Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Altnaharra Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Southerland > Altnaharra Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Altnaharra Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Altnaharra
Lairg
Southerland
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4UE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 24
Open: 23/03 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Not at all what we expected - so much better.

For whatever reason we though a regular set out on a loch side. It is actually three distinct areas. First is a hardstanding area a bit car-park like, all with electric hook up and most have a good view of Loch Naver. Then there is a smaller area on softer ground with just 6 pitches, again with hook ups and again brilliant views of the loch, the third area is all on grass and doesn't have any electric.

No loos or showers and although there is fresh water the advice was to boil or buy bottled water from the reception. There isnt any wifi on site and we couldn't get phone signals on either of our phones.

From the site a lovely walk up the hills to an old village or just walk along the roads as there is hardly any traffic. We walked early in the evening and saw two lots of deers both less than 20 ft away from the road.

We drove down to the site from the North using the A897 - a stunning drive with plenty of long passing places.

Would take everything you need with you as its a fair drive to the nearest shops (Lairgs must be nearly an hour).

Stunning site with two of the best wardens ever - might not have any facilities but this site really is about location.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pavlovscat 5 reviews from this member

Wonderful, remote setting next to Loch Naver. Good base for those wanting to climb Ben Hope, Ben Klibreck and even Ben Loyal.

For anyone wanting to use the Altnaharra Hotel -check to see if they are doing bar meals (some days they don't)if that's what you want or book a table in the restaurant (recommended).

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DundeeIan 11 reviews from this member

We knew this site was remote and that was part of the experience for us, it sits right beside Loch Naver. With only water, drain and Elsan points (no toilets, showers etc. ) it is minimalist but has its own charm.

The site is reached by single track road with passing places, going to the shops in Lairg was a 40 minute drive and the novelty wore off quickly. The water supply is local and was brackish coloured, we were advised to boil it before drinking it.

Small shop on site selling essentials. We loved the experience, not too many midges in May but we were told it was worse in the summer. Lots of local walks and you can bike ride on the road OK as traffic infrequent.

No wifi and mobile signal was 2G and patchy so no internet. Wardens on site very helpful. Needed to use satellite for TV as could not pick up signal.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

This really is the Caravan Club in the wild - literally miles from anywhere, and what a delight it is!

Forget all about the ordered lines, hard standings and luxurious facilities close by - Altnaharra has none of these. It is even a 40 mile round trip to a shop or a pub! There is also no terrestrial TV, although mobile phone reception is good. But what a little gem the site is - on the shore of Loch Naver and with the most welcoming and helpful warden we have met in a long time. He even helped us find a level patch for our motorhome and gave us a guided tour of the site. The site shop has a surprisingly large selection of basics.

The bonus, for some, is the free fly fishing in the loch, where Russ, the warden can even lend the tackle in exchange for a charity box donation.

If it were not for being 700 miles from home, we would return soon! This is not a place for children and the rating for site facilities refers only to those that are advertised at the site. The overall rating reflects the reviewers opinion of the remote country setting.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

We stayed two nights in May 2013 at this superbly remote campsite. We were first alerted to the site by one of Andy Stothert brilliant articles but we didn’t really expect to be able to visit there until we were planning our Orkney & Shetland Isle trip. We then realised that it would be a perfect “pit stop” when travelling up from East Anglia.

We were two motorhomes travelling in convoy from our previous overnight stop at the Old Hartley CC site at Whitley Bay. Word of advice, don’t try this trip in one go! It took us 9 hours to do the 330 mile trip with only about an hour stop for refueling & lunch etc. We had had enough by the time we got to Inverness but we still had another 90+ miles to go!

The last 15 miles to Altnaharra are on a single carriageway with passing places. However the road surface was good and we were able to keep up a good pace. The site is in a stunning location by Loch Naver and in the shadow of Ben Klibreck. The site is very informal with pitches spread along the shoreline, some with hook up & hardstandings and some on grass & without power. We were treated to a spectacular sun setting on the far side of the loch which had everyone out with their cameras getting a very special shot which included the warden in his waders catching his very first trout! The friendly wardens also donated some filleted trout that had been caught in the loch by others for our BBQ.

One of the walks suggested by the wardens went directly from the site & picks up part of the Strathnaver Trail before heading into the moorland above the site. We first came through the ruined “clearance” village of Grummore with lots of stone outlines of houses demolished during the Highland Clearances of the 1814 & 1819. Then it was onto Carn Gruama Mor, Carn Gruama Beag and Loch Molach. The route back to the site was a straight forward road walk from Grumbeg. A 6. 2 mile walk in 3 ½ hours.

As others have said, the site is remote so you do need to stock up if staying for any length of time. The setting is superb and we just wished that we could have spent more time there, but the ferry to Orkney beckoned!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vcmac 7 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site! Situated just off a single track road right on the shores of Loch Naver in the middle of stunning countryside. There are no toilet facilities on site but that is one hardship you can cope with for the glorious views. The ruins of Grummore sit just behind the site and there is the remainder of a broch on the site.

Plenty of exploring right on your door step! You can follow the Strathnaver trail and learn about the Highland Clearances or climb some mountains, we climbed Ben Hope, one of two munros easily accessible from the site.

There are no shops or petrol stations for miles around so stock up! There is the Altnaharra Hotel a few miles away but be warned, we arrived after a long day on the hills at 6. 40pm, we waited to get served at the bar an when it was our turn at 6. 46pm we asked to order food, only to be told they stopped serving at 6. 45pm, such a pity Highland hospitality was missing in the only hotel in that area of the Highlands!

The wardens on site are helpful, friendly yet unobtrusive. The pitches are fantastic and give you a real sense that you are wild camping. A fantastic 3 days!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hulltrucker 14 reviews from this member

I stopped here for a few days during the gales which was quite an experience!

Firstly as others have said you need to be prepared when you come here, as there is no toilet block, only a few hook ups (I was lucky to get one) and no shops for about 20 miles, although the site does sell essentials like bread.

The site enjoys fantastic views over Loch Naver (which looked more like the sea in 80 MPH winds!) and Ben Klibreck, and it is very peaceful. You can fly fish free on the loch although no one seemed to be having much luck when I was there.

Like most roads in the North Highlands access is via single track roads with passing places - don't be put off by this - these roads are used by HGV's taking logs and as long as you keep your speed down, allow plenty of time for your journey and watch well ahead you will be fine.

I took a drive up round the west coast from here through Durness and down to Lairg - its all very beautiful and really has to be seen to be appreciated although make sure you fill up with petrol where you do see a station, as they are few and far between!

Although helpful, once again the Caravan Club wardens seemed overly fussy about things and generally unhappy in their work. I was however grateful for the advice they gave me about staying safe during the servere gales.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wayneandjulie 3 reviews from this member

Wonderful amazing site situated next to the loch with wondeful views, yes there are limited hook ups and booking is adviseable but in talking to the wardens not many people are visiting this year which is a real shame. If you want to get away from the hussle and bussle of normal life then this is the place. It must be one of the last remaining, truely remote campsites. We thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit and will definitely return in the near future.

As long as you know where you are going and don't expect an on site bar and entertainment then it is a site you MUST visit, we and our 10 month old son will be back.

Yes you will see a midge or two but you are in remote northern scotland so what more can expect, take you cream and be prepared (avon skin so soft recommended)

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kaihelen 1 review from this member

The best site ever, all you could possibly wish for: history, wildlife and amazing scenery. We had caravan next to the broch (over a thousand years old)

The first evening we saw deer grazing nearby and saw Scottish crossbills in the tree above the caravan.

The wardens were excellent and bearing in mind remoteness, they covered essentials, bread and milk in freezer. The nearest shop some twenty miles of single track road but that is what you expect for all the other rewards. Experience of our lifetime!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimd58 11 reviews from this member

Neglected to book, so no hook up. Also no toilet block, which I was aware of. What luck, was given a marvellous non hook up pitch. What a landscape. On the edge of the sight with an unbroken stunning view across Loch Naver to Ben Klibreck, which is a very good if strenuous 5 hour walk from Vagastie.

A beautiful sunny day in May, no midges at this time of year, and a defining silence broken by the sound of a passing vehicle every half hour or so. Perfect.

The hotel in Altnaharra is less than 3 miles away and an easy bike ride. Check with the very friendly site wardens for opening times.

This was my first visit to this site but I’ll be back with no hook up.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5522 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019