Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Wingfield Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > The Wingfield Caravan Park > Reviews

The Wingfield Caravan Park
Montford Bridge
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 1EB
Tel: 0785 393 4379
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 23
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 36 Reviews
                7/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lainey 1 review from this member

 Pros:

Flat site.

Water and power on site.

Cons:

Awful sewage smell.

Toilet and showers very old n dated, taps would not stay on unless you held onto them all time.

Reception non functional however on phoning the owner she arrived promptly and was friendly.

Described as very quiet which is accurate, no shops or pubs or anything in the vicinity, thank goodness there was a local bus service close by. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gillni 1 review from this member

 Lovely picturesque site on the river severn, the site owners were very helpful, very basic amenities but that's what we like,

Fabulously located within easy reach of shrewsbury Town and surrounding places of interest. Bus service nearby and pub with food.

Unfortunately we left early as the British weather let us down but will definitely book again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daveh5 1 review from this member

 Nice site, a bit expensive for time of year and for the basic facilities. no shop. good pub. we couldn't get TV signal

Facilities was OK, could be improved with a bit more heating, new hand dryer, also lights by doors so you see keycode.

The Staff are very friendly on site and in pub. Drinks are reasonable and food starts from 10 for main meal.

There is a garage spar shop 1. 5 miles away also another pub, We couldn't use the pub due to private party.

There is a bus stop just outside site unfortunately last bus back from Shrewsbury is 6. 30pm. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Martin and elaine03 2 reviews from this member

 This is a family run site, who gave us a very warm welcome. The site is behind a pub that sells good priced food.

The site has the river seven running along side it with canoe hire from the site.

The site has what you would expect from a touring site all be it that it could now do with a little modernising.

It also has a camping field and hard standing for caravans and motorhomes. A bus service runs passed the site to Shrewsbury.

So if you want a basic site at the right price and a warm welcome, We would recommend this one. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Missmally 27 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the camping field for 1 night and for 12 for our tent and 2 people we found it excellent value for money. Our pitch was level and the River Severn was at the bottom of the field.

The owner was friendly and gave us a key for the heated toilet/shower block, which was very clean and plenty of hot water.

Had an enjoyable and reasonably priced meal in the pub and apparently if you walk under the A5 bridge there is a cafe that does a superb breakfast.

If you are bothered by road noise then the A5 close by might put you off. Dogs are welcome on site and in the pub and you can fish from the campsite if that is your thing.

A lovely, well kept and informal site which we would return to. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cleggy2 1 review from this member

 Just returned from Wingfield camp site. We were very impressed. We had a campervan & iPod awning and it was a lovely site.

The grounds were immaculate, toilets & showers were very clean. There is a pub just outside the entrance where we thoroughly enjoyed a lovely meal (compliments to the chef).

We would definitely go there again and recommend it to our friends. The owners were a very nice couple who were very helpful.

It is only a short bus ride into Shrewsbury town which is pleasant. Not to be missed 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeeD 10 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from this campsite after finding it rather strange. The leaflet stated that there was a reception area. Well there wasn't! Then suddenly a man appeared from nowhere, booked us in, showed us where we could pitch & told us where the amenities were.

He also handed us the key to enable us to get into the shower block & toilets. The block looked very new & unfinished. There were 2 showers & only 1 had a door on the first night that we stayed. However, this was rectified the following morning when the other door had been fitted. The paint hadn't even dried. The showers were not that warm or powerful.

The washing up area is outside, but under cover. Just a hot & cold tap. No sink! Just a metal draining board with paint pots stood on it. Not very hygienic. We preferred to wash up under the standpipe.

On the positive side, there was plenty of toilet roll & several hooks in the shower. Lovely views by the river. The campsite is set right behind a pub that serves lovely food, especially the Sunday carvery. At first we thought that it was the same business. But apparently not.

There is no child's play area, which suited us because we enjoy the peace & quiet. They allow fishing on the site.

It is also handy for the bus. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Muskatina 3 reviews from this member

 From start to finish our stay here was delightful. There is a lovely pub on site that serves the best carvery at a very good price.

Everyone gets their own personal electric point and tap. There is a lovely picnic area close by, the children can use the park that's by the pub and there is fishing for the men :-)

The toilet block is being updated this season which will add to the fineness of the site. Will be going back 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Macdaf426 2 reviews from this member

 This touring site needs some work. Some of the sites are quite tiny not enough room for a car and an awning. Although it has a barrier system in operation for some security, the toilet/shower block is situated outside this area, this block is not heated and quite cold whilst having a shower. The water just about manages to run and is on a timer where you have to keep pushing for more. Also the lights are on a timer too, so you are left in the dark whilst trying to get dry. There is only two toilets and two showers, not really adequate if the site is full, they are very antiquated and need updating, seemingly the owners told another holiday maker back in 2012 that this would be completed by the end of 2012 still waiting!

The tent field is overlooking the river but the tourers are next to a field which is used for dog walking and not overlooking the river. At 20 per night I would expect a lot more for my money, as said in another review there are a lot more sites around with a lot better facilities for this kind of money. There seemed to be quite a few long stayers on this site who seemed to have larger pitches than holidaymakers. I think more money should be spent on updating the tourer/toilet facilities as is being spent on the static field. 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Prospect35 17 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in October 2010 and was really pleased with it, then it belonged to the pub the Wingfield Arms and was lovely, the showers and loos were always warm, showers were great.

But this trip Dec 2011 for New Year we were disappointed, not run by the pub any more and the standards had certainly dropped, the shower block was not heated and the mens showers were faulty, the water trickled out the push button did not work, my husband was not impressed.

The pitches we had were on the small side and very muddy, the ground where they have put the tourers has not got any drainage and it was very muddy.

Saying that the New Years Eve Black and White party at the pub was great. Julie and Steve still run the pub and it is great. The carvery on New Years Day was to die for, one of the best I have had. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Wingfield Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Wingfield Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Wingfield Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shrewsbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2916 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement