Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Churchtown Farm Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Hayle > Churchtown Farm Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Churchtown Farm Caravan & Camping Site
Gwithian
Hayle
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX
Tel: 01736 753219
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cuddlecat 11 reviews from this member

 Nothing not to like! Big pitches, friendly staff, not expensive, next to sand dunes/beach.

Pizza and fish and chip vans visit site, pub up the road.

Been twice but will definitely be back.

We didn’t bring children so cannot comment on child friendliness. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rachel 1 review from this member

 Lovely site next to a beautiful beach. Large fairly flat pitches. Good shop and lovely clean facilities. All staff were very welcoming friendly and informative.

Recommended to all my friends and a few have booked up already and I know they won’t be disappointed.

Easy access including the lane to the site. Buses run to St Ives and Hayle right by the site.

Nice cafes on the beach and close by. Great pub easily walked to. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jules789 1 review from this member

 A very well organised site, with good facilities including a well stocked shop. Good size pitches that are very well maintained.

Great location for the lovely Gwithian beach. Easy access to shops in Hayle. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a couple of nights as we wanted to stay in the Gwithian area. I called to book a day or two before but was told, given the weather and time of year, there was no need.

On arrival we had a nice friendly greeting from the girl in reception, who told us to pick a pitch and then come back and pay once we'd parked up.

The grass was a little long but it may have been due to the weather over the preceding week had been poor and they couldn't get out with the mowers.

The facilities were kept clean but were starting to look their age. The washing-up facilities were excellent.

We've stayed at all the sites along this bit of coast now, and this one probably has the best location and ease of access for walking to get over to Godrevy which is where I tend to head.

But overall they're all very similar. When I'm back in the area, I'll go to whichever site is the cheapest. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Keepers 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at loads of sites over the past 10 years or so and quite frankly if you have a dog, kids or grand kids and like a fantastic beach then look no further than Churchtown Farm, it's just absolutely perfect.

Showers immaculate, shop perfectly adequate, staff super and very helpful.

Excellent pitches, it really is the perfect site. Oh and to top it all the visiting Pizza van is truly exceptional, best pizza I have had in years! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dream team 6 reviews from this member

 This is my new favourite site. We were heading for Trevalgan Touring Park after reading up in cool camping but when we arrived the place looked like the tents were pitched on top of each other with criss crosses of guy ropes all over the place.

On top of this they wanted £34 for a campervan, 2 adults and a 4 year old. This seemed to expensive so we carried on our search and around the next corner we came across Churchtown Farm.

What a place! Very spread out pitches, best shower/toilet block I've seen, wonderful shop and staff but what really sold it to us was the walk to the beach through the dunes.

I wont bother trying to explain this as they haven't invented a word that would do it justice. Just beautiful having a bbq on the immaculate grass looking out at St Ives lighthouse.

£24 pitch with electric. The only reason I gave a 9 on child friendliness is because they have no playground, This didn't affect us as we are beach people.

Cant wait to go again 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maxt46 54 reviews from this member

 This is a really great site, we stayed for 4 days(that's unusual) the weather wasn't great bit windy, must take wind break next time. The walking over the dunes to the beach is great, no dogs on beach between May and September, there is a nice little café at Godrevy car park with an outside seating area and very reasonable prices and lovely staff.

All the facilities were clean and warm if a bit of a hike from some pitches, but hey you can always use your own, they seem to keep on top of the grass cutting it was always well mown, no worries about drainage the site is built on a sandy base.

The staff were pleasant and helpful and the shop seemed to stock most of your needs.

We caught the little age uk mini bus into Hayle where you can get connections to Penzance and St. Ives, the pub in the village is very dog friendly if a little expensive, but be sure to book at busy times as its very popular. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dottydart 16 reviews from this member

 Our first impression of the site was that it looked quite nice, with well kept grass, nice reception and facilities buildings, however we've never seen so many windbreaks before - there weren't just one or two per pitch, but the whole of the majority of pitches were completely surrounded by them, which I found rather odd. I realise that it is in a windy area, but I felt they were very over the top; in fact I soon came to realise that most were there to enclose peoples' entire pitch, marking their territory, not just a barrier to the elements.

