Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Broadleigh Farm Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Stoke Gabriel > Broadleigh Farm Park Reviews

Broadleigh Farm Park
Coombe House Lane
Stoke Gabriel
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ9 6PU
Tel: 01803 782309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 41 Reviews
                9/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sidecutter 8 reviews from this member

 Great site

Lots of room kids can run around,

Great shower/toilet facilities,

Shop and a home made cider shop on site,

Only draw back is getting down the lane to the site,

Would use again. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesleychalmers 4 reviews from this member

 The site was nice and clean, the showers had plenty of hot water there were some fantastic dog walks leading from the site down public footpaths and narrow lanes, lovely pretty area with a lot to see and do round about.

The down side was the site was down a very narrow lane with limited passing spaces, Combehouse Lane is really not wide enough for caravans or large motorhomes, our 7'2 caravan touched both sides of the hedge.

It is a cider farm so big lorries used this lane as well as locals and tractors, for this one reason we will never return. Another down side the owners dog is chained up by his bungalow all day and then allowed lose at night when they walk it around the site, it is well behaved just feel sorry for it chained outside and allowed to run loose on the site.

They don't seem to uphold the dogs on leads rule although we kept ours on leads there were several that were not, including a Lurcher and a terrier belonging to new age travellers that seemed to be living in the top field permanently.

On several occasions it came running and barking at my dogs as we tried to pass bit scary especially for my dogs. We watched another dog a black Lab take itself out for toilet in the hedge the owner never had it on a lead and he had a ball thrower which he threw the ball with towards our caravan.

Luckily they were only there for 3 nights of our two week stay but nothing was said to them. The shop was only opened twice a day about an hour morning and again hour afternoon. To use the laundry which really was not good you needed tokens from the shop.

They did have hand washing laundry sinks and washing up sinks which were nice and clean. But we would not return mostly because of the access to the site with a nice car and caravan, we felt we had to go out once and stay out all day, so we didn't return along the road while it was busy and most people we spoke to felt the same way.

I must add although it is a cider farm it was never noisy or smelly like the big cider factory I used to live near. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robo710 18 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week stay this is a nice clean site we where at the top of the field on a fairly flat pitch quite a lot of the site is sloping so choose your pitch carefully if you want it level

Staff where helpful when we found there was a caravan on our pitch to get it removed

Toilets where always spotless and never queuing although there is a privacy issue from the front doors to the urinals visible from outside

There are cider making sales on site which we had to take advantage of seemed to be same price in shops

Downsides it is a dog friendly site disturbed every night by dogs barking loudly mainly from the camping and caravan club area

Football club nearby quite noisy until late

Electric hook ups a distance from pitch and water and waste disposal some distance away

The location is ok Torquay and Paignton not too far away makes a good base for touring South Devon 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Desengcon 5 reviews from this member

 We needed a site near to Dartmouth and that part of Devon. We don't normally like commercial campsites and was a bit reluctant to book a pitch for 5 nights.

Couldn't seem to book a pitch on the CL site (part of the main site) but with the aid of Google Maps and their availability map chose a pitch at the top of the site (number 33). We reckoned this section of the site was the best as it had the best views.

At the same site was a separate caravan rally field, which had we checked our club magazine we would have seen it was a pop-up temporary site for club members at a slightly cheaper rate. But then we would not have had the best of views.

The site was keep pristine and the facilities incredibly clean. Best of all it brewed and sold Hunts cider on site so avoided any drink and driving issues.

Quite a few seasonal pitches which gave a bit of deserted city feel, many of which had fairy lights and solar on which should be banned. When you want to be in the countryside, then darkness should prevail.

We will use this site again 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

 We were in the area with friends back in July 2016 and noticed this site was doing a special offer for early September, so we went and visited the camp site to have a look. We asked at reception if it would be ok to have a look round, and the girl said it was no problem.

We wanted to look prior to booking as our friends have a very large twin axle tourer that can make it very difficult to get on lots of pitches.

Anyway, we had a look round and we found 2 pitches together that were ideal. We went back to reception and spoke to the young girl, explaining why we wanted to book these particular pitches. She said no problem, we paid our money and she assured us they were reserved for us.

Fast forward to September. We both arrived towing our caravans in torrential rain. Our friends were outside reception, with the caravan still on the hook, they'd been there an hour. The pitches we'd reserved both had other caravans on them. We explained we'd booked these and why, but they were very vague and directed us to 2 more pitches at the top of the field (no apologies at this point) we both drove up to the pitches and lo and behold they had 2 tents on them!

Talk about disorganised! At this point my friends husband just wanted to turn round and go home. It was still absolutely bucketing down. Back to reception and asked the girl to get the manager. He didn't show up, but rang her after about 10 minutes to tell her to put us in the CL field. (this is a 5 van separate field) which turned out to be ideal. In all our friends waited 2 hours while this was getting sorted, and we waited for an hour as we arrived after them.

About 3 days after another couple turned up in a touring caravan in our small field and we got chatting and he said he should have been on this pitch yesterday, but a campervan was on it. We noticed later in the day the campervan had been moved to another pitch.

They really should get someone on reception who knows what they are doing!

Now for the site.

Narrow approach, ladies showers ok, but husband said mens showers were dark and dingy with half the lights not working, tiles coming off the walls, and clothes hooks broken from doors.

Laundry (we were looking for dryers due to getting absolutely soaked putting up our awnings) all they had were 3 domestic combined washer/dryers. No separate dryers or spin dryers.

Perhaps because it was the end of the season things were not getting repaired?

They do really push the cider side of things though.

We never did get an apology.

Would I stay here again. Nope. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gillian Thompson 1 review from this member

 Absolute paradise! Real community spirit. The owners are friendly and knowledgeable and always welcoming. Kids are more than safe to play all around the site. Always clean and ample facilities and home of the beautiful Hunts Farmhouse cider and apple juice. Which in my opinion cannot be beaten on taste and quality. Found a real gem with this site and cant wait to return for our 3rd year next year. Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Claire1406 1 review from this member

 So we have visted and stayed at Broadleigh Farm a couple of times now and loved our stay, so much so that we have purchased a caravan and have sited it here for the year :) Just spent our 1st full week there and am more than excited to be here for the whole camping season :)

Ideal location, peaceful and not at all commercialised, which is fab. Stunning views and close to so much to do. 15 minutes form Torquay, Babbacombe, Brixham, Paignton. The list is endless. Supermarkets on your doorstep, local shops, Stoke Gabriel is very nice too. We even made it to Dawlish which is only about 40 minutes away. The toilets and showers are the cleanest I have ever used on a campsite. Looking forward to spending our holiday and weekend time here over the year. Worth a visit, if you are happy to kick back, switch off and have some p and q :) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CTwomey 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! and lovely people!

Had a super 2 weeks here in Broadleigh Farm. Although peak time for school holidays there's plenty of space both between units and for children and adults alike to play.

A dog walk field is just a few mins walk along the lane to 'the orchard' and is quite big enough to throw balls for our energetic spaniel to chase.

The loo blocks are clean and ample, though, you a thorough mopping of the floor was needed in the ladies first shower as streams run along and back to the basins. Maybe that will get addressed this winter season!

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. A young family arrived having problems with electric and Richard really put himself out to help.

The drive along the lane to the site was a bit hairy at times as rather narrow so passing cars/caravans can be tricky. There are passing places but good driving and reversing sometimes needed.

Views around the site are splendid as this is a quiet 'away from it all' spot. A fish n chips van visits once a week, though I think was gone by 5:30pm - too early for dinner for us! Pubs in Stoke Gabriel (20 min walk) offer food & drink and many mornings/afternoons were spent supping teas/coffees/delicious cakes at the quayside watching families crabbing.

Book up your next holiday here! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ukhaja1 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely rural site, we went out of season so the office was closed, but the owners were more than happy to see us when we knocked at the farmhouse, very welcoming. Very reasonable price of 12. 50 for the night (campervan no hookup), and also more than happy for us to have our 2 year old and 3 dogs with us at no additional cost (often hard to find a site that will accommodate 3 dogs). Lovely views, field was a little slopy that we in, but there are flat areas too. Facilities were nice and clean. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angiewoods 1 review from this member

 Well kept site, we stayed here with family and friends, five tents in total, and we were allowed to choose where we wanted to pitch so we could all be together. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful, even going into town to buy an electrical hook up when one of us had forgotten ours! There is lots of open space for children to play without disturbing other campers. There is a reception with lots of info on local attractions, a well kept and clean shower/toilet block, a laundry, dish washing area and a chemical disposal point. There are water taps situated around the site. The weather was fantastic while we were there and we took the opportunity to visit lots of local places. Brixham Lido was a favourite with the kids, an open air pool fed naturally from the sea and filtered into the pool. You can hire a deck chair or sun lounger and relax on the terrace admiring the view while the kids play. Lifeguards are on duty. Best of all it's free! The ice cream in Devon is to die for and I think we all over indulged. Stoke Gabriel village is pretty and the kids can do a bit of crabbing or feed the ducks, there's a small cafe which is also licensed and they have different themed evenings and a quiz night.

Fishing in the area is fantastic, we caught mackerel and sea bass which we cooked on our barbecue for supper. We enjoyed ourselves so much we have already booked for next year!

P. S If you do happen to venture to the toilet block in the night stop and look at the sky, the view of the stars will amaze you! 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Broadleigh Farm Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Broadleigh Farm Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Broadleigh Farm Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stoke Gabriel      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6076 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement