Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bosworth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Nuneaton > Bosworth Caravan Park Reviews

Bosworth Caravan Park
The Gatehouse
Cadeby Lane
Market Bosworth
Nuneaton
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV13 0BA
Tel: 01455 292259
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 33
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon56 19 reviews from this member

Stopped here for 2 nights on route back from north wales. Nice site with a good hardstanding pitch for our 24ft motorhome. We had a warm welcome on arrival and was told about the local area. We walked into the village across a field then a nice park area. There were a few nice pubs and a few shops in the village we chose the dog friendly 'Dixies' and the food and drinks were very reasonable. We will stay here again when visiting the area. All in all a nice clean quiet site with good clean facilities.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ged600 8 reviews from this member

We stopped here for two nights in early April for a race day at Mallory Park which is 15 mins drive away.

On entry there is a key code to open the gate, we were on a hard standing with E. H. U. & water, next to the road which was not too busy at any time. The owner came over for a chat and was full of information on the local area & it's history. He showed us the toilet and showers ( men 3 showers three toilets & wash basins, women two toilets two showers, with wash basins. ) There was a laundry room and a room full of books & DVD'S which you are welcome to borrow.

The grass field was a mud bath with all the previous rain the owner mentioned it had not been that muddy for over thirty years. There was no re cycling everything in one big trade bin. The wi fi was not free you had to purchase it for different periods.

Bosworth village was a 15 minute walk away across some fields to a country park. Bosworth was a nice quaint little village with thatched cottages and an old Grammer school, shops and pubs.

There was a Bosworth battle museum close by but we didn't have time to visit.

Overall a nice site if you want to visit this area.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: StaffordKnot 37 reviews from this member

Just had three wonderful days at this lovely site.

Booked about a week ahead and given directions to the pitch and a code for the security barrier. A deposit was not required as they only take cash or a cheque.

Please note that if arriving from Market Bosworth there are no signs for the caravan park, just follow the sign for ‘Gatehouse Lodges’, the site entrance is about 100 yards further on.

On arrival, we located the grass pitch we had been allocated (at the rear of the site) and despite recent heavy rain, the ground was very well drained.

There are quite a number of pitches with their own EHU and water points, but most appeared to be taken with seasonal’s.

There is a small heated, very clean shower/laundry block (£1 for use of shower) and a well-stocked tourist information cabin. TV and mobile (02) OK.

Next to the site are a number of beautiful ‘Lodges’ and a B & B; I also believe from speaking to the owner that a restaurant is due to be built in the near future.

Market Bosworth is about 15-20 minute walk and well worth visiting. It has all a small CO-OP, newsagent, butchers, 1 really good pub (the Red Lion), 2 restaurants and a couple of takeaways. Just a note, if you are walking at night there is no street lighting on the short stretch of Cadeby Lane to the main road, so do take a torch as the road can get quite busy.

Nearby, we visited the Battle of Bosworth Visitor Centre and also had a trip on the delightful Battlefield Line Steam Railway. There are a many lovely pubs nearby of which the Hercules Revived in Sutton Cheney is well worth a visit.

All-in-all we really enjoyed our stay here and look forward to another visit next year!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Liz King 1 review from this member

Very nice site. Owner was absent but had telephoned me previously to give very useful information. Nice well made hard standings with full services, and a wonderful view across beautiful countryside.

It was quiet and orderly and very clean. 2 little gripes-firstly there needs to be rubbish bins handy and please provide recycling facilities, and also there is just one loo (with a shower in the room) for each sex-not nearly enough for a site this size-my son hated going to the loo knowing that someone could be waiting outside, and we observed several people using the facility for around 20-30 minutes-no good if you are dying to use the toilet! Lovely site otherwise though, and we will return-lovely walks and cycle rides nearby.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 86 reviews from this member

Disregard any reviews of this site prior to 2015; the site has been completely transformed for the 2015 season. There are now 16/17 hard stands with grass separation, all having own hook-up and tap. There is a small facility block - but I do mean small - only one toilet and shower combination for each gender. There is also a launderette and washing up sink, as well as ironing board and iron.

