Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Altnaharra Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Lairg > Altnaharra Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Altnaharra Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Altnaharra
Lairg
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4UE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 24
Open: 23/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marka8 1 review from this member

 Amazing campsite, just such stunning scenery.

There are very few facilities, no toilets or showers or anything really except toilet waste facilities and bins. This is no criticism whatsoever.

We have 2 young boys and they had a great time with just being outdoors and meeting the campsite dog and rangers who were lovely!

We had a great night stop and will definitely come back again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scankguy 22 reviews from this member

 Site on Loch Naver shore with great views. But very remote. Anywhere is a long drive down single track roads.

Site is in three parts. Open area by gates, more separated area behind reception and non ehu area.

The non ehu area has the best views and is level grass. Two water points, one next to a grey water and cdp up a fairly steep slope.

No Motorhome drive over. Water is private treatment and needs boiling but ok for tea/coffee but bring bottled for drinking. No toilet or shower. We had 8 nights.

Spent time chilling and visited Durness beaches/Smoo cave (a long day driving), Bettyhill - shop cafe (recommended), Farr beach and closed museum- gift shop and cafe are open, cafe sell dog ice cream.

Strathnaver trail Rossal village and stone circle (you drive down the rough track after right turn at the bridge!) and Grunmore village behind the site. Walk up the hill to the right to get better views.

Walked along River Kinloch to Loch an Dherue at Tongue which was fabulous in the sun. Book a simple dinner around a shared table with guests or just stop for a drink at Crask Inn. Shop cafe and petrol at Lairg and Bettyhill. Fish and chips in Lairg.

Great place to chill but basic. Sheep and deer everywhere. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: LeaSheffield 3 reviews from this member

 If this site is full and you're under 7 metres long you're likely to be allocated one of the worst pitches I've seen in 5 years of using camc sites.

The pitch was on uneven elevated ground next to a road used by logging trucks and other trade vehicles from 6 am through to 6 pm.

We had difficulty working out how to park level on this pitch and the wardens were far from helpful.

There were plenty of parkups in the immediate area around the site that looked better if you're not after electric hookup. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 One of our favourite sites on our Scotland tour!

Very remote - 30+ miles to the nearest shops and accessed by good single track roads.

It’s based right on Loch Naver and makes a good base for the most northerly Munro walks.

Amazing place. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mandy C 6 reviews from this member

 This is probably the most peaceful, remote and relaxing site I have ever stayed. The couple who run the site are so incredibly helpful and friendly, yet unobtrusive.

Kay and Steve seemed like family after just a very short time and I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy their company in such a beautiful setting.

This site is immaculate; very well presented, yet it retains its wilderness feel. The ancient and enticing settlement of Grummore opposite is well worth a visit - but please keep your dogs on leads as there are sheep around.

I shall return here very soon as I found it to be a superb place to unwind and enjoy mother nature at her best.

Thank you Kay and Steve xx 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Not at all what we expected - so much better.

For whatever reason we though a regular set out on a loch side. It is actually three distinct areas. First is a hardstanding area a bit car-park like, all with electric hook up and most have a good view of Loch Naver. Then there is a smaller area on softer ground with just 6 pitches, again with hook ups and again brilliant views of the loch, the third area is all on grass and doesn't have any electric.

No loos or showers and although there is fresh water the advice was to boil or buy bottled water from the reception. There isnt any wifi on site and we couldn't get phone signals on either of our phones.

From the site a lovely walk up the hills to an old village or just walk along the roads as there is hardly any traffic. We walked early in the evening and saw two lots of deers both less than 20 ft away from the road.

We drove down to the site from the North using the A897 - a stunning drive with plenty of long passing places.

Would take everything you need with you as its a fair drive to the nearest shops (Lairgs must be nearly an hour).

Stunning site with two of the best wardens ever - might not have any facilities but this site really is about location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pavlovscat 5 reviews from this member

 Wonderful, remote setting next to Loch Naver. Good base for those wanting to climb Ben Hope, Ben Klibreck and even Ben Loyal.

For anyone wanting to use the Altnaharra Hotel -check to see if they are doing bar meals (some days they don't)if that's what you want or book a table in the restaurant (recommended). 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DundeeIan 15 reviews from this member

 We knew this site was remote and that was part of the experience for us, it sits right beside Loch Naver. With only water, drain and Elsan points (no toilets, showers etc. ) it is minimalist but has its own charm.

The site is reached by single track road with passing places, going to the shops in Lairg was a 40 minute drive and the novelty wore off quickly. The water supply is local and was brackish coloured, we were advised to boil it before drinking it.

Small shop on site selling essentials. We loved the experience, not too many midges in May but we were told it was worse in the summer. Lots of local walks and you can bike ride on the road OK as traffic infrequent.

No wifi and mobile signal was 2G and patchy so no internet. Wardens on site very helpful. Needed to use satellite for TV as could not pick up signal. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

 This really is the Caravan Club in the wild - literally miles from anywhere, and what a delight it is!

Forget all about the ordered lines, hard standings and luxurious facilities close by - Altnaharra has none of these. It is even a 40 mile round trip to a shop or a pub! There is also no terrestrial TV, although mobile phone reception is good. But what a little gem the site is - on the shore of Loch Naver and with the most welcoming and helpful warden we have met in a long time. He even helped us find a level patch for our motorhome and gave us a guided tour of the site. The site shop has a surprisingly large selection of basics.

The bonus, for some, is the free fly fishing in the loch, where Russ, the warden can even lend the tackle in exchange for a charity box donation.

If it were not for being 700 miles from home, we would return soon! This is not a place for children and the rating for site facilities refers only to those that are advertised at the site. The overall rating reflects the reviewers opinion of the remote country setting. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 86 reviews from this member

 We stayed two nights in May 2013 at this superbly remote campsite. We were first alerted to the site by one of Andy Stothert brilliant articles but we didn’t really expect to be able to visit there until we were planning our Orkney & Shetland Isle trip. We then realised that it would be a perfect “pit stop” when travelling up from East Anglia.

We were two motorhomes travelling in convoy from our previous overnight stop at the Old Hartley CC site at Whitley Bay. Word of advice, don’t try this trip in one go! It took us 9 hours to do the 330 mile trip with only about an hour stop for refueling & lunch etc. We had had enough by the time we got to Inverness but we still had another 90+ miles to go!

The last 15 miles to Altnaharra are on a single carriageway with passing places. However the road surface was good and we were able to keep up a good pace. The site is in a stunning location by Loch Naver and in the shadow of Ben Klibreck. The site is very informal with pitches spread along the shoreline, some with hook up & hardstandings and some on grass & without power. We were treated to a spectacular sun setting on the far side of the loch which had everyone out with their cameras getting a very special shot which included the warden in his waders catching his very first trout! The friendly wardens also donated some filleted trout that had been caught in the loch by others for our BBQ.

One of the walks suggested by the wardens went directly from the site & picks up part of the Strathnaver Trail before heading into the moorland above the site. We first came through the ruined “clearance” village of Grummore with lots of stone outlines of houses demolished during the Highland Clearances of the 1814 & 1819. Then it was onto Carn Gruama Mor, Carn Gruama Beag and Loch Molach. The route back to the site was a straight forward road walk from Grumbeg. A 6. 2 mile walk in 3 ½ hours.

As others have said, the site is remote so you do need to stock up if staying for any length of time. The setting is superb and we just wished that we could have spent more time there, but the ferry to Orkney beckoned! 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Altnaharra Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Altnaharra Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lairg      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


49854 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement