Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cae Du Campsite Seasonal Pitches Only

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Beddgelert > Cae Du Campsite Seasonal Pitches Only Reviews

Cae Du Campsite Seasonal Pitches Only
Beddgelert
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NE
Tel: 01766 890660
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Seasonal pitches only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 192 Reviews
                9/10 from 192 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  192 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that as from 2021 this campsite has reopened but is now limited to touring caravan and motorhome SEASONAL pitches only, which must be booked throughout March until October. 


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daveukleics 24 reviews from this member

 First time visit to this site. Approach road slightly narrow in places travelling from caernafon.

The site itself is ok

The gravel hard standing pitches in the 90's are overgrown with weeds.

WiFi was expensive at £16 for 4 days.

We lost connection for over 16 hours but no mention of a refund or connection extension.

TV reception is very poor to non existent.

Site cleanliness is good. It looks as though it could be a very body site in damp weather.

Lovely walk into beddgellert which has several pubs and shops.

Had to travel if you want to visit places.

Some lovely walks around and this is why we went there.

If your not too keen on walking there's not much else here.

We were blessed with good weather and walks into the village made it worth while.

I probably would not go again as I was not a great fan of 13 miles narrow ish road in places.

I have done worse but it's not for me.

Polite wardens, site is ok/good.

Just need to sort the weeds out. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: VWBus 63 reviews from this member

 I managed to visit Cae du on a quiet Sunday night outside the school holidays, accompanying one of our top trusted reviewers, see his review below. I had previously read mixed reviews about this site, so as the admin of UKCampsite it was a good opportunity to see the site in a true light, as I did not disclose who I was. The site was very quiet, many pitches were empty.

PITCHES We had a friendly welcome from the warden, who was kind enough to let us look around the site to choose a pitch, before committing to payment. I'm rather glad we did, as most of the pitches were not appealing to me at all. Tents are pitched around the edge of the site, behind a small wooden fence along the site road. This means you cannot take your car onto your pitch, instead you have to lug all your stuff backwards and forwards whilst setting up, and whilst using your tent. Their website boasts a river flowing through the site, but in reality this was alongside the main road into Beddgelert and there are only a few pitches near it which were rather noisy and absolutely infested with midges.

The campervan pitches were even worse - there were two small square patches of dusty hardcore, each area took SIX campervans. You would certainly need to become very friendly with your neighbours if stayed on these pitches, with probably only a couple of metres at most between units.

COST We expressed our concerns and the warden allowed us to pitch up on a patch of grass in the middle of site, not normally used for campervans. It suited us much more, and felt less regimented than the normal pitches. However I felt the charge of £18 per night each for one person, one dog and no electric was quite expensive. There is also a £10 deposit taken for the security barrier, although this was broken on our arrival. The warden explained the barrier closing times, but didn't give us any other info about the site, nor were we given the information sheet ( see later ! )

WIFI: I also paid £5 for 24 hours use of the site wifi which I explained I needed as unfortunate I had to work. Despite this, the signal was terrible, slow and unreliable, and pretty much useless - I spent more time trying to connect and reconnect than actually getting anything useful done.

FACILITIES: There's a dedicated dog walking field, quite small, but adequate and good to see included. There were two facility blocks containing showers, toilets, and camper kitchen etc. The facilities were very clean, although a little tired and dated. The worst aspect was the showers - push button showers with no heat control - they were very hot indeed - I wouldn't have liked to use them with a small child. Also the shower outlet was ridiculously close to the wall, meaning you had to stand hard up against the wall to get under it - a horrible sensation as your back keeps touching the clammy tiles. Urghh.

LOCATION: The site has lovely views with hills on all sides, however as mentioned previously the main road into Beddgelert runs alongside the site, and was quite noisy. You can walk directly into Beddgelert itself from the site, partly along a narrow road, it takes about 15 minutes.

SERVICE: After a good sleep we lounged around the campervans on Monday morning, before deciding to take the walk mentioned above into Beddgelert to exercise the dogs properly and take a look at Gelert's Grave etc. On our return into the site, as we walked past the reception the lady warden shouted across asking us if we were staying another night. I said, no, we were just about to pack up and move on. She shouted over that in that case we'd have to pay a half night fee as it was past check out time at 12. 00. This was the first we'd heard about a check out time, and noone had come over to us during the morning to say this.

I was rather upset at the rude manner of the warden, and the prospect of paying so much more! However we quickly packed up, and as we drove out I walked into the office to return the barrier cards and collect my £20 deposit. With great will power I smiled and politely said I assumed she wasn't really going to charge us for another half day. They hadn't told us of check out time, so how were we supposed to know?

Rules are Rules she said, jabbing at the information sheet which we hadn't seen before as we hadn't been given it! She said there is a sign in the facility block saying check out at 12, but to be honest, I hadn't seen it when I visited them.

Anyway, believing the best option is to be nice to someone to get them to be reasonable, I tried joking and reasoning with them, and asked that surely they wouldn't really charge us, but was gruffly rebutted - she just handed me £2 back from my £20 deposit.

Bear in mind the site was almost empty, we weren't even on proper pitches, and noone had mentioned checking out times to us until that point, even despite the fact we'd been sitting on site all morning with plenty of opportunity for them to tell us - AND seeing as we hadn't even arrived until six oclock the day before we hadn't even been there for 24 hours!

So, we were charged £18 extra for staying over the 12 noon check out time, making the cost of staying £54 for one night! An absolute rip off, and a complete disregard of any customer service or satisfaction.

At this point I just walked away with an extremely bitter taste in my mouth, fuming but just accepting we had been ripped off, and to put it down to experience. In retrospect I wish I had argued and been awkward, at least to have given them some excuse to be so rude, unwelcoming and mercenary in their rip off charges.

SUMMARY: So overall, an extremely unpleasant experience on an average site, with outrageous unjustifiable charges. My personal recommendation would be that there are numerous much nicer sites in the area, cheaper, with better facilities and friendly staff that will make you feel welcome. If do you visit, you have been warned, rules are rules. According to their website tariff, a family of four with a dog and hookup could pay up to £46 for a night, and then get charged an extra £23 for staying a moment after 12 noon, making it £69 a night! 


Date of Visit: July 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 236 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite set on the outskirts of Beddgelert. We enquired by phone and the man was indifferent on the phone, but we took the chance as he advised they had pitches we could use which were not marked and advised there was space for us, so we headed down.

We arrived and again he was unsure of us and allowed us to take a walk around to make sure we were happy with the pitches. Looking around the pitches, all the riverside ones are for tents and a small area for campervans. The campervan area was very small and the pitches were very close, I would not be happy camped in them as too close to your neighbours. The tent pitches were car free, which is great until you need to use your car for storage or unloading and reloading as you have to lug all your gear to them. He offered a rough patch of grass in the middle that he said they don't normally use, but for us we could. We decided to go for it and almost fell over when I was charged £18 for one adult, one campervan and a dog without electric. They also then charged £10 per gate key card for a deposit, which they preferred on taking in cash and not on a card.

The man on reception explained where the facilities were and told us the gates shut at 22:00 and reopen at 07:00 and that it is a no noise site from 22:00. At this point he had got better with us and told us where the dog walk area was and how to get to Beddgelert.

The whopping £18 price included use of the free showers, free washing up, use of the communal seating room and kitchen area. The reception houses items for sale to get you through the holiday and there is also a pile of DVD''s for sale. They offer freshly cooked baguettes to order. It was ok priced and would be good to get you out of trouble.

There are two toilet and shower blocks, both were kept clean and one is near the reception, this is smaller, and one in the middle of the site, which also houses the communal room, etc. The showers are push button type and you cannot direct the angle of the shower head making them quite unsuitable and I found the water to be a little too hot and would prefer to be able to control the temp of them. They got me clean and did the job though although I was backed against the wall to get the water on me.