The loos were always clean and serviced, but would certainly struggle if the site was full at a busy time.

Although there site accepts children, there are NO facilities for them; adults are clearly there market aimed for. Of the 16/17 hard stand pitches 7 were taken up with long term units when we visited. I am bound to say that I did not appreciate being woken up at 4:50 AM buy a noisy American truck going out!

The owner is a jovial and informative character, who met us shortly after our arrival and pointed out some places to visit and local facilities. At £20 a night it is a a fair price, although an extra £1 for the shower is a bit of a liberty.

The site is within easy reach of Leicester and its Richard 3rd exhibition, Highcross shopping centre, and the National Space Centre. Also Twycross Zoo is just up the road, whilst the Battlefield Steam Railway is close by. There is a tropical bird garden near Newbold Verdon - about a mile away. There are many walking paths available, as well as the Leicestershire Round footpath.

Facilities in Market Bosworth include a small Co-op, a butcher, a newsagent, a delicatessen, a chippy and a chinese take-away, 2 or 3 coffee shops, & two pubs serving food. The Olde Red Lion is the more reasonable, where we had a decent meal, although they managed to mix up our orders with disastrous consequences! (They did refund one meal cost).

Bus services are available to Leicester, Coalville (don't bother!) and Hinckley.

All in all we had good few days and would not hesitate to return.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bosworth Carava 1 review from this member

Lovely redeveloped site, the south facing serviced pitches have very nice views of the Forest of Arden and the standard of King Richard 111

Can be seen flying in the distance on top of Ambion Hill Field of Redmore. Almost opposite is Market Bosworth Country Park and only a 10 minute walk to the Olde Worlde Town with all of its superb facilities. The restaurants are amongst the best in the Country.

The fish and chip shop and Cantonese take away are superb.

The country walks are interesting, varied and the scenery is divine.

There are so many interesting place's some of which have links on the web site.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark+sarah 6 reviews from this member

What a superb, clean, spacious site this was. We stayed 2 nights and wished we could of stayed longer. We were greeted by the owner and soon was made to feel very welcome.

Market Bosworth was literally 10mins walk into the town, with a nice few places to drink and eat. We had a Indian from Simla Peppers and this was very very nice. Chip shop is also very popular with a Chinese takeaway next door.

We will most definitely return, as we were made to feel welcome, nice size pitches, grass well cut, and dog friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wardles4 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights in June and I have to say what a lovely peaceful retreat this is.

When you arrive you have the security of the electric gate with password entry and the sense of open space has you drive up the field.

The hard standing pitches are at the bottom of the field and all the other electric pitches are at the top of the field.

The site is very basic with no toilets or shower facilities but it has a waste water point for your chemical toilets and grey water.

And water points all around the field on the whole if you want a quite relaxing place to use has a base and to wake up with just the sounds of the birds singing then this is for you we loved it and will be definitely returning very soon.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stewart010 30 reviews from this member

Just returned from this lovely site

After spending a brilliant week there.

We were welcomed on site by the owner John who made us feel very welcome.

The site is extremely clean and tidy and as already been said it is a basic site,only two taps around the site and one chemical toilet disposal point but still worth every penny.

Plenty to do within the area, so much so we are looking forward to returning to this site very soon.

There are two ways to approach this site and I would recommend approaching from the A447 Hinkley as the roads are a little tight coming in from Mkt Bosworth.

Follow the signs for Gatehouse Lodges which is next to the Caravan site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aprilscharlie 2 reviews from this member

We just love this site even though no toilets or showers. The walks are beautiful, the dogs just love it here, over the cow fields which leads into larger fields and wildlife and a big pond for all the birds. Very peaceful place. The site is well maintained and we have been here twice already and planning on going soon. All the local shops and take aways you need. The fish and chip shop is really nice there is a newsagent, late shop, veg shop Chinese and lots of little shops and cafes in 1 small square. The battle of Bosworth is very near this is well worth a visit

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


16 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019