Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Esholt Sports & Leisure Ltd

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Esholt Sports & Leisure Ltd
Esholt Lane
Esholt
Shipley
Bradford
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD17 7RQ
Tel: 01274 587792
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seasidenana 7 reviews from this member

We stayed for two nights in our caravan, alongside family members in their camper. We wanted to do some cycling on the canal towpath. There is access to the Leeds Liverpool canal within a short cycle ride from the site. The site is level with grass pitches. Very reasonable cost although extra charges apply for EHU. The toilet and shower blocks need a bit of refurbishment, the lights are in motion sensor. You get codes for the doors as they are shared with the sports club. Men and women use the same blocks. The warden is very helpful.

We didnít use the bar, but we did walk up to the Woolpack pub for a meal, about 10 minutes walk. This was friendly and nice food, although they stop serving at 7 pm.

We will return to the site because of the great location, close to Saltaire. The canal towpath is wonderful.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petertowbar 31 reviews from this member

Recently stayed 5 nights at this site, Things are a little basic but this is reflected in the price, Tidy, clean level grass pitches, beautiful setting use of bar/social club whilst staying if there's one thing lacking its a shortage of a rubbish disposal facility. You have to take your rubbish away with you. Its a quiet site at night, There's endless attractions and many walks. I will be back as there's too much to do in one trip, true value for money

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Probb1955 2 reviews from this member

Well this is a strange site, there is nothing really wrong with it, it has basic toilet and shower facilities which are shared with the local cricket club a water tap and a chemical waste outlet (a toilet) and skips for rubbish. It is two sites in one, part is a netted football pitch the other the main field which has a lot of seasonal caravans and work vehicles on it which means a lot of noise early on in the morning with vehicle movement. The football pitch is more for short term stays and unfortunately had a group of travellers in one corner, they had no respect for any of the other campers urinating etc in the bushes being drunk until the early hours and LOUD music until 2 in the morning and the staff made no attempt to do a thing about it. We left the next day after a sleepless night. This isn't really the site owners fault but it wouldn't happen at one of the big named sites who have gated entrances. So would I recommend it ? probably not and make sure you approach it from the village end or you could get stuck in the narrow roads and small bridge

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blmcar 5 reviews from this member

Just had 7 nights at Esholt, did not know it was the original Emmerdale village, till we met up with my cousin during the week, then found the post office do post cards etc.

Will agree with other reviewers it is a quiet site, looks as though there are several workers caravans on site, as they went out early morning and back in the evening.

Liked the bird boxes on the trees, looked as most had young as adult birds taking in food.

The site was popular at the weekend, as there were plenty of caravans and the odd tent around the edge of the football field, both football and cricket pitches have nets round them, to stop the balls reaching vans etc. We did not use the club.

Only used showers once, as there was no adjustment on water temperature, the control knob just turned round and round, as I said to my wife I now know how a lobster feels when cooking, having said that they do need sorting as they are DANGEROUS! The light also did not stay on for very long, it was a case of wave something in front of it to turn it back on.

Would we go back yes for the quiet, and central for Saltaire village, Keighley and Worth Valley railway, Leeds, Bingley.

One other thing to mention it is cash only, no card payment, it took us until the Thursday to catch the steward to pay him the cash.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stevemacjones 1 review from this member

Love this site. I spent most of August there either with grandkids, wife or alone. Everything there you need, clean facilities and brilliant and friendly staff. Close to many places of interest which ever way you go.

Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ktqcumber 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights. Nice level pitch in a sports field. Facilities are shared with sports club. A different code was needed for each facility, which was impossible for me to remember - but that is just me! Showers were set very hot and was far too hot for both of our children. Other than that fantastic reasonably priced camp

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pixy1973 1 review from this member

Esholt sports club Yorkshire, absolutely beautiful place, will definitely be returning, unfortunately as a newbie camper our little tent leaked, so only spent one night but shall be returning once we buy new waterproof tent lol but gorgeous place, lovely and clean, I'm a single mum so was a bit apprehensive at going camping alone with my daughter but everyone there was really lovely and so helpful, we couldn't figure out how to dismantle the tent but a lovely lady helped lol, but felt very safe and had no problems other than leaky tent, we're off to buy a new one very soon and shall return, committed campers now haha x

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sonjabuk 4 reviews from this member

Cheap and cheery!

Last minute booking and was pleased to stumble across this one in the area that I needed.

Arrived a lot later than planned due to a 'slight' diversion en-route (I got lost as my sat nav failed) But had contacted them to let them know I would be late, was told to pitch where we wanted and gave us codes for facilities.

Plenty of EHU

Ground reasonable for most units.

Showers clean, free and plenty of hot free water. Not the most modern - but you have to remember its shared facilities with the sports club.

Very friendly site staff - nothing too much trouble.

Small club on site. But did not visit at this time, popped in to pay fees and the place was cheery and quite busy.

10 minute walk into Esholt village - do visit The Woolpack pub - friendly, food reasonably priced and plenty of it.

Downsides - as mentioned shared facilities with sports club and with no female/male separate.

Only one water pipe (that we could find)

Narrow lane down to the site, about 1 1/2 miles of it so take it easy as very few passing places.

That said, its on my willing to visit again list.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mooshed 1 review from this member

Arrived at campsite and greeted by manager with an information sheet and told to choose our own pitch. Friendly and informal site, fabulous back to basic campsite, no rigid rules or regulations. Toilets and showers are clean but basic, never had to queue. There is plenty to see in the area, we drove to Ilkley and had a walk on the moor to see the cow and calf, Esholt village itself is less than a ten minute walk, we had a drink sat outside the original Woolpack on a sunny afternoon. Price of the site £10 a night the cheapest we have paid but definitely value for money we will be back for another relaxing weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Misty2 1 review from this member

This is a great site, one of my fav, well look after, clean toilets and showers, , peaceful, club on site open at weekends, owners could not be more welcoming, and very helpful prices very good

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


933 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019