Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eastnor Castle Deer Park Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ledbury > Eastnor Castle Deer Park Campsite Reviews

Eastnor Castle Deer Park Campsite
Deer Park
Ledbury
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR8 1RL
Tel: 01531 633160
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 13 Reviews
                10/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jostar3737 7 reviews from this member

 Thought we would use Eastnor castle as an overnight stay on our way to and back from our holiday in Pembrokeshire - ended up staying 4 nights on the way back!

Pitch up anywhere, every direction is has lovely views with the castle on the hillside. Kids can go off and explore, and you can relax and unwind.

There were a couple of rallies on site when we visited with music playing quite late but whatever. Due to the nice weather there were also afew boy racers go up and down so I would advise to find a quiet spot away from the main road.

Cheap as chips at £9. 50 per night, warden came around twice to check booking but you can give him money as well.

Will defo be back either as another overnight stay or to explore the Malverns. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobnjean 10 reviews from this member

 Dream site. Acres of parkland, where you can pitch up almost everywhere. Peace and quiet, lots of space and the Malvern hills a short walk away. You may need levelling blocks for a lot of the really nice spots.

Do check the water stand pipe locations before you pitch, or you may end up hauling heavy water barrels up some steep slopes!

No pub or shops in easy walking distance, but Ledbury is only a couple of miles away. Ledbury is small but pretty. Plenty of local shops, cafes, real ale pubs, restaurants and a Tescos if you need it.

Local walks in the hills are just beautiful and accessible direct from the site.

If you can live without the EHU, this must be one of the best sites in the UK. We spent 5 days on the battery alone ( a healthy one) with no problems, but have gas heater and water heater. And only £8. 50 a night.

Website now has easy online booking. Saw the odd land rover checking number plates but that was it from the wardens. Which suits us.

As mentioned, water and waste disposal only. No rubbish disposal or EHU. It does make you dispair though, as we left we emptied the loo tank to find someone had dumped their rubbish bags into one of the waste disposal pipes. Who are these people? Is it utter stupidity or couldn't care less about anyone else? 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fyldefemale 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from five night stay at Eastnor. Booked online which was just as well as no sign of a warden. First visit and it was a welcome change from the usual campsites with their wall to wall tents. So peaceful with only the birds to listen to. Amazing views and plenty of freedom to explore the acres of park. Although it's called a deer park there is no need to worry about being trampled by a herd of them as they are now fenced in higher up the park.

Having no facilities didn't bother us as we always take a chemical loo every time we camp to save on night time trips in the dark. Hubby also set up an ingenious camp shower - a bag of water hanging from tripod made of spare tent poles - it was brilliant!

Ledbury two miles up the road is lovely interesting town with everything you need. Also plenty of places in surrounding area to visit. Only downside for us was the dog walkers that use the park. In spite of the many acres they always managed to head our way and invade our privacy! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhomeguy 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fantastic weekend here. OK so the Weather helped but this site wins on so many counts -

1. Location - Absolutely stunning - we parked up next to a small lake with a views of both the castle and the malvern hills.

2. Space - with no defined pitches just park up or pitch wherever you like. Dogs ok to run off their leads (controlled) and swim in the lake to cool-off.

3. Price - at just £8. 50 per unit per night- the perfect get away. - plus half price entry to castle and grounds for campers - that saves £13 off a family ticket so camping can actually work out better than free!

***PLEASE NOTE - There are no facilities other than fresh water water taps and chemical waste disposal points - that means NO SHOWERS, NO TOILETS and NO REFUSE COLLECTION***

Self contained in a motorhome this is no problem, in fact it adds to the beauty and charm of a stay here.

Highly recommended - just don't tell too many people! ;-) 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Achy 14 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location. And real get away from it all camping. There are NO facilities-so take your Luggable Loo! Just acres of parkland to camp on and a fantastic view of the castle. If you camp you get 1/2 price tickets to visit the castle too.

I would recommend for anyone who has a caravan or motor home, or any one who enjoys roughing it in a tent. Our children loved the openness and the fact that there wasn't anyone else near us. There was a wedding at the castle when we stopped too, which gave us a free fireworks display! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Marie70carter 1 review from this member

 If you get hacked off with these camp sites where everyone is right under your nose, get yourself a loo tent and a loo and get to this place.

We had two nights here with our daughter, her cousins, aunt and uncle. We used our loo tent and a solar shower (filled with the kettle).

It got quite busy but you'd never have noticed because the place is that huge! Probably the best site we've ever been to.

We had the best time and we will return, probably for longer! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doolieweasel 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant, no facilities just a great big field in the middle of nowhere that you and a group of friends can pick your area as far away from everyone else as you want.

It's camping in its most simple form.

The dogs can run around, the children can run and cycle around.

All nice and near a little town for getting supplies.

Walking distance to Eastnor Castle itself which a really good thing to visit.

You can take the dogs round this interesting and eclectic stately home.

Which when we visited had a princess and prince day for the children which was very nice.

No facilities but we do like that hence the low score on that section. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jillygumbo 14 reviews from this member

 I didn't know this site existed, despite having been to Eastnor Castle and the area in the past. Situated within the Deer Park it is a wonderful place if you want peace and quiet. The campsite is not open all the time, see the website, as the grass is allowed to recover. It was lovely.

Plenty of fresh water taps and CDP points with taps but nothing else. Gently sloping with flat areas. Pitch wherever you like.

Fishing lakes and walks up to the southern end of the Malverns with the start of the Worcestershire Way.

Did I say it was peaceful! Wow! Cheap too! Warden eventually came around to collect the money just before we left.

Will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jan P 29 reviews from this member

 This site has no facilities except water and chemical waste disposal you do need to be 'self contained'. There are four fishing lakes and more space than any where else I have ever been.

You can pitch where you like and the views are spectacular. The castle is opposite and we were given half price entry vouchers. There is a tesco nearby and Ledbury has a range of shops. Dogs are welcome on leads. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emmaprice 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a bank holiday weekend stay and cannot praise the site highly enough.  

The Deer Park is spectacular with wonderful views and spectacular old oak trees.   We hadn't visited a site with such limited facilities before but found the lack of toilets, play area etc easily manageable.  

There were water collection points and chemical toilet disposal points throughout the site, and the kids were happy to play on their bikes so no play area required! 

We visited Eastnor Castle and were treated to a Medieval themed day complete with music, armoured combat and court jesters.   The kids loved it.  

So, all in all, a beautiful location and all for just £6 per night per unit - you really can't go wrong.  

In fact, we are going back for the next Bank Holiday weekend! 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eastnor Castle Deer Park Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eastnor Castle Deer Park Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Eastnor Castle Deer Park Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ledbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement