Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Wingfield Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > The Wingfield Caravan Park Reviews

The Wingfield Caravan Park
Montford Bridge
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 1EB
Tel: 0785 393 4379
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 23
Open: 

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 34 Reviews
                7/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daveh5 1 review from this member

 Nice site, a bit expensive for time of year and for the basic facilities. no shop. good pub. we couldn't get TV signal

Facilities was OK, could be improved with a bit more heating, new hand dryer, also lights by doors so you see keycode.

The Staff are very friendly on site and in pub. Drinks are reasonable and food starts from 10 for main meal.

There is a garage spar shop 1. 5 miles away also another pub, We couldn't use the pub due to private party.

There is a bus stop just outside site unfortunately last bus back from Shrewsbury is 6. 30pm. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Martin and elaine03 2 reviews from this member

 This is a family run site, who gave us a very warm welcome. The site is behind a pub that sells good priced food.

The site has the river seven running along side it with canoe hire from the site.

The site has what you would expect from a touring site all be it that it could now do with a little modernising.

It also has a camping field and hard standing for caravans and motorhomes. A bus service runs passed the site to Shrewsbury.

So if you want a basic site at the right price and a warm welcome, We would recommend this one. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Missmally 27 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the camping field for 1 night and for 12 for our tent and 2 people we found it excellent value for money. Our pitch was level and the River Severn was at the bottom of the field.

The owner was friendly and gave us a key for the heated toilet/shower block, which was very clean and plenty of hot water.

Had an enjoyable and reasonably priced meal in the pub and apparently if you walk under the A5 bridge there is a cafe that does a superb breakfast.

If you are bothered by road noise then the A5 close by might put you off. Dogs are welcome on site and in the pub and you can fish from the campsite if that is your thing.

A lovely, well kept and informal site which we would return to. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cleggy2 1 review from this member

 Just returned from Wingfield camp site. We were very impressed. We had a campervan & iPod awning and it was a lovely site.

The grounds were immaculate, toilets & showers were very clean. There is a pub just outside the entrance where we thoroughly enjoyed a lovely meal (compliments to the chef).

We would definitely go there again and recommend it to our friends. The owners were a very nice couple who were very helpful.

It is only a short bus ride into Shrewsbury town which is pleasant. Not to be missed 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeeD 10 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from this campsite after finding it rather strange. The leaflet stated that there was a reception area. Well there wasn't! Then suddenly a man appeared from nowhere, booked us in, showed us where we could pitch & told us where the amenities were.

He also handed us the key to enable us to get into the shower block & toilets. The block looked very new & unfinished. There were 2 showers & only 1 had a door on the first night that we stayed. However, this was rectified the following morning when the other door had been fitted. The paint hadn't even dried. The showers were not that warm or powerful.

The washing up area is outside, but under cover. Just a hot & cold tap. No sink! Just a metal draining board with paint pots stood on it. Not very hygienic. We preferred to wash up under the standpipe.

On the positive side, there was plenty of toilet roll & several hooks in the shower. Lovely views by the river. The campsite is set right behind a pub that serves lovely food, especially the Sunday carvery. At first we thought that it was the same business. But apparently not.

There is no child's play area, which suited us because we enjoy the peace & quiet. They allow fishing on the site.

It is also handy for the bus. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Muskatina 3 reviews from this member

 From start to finish our stay here was delightful. There is a lovely pub on site that serves the best carvery at a very good price.

Everyone gets their own personal electric point and tap. There is a lovely picnic area close by, the children can use the park that's by the pub and there is fishing for the men :-)

The toilet block is being updated this season which will add to the fineness of the site. Will be going back 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Macdaf426 2 reviews from this member

 This touring site needs some work. Some of the sites are quite tiny not enough room for a car and an awning. Although it has a barrier system in operation for some security, the toilet/shower block is situated outside this area, this block is not heated and quite cold whilst having a shower. The water just about manages to run and is on a timer where you have to keep pushing for more. Also the lights are on a timer too, so you are left in the dark whilst trying to get dry. There is only two toilets and two showers, not really adequate if the site is full, they are very antiquated and need updating, seemingly the owners told another holiday maker back in 2012 that this would be completed by the end of 2012 still waiting!

The tent field is overlooking the river but the tourers are next to a field which is used for dog walking and not overlooking the river. At 20 per night I would expect a lot more for my money, as said in another review there are a lot more sites around with a lot better facilities for this kind of money. There seemed to be quite a few long stayers on this site who seemed to have larger pitches than holidaymakers. I think more money should be spent on updating the tourer/toilet facilities as is being spent on the static field. 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Prospect35 17 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in October 2010 and was really pleased with it, then it belonged to the pub the Wingfield Arms and was lovely, the showers and loos were always warm, showers were great.

But this trip Dec 2011 for New Year we were disappointed, not run by the pub any more and the standards had certainly dropped, the shower block was not heated and the mens showers were faulty, the water trickled out the push button did not work, my husband was not impressed.

The pitches we had were on the small side and very muddy, the ground where they have put the tourers has not got any drainage and it was very muddy.

Saying that the New Years Eve Black and White party at the pub was great. Julie and Steve still run the pub and it is great. The carvery on New Years Day was to die for, one of the best I have had. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darrenforster99 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night and wasn't overly impressed. Was ok site for short stay but not really that good.

I turned up and looked at the campsite and it all looked like really nice area, look nicely laid out with nice parking area for cars and everything, but this isn't quite the same if your a staying in a tent.

When I went in to book the guy told me it was 6 for a night camping - ok not too bad. Then he took the 6 and pointed out to me where the camping field was. He told me it was on the field on the far side of the car park, it was out on it's own, wasn't even in the barriered off area within the proper campsite so it felt like you were camping on an unofficial field.

At first the location he explained as being the camping field actually turned out to be the dog walking path and the people there said no it's the field to the right of the dog walking field.

No sign up to indicate this actually was the camping field, just a sign that fishing was available there.

Camping field was very open to the public with no security to stop any member of the public from walking into there and very disconnected from main campsite. Also field was very open with views from the main road straight down onto the camping field. When I went there no-one else was booked in that night so I was on my own on this entire field.

The guy told me to park the car to the left of the bin on the pubs gravel car park, also the exit to the car park had a sign up stating that the barrier would be locked when the pub closed - I did notice that the barrier didn't get locked.

In the morning I went to use the shower - they have locks on the toilet/shower room and asks for a 10 refundable deposit for the key for toilet/shower room. Considering the quality of the showers I don't know why he bothers locking the room. The showers dribbled water - no water pressure at all and took numerous presses of the button to get them to get any type of hot water out - once the water was hot that was fine but it did just dribble rather than pouring water. Also half way through trying to have a shower all the lights went off in the shower room - the sensor for the lights was outside the shower room so you have to fumble round in the dark trying to open the shower door to re-activate the light - stupid idea and could be quite dangerous, light sensor should really be in the shower area.

In the area there was the Wingfield Arms pub, that was quite a nice pub to sit in at night. Had a nice big fire and the people in the pub seemed quite nice and friendly.

Shrewsbury town centre wasn't too far away, nearest shop was the Shell garage and that was opened quite late on a Sunday night, to get to the Shell Garage you turn right out of the campsite and then right again following the signs to Welshpool, at the bottom of the road turn right again and you will see the large petrol station with supermarket.

Also one other very important thing - the camping field had no fence at the bottom to prevent access to the river at the bottom. This campsite possibly wouldn't be suitable for people with young children as there is a chance they could end up in the river. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Xxbassam 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at Mountbridge before in past few years but not at Wingfield Park. We found it very pleasant and clean everywhere. The site is improving all the time the toilet block whilst very clean needs better shower units - not much hot water -shower button needs to be pressed every few seconds

The owner tells me that a new shower/toilet block is in hand to be ready towards end of year.

We enjoyed our stay and plan to be back again later this year. Good dog walk but lacking in poo' bins, ALSO no waste water dumping place other than on the ground. Did not get time to try the PUB. All will improve this year we were told.

Would not hesitate recommending it. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Wingfield Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Wingfield Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Wingfield Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shrewsbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4959 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement