Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Twilite Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Twilite Leisure Park Reviews

Twilite Leisure Park
Twilite Leisure Park
Twyford Wharf
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX17 3JN
Tel: +441295810214
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 21
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 73 Reviews
                8/10 from 73 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lostco 1 review from this member

 The site is well laid out with a lovely garden, it is close to the cancel which runs to Banbury or Oxford.

The site is relaxed with good facilities, the shower toilet block was clean and tidy. We stayed in a tent with electric and had plenty of room, the couple who run the site are friendly and helpful.

Originally we went for 2 nights but felt so relaxed we stayed an extra night. There is no shop on site or within close walking distance so you need to take what you need, Banbury is a nice 3 mile walk along the cancel or a short drive away.

We felt totally relaxed after our 3 night stay and would highly recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Wee Bob 1 review from this member

 We thought this site looks good.

But signage wasn't good, host wasn't very helpful,

Pitches were too close,

No welcome pack and the noise of the M40 was constant! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: JGiddings 1 review from this member

 Pleasant, well maintained site with very friendly helpful owners. Toilets and shower block was clean and inspected regularly by the owner during our stay.

Electrics and WiFi were reliable. The site is by the Oxford Canal with pleasant walks along the towpath.

Plenty of places/pubs to visit within a short car/taxi journey. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MarkJ258 3 reviews from this member

 Although the lady who showed us to our pitch was friendly enough, I would not recommend staying at this site. We felt very uncomfortable here with, not only the noise from the motorway, but the fact that all the other pitches were taken by workmen in caravans.

On the plus side, my wife had the ladies' facilities to herself. The toilet block is fine and the garden is well looked after but it's just that it's not like your average holiday site and if you've got the choice, I wouldn't go here. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: TC-VW 1 review from this member

 Very nice site. We thought it had a few travellers on it when we first arrived but they are just long term stayers who also work in the trade - very nice folk.

Clean showers and toilets. Showers are great, powerful and free.

Nice and friendly lady on arrival who was actually looking after the site whilst the owner is away. Very helpful and gave us a good feel about the place. It really quite an immaculate site.

Be warned, if you want to walk into Banbury the tow path is very overgrown in places and a walk back at night is shall we say quite adventurous! It isnít one of the wide tow paths and you are extremely close to the waterís edge. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Romany 7 reviews from this member

 First thing to note is this site is no longer a C&CC certificated site and is an adult only site.

The shower problem mentioned in two previous post has been fixed the buttons have been replaced with a normal mixer tap and the showers are included in the £20 pitch fee.

Also included is very good Wifi, 10amp electric.

All facilities were very clean and staff friendly, the down side is road noise from the M40 probably slightly worse at this time of the year as no leaves on the trees mean no baffling of the road noise.

The other downside is the obvious long term vans on site that look extremely untidy and no shopping amenities close by without using your vehicle.

Over all this is a good site slightly expensive for my liking (Im tight) good for a stop over 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ANNIE0019 6 reviews from this member

 Just arrived home after 2 night stay, I must say this is a lovely and well kept site, you do get road noise from the A40 but we knew that did not keep us awake. Toilets very clean and showers too, only let down you could not change water direction on the show and had to press the button quite a lot, but again not a real problem it did the job. Lovely setting being by the canal which looked a lovely walk if I was not recovering from a broken ankle. Overall a lovely site and will return 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bloyces 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights - 2 x tents with hook-up.

Positives:

- We chose to pitch in the 'dell' which was more or less level and quite private, the grass was being cut as we arrived and that area and the shrub boarders are very well kept. The larger part of the grass area is level and well kept.

-The toilets / showers were clean and tidy although I agree the shower 'push button' system gives limited amounts of water at a time.

- Good recycling /rubbish area and inside washing up area

- The owner was away but the person standing in was friendly and helpful and gave lots of information about local walks etc. Being on the towpath is a definite benefit / attraction of this site.

-There were only 2 other tent/camper van arrivals over the weekend we had the quiet relaxing time we wanted.

Negatives:- You cannot park on the grass, even to unpack. Unless you want to park right next to the car park/road side of the grass you may need to carry all equipment across the grass area to your pitch. This would be a problem in heavy rain - perhaps bring a fold up trolley OR the owner could provide one?

- The caravan area could do with a tidy up, it is not up to the standard of the garden area. There are some vans which appear to have been there for some time based on the dirt on the roofs.

- You cannot actually see the canal from the tent/caravan area although there are tables next to the towpath which can be used.

- there is road noise (personally it wasn't too intrusive) 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Linda Morrison 13 reviews from this member

 Visited with son and girlfriend who were in a tent. Owner helpful in giving us pitches next to each other.

Grass area for tents and garden well kept but hard standing for motorhomes and caravans poor. Glorified car park with lots of weeds. Lots of caravans which looked scruffy and obviously on seasonal pitches.

No facility for emptying water and although several taps around site no hose provided (we have our own luckily)

ladies and gents facilities each have 2 showers & 2 toilets and although clean are in need of upgrade. Water hot and plenty room for getting changed but showers on VERY short push button operation making for a frustrating process! Gents shower and toilet area has mould in several areas. Ladies section has laundry which is also used for dishwashing as no other dishwashing facilities provided.

Traffic noise from M40 varied depending on time of day.

Very nice food at Pickled Ploughman - about 40 mins walk.

Website & brochure do not give a true reflection of this site - only showing garden and tent area but the hard standing is poorly maintained. Will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 31 reviews from this member

 The good the bad and the ugly.

The good is the well looked after grass and garden area reserved for tents.

The bad is the hard standing, a large area of gravel covered in weeds, the EHU boxes have not been cleaned for years, covered in lichen, the water taps are unmarked and often behind other vans.

Some caravans have been here for years in one spot and are an absolute eyesore, again covered in mould.

The ugly are the so called facilities, the showers heads are so calcified that the water sprays everywhere, the shower cubicles and curtains have seen far better days to be polite. The CDP in a shack round the back is absolutely awful, no lighting and the smell!

No info as to what to do with grey water so ours went in the hedge.

The bus will stop for you outside the site if you wave at it.

M40 is noisy all the time but you get used to it, the canal is a pleasant stroll if you fancy it.

Will not be returning under any circumstances, the website is not a true reflection of the actual leisure park id describes 


Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Twilite Leisure Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Twilite Leisure Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Twilite Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1913 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement