Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Etang De La Breche

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Varennes Sur Loire > Camping Etang De La Breche Reviews

Camping Etang De La Breche
5 Impasse De La Breche
Varennes Sur Loire
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
49730
Tel: +33 2 41 51 22 92
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 201
Open: 14/04 19/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richclip 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a very pleasurable stay at L'Etang De La Breche, and would like to share our thoughts. We booked on the basis that if Eurocamp and the like have a presence there you know there must be a decent standard, and we were not disappointed.

The campsite itself seems incredibly spacious with loads of open grassy areas for the kids (and adults), to muck around. There are numerous playgrounds for the little kids, but not so much for the older ones. The pitches are also huge and ours had exactly the right amount of shade for the tent with loads of lovely mature trees scattered aroundabout.

The toilet facilities were good - they were cleaned every morning and although on arrival we didn't think there were enough toilets or showers, there was never any waiting or queuing.

The staff at reception, shop & bar were very helpful and spoke excellent english.

There were a couple of downsides - the pool was VERY busy in the afternoons, and on a couple of occasions there were teenagers running riot & hurling balls around. My kids, who are usually pool fanatics, lost interest after the first week and didn't set foot in the pool again!

The mini-golf is a waste of time.

A couple of times there was a lot of noise with kids screeching & shouting on the sports courts until about 11:30pm. Not the campsite's fault, I suppose but very annoying when you're trying to get some kip!

Finally, there were clouds of midgies most evenings, so much so that you had to walk with your mouth shut. They weren't biting or anything, it was just the sheer volume that gave us the heebie-jeebies!

And finally. Owls! Goodness me, they could make a racket! Between the owls and the green woodpecker, I wished I'd brought a blunderbus!

As for the surrounding area, Saumur was pleasant - the market was interesting. Some of the other towns like Cinon and Azay Le Rideau were a bit dead. Unless you are interested in the architecture, there is not a lot to see. The garden festival at Chaumont was ok, but the artist's blurb for each garden was utterly poncy! The gardens at Villandry were much better - truly excellent.

Finally, for the Dads - the Musee Des Blindes (Tank museum), was amazing. Definitely worth a visit (and I challenge you to resist climbing into the APC and manning the machine gun in the kid's area at the end)!

So overall, an excellent site that we wouldn't hesitate to recommend, but take your bug spray!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gillch 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from a great weeks stay. On arrival we went to reception. The staff spoke excellent English and took us through the whereabouts of the sites and then took us to our pitch.

The pitches are huge, ours must of been 60ft by 25ft. Most pitches would fit a huge tent (like ours) but there were double wheel caravans with full awning, bedroom extension, additional awning extension, bikes, cars and homemade badminton courts. All have hedges around the edges but shade varies.

There are two facilities blocks and these are clean. The showers are large with shelving, sink and mirrors and loads of hot water. There is also domestic facilities including a microwave.

There is a excellent bar with plenty of outdoor seating and a bouncy castle for the kids. The restaurant is great and we had a lovely meal, 2 adults, 2 kids and a toddler for Ä64. They even to baby menus but a few veg on the kid and baby menus would not go a miss.

There are four pool, one for toddlers with little slides and water fountains, a main pool, a undercover pool (sliding roof, hit by lightning when we where there. ) and a pool with a couple of slides. These are not monitored but parents seemed to their job properly as most kids were well behaved.

There is plenty to do during the day, kids clubs, tennis, crazy golf. The site is also well placed for touring the area.

There is a good mix of tourers/tents and eurocamp all mixed in together so you get an nice 'all in together' feel.

Overall a lovely site and well recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kn1te 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the site. This is the second time we have been to the site. It is busy place with lots of families mainly from Holland and the UK. We have an 18 month old son and went with my wifeís parents in their campervan

Reception/check in

The reception staff are very friendly and will bend over backwards to help with whatever query you have, and are all multilingual.