We usually go to adult only sites, but were invited to join the family for this holiday, so we came to this site with some trepidation, expecting rowdy children running and playing around the units. We needn't have worried as thankfully we didn't encounter any problems at all.

The facilities were very good, with lots of showers, sinks and toilets, but they were a little far away for my liking. One previous review says the site is flat, but it isn't, it's on a definite incline. The showers were not very well designed in that it was virtually impossible to keep the changing area dry, and there were no shower curtains to help with this. Indeed, one row of showers has the drain for the shower in the changing area itself. The facilities seemed to be cleaned at regular intervals, however some unsavoury character smeared excrement over the wall of one of the gents' toilets, which wasn't cleaned off for a couple of days.

Most of the pitches seem very large, and despite the awful weather, the ground never got boggy. When we booked in we were given very detailed instructions on where to position our 'van, which we adhered to, however our existing neighbours parked their vehicle within inches of our pitch which meant we couldn't open our windows for fear of them knocking them. Twice more new neighbours came and they too enclosed their pitch within inches of ours, resulting in them having to sidle past our 'van to get in and out of their pitch and being right under our windows when sitting out. Why oh why??? Had we known this was going to happen we would happily have parked further into our pitch as we weren't greedy over our space and didn't have a windbreak. I did ask at reception if they had a 'customer feedback' process and I explained to the owner what I wanted to give feedback on. She did seem a little concerned and even drove around a few minutes later to look at the problem herself - I do hope they do something about this, as it didn't only happen to us.

Some of the site had been terraced over last winter, however they failed to allow for easy access to the water point situated in the middle of the field. We were directly in line, with a 'van between us and the water, however there was no path. One of the gentlemen working there said to walk across the pitch to get water to avoid the long trek around, however windbreaks, a washing line and a vehicle were deliberately positioned so that we couldn't do it (we usually waited for the family to go out and then pop across - not ideal). The owners have realised the oversight and plan to make provision for a path after the site closes.

A nice touch was that different food vans came most evenings during our 10 day stay, so if you don't want to cook or can't bbq due to the weather, you have options.

Just a few yards from the site is a nice pub called the Red River, they do food, but when we tried to book they were full, so book early. There is also a restaurant/pub called the Rockpool either along the road or via a path from the site. The food was quite nice but we thought it a bit overpriced for what it was; also the drinks were VERY expensive - £8 for a large glass of wine!

If you're into water sports then this site fits the bill as it has everything you could need. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Happybunny 7 reviews from this member

 We spent just over 2 weeks here for our family holiday in school holidays this summer.

The location is fantastic - out of the way, but not too much; this means that it was quiet (in terms of traffic noise, etc), but not too far from civilisation. The site is right against the dunes, with paths down to the beach, and over to Godrevy - excellent!

Washing/toilet facilities on the site are modern and clean, and can't be faulted. A bit of a long way from some pitches as they are right at the end of the site, but this wasn't a problem - although we did all end up cycling to them most of the time. Provision of outdoor wetsuit showers was a real advantage, and many of the people on the site seemed to be surfers or bodyboarders, and it had a good, chilled vibe. We took surfing lessons from Sunset Surf, which is an easy walk away around the dunes.

Site staff always seemed friendly and helpful, and the shop was well stocked and not unreasonably priced, although Lidl (as the nearest supermarket, on the edge of Hayle a few miles away) was clearly cheaper :-) Price for camping was significantly lower than the site next door.

The only disadvantage for us was the lack of a play park for the children. We took some walkie-talkies for ours, so that we could let them go and play in the dunes, which was worthwhile, but the lack of a play park meant that they didn't make new friends so easily as people came and went - a bigger impact than I had expected on the holiday experience. Our son was lucky as a boy of similar age (7) turned up on a neighbouring pitch, but our daughter (10) didn't make many friends, and spent more time on her own or with her brother than she normally would.

Overall, a great site that just needs a play park for children to be just about perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fire261 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely great campsite owners and staff are very friendly, a totally clean site throughout, brilliant showers beach is long and clean and on rainy or dull days there is plenty of areas to walk, nice walk to the right takes you past godrevy lighthouse and onto a nice little cafe, would definitely come again. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Churchtown Farm Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Churchtown Farm Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Churchtown Farm Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hayle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3343 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder