Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Willows Nr Abersoch ( 5 Star )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

The Willows Nr Abersoch ( 5 Star )
Mynytho
Abersoch
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7RW
Tel: 01758 740676
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20 Touring 20 Tents plus Glamping
Open: 15/03 To 17/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 89 Reviews
                9/10 from 89 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 81 reviews from this member

Had a lovely few days at this site. Wonderful facilities & the bathrooms are really lovely and free. Beautifully kept site and clean. Quiet and peaceful site with loads to see and do. The owners are so friendly and welcoming too. Like the fact that as there were not many staying we could choose our pitch. Lots of places to see; we went to Llanbedrog beach which was stunning and then toured National Trust beaches including the gorgeous fishing village & the house owned by the 3 sisters which for the life of me I can't remember their name. Pwilli & Criccieth well worth a visit too. We had a Chinese from Chungs which was really nice. There are the most stunning views from the campsite but sadly if you choose to put your van on hardstanding pitches the view is ok being of the mountain and the spectacular views can only be seen when you go to facilities block or a walk. Definitely a time to tent it as they can be seen from the camping field. The hardstandings are in a filed and you drive on grass to get to them. We couldn't help thinking if there was a lot of rain there may be a bit of a challenge to get off the site. Definitely one to come back to though.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs Woowar 10 reviews from this member

Just spent a week here, lovely site, really well kept. New heated shower block with PROPER hairdryers not those silly ones that you get in hotels. Initially it does look like they have a lot of rules but really they're just common sense and common courtesy eg. mop the shower after you, keep your dog on a lead unless in the exercise area. They do have restrictions that not everyone may like eg. no flags but this is made very clear on the website before you book. We loved it and are going back later in the year.

It looks expensive but most sites in that area are. No additional charges, even the really good wifi was included in the charge.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Welshone 4 reviews from this member

Easily booked via telephone with Miles himself. Lovely greeting on arrival and a discount straight away! Lovely clean site. Spacious. Dog exercise area immaculate. Outstanding views (but I arrived in a thunder storm!) So not seen the views yet.

Fair price for Summer.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laura1967 1 review from this member

A very good quality campsite. It was lovely, well kept and quiet with plenty of space and beautiful views. The shower/toilet facilities are modern and kept spotlessly clean. Other facilities provided such as the washing up area are also clean as long as everyone clears up after themselves which unfortunately not everyone did. Other mod cons provided such as the microwave are an added bonus for tent campers without electric hook ups. There is a useful information shack too with plenty of leaflets, advice etc about the area.

There is a pub down the road from the site. Its a nice pub though I would say average food. The walk isn't far but it's quite dangerous on a fast bendy road with plenty of inconsiderate drivers. We found tracks over the fields to walk on. It took longer but was safer.

Abersoch which isn't far is a lovely little town with plenty of restaurants which get very busy. Book in advance if you can.

There are some lovely beaches nearby but they do not have lifeguards and there are some with strong rip tides.

I would happily stay at this campsite again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsPumba 1 review from this member

My husband and I are happy to sleep in a tent, but when we're camping we do like a certain level of comfort so our campsite's amenities are all important to us. We certainly weren't disappointed with The Willows, a very quiet, well-maintained campsite with generous pitches and immaculate facilities. The dish-washing area has plenty of space and hot water and also includes the thoughtful touches of a communal fridge, electric kettle and microwave. In the well-stocked tourist information section there's also a communal freezer and nearby there are lockers for charging phones and laptops. The toilet/shower block is really clean and is checked regularly, and free hair dryers are provided. Anna and Myles really have thought of everything, even to the point of picking up the grass clippings when they mow the camping fields, so you're not tracking grass into your tent and wherever else you go. They offer a warm welcome in a truly beautiful part of Wales and I'd recommend The Willows to anyone.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JOHNRMIRF 1 review from this member

Have just spent 5 very pleasant nights at the Willows we were blessed with dry, sunny but cool weather. The site and facilities are excellent. The owners have a very clear idea how they wish to operate the Willows and have not been tempted to overload the site. The main caravan/motor home field is very well laid out with c. 20 pitches around the edge of the field leaving a large open space in the middle for everyone to enjoy. We walked to Abersoch and Llanbedrog, very pleasant walk downhill and returned on the well priced and regular buses. The dog field is very good for exercising our Labrador. We would definitely return to the Willows if in the area again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nwilson777 3 reviews from this member

We came out looking for a nice quiet, peaceful and quality campsite and found The Willows which is perfect. We liked it so much we now have a seasonal pitch.

Facilities (dishwashing, toilets, showers etc) are five star modern, very clean and hiqh quality. All the fields are spacious (for camping, touring, caravans, motorhomes) are well maintained with the grass cut short. The site itself has great views of Abersoch.

There is a separate field for the children to play on and for dog walking. There are lots of walks around the site for walking and dog-walking. The old windmill (derelict) at the top of the nearby hill is a good one.

There is good WiFi and TV reception. The site is secure with a security barrier to enter and exit.

Miles and Anna (owners) are very friendly, relaxed and have a great knowledge, and enthusiasm, for the Lleyn Peninsula.

A really lovely site and we are so fortunate to have a pitch this season.

O'r safon uchaf. Rydym wrth ein bodd ei fod (of the highest quality. We love it)

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jusbluey 21 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a lovely w/e at this site. The weather was glorious, (which always helps). The facilities are very good & clean. The dog walk is adequate & a short walk off site provides many more lovely paths to walk the dog/s. A word of caution it is very much sheep country & we found on a path not far from site that the farmer had blocked the style off. The nearest pub is not too far about 1m downhill going, but uphill coming back. Overall the site & its location is very good (wardens were very helpful also) & the only negative is for a 5* site it did not have TV hookup, but we loved the area & would definitely return. If you like peace & quiet & lovely scenery then this is the site for you.

Management response: Thank you for your time in writing the above review.

For others reading this review, we would point out that ALL our touring/motorhome pitches have a TV connection point.

TV connection cables are available from reception, if requested, for the duration of your stay.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alihari 8 reviews from this member

Everything it said it was going to be. Good position for wonderful beaches and walks. Private and secluded site, very peaceful. Anna and Miles are extremely hospitable and clearly care about you enjoying your stay and nothing appeared to be of any trouble. We will return and will take you up on your offer of an itinerary thank you Anna! Thank you Miles for your suggestions today. We did manage to find some wonderful dog friendly beeches with a cafe or bar just like being in the med with med like weather. Planned to stay for 2 nights and did extend to 5. We want to tour further afield. I hope we don't regret this decision but it's always good to leave wanting more. The sites is spotless too, from shiny sinks, to clean dog bin! Not the average dustbins either so never over flowing, they are also out the way so you don't get the noise of items being placed in them. Water tap on pitches so again minimum noise/free of water containers be rolled around site. We were allocated a pitch on arrival no 17 which was in the sun most of the day and the evening. Our dogs enjoyed letting off steam on the dog field which again was beautifully kept. Was slightly nervous about the rules but need not have been as it did not feel regimented in the slightest.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lavender and Lime 2 reviews from this member

This is a site which we love to visit on a regular basis.

The site is always clean, tidy and well maintained. The facilities are good to use with the owners checking them regularly to maintain a high standard of cleanliness. In the dishwashing area there is plenty of room to work in. In addition there is a kettle and microwave and 2 fridges and freezers which again are checked by the owners.

The owners have great pride and commitment in their site. They have a good knowledge of the local area and are happy to offer advice and suggestions about places to visit and things to do.

Best of all is the amazing view from the site, you have to see it to believe it but shhh don't tell everyone! H and A

Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2736 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019