We arrived late at night due to a delay on the ferry. We phoned ahead to let the site know, Brigit, the owner told us no matter what time we arrive, someone will be able to show us to our pitch.

Pitches

The pitches are large and very spacious, all have some sort of shade. In the UK these size pitches would be split in to 3 or 4 individual pitches, just to give you an idea.

There are water stations close to all the pitches and all have 3 taps, so you can set up your automatic aqua roll filler thing if need. Waste water disposal is also at these taps, but is raised up from the floor, so you will need to lift your waste container on top, which is a little awkward. The pitches are separated with shrubs and trees, but arenít a privacy barrier, which we like as it allows you to actually get to know your neighbours. The pitches are reasonably level, but bring chocks as there are a few lumps and bumps.

We were pitched right next to the football/basketball court, which at first I wasnít thrilled about. It is open from 09:00 to 21:00 but the kids pretty much go on it in all day light hours. I was surprised through, at how much it didnít bother us. It has a high fence so the surrounding pitches arenít getting blasted by the balls all the time.

Facilities

Bar Ė

First off, donít expect to be served quickly. The bar area is quite quiet during the day, and to be honest a little pricy. The ice cream parlour bit is very popular for most of the day, and is reasonably priced.

Swimming pool Ė

There are three main pools and a landing pool for the various slides. The small baby pool is nice with slides, fountains and stuff for the little ones. The main pool is very very crowded. There are no life guards on watch here, and very boisterous teenagers and adults in there. The covered pool is less busy, and inflatables are not allowed in it. Cleanliness wise, apart from the questionable ďhygiene foot bathĒ on entering the pool area, its fine.

Restaurant and take away Ė

We didnít use the restaurant, but is look very nicely laid out. There is an outside section and an indoor section to it. The menu look nice, although not a huge choice. Prices were comparative to the ones in town as well. We had a couple of pizzas on the list night which were a bit pricey. Three pizzas and 4 chips for Ä40. Nice though.

Shop Ė

Well stocked with food and other essentials and gift stuff. Fresh bread twice a day, pleasant staff. Open form 8 till 8.

Toilets/Showers

You have to bear in mind that the site is a very grassy and dusty place, so the floors in the showers are never spotless, so wear something on your. Clean enough though, not CC standard but fine none the less. They are all uni sex as well, but itís not an issue.

Activities

There are two tennis courts which you have to get a key from reception for. A football pitch (mentioned above). Table tennis tables. Crazy golf. Swin golf (like pitch and put, but to play with one triangle club). BMX track. Pony rides. Go cart and bike hire. The fishing lake is stocked with carp to around 5lbs and small cat fish (poisson chat, not Wells) very easy to catch, the fish will go for most baits, sweet corn, bread, pellets, etc. Its free as well.

The play parks for the kids are split with the older kids having one and then one for the younger kids which our boy loved.

Surrounding area

The site is on the banks on the river Loir. Access to the river is across the main road. Itís about 4 miles to the centre of town. The town itself is a really pleasant place. The market on a Saturday is something you have to experience. There is a Le Clerk supermarket about 5 miles from the site on the edge of town. This is much cheaper than the site shop. There is a brilliant zoo call BioPark (Zoo De Due) which is about half an hourís drive from the site. Its brilliant, you can get really close to all the animals, and is really well laid out, so never appears to be crowded.

Itís the 2nd time I have been to the site, and my wife and her parents have been on many occasions. It would definitely recommend this site to families. If you want quiet serenity and typical rustic French, donít go. As for a families, you will struggle to find and better place.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil+Barb 20 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 12 nights with 2 other families.

Easy to find just off the main road to Saumur - satnav took us right to the entrance. You drive along the dyke of the Loire. Etang means inland lake and Braiche means breach. Literally a lake formed by a breach in the Loire Levee!

Friendly and efficient reception.

Certainly a big and busy sight, as expected in august, but apart from the busy pool area in the daytime, the site always seemed calm and reasonably quiet. This is because it is well spread out, with very large pitches and lots of open areas, as well as a lake. It just exudes a feeling of space.

Plenty of water and disposal points. Reasonable toilet blocks, though not enough WC cubicles for a site of this size, but I never had to wait for a hot seat!

So much to do in the area, wine cave visits, chateaux, cycling. Pleasant bar/shop area. Nice restaurant with a very popular weekly mussels night. Loads of facilities to keep young ones occupied - a circus even set up on the site for a few days!

We are retired and thought we would hate this site with kids everywhere - well we liked it. It is well planned and spread out. Some sites would have doubled the number of pitches on this area.

Recommended for families and those without kids too. Fab area for touring the Loire valley.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingmum10 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a great two weeks holiday during which the weather was warm and mostly sunny.

We were allocated a very large pitch in C row which was directly apposite a children's play park which having a 4 year old was very convenient, our pitch was very close to the main buildings of the site and at first we were not to keen to be so close but it actually turned out to be a great position and allowed our boys to be close enough to go and get their daily icecreams from the bar.

In the campsite our two boys aged 9 and 4 enjoyed the horse riding, go-karts, swimming pools especially the slides and using their bikes. They both enjoyed the freedom this site offered.

The toilet blocks were cleaned very regularly we never had any complaints.

The site put on some evening entertainment which included a couple to bands, disco's for the children, quiz nights and sumo which the kids loved, while we were there the circus visited for the night, the tickets were a bit expensive at 12 or 15 euros each but we all had a great evening very impressed.

Many people appear to visit year after year and I think we may be going back next year, the kids would love to, they made lots of friends.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cal+issysmum 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site for 12 nights at the end of August. There are four of us including 2 children aged 8 & 3. The site was busy but not heaving.

When we arrived at the site the lady indicated on a site map which pitches were available that met our requirements and allowed us to walk around the site to select which pitch we wanted. We chose a pitch near the entrance and opposite the main play area so that the children could play and we could supervise easily.

It was sometimes a little noisy at night (til about 10pm) because we were near the bar etc but we expected that and the other pluses of the pitch outweighed this disadvantage.

The swimming pools are excellent (they weren't enforcing the Speedo's rule although there was a notice up). They have a baby pool which my 3 year old could stand up easily in, a mid depth pool and a deeper pool with water slides. There were plenty of chairs etc around the edges.

My children loved the crazy golf and playing tennis. My daughter had a ride on a pony there which she enjoyed. There was a free bouncy castle next to the bar area which my children loved. The toilets etc were kept very clean. There was plenty of hot water and loo rolls.

We hired a fridge which was excellent. It had a small icebox at the top which allowed me to freeze ice packs, ice pops and keep icecream.

The site isn't within easy walking distance of anywhere but the shop was well equipped and not that much more expensive.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area.

As you can probably tell we had a fabulous holiday and I'd recommend this site for a family holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jusy 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site with mixed feelings.

We were shown to our pitch, which was big but very dusty no grass at all. It was opposite the children's play area, which we expected a lot of noise but how wrong we were, only a few children played on it.

We had asked for a pitch with no shade which we got and we soon regreted it, had a heatwave for 15 days, the temperature was over 85 f each day.

We must have picked the wrong weeks to visit this site, as there was loads of little ones and not many teenagers, my lads aged 15 1/2 and 17 1/2 were bored. They did go fishing and manged to catch catfish and there was plenty of them.

The shower/toilet nearest to us was unisex, the other 2 blocks were separate male and females, they all were kept very clean.

The pools had no supervision, plenty of signs telling you what to wear in the pools but no one took any notice and wore what they liked, long shorts, t shirts etc.

The resturant was busy but only serving the same food as the take away, as the chef had retired after 20 years and they hadnt found anyone suitable yet.

Recommend visiting Chateau de Breze which was amazing and Zoo de Doue.The Chateau in Samuar is closed due to major refurbishment, you can see 1 room and that's it.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ced1 9 reviews from this member

We originally booked to stay just over a week at this site thinking that it would be great for the children (age 8 & 11) but ended up leaving after 3 nights. Undoubtedly, the site has excellent facilities- spacious pitches with plenty of shade, clean and modern wash facilities,etc- and is in a great location for exploring the area around Saumur; but for us, the downsides outweighed the pluses:

1. The pool complex was the main draw for all of us but it is actually quite small given the size of the site and was always overcrowded with water like soup. It was also unsupervised and as a result people of all ages somersaulting into the water without looking and no-one taking any notice of safety advice for the slides.

2. This is a very large, noisy and impersonal site where most people don't even acknowledge each other. As other reviewers have noted too, there is nothing French about the place and it feels more like a compound for British and Dutch tourists. This may not be an issue for some people but it was for us.

3.Finally,at 48 euros a night this is an expensive site, especially as if you want to use the mini-golf, tennis, etc you have to pay extra (we are used to sites in France that provide such facilities as part of the package). Given that we couldn't even enjoy the pool complex we seriously questioned why we were paying so much money for a campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Pjlbr 3 reviews from this member

We absolutely loved this beautifully presented, peaceful site. It is set in open countryside (like a previous review mentioned, it was easy to miss the small road sign). Lots of scope for tootling around the site and down quiet country lanes on bikes. We have three children between 2 and 8yrs and the facilities were perfect for them. We rented a static so can't comment on the toilet blocks.
There were 4 play areas plus a few large open areas of field, pond, golf fields and bmx bike course (occasionally shared with the pony riders) to wander around. Local surroundings were really pretty, heaps of nearby day trips to Chateaux's and towns. The campsite's main facilities of swimming pools and charming 'village' square were clean and very well tended. The staff were all very friendly. The site shop was stocked well enough for basics and a simple dinner, we managed happily with just one visit to local supermarket.
The site was very peaceful at night and early morning (perfect for young families trying to get children to sleep before 9pm). We would definitely spend a holiday here again. Oh and the all-important weather! although forecasts for the region were often disappointing, in reality it was warm and most often sunny. During our visit it was heavily occupied by Brits . But this isn't a negative, the younsters (from toddlers to the smattering of teenagers) were all lovely. Totally recommend this site for families of all ages looking for a pleasant and peaceful, well equipped site.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Khwood 17 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site with mixed feelings. On the downside we found it quite noisy as we were allocated a pitch next to the pools so there was constant shouting and screaming while the pools were open (10 - 8pm). We couldn't move pitches due to the site being busy so we were disappointed as we'd booked well in advance. The pitch however was large and shady. Also the site is slightly remote and there was no where to walk to, which meant more driving than we would have liked.
It was fairly noisy in the evenings, mostly British teenagers hanging around although it was quiet after the bar closed. On the upside we found the facilities great - the toilets were cleaned throughout the day and the showers were hot and clean and generous sized with a washbasin.
The pools were great although it would have been nice to have a lifeguard (especially as some parents seemed to let their teenagers run wild in that area with no supervision). The shop was great with freshly baked bread each morning. The bar was nice with a bouncy castle for the young children (again unsupervised teenagers had to be asked to be careful of the young children even though the sign clearly said under 8 years only).
The restaurant looked nice with a pretty terrace to sit on outside although we did not eat there. We had pizza from the takeaway which was great, homemade and fresh. There was also a circus on the site whilst we were there which provided a good evenings entertainment.

The surrounding area was lovely with plenty to do and good supermarkets and towns nearby.

We found there were many nationalities on the site but it felt very British and any noise at night or bad language around the pool was always English unfortunately.

Overall a good site, very British feeling but not for us. Maybe if we'd had a better pitch we would have enjoyed it more, however our two young children had a great time.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Varennes Sur Loire      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3825 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019