There were waste bins and fresh water points. There is a dog walking field where they can run free and a bin for the poo bags too. The field was not massive for the dogs, but it was ok and it meant that they could actually be let off the lead, as they have to be leashed at all times when on site which is not a problem.

The site is split in to a few different camping areas, one for motorhomes which was very tight, plenty for tents and plenty for caravans, etc, wanting electric. The marked out pitches with electric were small and quite on top of each other.

There is no phone signal and they charge £5 for 24 hours of wi fi and this kept dropping out and was barely usable, and a waste of £5.

It's the views from this site that do it for me, stunning and very peaceful. There is no light pollution here at all and on a clear night the sky is just wonderful with the mountains in the background.

A 10 minute walk along the river takes you into Beddgelert, which has three pubs and a few shops including one for essentials if you have forgotten anything. We had a few drinks in the Saracens and they serve food too, we didn't eat there but what was coming out looked lovely.

Walking is ok from here, but you do really need a car to see anything or go anywhere, if you wanted to use this as base camp and walk up Snowdon, then expect a long tough walk and I wouldn't recommend it and would suggest finding a closer site, which there are plenty of.

The area is stunning, with Snowdon not far in the car along with all the other delights that North Wales has to offer.

However what really spoilt it for us was we were not informed of the fact you had to vacate your pitch by midday and we decided to stay for a bit longer and enjoy a walk to Beddgelerts Grave and as we walked back on to the site a lady starting shouting across the site to us asking if we were staying another night. When we replied no, she then told us it would £9 each because we had stayed 4 hours over their cut off time. Despite the fact we didn't arrive until 5:30 the night before made no difference. We were obviously shocked at the rudeness and went back to the campervans to pack up and leave. When we went to return our gate key cards they refused to refund us and instead gave us just £2, thereby charging us £9 each for 4 hours use of a small patch of dead, lumpy grass. This, I guess, is why they prefer on cash for the deposit, so they can catch people out who might want to enjoy an afternoon stroll and head off a bit later. This left a really sour taste because if they had just told us the rules then we would have left by midday and gone to another site. As we were walking out of reception the owner came over and told us that if we camped often we would know the midday leaving rule, well I have never come across such a daft rule in 43 years of camping, especially as the site was almost empty, and then he continued to tell us that we were never welcome back if we were ever in the area!

I love this area and will return time and time again however I will never use this site again, there are better ones in better locations and with better facilities, pleasant staff members and cheaper, for example Llyn Gwynant just up the road and the walking is far better from there too.

Overall this site was soulless and one to cross off the list and if you are considering staying here, check out the other sites in the area first. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Lovely location but reality vs the website was disappointing.

It was very expensive £34 for a night, then to park in what felt like a dusty car park. Rules and signs everywhere yet the van next to us on a serviced pitch had his grey waste emptying into the hedge !

We were on a pitch at one end of the site yet the Dog walk area the other, Dog Owners note, request a pitch near same or you will struggle.

No walk maps in Reception just a guide which was pretty useless at £1. 85, for a walking area we thought this was poor.

Wi-fi was charged for by the hour no less, again poor knowing there is little or no phone signal.

The walk to the village however was very pleasant and off road all the way, food a plenty there and the river to play in so very pretty.

The mountains around the site were amazing but would be nice to know how to access paths to get up them.

Facilities being fair were very good, clean and tidy at all times.

A caravan only site we thought as apart from the Village it’s a remote place.

Would we return, no. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Andy-hew 2 reviews from this member

 Never felt compelled to review anything before but feel as though the previous reviews don't do justice to this site. We toured North Wales at the beginning of July in our campervan and used this site as a base at the beginning and end of the week.

The site is in a stunning location, well maintained, with good facilities. Check in efficient and told we could pitch were we wanted. I didn't feel as the fees were excessive. They were very much in line with what we paid throughout the week at other sites. We pitched on the campervan area, which I felt was more than adequate. On both occasions when we were there, there was nobody pitched within 30 feet of us. I found this surprising as both weekends had excellent weather and expected the site to be full. When talking to staff in the shop the following morning they told me they had turned away 60 people the day before. Apparently they only operate on 50% capacity so the site never feels overrun and spaces are the most spacious I've come across.

All in all an excellent site, in a stunning location. I have no hesitation in recommending this site 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DavidHolywell 2 reviews from this member

 We have had 2 visits to Cae Du in the last month (a total of 11 nights)- we must like it! This site is fantastic. Firstly - the location is wonderful, with fabulous scenery all around - Snowdon in one direction and Moel Hebog in the other direction. It is a short walk alongside the river (better than going along the main road) to Beddgelert, and a short (15 - 20 mins) drive to Porthmadog for any supermarket requirements. It is a short walk to Sygun Copper Mine. The birdlife is amazing - dawn chorus at 4AM included at least 4 cuckoos, and we heard owls very close every night, as well as seeing a peregrine falcon. Secondly, the site, which is also excellent. The owners and their staff work hard to keep the site looking tip-top and the facilities clean. There are plenty of showers, toilets, and dish wash facilities. The pitches are all flat, with some of the tent pitches being alongside the river.

The only 'negative' aspect is the abundance of midges and mosquitos - so go prepared!

Overall excellent - we will be back again in 2018. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for three nights as it was our first visit to the area, when we arrived the wardens were really friendly, there had obviously been a lot of rain so they were concerned about flooding on some areas of the site, we were also worried about getting stuck so they were happy to let us have a look around the pitches before we committed to staying.

We pitched on a hard standing area close to the open facilities block, it was a little bit challenging levelling up but we got there in the end. They have great facilities on this site; shop, hot showers, laundry facilities, pot wash area and a communal undercover seating area ‘Bothy’ which you would probably use if staying in a tent. The site is large with different areas to choose from, grassed or hard standing pitches, pitches near the river, under the trees or out in the open all of which are serviced by two facilities blocks.

The tariff was £20 per night for two plus the van which was reasonable for the area, but then we found out that there is a huge list of additional charges; £2 per dog per night, £10 refundable deposit for the barrier, charges for paying by card, charges for Wi-Fi, charges for the laundry facilities, charges for charging devices… charges, charges, charges… I can only put this down to the location and it being only one of two sites with such great access to Beddgelert and the surrounding area, but with two dogs on board it did bump the cost up for us and has impacted my overall rating for this site.

The area is beautiful and obviously great for walking. The site is close to the village which has a number of pubs (at least one of which is dog friendly), cafés, the Tourist Information centre and of course the Welsh Highland Railway which is also dog friendly.

This is a really popular area and we would definitely come back but might look around at other sites first. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stopped for three nights whilst doing walking in the area. It's a great location and base for walks and also handy as Beddgelert has a station for the Highland Railway, which is also useful for incorporating in to walks.

Prior to and during our stay there was some very heavy rain and as the site was fairly empty, we were able to park on the hard-standing pitches although we didn't need EHU. This was good for us as the grass was quite spongy given the amount of rain.

The reception stocked some basic supplies, but as the village shop wasn't particularly well stocked, it would be best to arrive with what food you need for your stay. The facilities were kept clean and we did make use of the washing machines and tumble dryers, which worked well and were fairly priced.

It's not the cheapest site for a pitch and they did seem to charge for any add-on you can think of, my main gripe being the £2 per night per dog; they only use a bowl of water between them a day! For that reason, I probably wouldn't use this site again and will try one of the others in the area. 


Previous     192 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cae Du Campsite Seasonal Pitches Only child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cae Du Campsite Seasonal Pitches Only?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cae Du Campsite Seasonal Pitches Only dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Beddgelert      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3603 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement