narky when balls were lost albeit later found!

The site is small which is perfect as kids had freedom to roam yet they were safe as they were always within earshot or quick walking distance to be checked on. Very tidy site with nice garden areas and decent sized pitches, we even got a taste of the horse racing on Saturday the racecourse is in the field behind.

Toilets and showers and washing up facilities were located in in a central block and found to be very clean and comfortable and not overcrowded. No early morning rush for showers required.

Reception/managers friendly and spoke a little English but enough for embarrassingly limited French speakers (us) to get by.

The flower website we booked on doesn't mention a deposit so be warned if taking fixed lodgings a deposit is required in cash of 150 euros.

Overall this site is great spot for all d day associated outings but also is great on market day. Campsite is conveniently located for town centre and markets are on a Monday. This site is definitely recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Igracek 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for couple of nights and after experience in other campsites came back here. I would definitely recommend this campsite. Walking distance from the city centre (5 minutes), clean showers and toilets, flat ground, friendly receptionists, minigolf. A perfect base for visiting D-Day Beaches and other places in western Normandy. We paid app. 11 EUR/night/tent+car+2 adults. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrislwg 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 6 nights ,spring bank holiday week and would certainly recommend the site.

The site is flat, with individual bay pitches. Toilet / shower / washing block is clean, spacious and well maintained. Although there is no shop on site, Carantan centre is a 15 min walk away, with at least 2 large supermarkets on the edge of town, so you'd be short of nothing. Obviously there are no pubs in Carantan, but the cafes we did find, tended to close early.

We were visiting the Utah side of the D Day beaches, and it made an ideal base.100 miles from Le Havre it's a leisurly 3 hr. Drive.

6 nights, 2 man tent, 2 adults + hook up €82 about £62. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HarryB 18 reviews from this member

 Only used this site for an overnight stop enroute to Brittany. Its about one hour from Cherbourg. A basic, unpretentious site with level pitches but with good toilet/shower facilities. It's right next to the canal and marina, with a few bars/restaurants within a short walking distance. Not much in the way of recreational facilities, however there was a childrens room with pool table and games. One nice touch was an covered area in the tent field where campers could cook outdoors but under cover from any bad weather.
Unlike the previous report I didn't find this site well signed from the main road coming into town. The sign is on the lower side of a wall on the left and is easily missable, however that was maybe due to the fact that we got there in the middle of a horrendous thunder storm. So watch for the sign carefully. If you go over the canal/river bridge you've gone to far. 


Reviewer: Twooks 1 review from this member

 September 2004
An excellent site, garden areas well looked after and convenient for the town and canal walks along the marina.

Convenient for Cherbourg ferry [if there is one!] and Normandy beaches.

Easy to find, well signposted from major routes.

Note, when shopping at local supermarket you will probably need your passport if paying by credit card, they have been experiencing some fraud from tourists
 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Haut Dick child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Haut Dick?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Haut Dick dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carentan      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3865 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement