Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Chatelet

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Saint Cast Le Guido > Camping Le Chatelet Reviews

Camping Le Chatelet

Saint Cast Le Guido
Brittany   (Browse area)
22380
Tel: 00 33 2 96 41 96 33
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ben.E 12 reviews from this member

 We really rate this site

Excellent part covered heated pool Friendly staff Bar and reasonable sized shop

Many pitches have sea views and only charge euro a night extra

20 Min walk into town about 90 mins via coast path stopping to take pictures and admire the view '20 min walk to a sandy beach accessed by many steps Other beaches also available to walk to

Some noise from statics at night 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ghislaine 25 reviews from this member

 Arrived here for our last 4 nights of our tour of south west. Love this site. Have been here for 4 previous trips of varying nights. Campsite was full but we managed to stay as someone who had booked did not arrive. { campsite tried contacting by email and phone]. Our luck as the pitch available was the best ever, with fab views of the sea. This site is even better than last time. The swimming pools now have a cover for cool days. However it was very hot and sunny whilst we were there. Facilities regually cleaned, welcoming bar, good play areas and lots of happy campers. Steep walks down hills to beaches, wonderful views. Lovely pavement cafes and some shops in St Cast town. Walk to Marina from beach now complete. Enjoyed eating at La Marmite again. Will be back. Already missing the sunsets. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rnslucas 2 reviews from this member

 We wanted a one-night stop fairly near to Saint-Malo in order to catch a ferry the following morning. This was one of very few sites who will take a single night booking during August.

The views are incredibly lovely, the beach was clean and quiet, a bit steep to get there and back if you're not fit.

I tried to get directions from the site beforehand, but they didn't answer my email. So I managed to find directions via the Caravan Club website. They also send people to this site.

If we hadn't had directions, we would have been in trouble, because it is off the beaten track, and we were towing a caravan.

When we arrived, there was nowhere to park to book in without blocking the whole road. Within the few minutes it took for the receptionist to explain the map and which pitch, there were 4 cars waiting and one complaint.

Then, as we made our way to our pitch, we realised just how narrow the roads to the pitches really are!

We got stuck once, and had to go up a bank with the car within 6 inches of someone else's awning between their guy ropes - if their motorcaravan had been in we would not have made it to our pitch.

Ours is not a long caravan - 6. 7m=22ft including A-frame, but we struggled to get around the hairpin bend between the tall hedges.

Our pitch was not incredibly big, so once the car was on it next to our caravan, there was no room for anything else. And because the roads are so narrow, we couldn't even do a 3 point turn, so we had to reverse the car a long way to get it out.

It was immediately apparent that we weren't going to be able to tow the caravan out of the pitch.

This ruined the rest of our evening, as we were trying to work out the best way of getting off of the campsite.

Luckily we have a mover, so we were able to reverse the caravan out of a row of pitches to the main road - we left it blocking the main road, whilst we hitched up (on a very steep hill). We were trying not to wake up the whole neighbourhood, but we had to do this at 7am in the morning, in order to catch our ferry, and not block the road during a busy time.

We were not the only people to do this - another unit had done the exact same manoeuvres at 5. 30am!

It was a real downer to the end of our holiday - and I would not recommend this site to anyone with anything except a smallish car and tent / or hire one of their chalets which are the majority of the pitches anyway.

We didn't use many of the facilities because of our short amount of time.

The main toilet block was shut overnight, so you had to go to the little blocks which only had one urinal and one toilet each (serving maybe 25 pitches).

The take-away restaurant (which we were relying on) opened 3/4 hour later than advertised.

And it was extortionate money - I paid 65 euros for the one night (without electric). 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrsBonline 3 reviews from this member

 Our first caravan trip abroad – Le Chatalet proved a great choice. All nicely kept with shrubs and greenery.

Yes, it was a bit tight in places for our 22ft caravan, but with careful negotiation, it was easily accessible. We opted for the ‘sea view’ and were delighted with our spot. However, I can see that if you had a large caravan or camper van opposite you, your view could be completely obliterated. Absolutely stunning views and sunsets!

Facilities: Showers fluctuated, but generally hot and good water pressure – always clean and no queuing. Toilets – very clean despite being a unisex bathroom with toilets, wash cubicles and showers. Chemical disposal point is (apparently) also the waste water disposal point but this isn’t clearly marked. You need to be able to lift your waste water over a small wall 8-10” high.

Site shop - stocks most everyday items, but does only keep the bear minimum – get up early to get your croissants as they’re all sold out by 9. 30am! This shop has soooo much potential!

Pool – fabulous with it’s new sliding roof and lovely garden. (aqua-gym sessions twice weekly)

Bar – Good - if you like the organised activity sort of thing. Activities on every night from quiz nights, karaoke, kids entertainment, live bands, disco’s – a good selection to suit most tastes (except mine!)

Lake very pretty.

Reception staff – multi-lingual, very friendly and helpful

Takeaway – Rotisserie chickens, freshly made pizza’s, burgers, hot dogs and the best chips ever. All freshly prepared so you have to wait, but worth it!

Site overall could benefit from a proper restaurant.

Playground - lots to offer: 2 x pentanque pitches, younger children's play area, vollyball nets in next door field + football nets, table tennis. But the best of all was the older kids play equipment which was actually 'work out equipment'! Cross trainers, bi-ceps trainers, you name it. What a great idea! This site really does have something for everyone!

Location – good.

Beach - a short walk (down steep steps) or a drive - lovely sandy beaches - great for rock pooling.

La Mamite restaurant just a short stroll away – lovely people, fabulous food and within walking distance.

Le Chatelet was a great first experience of caravanning in France. It was a good location, very pretty, good value, stunning views, clean and catered for most tastes. Would we return – yes! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colonsey 4 reviews from this member

 Pitch I had on this site had a fantastic view of the estuary from the cliff tops, with the sun setting straight in front. Worth paying the extra for it.

Nice walks along the cliff tops and down to the beach.

Reception staff were pleasant and helpful until the point that they gave you a map to get to the pitch rather than taking you personally. I missed my turn off as it wasn't very well marked and ended up in a playing area where I had to turn round and get back to roadway which was very tight. My missing the entrance was noted by someone from the site on a golf trolley who made no attempt to stop me, then he just sat in the cart watching as I struggled to get back. Just what I needed after 6 hours driving and 30C temperatures. Turn ins very tight so be aware.

Most off the site facilities are in a central area which can mean a steep climb.

Toilets clean with good showers. Bit of graffiti in the toilets, first time I've ever seen that in France. Most of it in English.

Easy walk from the site into St Cast where there are a few nice restaurants. Handy as you can sample a little of the local cider with your meal. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ghislaine 25 reviews from this member

 This is the 3rd time we have visited this site. Fabulous views from the site. There are several types of pitches here. We choose the sea view and the sunsets were wonderful, good size with or without electric. Lovely shrubs, trees and hedges defining each pitch. Camp site reception staff are multilingual and very helpful. The area is on steep cliffs but the walks to the 3 local beaches well worth it. Good play areas, pool fishing pond and children's club.A bar with evening entertainment{not open during the day}. Very small shop selling fresh,bread milk etc. Toilets and showers always clean and very little queuing. This is a family site and many people return each year. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SW307 20 reviews from this member

 We actually stayed here the first time we went to France in the year 2000. It was lovely though it took for ever to find! That could have been down to our useless mapreader ( me ). The facilities were good, as was the play areas. The direct beach was good to walk to, though steep for little ones. The site had a little take away and shop which were fine. It was a lovely area and close to Le Mont St Michel, which is lovely but gets very busy in August. Well worth a visit though. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jennybook 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here the first two weeks of July. It was exactly what we were looking for. A reasonably quiet site with a pool and two paths to sandy beaches. The paths were OK but if you have young children you need to hold their hands for some of them as there are in fact cliff drops to the side of the paths. However we think we finally spotted another route down to the beach on the last day which was a safe route. You can also go via the road if you want to avoid cliffs ! However one of the beaches was lovely with boats tied up off it and shallow water. The campsite had a pool, nice small shop with fresh baguettes in the morning. Nice bar, entertainment seemed good we saw a Karaoke which was fun and got the kids involved. The guy running it seemed to be multilingual which was great. Shower blocks all seemed clean. We stayed in a Mobile Home with Ian Mearns holidays. It was fine but plot fairly small so no room for kids to run about much. The road past our caravan was supposed to be 10km per hour but most british folk seemed to think this meant they could drive past at 20 mph so it wasnt safe to let the kids go wandering. Two small playparks too and a table tennis. So a good quiet site no doubt much busier mid July and August when all the kids clubs start up. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Unsworthcc 3 reviews from this member

 Our first impressions were poor since they had messed up our booking and wanted about £15 for the week moor than promised (a small point they got off on the wrong foot)

The site is huge and the pitch was the best of three sites we stayed at in France. There had obviously been a problem with flooding prior to our arrival (Makeshift drainage channels across the pitches) but it was dry for most of our stay and being in a caravan we weren't too concerned.

The toilet block was a fair distance and to have any chance of using the short cut pathways to it you needed the map. (On about the third day we found a small well hiden 'convenience block' about 50 yards from our pitch).

Every thing else about the site was good:- Shop with fresh baked bread etc.; Swimming pool with slides; Playground; Pub and games room.

In particular, although I don't usually like 'entertainment' there was a covered area where they had music each evening.
The site was extremely hard to find but was ideally situated for the St Cast Peninsular, Fort La Latte, Dinan, St Malo, and even Mont St Michel. If you have bikes and want an easy but stunning ride go from near the tidal barrage to Lower Dinan along the Rance Valley. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Chatelet child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Chatelet have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Chatelet?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Chatelet dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Cast Le Guido      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5759 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement